DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to the amendment filed 7/27/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7 are amended, claims 11-13 are added, and claim 4 is canceled.
Claims 1-3 and 5-13 are pending and examined.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in para. [0003], line 1, "includes" should be "include" and "and an" should be "and a", and in line 13, change", which include" to "include"; and in para. ]0004], line 12, "structural for limiting" should be "limiting structures", and line 3, "significant shorten" should be "significantly shortens".
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claims 1-3 and 5-13, the term “new” should be deleted from the claims; in claim 1, line 6, “the driving” should be “the first driving”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the elements incorporated into amended claim 1 remain in claim 3. Claim 3 should be canceled to overcome the objection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 7, “the first V-shaped shaft” has no antecedent basis.
In claim 2, lines 3-4, it is not clear if the shaft is “a first V-shaped shaft in claim 1. By changing the phrase to “the first V-shaped shaft” the rejection” would be overcome.
In claim 5, lines 1-2, “the second V-shaped shaft” has no antecedent basis and should be changed to “a second V-shaped shaft” to overcome the rejection.
In claim 6, lines 1-2, “the second lifting component” has no antecedent basis and should be changed to “a second lifting component” to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang(U.S. Pat. Appl. Publ. 2021/0238920; cited previously).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 11, Zhang discloses a motorized two-layer structure shade(see Fig. 14), comprising:
a shell(1410),
a bottom beam(1414) disposed below the shell(see Fig. 14);
a top of the shell equipped with a first lifting component(1444), the first lifting component mounted to the top(side) of the shell,
a first fabric(1418, see para. [0063]) installed on/supported by the first lifting component, and located between the bottom beam(1414) and the shell(1410), a first driving component(one of motors 1420, see para. [0068]) is se/arranged on the shell(see Fig. 14), and a controller(see paras. [0072] and [0073]) electrically connected/coupled to the driving component also installed on the shell(see Fig. 14), wherein the first lifting component includes a first cord reel(one of 1432 or 1434) installed on/fixed to a first shaft(one of 1422 or 1424, see para. [0068]), the first drive component including a first motor(see para. [0068]) and the first shaft driven by the first motor, and a first lifting rope(1444) is mounted on the cord reel(see Fig. 14), the first lifting rope(1444) is equipped with a middle beam(1412), the middle beam is slidably mounted to the first lifting rope(the middle beam and rope interact “equipped with” or “slidably mounted” as much as the disclosed beam and rope interact and considered to meet the claim limitation), a second fabric(1416) is installed between the middle beam(1412) and the shell(see Fig. 14), the controller is configured to receive feedback data(considered information given by the controller) about a-position data of a distance between the bottom beam(1414) and the middle beam(1412), both the second fabric(1416) and the first fabric(1418) are configured to be operated independently and simultaneously(1640, 1660, 1680, see Fig. 16),the controller having the position data is considered to inherently prevent collision between the bottom beam and the middle beam during lifting operation to prevent damage to the beams.
Zhang lacks the specific materials of the fabric and shape of the shaft.
Applicant’s disclosure lends no criticality to the specific shaft or material used.
Therefore, the specific shaft and material chosen is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan given the intended use of the shade and design requirements thereof.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the motorized two-layer structure shade of claim 1, wherein the first driving component comprises a first outer tube(outside portion of 1420) fixed on the shell(see Fig. 14), a first motor (5) is installed inside the first outer tube (4) with a first motor outer cover (25), the first shaft is mounted on an output shaft of the first motor (5), and a first battery(see para. [0075]) is set on the shell.
Zhang lacks how the first bracket is mounted and the specific battery used.
The use of brackets to mount elements to a headrail is considered well known in the art.
Therefore, the specific manner in which the tube/motor and battery are attached to the shell, such as via a bracket, is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan given the intended use of the shade and design requirements thereof.
Applicant’s disclosure lends no criticality to the specific battery used.
Therefore, the specific battery chosen, such as well known lithium, is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan given the intended use of the shade and design requirements thereof.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, as evidenced by Mullet(U.S. Pat. Appl. 2012/0111509; cited previously).
Zhang discloses the motorized two-layer structure shade of claim 1, wherein the shell(2) is equipped with an outer end cover(considered to be provided to cap the shell 2 for aesthetic purposes, or considered well within the purview of a skilled artisan to have provided), and the controller is installed inside the outer end cover(the controller is in the shell and therefore considered “inside the ends cover”, also, the specific location of the controller is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan given the intended use of the shade and design requirements thereof).
Zhang lacks the use of a power board electrically connected to the controller.
The use of power boards is considered well known in the art(see Mullet).
Therefore, the use of a power board, and placement thereof, with the shade of Zhang is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan given the intended use of the motor/system and specific design requirements thereof.
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, as evidenced by Skinner(U.S. Pat. Appl. Publ. 2010/0018654; cited previously).
Zhang discloses the motorized two-layer structure shade of claims 1 and 11, but lacks the use of an angular velocity sensor is mounted to a bottom of the light-filtering fabric/bottom beam, the angular velocity sensor is electrically connected to the controller.
The use of sensors to detect the movement of elements of a shade and objects I the way of the shade are considered well known in the art(see Skinner).
Therefore, the use of a velocity sensor, and the detection and control thereof, is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan given the intended use of the motor/system and specific design requirements thereof.
Claims 9-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, as evidenced by Gruner(U.S. Pat. Appl. Publ. 2006/0048904; cited previously).
Zhang discloses the motorized two-layer structure shade of claims 1 and 11, but lacks the shell having dust-proof insert pieces/cover and mounting components.
Applicant’s disclosure lends no criticality to the use of covers.
The use of covers to keep debris and other objects from entering the shell/headrail and mounting components to attach the shell/shade to a structure are considered well known in the art(see 24 and 28 of Gruner).
Therefore, the use of covers and mounting components, and specific placement and number, with the shell of Zhang is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan given the intended use of the motor/system and specific design requirements thereof.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the drawing and claim objections, the objection to paras. [008], [0026], [0038], and [0039] of the specification, and the rejections to the claims.
The examiner has indicated the removal of the term “new” to the claims to clarify the claims/invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
No prior art of record shows a shade having a shell and bottom and middle beams with fabric between the beams, and first and second driving components, the fabric for operation independently and simultaneously, as set forth in claim 5, nor any motivation to do so.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been carefully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s argument regarding the dependent claims is not persuasive as discussed above(regarding claims 1 and 11).
Applicant’s arguments regarding the drawing and claim objections, several of the specification rejections, and the claim rejections are moot given that the objections and rejections have been withdrawn. Applicant’s argument regarding a change to paras. [0003] and [0004] of the specification are not persuasive as the changes were not included in the amendment.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BETH A. AUBREY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/Beth A Aubrey/