DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1,2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “the intermediate layer-encases sphere” (cl 1:10-11) is indefinite because it is unclear whether or not it is related to the heat-treated intermediate layer-encased sphere of cl 1:7-9. If they are related, it should be clearly and positively recited as such.
Correction is required.
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2004159840 (English machine translation provided herewith).
1. (Currently Amended) A method for manufacturing a golf ball including a core, at least one intermediate layer, and a cover, the core being formed of a rubber material, the intermediate layer being formed of a resin composition, and the cover being formed of a urethane resin material (JP2004159840: [0013,0019-0021,0024-0026]; fig 1; core 1; intermediate layer 2; cover 3), the method comprising:
a step (1) of forming an intermediate layer-encased sphere by encasing the core with the at least one intermediate layer (JP2004159840: [0019-0021,0024]; fig 1; intermediate layer 2 is injection molded around the core 1);
a step (2) of subjecting the intermediate layer-encased sphere to a heat treatment at a temperature of at least a melting point of a base resin of the resin composition of the intermediate layer and less than 1600C (JP2004159840: [0019-0021,0024-0026]; fig 1; intermediate layer 2 is subjected to a heat treatment, wherein the temperature is 40C-80C); and
a step (3) of thereafter forming a cover-encased sphere by encasing the intermediate layer-encased sphere with the cover, wherein in the step (1), the intermediate layer encased sphere is formed by injection molding the resin composition of the intermediate layer around the core (JP2004159840: [0019-0021,0024]; fig 1; intermediate layer 2 is injection molded around the core 1), and in the step (2), a time of the heat treatment on the intermediate layer-encased sphere is from 20 to 30 minutes (JP2004159840: [0019-0021,0024-0026]; fig 1; intermediate layer 2 is subjected to a heat treatment, wherein the time is 20 mins to 30 mins).
6. (Original) The manufacturing method of claim 1, wherein the base resin of the resin composition of the intermediate layer is an ionomer resin (JP2004159840: [0019-0021,0024]; fig 1; intermediate layer 2 is made from an ionomer resin).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2004159840 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Nagasawa et al (US2008/0217810). The above teachings of JP2004159840 are incorporated hereinafter.
JP2004159840 does not teach the heat treatment temperature of 90 to 150C, but does teach a heat treatment temperature of 100C in comparative example 5. Nagasawa et al teach subjecting a layer of a golf ball to a heat treatment, wherein the temperature is 80C ([0063]), but Nagasawa et al also teach the exact temperature of the heat treatment can be optimized to achieve desired properties of the layer (Nagasawa et al: [0062-0063]). Since JP2004159840 teaches a 100C heat treatment temperature and Nagasawa et al teach the heat treatment temperature is an optimizable variable/result-effective variable dependent on the desired properties of the layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the heat treatment temperature of JP2004159840 to 100C to achieve a desired property of the intermediate layer.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,2 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach subjecting an intermediate layer of a golf ball to heat: JP2004305426 and JP4214003.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744