DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first, second, and third size of the slots of claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 recites “core 10”, it appears “10” should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17: There is no support in the specification for the plurality of slots being a first, second, and third size, as required by claim 17.
Claims 6, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 6 and 11: Line 2 recites “a second insulating film section”, however, no first insulating film section has been introduced. Thus, it is unclear how many insulating film sections are required. Note, perhaps claim 6 should depend on claim 5 and claim 11 should depend on claim 10.
Regarding claim 18: Claim 18 requires the plurality of secondary conductors to be housing in the plurality of slots. However, the secondary conductors are introduced in claim 1 as rotor components, and the plurality of slots are introduced in claim 16 as stator components. Thus, it is unclear how the conductors of the rotor can be housed in slots of the stator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi (JP 2014-236617 A, English translation attached), in view of Kelleter et al. (“Kelleter”; US 2017/0282725).
Regarding claim 1: Takashi discloses a motor (1) comprising:
a cylindrical stator (2); and
a cylindrical rotor (11) rotatably provided in the stator (2) coaxially with a center axis of the stator,
the rotor includes a cage (14, 16) including a single short-circuit ring (16) formed in a ring shape and a plurality of secondary conductors (14), and
first end portions and second end portions of the secondary conductors (14) are respectively connected to positions separated in a circumferential direction in the single short-circuit ring (for example, see the arrows annotated Fig. 2 below: 14a is connected at two ends to 16 at two different positions in the circumferential direction).
Takashi does not explicitly disclose the motor driving driving wheels of a vehicle with rotation of the rotor.
However, Kelleter discloses the motor driving driving wheels of a vehicle with rotation of the rotor (paragraph 0021).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the motor of Takashi to drive wheels of a vehicle, as disclosed by Kelleter, in order to increase the applications of the motor.
Regarding claim 2: Takashi discloses the plurality of secondary conductors include a first secondary conductor and a second secondary conductor, and
a first end portion of the second secondary conductor is between a first end portion and a second end portion in the circumferential direction in the first secondary conductor (in the above annotated Fig. 2, there are two secondary conductor ends between the arrow, which is between the two ends of 14a).
Regarding claim 3: Takashi discloses the plurality of secondary conductors are formed in a U shape (as 14 are U-shaped).
Regarding claim 7: Takashi discloses a plurality of insertion holes in the circumferential direction in the single short-circuit ring (as the secondary conductors are inserted into the ring in Fig. 2), and
the first end portions and the second end portions of the secondary conductors are bonded to the single short-circuit ring in a state in which the first end portions and the second end portions are inserted into the plurality of insertion holes (as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8: Takashi discloses the plurality of secondary conductors are formed in a U shape (as 14 are U-shaped).
Regarding claim 12: Takashi discloses a plurality of insertion holes in the circumferential direction in the single short-circuit ring (as the secondary conductors are inserted into the ring in Fig. 2), and
the first end portions and the second end portions of the secondary conductors are bonded to the single short-circuit ring in a state in which the first end portions and the second end portions are inserted into the plurality of insertion holes (as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13: Takashi discloses the stator includes a stator core (3a) and a plurality of primary conductors (4).
Regarding claim 14: Takashi discloses a pitch between the plurality of secondary conductors is set in accordance with a pitch between magnetic poles of rotating magnetic field formed by the plurality of primary (last paragraph, page 2 of translation: “The two rotor bars 14 of the rotor bar pair 15 are provided at angular positions that are at the same angle (45 ° in the present embodiment) as the pole pitch of the stator 2 at an angle around the rotational axis”).
Regarding claim 15: Takashi discloses the pitch between the plurality of secondary conductors is equal to the pitch between magnetic poles of rotating magnetic field formed by the plurality of primary (last paragraph, page 2 of translation: “The two rotor bars 14 of the rotor bar pair 15 are provided at angular positions that are at the same angle (45 ° in the present embodiment) as the pole pitch of the stator 2 at an angle around the rotational axis”).
Regarding claim 16: Takashi discloses the stator core includes a plurality of slots (3c) recessed from an inner circumferential surface of the stator core toward a radial-direction outer side (shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17: Takashi discloses the plurality of slots includes slots of a first size, a second size, and a third size, but does not explicitly disclose the first size being larger than the second size and the second size being larger than the third size.
However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the slot sizes of Takashi to be three different sizes in order to design an optimal system.
Regarding claim 18: Takashi discloses the plurality of secondary conductors are housed in respective slots of the plurality of slots (as stated above, this is indefinite, however, Fig. 1 of Takashi shows windings 4 in slots 3c).
Claims 4-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi and Kelleter as applied to claims 2 and 1 above, and further in view of Anderson et al. (“Anderson”; US 3,777,198).
Regarding claim 4: Takashi discloses insulating the outer surfaces of the plurality of secondary conductors, but does not explicitly disclose a first insulating film section including an insulative film on outer surfaces of the plurality of secondary conductors.
However, Anderson discloses a first insulating film section including an insulative film on outer surfaces of the plurality of secondary conductors (column 2, lines 45-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the insulation of Takashi to be the film of Anderson in order to effectively ensure the conductors are properly insulated.
Regarding claim 5: Takashi discloses the first insulating film section is not in connecting portions to the single short-circuit ring in the plurality of secondary conductors (in that Takashi does not disclose this as this is a negative limitation).
Regarding claim 9: Takashi discloses insulating the outer surfaces of the plurality of secondary conductors, but does not explicitly disclose a first insulating film section including an insulative film on outer surfaces of the plurality of secondary conductors.
However, Anderson discloses a first insulating film section including an insulative film on outer surfaces of the plurality of secondary conductors (column 2, lines 45-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the insulation of Takashi to be the film of Anderson in order to effectively ensure the conductors are properly insulated.
Regarding claim 10: Takashi discloses the first insulating film section is not in connecting portions to the single short-circuit ring in the plurality of secondary conductors (in that Takashi does not disclose this as this is a negative limitation).
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi and Kelleter as applied to claims 2 and 1 above, and further in view of Buntschuh (US 3,281,746).
Regarding claim 6: Takashi discloses insulating the outer surfaces of the plurality of secondary conductors, but does not explicitly disclose a second insulating film section including an insulative film on an outer surface of the single short-circuit ring.
However, Buntschuh discloses a second insulating film section (20, Fig. 1) including an insulative film (20) on an outer surface of the single short-circuit ring (14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the insulation of Takashi to be on the single short-circuit ring, as disclosed by Buntschuh, in order to properly insulate the rotor.
Regarding claim 11: Takashi discloses insulating the outer surfaces of the plurality of secondary conductors, but does not explicitly disclose a second insulating film section including an insulative film on an outer surface of the single short-circuit ring.
However, Buntschuh discloses a second insulating film section (20, Fig. 1) including an insulative film (20) on an outer surface of the single short-circuit ring (14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the insulation of Takashi to be on the single short-circuit ring, as disclosed by Buntschuh, in order to properly insulate the rotor.
Conclusion
/SEAN GUGGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834