DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on 09/03/2025 has been entered and made of record.
Claims 3-4, 8-9, 13-14 and 18-19 were canceled.
No new claim is added.
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17 and 20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remark section of Amendment, filed September 03, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new prior arts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 in lines 6-11 recites the limitation (a) determining TBS based on a higher layer parameter, does not support a release version, (b) the TBS is determined by determining the TBS by using a predefined calculation method of determining the intermediate value when determining that the higher layer parameter does not exist or that the higher layer parameter is not transmitted to a wireless network node”. Therefore, it is unclear how UE/Base station selects the TBS from the branch A or B or UE/Base station always selects B. Therefore, the claims are indefinite. Claims 2, 5, 7, 10, 12, 15, 17 and 20 are also rejected for the same reason as being indefinite set forth above because they are dependent upon the rejected claims 1, 6, 11 and 16. Please clarify so, the metes and boundary of the claims can be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP DRAFT; R1-1800170 “On TBS Determination Procedure”, vol. RAN WG1, no. Vancouver, Canada; 20180122 – 20180126 13 January 2018 (2018-01-13), XP051384660 [hereinafter as MediaTek/R1-1800170] in view of Song et al. [hereinafter as Song], US 11,451,280 B2.
Regarding claim 1, MediaTek/R1-1800170 discloses wherein a wireless communication method for use in a wireless terminal (pages 7/10 section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination, a wireless communication method for use in a UE wireless terminal), the wireless communication method comprising:
determining a transport block size (TBS) based on a higher layer parameter associated with an event of determining an intermediate value of a TBS determination procedure (pages 1/10 to 2/10 section 1 Introduction on TBS determination procedure in Fig.2, determining a transport block size (TBS) based on steps 2-4 parameter or signaling associated with an event of determining Ninfa an intermediate value (e.g., Ninfo≤3824) on a TBS determination procedure and pages 7/10 to 8/10 section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination in Fig.5, determining the TBS based on the higher layer parameter MCS-Table-PDSCH or OFDM signaling associated with an event of determining Ninfo an intermediate value e.g., Ninfo= NRE *R * Qm * v), wherein the intermediate value is determined based on a plurality of resource parameters (page 8/10 lines 5-13, the Ninfo an intermediate value is determined based on the total number of resource parameters Ninfo= NRE *R * Qm * v), wherein the wireless terminal does not support a release version determined by the higher layer parameter (pages 7/10 section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination, the UE wireless terminal does not set ‘256 QAM’ configured and 0 ≤ IMCS ≤ 28/NR system does not support a release version determined by the higher layer parameter MCS-Table-PDSCH).
Even though MediaTek/R1-1800170 discloses the intermediate value Ninfo = N’RE *nPRB*R*Qm*ʋ is a float number and adjustment to the rounding function in the N’info formula based on the higher layer parameter MCSround-Table-PDSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Song teaches wherein the event is that the intermediate value is a float number (Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 1-15, the intermediate value Ninfo based is a float number based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ), wherein the TBS is determined by determining the TBS by using a predefined calculation method of determining the intermediate value when determining that the higher layer parameter does not exist or that the higher layer parameter is not transmitted to a wireless network node (Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 8-67, the TB size is determined by using formula 1&2/predefined calculation method of determining the intermediate value Ninfo based on the re-determined Qm and R when the capability information reported by UE to the network node indicates that the PUSCH of UE does not support 64QAM and the current MCS index adopts 17, 18, 19 or 20; if the calculated Ninfo is not an integer, the final value of Ninfo is determined by rounding up or down and optionally, the quantity of bits included in transmitted information is calculated based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ, wherein SE denotes the spectral efficiency in the MCS table and Fig.4&8 Col 18 lines 29-46, the network higher-layer informs by signaling that π/2-BPSK is not supported), and wherein the predefined calculation method rounds the intermediate value down, rounds the intermediate value up, rounds the intermediate value, or retains the intermediate value at a float precision (Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 8-67, the formula/predefined calculation method rounds the intermediate value down if the calculated Ninfo is not an integer, the final value of Ninfo is determined by rounding up or down and optionally, the quantity of bits included in transmitted information is calculated based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ, wherein SE denotes the spectral efficiency in the MCS table i.e., rounds the intermediate value up, rounds the intermediate value, or retains the intermediate value at a float precision).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified MediaTek/ R1-1800170 incorporate the teaching of Song in order to achieve more flexible signal reception and transmission.
It would have been beneficial to use the formula/predefined calculation method which rounds the intermediate value down if the calculated Ninfo is not an integer, the final value of Ninfo is determined by rounding up or down and optionally, the quantity of bits included in transmitted information is calculated based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ, wherein SE denotes the spectral efficiency in the MCS table i.e., rounds the intermediate value up, rounds the intermediate value, or retains the intermediate value at a float precision as taught by Song to have incorporated in the system of MediaTek/ R1-1800170 incorporate to provide for improving communication effectiveness. (Song, Fig.1&4 Col 18 lines 23-27, Fig.4&8 Col 18 lines 29-46 and Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 8-67)
Regarding claim 2, MediaTek/R1-1800170 and Song disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein MediaTek/R1-1800170 further discloses the plurality of resource parameters comprises at least one of a total number of resource elements allocated to the wireless terminal, a rate, a modulation order, and a number of layers (pages 8/10 lines 1-7, the plurality of resource parameters comprises at least one of a total number of Res resource elements allocated to the UE wireless terminal, a rate, a modulation order, and a number of layers e.g., higher layer parameter Xoh-PDSCH).
Regarding claim 5, MediaTek/R1-1800170 and Song disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein MediaTek/R1-1800170 further discloses the plurality of resource parameters with specific values is valid in the predefined calculation method (pages 3/10 section 2.2 Proposed Solution 1: Adjustment of Ninfo threshold, the plurality of resource parameters with TBS value/specific values is valid in the predefined calculation method e.g., quantization of Ninfo formula).
Regarding claim 6, MediaTek/R1-1800170 discloses wherein a wireless communication method for use in a wireless network node (pages 7/10 section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination, a wireless communication method for use in a wireless network node e.g., RAN or NR), the wireless communication method comprising:
determining a transport block size (TBS) based on a higher layer parameter associated with an event of determining an intermediate value of a TBS determination procedure (pages 1/10 to 2/10 section 1 Introduction on TBS determination procedure in Fig.2, determining a transport block size (TBS) based on steps 2-4 parameter or signaling associated with an event of determining Ninfo an intermediate value (e.g., Ninfo≤3824) on a TBS determination procedure and pages 7/10 to 8/10 section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination in Fig.5, determining the TBS based on the higher layer parameter MCS-Table-PDSCH or OFDM signaling associated with an event of determining Ninfo an intermediate value e.g., Ninfo= NRE *R * Qm * v), wherein the intermediate value is determined based on a plurality of resource parameters (page 8/10 lines 5-13, the Ninfo an intermediate value is determined based on the total number of resource parameters Ninfo= NRE *R * Qm * v), wherein the wireless network node does not support a release version determined by the higher layer parameter (pages 7/10 section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination, the UE wireless terminal does not set ‘256 QAM’ configured and 0 ≤ IMCS ≤ 28/NR system does not support a release version determined by the higher layer parameter MCS-Table-PDSCH).
Even though MediaTek/R1-1800170 discloses the intermediate value Ninfo = N’RE *nPRB*R*Qm*ʋ is a float number and adjustment to the rounding function in the N’info formula based on the higher layer parameter MCSround-Table-PDSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Song teaches wherein the event is that the intermediate value is a float number (Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 1-15, the intermediate value Ninfo based is a float number based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ), wherein the TBS is determined by determining the TBS by using a predefined calculation method of determining the intermediate value when determining that the higher layer parameter does not exist or that the higher layer parameter is not transmitted to a wireless network node (Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 8-67, the TB size is determined by using formula 1&2/predefined calculation method of determining the intermediate value Ninfo based on the re-determined Qm and R when the capability information reported by UE to the network node indicates that the PUSCH of UE does not support 64QAM and the current MCS index adopts 17, 18, 19 or 20; if the calculated Ninfo is not an integer, the final value of Ninfo is determined by rounding up or down and optionally, the quantity of bits included in transmitted information is calculated based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ, wherein SE denotes the spectral efficiency in the MCS table and Fig.4&8 Col 18 lines 29-46, the network higher-layer informs by signaling that π/2-BPSK is not supported), and
wherein the predefined calculation method rounds the intermediate value down, rounds the intermediate value up, rounds the intermediate value, or retains the intermediate value at a float precision (Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 8-67, the formula/predefined calculation method rounds the intermediate value down if the calculated Ninfo is not an integer, the final value of Ninfo is determined by rounding up or down and optionally, the quantity of bits included in transmitted information is calculated based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ, wherein SE denotes the spectral efficiency in the MCS table i.e., rounds the intermediate value up, rounds the intermediate value, or retains the intermediate value at a float precision).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified MediaTek/ R1-1800170 incorporate the teaching of Song in order to achieve more flexible signal reception and transmission.
It would have been beneficial to use the formula/predefined calculation method which rounds the intermediate value down if the calculated Ninfo is not an integer, the final value of Ninfo is determined by rounding up or down and optionally, the quantity of bits included in transmitted information is calculated based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ, wherein SE denotes the spectral efficiency in the MCS table i.e., rounds the intermediate value up, rounds the intermediate value, or retains the intermediate value at a float precision as taught by Song to have incorporated in the system of MediaTek/ R1-1800170 incorporate to provide for improving communication effectiveness. (Song, Fig.1&4 Col 18 lines 23-27, Fig.4&8 Col 18 lines 29-46 and Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 8-67)
Regarding claim 7, MediaTek/R1-1800170 and Song disclose all the elements of claim 6 as stated above wherein MediaTek/R1-1800170 further discloses the plurality of resource parameters comprises at least one of a total number of resource elements allocated to a wireless terminal, a rate, a modulation order, and a number of layers (pages 8/10 lines 1-7, the plurality of resource parameters comprises at least one of a total number of Res resource elements allocated to the UE wireless terminal, a rate, a modulation order, and a number of layers e.g., higher layer parameter Xoh-PDSCH).
Regarding claim 10, MediaTek/R1-1800170 and Song disclose all the elements of claim 6 as stated above wherein MediaTek/R1-1800170 further discloses the plurality of resource parameters with specific values is valid in the predefined calculation method (pages 3/10 section 2.2 Proposed Solution 1: Adjustment of Ninfo threshold, the plurality of resource parameters with TBS value/specific values is valid in the predefined calculation method e.g., quantization of Ninfo formula).
Regarding claim 11, MediaTek/R1-1800170 discloses wherein a wireless terminal (pages 7/10 section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination, UE wireless terminal), comprising at least one processor configured to (pages 7/10 section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination, the UE wireless terminal comprising a processor, implicitly implied):
determine a transport block size (TBS) based on a higher layer parameter associated with an event of determining an intermediate value of a TBS determination procedure (pages 1/10 to 2/10 section 1 Introduction on TBS determination procedure in Fig.2, determining a transport block size (TBS) based on steps 2-4 parameter or signaling associated with an event of determining Ninfo an intermediate value (e.g., Ninfo≤3824) on a TBS determination procedure and pages 7/10 to 8/10 section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination in Fig.5, determining the TBS based on the higher layer parameter MCS-Table-PDSCH or OFDM signaling associated with an event of determining Ninfo an intermediate value e.g., Ninfo= NRE *R * Qm * v), wherein the intermediate value is determined based on a plurality of resource parameters (page 8/10 lines 5-13, the Ninfo an intermediate value is determined based on the total number of resource parameters Ninfo= NRE *R * Qm * v), wherein the wireless terminal does not support a release version determined by the higher layer parameter (pages 7/10 section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination, the UE wireless terminal does not set ‘256 QAM’ configured and 0 ≤ IMCS ≤ 28/NR system does not support a release version determined by the higher layer parameter MCS-Table-PDSCH).
Even though MediaTek/R1-1800170 discloses the intermediate value Ninfo = N’RE *nPRB*R*Qm*ʋ is a float number and adjustment to the rounding function in the N’info formula based on the higher layer parameter MCSround-Table-PDSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Song teaches wherein the event is that the intermediate value is a float number (Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 1-15, the intermediate value Ninfo based is a float number based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ), wherein the TBS is determined by determining the TBS by using a predefined calculation method of determining the intermediate value when determining that the higher layer parameter does not exist or that the higher layer parameter is not transmitted to a wireless network node (Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 8-67, the TB size is determined by using formula 1&2/predefined calculation method of determining the intermediate value Ninfo based on the re-determined Qm and R when the capability information reported by UE to the network node indicates that the PUSCH of UE does not support 64QAM and the current MCS index adopts 17, 18, 19 or 20; if the calculated Ninfo is not an integer, the final value of Ninfo is determined by rounding up or down and optionally, the quantity of bits included in transmitted information is calculated based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ, wherein SE denotes the spectral efficiency in the MCS table and Fig.4&8 Col 18 lines 29-46, the network higher-layer informs by signaling that π/2-BPSK is not supported), and
wherein the predefined calculation method rounds the intermediate value down, rounds the intermediate value up, rounds the intermediate value, or retains the intermediate value at a float precision (Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 8-67, the formula/predefined calculation method rounds the intermediate value down if the calculated Ninfo is not an integer, the final value of Ninfo is determined by rounding up or down and optionally, the quantity of bits included in transmitted information is calculated based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ, wherein SE denotes the spectral efficiency in the MCS table i.e., rounds the intermediate value up, rounds the intermediate value, or retains the intermediate value at a float precision).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified MediaTek/ R1-1800170 incorporate the teaching of Song in order to achieve more flexible signal reception and transmission.
It would have been beneficial to use the formula/predefined calculation method which rounds the intermediate value down if the calculated Ninfo is not an integer, the final value of Ninfo is determined by rounding up or down and optionally, the quantity of bits included in transmitted information is calculated based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ, wherein SE denotes the spectral efficiency in the MCS table i.e., rounds the intermediate value up, rounds the intermediate value, or retains the intermediate value at a float precision as taught by Song to have incorporated in the system of MediaTek/ R1-1800170 incorporate to provide for improving communication effectiveness. (Song, Fig.1&4 Col 18 lines 23-27, Fig.4&8 Col 18 lines 29-46 and Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 8-67)
Regarding claim 12, MediaTek/R1-1800170 and Song disclose all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein MediaTek/R1-1800170 further discloses the plurality of resource parameters comprises at least one of a total number of resource elements allocated to the wireless terminal, a rate, a modulation order, and a number of layers (pages 8/10 lines 1-7, the plurality of resource parameters comprises at least one of a total number of Res resource elements allocated to the UE wireless terminal, a rate, a modulation order, and a number of layers e.g., higher layer parameter Xoh-PDSCH).
Regarding claim 15, MediaTek/R1-1800170 and Song disclose all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein MediaTek/R1-1800170 further discloses the plurality of resource parameters with specific values is valid in the predefined calculation method (pages 3/10 section 2.2 Proposed Solution 1: Adjustment of Ninfo threshold, the plurality of resource parameters with TBS value/specific values is valid in the predefined calculation method e.g., quantization of Ninfo formula).
Regarding claim 16, MediaTek/R1-1800170 discloses wherein a wireless network node (pages 7/10 section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination, a wireless network node e.g., RAN or NR), comprising at least one processor (pages 7/10 section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination, a processor of the wireless network node e.g., RAN or NR, implicitly implied) configured to:
determine a transport block size (TBS) based on a higher layer parameter associated with an event of determining an intermediate value of a TBS determination procedure (pages 1/10 to 2/10 section 1 Introduction on TBS determination procedure in Fig.2, determining a transport block size (TBS) based on steps 2-4 parameter or signaling associated with an event of determining Ninfo an intermediate value (e.g., Ninfo≤3824) on a TBS determination procedure and pages 7/10 to 8/10 section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination in Fig.5, determining the TBS based on the higher layer parameter MCS-Table-PDSCH or OFDM signaling associated with an event of determining Ninfo an intermediate value e.g., Ninfo= NRE *R * Qm * v), wherein the intermediate value is determined based on a plurality of resource parameters (page 8/10 lines 5-13, the Ninfo an intermediate value is determined based on the total number of resource parameters Ninfo= NRE *R * Qm * v), wherein the wireless network node does not support the release version determined by the higher layer parameter (pages 7/10 section 5.1.3.2 Transport block size determination, the wireless network node RAN or NR does not set ‘256 QAM’ configured and 0 ≤ IMCS ≤ 28/NR system does not support a release version determined by the higher layer parameter MCS-Table-PDSCH).
Even though MediaTek/R1-1800170 discloses the intermediate value Ninfo = N’RE *nPRB*R*Qm*ʋ is a float number and adjustment to the rounding function in the N’info formula based on the higher layer parameter MCSround-Table-PDSCH, in the same field of endeavor, Song teaches wherein the event is that the intermediate value is a float number (Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 1-15, the intermediate value Ninfo based is a float number based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ), wherein the TBS is determined by determining the TBS by using a predefined calculation method of determining the intermediate value when determining that the higher layer parameter does not exist or that the higher layer parameter is not transmitted to a wireless network node (Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 8-67, the TB size is determined by using formula 1&2/predefined calculation method of determining the intermediate value Ninfo based on the re-determined Qm and R when the capability information reported by UE to the network node indicates that the PUSCH of UE does not support 64QAM and the current MCS index adopts 17, 18, 19 or 20; if the calculated Ninfo is not an integer, the final value of Ninfo is determined by rounding up or down and optionally, the quantity of bits included in transmitted information is calculated based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ, wherein SE denotes the spectral efficiency in the MCS table and Fig.4&8 Col 18 lines 29-46, the network higher-layer informs by signaling that π/2-BPSK is not supported), and
wherein the predefined calculation method rounds the intermediate value down, rounds the intermediate value up, rounds the intermediate value, or retains the intermediate value at a float precision (Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 8-67, the formula/predefined calculation method rounds the intermediate value down if the calculated Ninfo is not an integer, the final value of Ninfo is determined by rounding up or down and optionally, the quantity of bits included in transmitted information is calculated based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ, wherein SE denotes the spectral efficiency in the MCS table i.e., rounds the intermediate value up, rounds the intermediate value, or retains the intermediate value at a float precision).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified MediaTek/ R1-1800170 incorporate the teaching of Song in order to achieve more flexible signal reception and transmission.
It would have been beneficial to use the formula/predefined calculation method which rounds the intermediate value down if the calculated Ninfo is not an integer, the final value of Ninfo is determined by rounding up or down and optionally, the quantity of bits included in transmitted information is calculated based on formula Ninfo = NRE *SE*ʋ, wherein SE denotes the spectral efficiency in the MCS table i.e., rounds the intermediate value up, rounds the intermediate value, or retains the intermediate value at a float precision as taught by Song to have incorporated in the system of MediaTek/ R1-1800170 incorporate to provide for improving communication effectiveness. (Song, Fig.1&4 Col 18 lines 23-27, Fig.4&8 Col 18 lines 29-46 and Fig.1-4&8 Col 20 lines 8-67)
Regarding claim 17, MediaTek/R1-1800170 and Song disclose all the elements of claim 16 as stated above wherein MediaTek/R1-1800170 further discloses the plurality of resource parameters comprises at least one of a total number of resource elements allocated to a wireless terminal, a rate, a modulation order, and a number of layers (pages 8/10 lines 1-7, the plurality of resource parameters comprises at least one of a total number of Res resource elements allocated to the UE wireless terminal, a rate, a modulation order, and a number of layers e.g., higher layer parameter Xoh-PDSCH).
Regarding claim 20, MediaTek/R1-1800170 and Song disclose all the elements of claim 16 as stated above wherein MediaTek/R1-1800170 further discloses the plurality of resource parameters with specific values is valid in the predefined calculation method (pages 3/10 section 2.2 Proposed Solution 1: Adjustment of Ninfo threshold, the plurality of resource parameters with TBS value/specific values is valid in the predefined calculation method e.g., quantization of Ninfo formula).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin (US Patent No.: US 10924202 B2) teaches Method for Transmitting Data, Terminal Device and Network Device.
Wang et al. (US Patent No.: US 11166273 B2) teaches Method and Apparatus for Determining Transport Block Size.
Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0029737 A1) teaches Method and Apparatus for Repetition-Based Data Transmission for Network Cooperative Communication.
Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0232623 A1) teaches Method or Performing Random Access (RA) Procedure, and Transmitting Device, Apparatus and Storage Medium Therefor, and Method and Apparatus for Transmitting MAC PDU of RA procedure.
Myung et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0043797 A1) teaches Apparatus and Method for Transmitting and Receiving Data and Control Signal in Communication System.
Liu et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0153146 A1) teaches Synchronization Signal Transmission Method and Terminal.
Tsai et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0094668 A1) teaches Power Control Signaling for Multiuser Superposition Transmission.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414 /STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414