DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/1/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Fig. 9 is objected to because it is unclear which cross section of fig. 8 is being depicted. The brief description of the drawings describes fig. 9 and a cross section of fig. 8, however there is no cut line on figure 8 to tell where the cross section is being cut out from. Furthermore, the axes on both of the drawings are the same even though they are two different views.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12, 13, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakata (US 2021/0398950).
As to claim 1, Nakata teaches a semiconductor module (7, figs. 2 and 4) comprising:
a housing (71, 72, and 81) that has a housing space ([0051]);
a semiconductor device (1) that is arranged in the housing space ([0021]), and that has a chip (3, [0021] and [0045]) having:
a main surface (top surface),
a main surface electrode (32f) arranged on the main surface ([0023]),
a terminal electrode (38) arranged on the main surface electrode (32f, [0032]), and
a sealing insulator (6) covering a periphery of the terminal electrode (38) on the main surface such as to expose a part of the terminal electrode (fig. 2, top surface of terminal 38 is exposed, [0034]); and
an insulating gel-like filling (80) agent that is filled in the housing space (fig. 4) such as to contact the sealing insulator (6), and that seals the semiconductor device (1) in the housing space (fig. 4, [0055]).
As to claim 2, Nakata further teaches the gel-like filling agent (80) is filled up to a height position at which an entirety of the semiconductor device is covered in the housing space (fig. 4).
As to claim 3, Nakata further teaches the sealing insulator (6) is thicker than the main surface electrode (fig. 4, sealing insulator 6 is thicker than the entire SC device 1, therefore it is also thicker than the electrode within the device).
As to claim 4, Nakata further teaches the sealing insulator (6) is thicker than the chip (fig. 4, see above reasoning).
As to claim 5, Nakata further teaches the sealing insulator (6) includes a thermosetting resin, and the gel-like filling agent includes a silicone gel ([0034] and [0055]).
As to claim 6, Nakata further teaches the gel-like filling agent (80) contacts the terminal electrode (38) and the sealing insulator (6) and does not contact the main surface electrode (32f, figs. 2 and 4, 80 contacts the top of 38 and the top and sides of 6. 32f is surrounded by 6, thus 80 would not contact 32f).
As to claim 7, Nakata further teaches the terminal electrode (38) is arranged on the main surface electrode (32f) at an interval from a peripheral edge of the main surface electrode (32f), and the sealing insulator covers a peripheral edge portion of the main surface electrode and the terminal electrode (fig. 2, 6 covers sidewalls of 38 and insulating layer 36, which is on the peripheral edge of 32f).
As to claim 8, Nakata further teaches the terminal electrode (38) has a terminal surface (top) and a terminal side wall (sides of 38), the sealing insulator (6) covers the terminal side wall such as to expose the terminal surface (fig. 2), and the gel-like filling agent (80) has a part that directly covers the terminal surface (fig. 4, the sidewalls are covered by 6 and the top surface is covered by 80).
As to claim 9, Nakata further teaches the sealing insulator (6) has an insulating main surface that forms a single flat surface with the terminal surface (fig, 2, 6 is flush with the top surface of 38), and the gel-like filling agent (80) has a part that directly covers the insulating main surface (fig. 4).
As to claim 12, Nakata further teaches an insulating film (36) that partly covers the main surface electrode (32f), and the sealing insulator (6) has a part that covers the insulating film (36, fig. 2, [0042]).
As to claim 13, Nakata further teaches the gel-like filling agent does not contact the insulating film (figs. 2 and 4, the insulating film 36 is covered by 8, thus 80 would not contact the insulating film 36).
As to claim 15, Nakata further teaches the insulating film (36) includes any one of or both of an inorganic insulating film and an organic insulating film ([0042]).
As to claim 20, Nakata further teaches a wiring (4) arranged in the housing space (fig. 2, [0029]); and a conducting wire (5) connected to the wiring (4) and the semiconductor device (3, [0042]); wherein the gel-like filling agent (80) seals the wiring, the semiconductor device, and the conducting wire (fig. 4, 80 seals everything pertaining to the semiconductor device 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakata.
As to claims 16-19, Nakata teaches chip 3 is a MOSFET ([0023] and [0045]). MOSFETs are known to have epitaxial layers on their surface (i.e. sources and drains), to which contacts such as 38 connect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that the main surface would contain the epitaxial layer for the reasons stated above.
Furthermore, determining the thickness of the epitaxial layer and the semiconductor materials and structure of the chip and its substrate would have been obvious so as to fabricate a device using industrially tested and accepted parameters and materials. It is noted that the Applicant has not shown that these limitations are novel and would not have been found through routine experimentation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the claims listed above in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all of the features in the claims. As to claim 10, Nakata fails to teach the chip has a side surface, and the gel-like filling agent has a part that directly covers the side surface. The sealing insulator 6 very much covers the entire chip 3 (fig. 2), thus the gel-like filling agent would not have a part that directly covers the side surface of the chip 3.
As to claim 14, Nakata fails to teach the terminal electrode has a part that directly covers the insulating film. Fig. 2 clearly shows the insulating film 36 on the sidewall of the terminal electrode 38, thus the terminal electrode 38 does not have a part that directly covers the insulating film.
Claim 11 is allowable at least because it depends from allowable claim 10.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-Delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
/KAREN KUSUMAKAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
7/20/26