DETAILED ACTION
The following is an initial Office Action upon examination of the above-identified application on the merits. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2017/0167742 A1 (USPN 10,101,050 B2) to Radovanovic et al.
As per claim 1, the Radovanovic et al. reference discloses a computer-implemented method for limiting power consumption comprising: receiving a power limit (see [0084], “maximum energy supply limits”) associated with a power limit mode (see 0106], “capacity events”); obtaining power consumption (see [0083], “energy consumption”) from one or more devices (see [0034], “each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”) of a building (“residences 150A-150N”), each device (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”) of the one or more devices (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”) associated with a current sensor (see [0031], “one or more sensors”) for providing a current load (see [0111], “electrical load”) for the device (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”); obtaining a status (see [0033], “room-occupancy states, dim state, power state”) for each device (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”) and historical consumption data (see [0123], “available historic data”) associated with each device (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”); determining a set of devices (see [0079], “subset of residences”) of the one or more devices (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”) to disconnect (see [0117], “shed”) based at least in part on the power consumption (“energy consumption”) being greater than the power limit (“maximum energy supply limits”), the set of devices (“subset of residences”) determined based on an algorithm (see [0117], “DR events”) that uses the status (“room-occupancy states, dim state, power state”), the historical consumption data (“available historic data”), and the power limit (“maximum energy supply limits”) to calculate an anticipated power reduction (see [0117], “estimating an optimal amount of load capacity”) from disconnecting (“shed”) a particular combination (“subset of residences”) of the one or more devices (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”) that reduces the power consumption (“energy consumption”) to less than or equal (see [0101], “quantify the amount of demand reduction”) to the power limit (“maximum energy supply limits”); and transmitting a signal (see [0084], “energy management system 830”), sequentially, for actuating an actuator (“control mechanism”) for a device (“electronic devices”) of the set of devices (“subset of residences”) to disconnect (“shed”) from a power source (see [0076], power source”) of the building (“residences 150A-150N”) while the power consumption (“energy consumption”) is greater than (see [0111], “greater than”) the power limit (“maximum energy supply limits”).
As per claim 4, the Radovanovic et al. reference discloses determining that thermal control loads (see [0106], “HVAC load”) are on and that a temperature (“temperatures in the range 70°-74° F. under normal circumstances”) for a thermal control load device (“HVAC load”) is different than a conservation temperature (“slightly higher temperatures”), the thermal control load device (“HVAC load”) of the one or more devices (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”); and transmitting another signal (“energy management system 830”) to the thermal control load device (“HVAC load”) to change the temperature (“temperatures”) to the conservation temperature (“slightly higher temperatures”).
As per claim 5, the Radovanovic et al. reference discloses determining the set of devices (“subset of residences”) to disconnect (“shed”) based at least in part on the power consumption (“energy consumption”) being greater than the power limit (“maximum energy supply limits”) occurs subsequent (see [0112], “each subsequent time interval”) to determining that thermal control loads (“HVAC load”) are on and that the temperature (“temperatures in the range 70°-74° F. under normal circumstances”) for a thermal control load device (“HVAC load”) is different than a conservation temperature (“slightly higher temperatures”).
As per claim 6, the Radovanovic et al. reference discloses determining the set of devices (“subset of residences”) to disconnect (“shed”) based at least in part on the power consumption (“energy consumption”) being greater than the power limit (“maximum energy supply limits”) occurs upon expiration of a certain time period (see [0112], “each subsequent time interval expires”) after transmitting the another signal (“energy management system 830”) to the thermal control load device (“HVAC load”) to change the temperature (“temperatures”) to the conservation temperature (“slightly higher temperatures”).
As per claim 7, the Radovanovic et al. reference discloses obtaining a voltage (see [0069], “voltage Vcc”) of the building (“residences 150A-150N”) from a voltage sensor (“powering circuitry 710”), and wherein the algorithm (“DR events”) further uses the voltage (“voltage Vcc”) to determine the set of devices (“subset of residences”).
As per claim 12, the Radovanovic et al. reference discloses a computer system for limiting power consumption, the computer system comprising one or more hardware processors (see [0129], “processing units”) which, alone or in combination, are configured to provide for execution (“perform the functions”) of the following steps: receiving a power limit (see [0084], “maximum energy supply limits”) associated with a power limit mode (see 0106], “capacity events”); obtaining power consumption (see [0083], “energy consumption”) from one or more devices (see [0034], “each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”) of a building (“residences 150A-150N”), each device (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”) of the one or more devices (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”) associated with a current sensor (see [0031], “one or more sensors”) for providing a current load (see [0111], “electrical load”) for the device (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”); obtaining a status (see [0033], “room-occupancy states, dim state, power state”) for each device (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”) and historical consumption data (see [0123], “available historic data”) associated with each device (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”); determining a set of devices (see [0079], “subset of residences”) of the one or more devices (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”) to disconnect (see [0117], “shed”) based at least in part on the power consumption (“energy consumption”) being greater than the power limit (“maximum energy supply limits”), the set of devices (“subset of residences”) determined based on an algorithm (see [0117], “DR events”) that uses the status (“room-occupancy states, dim state, power state”), the historical consumption data (“available historic data”), and the power limit (“maximum energy supply limits”) to calculate an anticipated power reduction (see [0117], “estimating an optimal amount of load capacity”) from disconnecting (“shed”) a particular combination (“subset of residences”) of the one or more devices (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”) that reduces the power consumption (“energy consumption”) to less than or equal (see [0101], “quantify the amount of demand reduction”) to the power limit (“maximum energy supply limits”); and transmitting a signal (see [0084], “energy management system 830”), sequentially, for actuating an actuator (“control mechanism”) for a device (“electronic devices”) of the set of devices (“subset of residences”) to disconnect (“shed”) from a power source (see [0076], power source”) of the building (“residences 150A-150N”) while the power consumption (“energy consumption”) is greater than (see [0111], “greater than”) the power limit (“maximum energy supply limits”).
As per claim 14, the Radovanovic et al. reference discloses determining that thermal control loads (see [0106], “HVAC load”) are on and that a temperature (“temperatures in the range 70°-74° F. under normal circumstances”) for a thermal control load device (“HVAC load”) is different than a conservation temperature (“slightly higher temperatures”), the thermal control load device (“HVAC load”) of the one or more devices (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”); and transmitting another signal (“energy management system 830”) to the thermal control load device (“HVAC load”) to change the temperature (“temperatures”) to the conservation temperature (“slightly higher temperatures”).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0132590 A1 to Shaton et al.
As per claim 18, the Shaton et al. reference discloses a computer-implemented method for limiting power consumption comprising: obtaining a signal (see [0057], “control signals”) that corresponds to a power outage mode (see [0058], “storage operational mode”) for a building (see [0052], “premises 118”); obtaining maximum power limit (see [0204], “maximum discharge power”) for a battery (“energy storage device(s) 104”) of the building (“premises 118”) and a state of charge (see [0062], “charge or discharge”) for the battery (“energy storage device(s) 104”); obtaining power consumption (see [0196], “power consumption level”) from one or more devices (“one or more load devices”) of the building (“premises 118”) which are utilizing power (“power”) from the battery (“energy storage device(s) 104”); determining a set of devices (see [0062], “one or more loads”) of the one or more devices (“one or more load devices”) that are not currently (“power source 102”) utilizing the power (“power”) from the battery (“energy storage device(s) 104”) to connect (see [0061], “storage interface 106”) to the battery (“energy storage device(s) 104”) based at least in part on the power consumption (“power consumption level”) being less than (see [0204], “lower than”) the maximum power limit (“maximum discharge power”), the set of devices (“one or more loads”) determined based on an algorithm (see [0064], “predictions generator 120”) that uses historical consumption data (“historical data”) from the set of devices (“one or more of 118-1 through 118-4”), user preferences (see [0066], “optimization objective selection 143, total savings 150”), and the maximum power limit (“maximum discharge power”) to calculate an anticipated power usage (see [0102], “energy consumption prediction”) from connecting a particular combination (“one or more of 118-1 through 118-4”) of the one or more devices (“one or more load devices”) that maintains the power consumption (“power consumption level”) to less than (“lower than”) the maximum power limit (“maximum discharge power”); and transmitting a signal (“predicted peak demand”), sequentially, for actuating an actuator (“controller 110”) for a device of the set of devices (“one or more of 118-1 through 118-4”) to connect to the battery (“energy storage device(s) 104”) while the power consumption (“power consumption level”) is less than (“lower than”) the maximum power limit (“maximum discharge power”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0132590 A1 to Shaton et al. in view of US 2017/0167742 A1 (USPN 10,101,050 B2) to Radovanovic et al.
As per claim 20, the Shaton et al. does not expressly disclose the limitations taught by the Radovanovic et al. reference, namely: determining that thermal control loads (see [0106], “HVAC load”) are on and that a temperature (“temperatures in the range 70°-74° F. under normal circumstances”) for a thermal control load device (“HVAC load”) is different than a conservation temperature (“slightly higher temperatures”), the thermal control load device (“HVAC load”) of the one or more devices (“each of the devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114 and 116”); and transmitting another signal (“energy management system 830”) to the thermal control load device (“HVAC load”) to change the temperature (“temperatures”) to the conservation temperature (“slightly higher temperatures”).
Before the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the premises taught by the Shaton et al. reference with the residences taught by the Radovanovic et al. reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the premises with the residences to illustrate additional load devices which may be controlled by controller in the power system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 8-11, 13, 15-17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per claims 2, 13 and 19, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach the set of devices is further determined based on generating a list of different combinations of devices of the set of devices using a priority of devices to be disconnected included in user preferences for each device of the set of devices, the particular combination included in the list of different combinations.
As per claims 8 and 15, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach determining that a particular device of the one or more devices has been manually connected to a power source of the building by a user in response to determining that the power consumption is greater than the power limit; transmitting a notification to a user device of the user identifying the manual connection of the particular device and a status that the power consumption is greater than the power limit; and disconnecting a certain device of the one or more devices based on a priority of devices to be disconnected included in user preferences for each device of the set of devices.
As per claims 9 and 16, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach determining that the power limit mode has ceased; determining a sequence to reconnect the set of devices that were disconnected based on the power consumption being greater than the power limit, the sequence determined based at least in part on user preferences; and transmitting signals to the set of devices to reconnect each device of the set of devices to the power source of the building according to the sequence.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to dynamic power load management:
US 12603498 B2 to Buttgenbach et al.
US 12444941 B2 to Zeighami et al.
US 9620959 B2 to Sen et al.
US 8432059 B2 to Waite et al.
US 8237308 B2 to Atkey et al.
US 2009/0240381 A1 to Lane
WO 2023/088191 A1 to QIAN et al.
JP 6453744 B2
CN 118011804 A to CAI et al.
CN 117974395 A to WANG et al.
CN 115427934 A to MANOUSAKIS et al.
CN 105759608 A to XIAO et al.
CN 215580404 U to WANG et al.
/CRYSTAL J BARNES-BULLOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117 22 June 2026