CTNF 18/651,712 CTNF 87833 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-06 AIA Claim 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 15 May 2026 . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 2, 9, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Reasons for allowance will be provided in the event the application becomes in condition for allowance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogawa (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2023/0136409) in view of Kano et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2006/0077774) . Regarding claim 1, Nogawa (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2023/0136409) discloses: An operation analysis system, comprising: circuitry configured to: acquire information related to printing from a printing device (paragraph [0181], analyzer looks at job list); calculate an operating rate of the printing device based on the information related to printing (Figure 14, paragraph [0181]-[0182], the system tracks the interruption time before taking the improvement action; see also Figs. 15-19 and the corresponding sections of the description for additional examples); determine whether the operating rate is equal to or lower than a first predetermined value (Figure 14, paragraphs [0181]-[0182], the system figures out the interruption time after implementing the improvement action and assesses a positive difference between the two; see also Figs. 15-19 and the corresponding sections of the description for additional examples); identify a system configuration model for improving the operating rate of the printing device that has the operating rate equal to or lower than the first predetermined value, based on a property of the printing device (Figure 14, paragraphs [0181]-[0184], the configuration identified with the improvement action would yield an improvement in the operating rate by a given amount – e.g., 30 minutes; see also Figs. 15-19 and the corresponding sections of the description for additional examples); generate screen information of a presentation screen for presenting the system configuration model (Figure 14, paragraphs [0182]-[0183], the screen is presented to the user showing the configuration that resulted in the time save; see also Figs. 15-19 and the corresponding sections of the description for additional examples and also Figure 10 showing a summary all of all proposals and the expected effect); manage property information indicating property by model of the printing device (Figure 10, paragraphs [0114]-[0123], properties of specific machines- e.g., Machine B/W1 and Machine B/W2- are tracked), and identify the system configuration model based on the property indicated by the property information corresponding to the model of the printing device that has the operating rate equal to or lower than the first predetermined value (Figure 10, paragraphs [0114]-[0123], the particular adjustment with expected effect is shown for the particular models with the given properties; see also Figure 14, paragraphs [0181]-[0182], the system figures out the interruption time after implementing the improvement action and assesses a positive difference between the two). Even assuming arguendo that Nogawa does not explicitly disclose: manage property information indicating property by model of the printing device identify the system configuration model based on the property indicated by the property information corresponding to the model of the printing device Kano et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2006/0077774) discloses: determine whether the operating rate is equal to or lower than a first predetermined value (see, for example, paragraph [0095], claim 1, an operation ratio is determined as low) manage property information indicating property by model of the printing device (Figures 4, 9, paragraphs [0061], [0087]-[0088], the particular model name of each printing device is tracked) identify the system configuration model based on the property indicated by the property information corresponding to the model of the printing device that has the operating rate equal to or lower than the first predetermined value (Figures 4, 9, paragraphs [0061], [0087]-[0088], claim 1, for each particular model apparatus, the configuration of the printer is tracked along with the properties of the printer) Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Kano with the system of Nogawa such that the system managed property information indicating property by model of the printing device and the system identified the system configuration model based on the property indicated by the property information corresponding to the model of the printing device as described in Kano. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “enabling users to easily manage image output apparatuses” (paragraph [0010] of the Kano reference). Regarding claim 3, Nogawa additionally discloses: wherein: the circuitry is further configured to: set a target period of analysis according to an operation on a management device (paragraph [0183], the analyzer acquires and aggregates data for two weeks); and calculate the operating rate within the target period, from the information related to printing (paragraphs [0182]-[0184], the analyzer determines the data for the week before the setting information changes and the week after the changes to measure the effect) Regarding claim 4, Nogawa additionally discloses: wherein: the circuitry is further configured to: manage model management information indicating the system configuration model corresponding to each property of the printing device (Figure 10, paragraphs [0114]-[0123], all of the potential configuration adjustments are tracked).; and identify, as the system configuration model for improving the operating rate of the printing device, the system configuration model according to the property of the printing device that has the operating rate equal to or lower than the first predetermined value, indicated by the model management information (Figure 10, paragraphs [0114]-[0123], each proposal is tracked with reference to a particular machine). Regarding claim 5, Nogawa additionally discloses: wherein: the circuitry is further configured to identify the system configuration model that improves the operating rate of the printing device and implements a predetermined printing service (Figure 10, paragraphs [0114]-[0123], the particular adjustment with expected effect is shown for the particular models with the given properties; see also Figure 14, paragraphs [0181]-[0182], the system figures out the interruption time after implementing the improvement action and assesses a positive difference between the two). Regarding claim 7, Nogawa additionally discloses: wherein: the circuitry is further configured to manage proposal candidate information associating at least the identified system configuration model, a reason for identifying the system configuration model, reaction information indicating reaction of a user to a proposal of the system configuration model, and a status indicating a proposal status of the system configuration model, and generate screen information of a first screen including at least the reason for identification of the proposal candidate information, to be displayed at a service terminal (Figure 10, paragraphs [0114]-[0123], properties of specific machines- e.g., Machine B/W1 and Machine B/W2- are tracked; a confirmation of the implementation is included which can be checked by the manager; the screen indicates a summary that describes the rationale for the proposal)), Regarding claim 8, Nogawa discloses: An operation analysis system comprising: circuitry configured to: acquire information related to printing from a printing device (paragraph [0181], analyzer looks at job list); calculate an operating rate of the printing device based on the information related to printing (Figure 14, paragraph [0181]-[0182], the system tracks the interruption time before taking the improvement action; see also Figs. 15-19 and the corresponding sections of the description for additional examples); determine whether the operating rate is equal to or lower than a first predetermined value (Figure 14, paragraphs [0181]-[0182], the system figures out the interruption time after implementing the improvement action and assesses a positive difference between the two; see also Figs. 15-19 and the corresponding sections of the description for additional examples); identify a system configuration model for improving the operating rate of the printing device that has the operating rate equal to or lower than the first predetermined value, based on a property of the printing device (Figure 14, paragraphs [0181]-[0184], the configuration identified with the improvement action would yield an improvement in the operating rate by a given amount – e.g., 30 minutes; see also Figs. 15-19 and the corresponding sections of the description for additional examples); generate screen information of a presentation screen for presenting the system configuration model (Figure 14, paragraphs [0182]-[0183], the screen is presented to the user showing the configuration that resulted in the time save; see also Figs. 15-19 and the corresponding sections of the description for additional examples and also Figure 10 showing a summary all of all proposals and the expected effect); manage proposal candidate information associating at least the identified system configuration model, a reason for identifying the system configuration model, reaction information indicating reaction of a user to a proposal of the system configuration model, and a status indicating a proposal status of the system configuration model (Figure 10, paragraphs [0114]-[0123], properties of specific machines- e.g., Machine B/W1 and Machine B/W2- are tracked; a confirmation of the implementation is included which can be checked by the manager), and generate screen information of a first screen including at least the reason for identification of the proposal candidate information, to be displayed at a service terminal (Figure 10, paragraphs [0114]-[0123], the screen indicates a summary that describes the rationale for the proposal) Even assuming arguendo that Nogawa does not explicitly disclose: identify the system configuration model based on the property indicated by the property information corresponding to the model of the printing device Kano et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2006/0077774) discloses: determine whether the operating rate is equal to or lower than a first predetermined value (see, for example, paragraph [0095], claim 1, an operation ratio is determined as low) manage property information indicating property by model of the printing device (Figures 4, 9, paragraphs [0061], [0087]-[0088], the particular model name of each printing device is tracked) identify the system configuration model based on the property indicated by the property information corresponding to the model of the printing device that has the operating rate equal to or lower than the first predetermined value (Figures 4, 9, paragraphs [0061], [0087]-[0088], claim 1, for each particular model apparatus, the configuration of the printer is tracked along with the properties of the printer) Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Kano with the system of Nogawa such that the system managed property information indicating property by model of the printing device and the system identified the system configuration model based on the property indicated by the property information corresponding to the model of the printing device as described in Kano. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “enabling users to easily manage image output apparatuses” (paragraph [0010] of the Kano reference). Regarding claim 10, Nogawa additionally discloses: the circuitry is further configured to: set a target period of analysis according to an operation on a management device (paragraph [0183], the analyzer acquires and aggregates data for two weeks); and calculate the operating rate within the target period, from the information related to printing (paragraphs [0182]-[0184], the analyzer determines the data for the week before the setting information changes and the week after the changes to measure the effect) Regarding claim 12, Nogawa additionally discloses: wherein: the circuitry is further configured to: generate screen information of a second screen for receiving input of at least the reaction information and a proposal result of a target system configuration model, the target system configuration model being the identified system configuration model, to be displayed at the service terminal (Figure 10, paragraphs [0114]-[0123], properties of specific machines- e.g., Machine B/W1 and Machine B/W2- are tracked; a confirmation of the implementation is included which can be checked by the manager; the screen indicates a summary that describes the rationale for the proposal)),; and register the reaction information and the proposal result input through the second screen displayed at the service terminal, respectively, in the reaction information and the status corresponding to the target system configuration model in the proposal candidate information (Figure 10, paragraphs [0114]-[0123], the manager can click the box on the screen to register the reaction/status information to the proposal) Regarding claim 13, the combination of Nogawa and Kano disclose the system of the parent claim (claim 8). Nogawa additionally discloses: wherein: the circuitry is further configured to: input at least a part of the information related to printing into a learning model; identify the system configuration model based on output from the learning model; and cause the learning model to relearn using the reaction information input through the second screen (Figure 10, paragraphs [0114]-[0123], properties of specific machines- e.g., Machine B/W1 and Machine B/W2- are tracked; a confirmation of the implementation is included which can be checked by the manager; the screen indicates a summary that describes the rationale for the proposal; the Examiner further notes that this claim depends from claim 8 that does not require “a second screen”) 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogawa in view of Kano, further in view of Matsuzaka (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2020/0285424) . Regarding claim 6, the combination of Nogawa and Kano disclose the system of the parent claim (claim 1). As previously noted, Nogawa discloses: identify the system configuration model that improves the operating rate of the printing device (Figure 14, paragraphs [0181]-[0184], the configuration identified with the improvement action would yield an improvement in the operating rate by a given amount – e.g., 30 minutes; see also Figs. 15-19 and the corresponding sections of the description for additional examples); The combination of Nogawa and Kano does not explicitly disclose: wherein: the printing device is a commercial printing device, and the circuitry is configured to identify the system configuration model that improves the operating rate of the commercial printing device installed in a factory. Matsuzaka (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2020/0285424) discloses: wherein: the printing device is a commercial printing device, and the circuitry is configured to identify the system configuration model that improves the operating rate of the commercial printing device installed in a factory (paragraphs [0025]-[0026], [0087], [0313] [0387], [0410], various speed parameters of the commercial printer can be modified) Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Matsuzaka with the combination of Nogawa and Kano such that the system would have been configured for a commercial printing device and improves the operating rate of the commercial printing device installed in a factory as described in Matsuzaka. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “mak[ing] greater use of the printing system to perform printing” (paragraph [0404] of the Matsuzaka reference). Regarding claim 11, the combination of Nogawa and Kano disclose the system of the parent claim (claim 8). As previously noted, Nogawa discloses: identify the system configuration model that improves the operating rate of the printing device (Figure 14, paragraphs [0181]-[0184], the configuration identified with the improvement action would yield an improvement in the operating rate by a given amount – e.g., 30 minutes; see also Figs. 15-19 and the corresponding sections of the description for additional examples); The combination of Nogawa and Kano does not explicitly disclose: wherein: the printing device is a commercial printing device, and the circuitry is configured to identify the system configuration model that improves the operating rate of the commercial printing device installed in a factory. Matsuzaka (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2020/0285424) discloses: wherein: the printing device is a commercial printing device, and the circuitry is configured to identify the system configuration model that improves the operating rate of the commercial printing device installed in a factory (paragraphs [0025]-[0026], [0087], [0313] [0387], [0410], various speed parameters of the commercial printer can be modified) Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Matsuzaka with the combination of Nogawa and Kano such that the system would have been configured for a commercial printing device and improves the operating rate of the commercial printing device installed in a factory as described in Matsuzaka. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “mak[ing] greater use of the printing system to perform printing” (paragraph [0404] of the Matsuzaka reference). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN R WALLACE whose telephone number is (571)270-1577. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday from 8:30-5 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Benny Tieu can be reached at 571-272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOHN R WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/651,712 Page 2 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/651,712 Page 3 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/651,712 Page 4 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/651,712 Page 5 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/651,712 Page 6 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/651,712 Page 7 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/651,712 Page 8 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/651,712 Page 9 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/651,712 Page 10 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/651,712 Page 11 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/651,712 Page 12 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/651,712 Page 13 Art Unit: 2682