DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The (1) information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/02/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 14:
The limitation "a sidewall" in line 2 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which element the “sidewall” is associated with.
For the purpose of substantive examination, it is presumed to read “a sidewall of the insulating body”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuichi (JP 2015088743, published on 05/07/2015) in view of Fung (US 20170133252)
Regarding Claim 1, Yuichi discloses an electrostatic chuck (electrostatic chuck 110, “the electrostatic chuck 110 is mounted on the base plate 50”, para. 0055; fig. 1) comprising:
a monolithic structure (ceramic dielectric substrate 11 comprising at least electrode layer 12) (“electrode layer 12 is integrally sintered onto the ceramic dielectric substrate 11”, para. 0048) (according to published specification of the instant application, “monolithic structure” refers the structure that does not include any bonding components such that the monolithic structure is a single structure having a unitary construction. Para. 0107 of the instant application states “bonding component may comprise, consist of, or essentially consist of, or may be selected from the group of adhesives, solders, filler metals, polymers (e.g., thermoplastics), glass bonding materials, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, for example, adhesive includes epoxy”. In this case, the electrode layer 12 is integrally formed within the substrate 11 and there is no adhesive or solder materials used to bond the electrode layer 12 to the substrate 11. Therefore, the substrate 11 is the monolithic structure) comprising:
an insulating body (ceramic dielectric substrate 11; fig. 1); and
at least one conductive element (at least electrode layer 12, heating element “a heating element can be built into the electrostatic chuck 110”, para. 0058; fig. 1) located within the insulating body,
wherein the monolithic structure (ceramic dielectric substrate 11 comprising at least electrode layer 12) does not comprise a bonding component between the insulating body (ceramic dielectric substrate 11) and the at least one conductive element (at least electrode layer 12) (“electrode layer 12 is integrally sintered onto the ceramic dielectric substrate 11”, para. 0048”) and wherein the electrostatic chuck (electrostatic chuck 110; fig. 1) is capable of withstanding temperatures at or above 500° C (according to para. 0105 and also para. 0076 of the published instant application, “insulating body may comprise a ceramic component”. In this case, the substrate 11 of Yuichi is also made of ceramic, therefore it is capable to withstand temperature above 500° C).
Yuichi does not disclose the monolithic structure is manufactured via additive manufacturing.
However, Fung discloses a monolithic structure (unitary composite pad body 202; fig. 2) is manufactured via additive manufacturing (3D printing) (“each region, which includes first features 204 and/or second features 206, may be deposited by a 3D printer in a simultaneous or sequential printing process. The plurality of layers may then be cured, for example by UV light or by a heat source, to solidify and achieve a target hardness. After deposition and curing, a unitary composite pad body 202 is formed including the first features 204 and the second features 206 that are coupled or joined together.”, para. 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monolithic structure of Yuichi (i.e. ceramic dielectric substrate 11 comprising at least electrode layer 12) to be manufactured via additive manufacturing as taught by Fung because the additive manufacturing process is conventionally known method to produce complex 3D object with efficiencies, thereby reduce manufacturing cost.
Regarding Claim 2, Yuichi discloses the electrostatic chuck (electrostatic chuck 110), wherein the at least one conductive element (heating element) is a heater element (heating element) (“a heating element can be built into the electrostatic chuck 110”, para. 0058) and wherein the electrostatic chuck (electrostatic chuck 110) is capable maintaining a thermal uniformity across a wafer surface (object W) (“the temperature distribution of the object W being treated after adsorption can be made uniform”, para. 0092).
Regarding Claim 3, Yuichi discloses the electrostatic chuck (electrostatic chuck 110), wherein the additive manufactured monolithic structure (ceramic dielectric substrate 11 comprising at least electrode layer 12) further comprises at least one conduit (passage 53; fig. 1) (“When a transfer gas such as helium (He) is introduced from the introduction passage 53 while the object to be processed W is adsorbed and held, the transfer gas flows into the space provided between the object to be processed W and the groove 14, allowing the object to be processed W to be directly cooled by the transfer gas.”, para. 0060), wherein the at least one conduit (passage 53) is defined by the insulating body (ceramic dielectric substrate 11) and is free of any material (it is noted the passage 53 is hollow conduit, and the inside of the passage 53 is free of any material to allow passage of gas to cool the object being processed).
Regarding Claim 4, Yuichi discloses the electrostatic chuck (electrostatic chuck 110), wherein the at least one conduit (passage 53) is a gas channel (“When a transfer gas such as helium (He) is introduced from the introduction passage 53 while the object to be processed W is adsorbed and held, the transfer gas flows into the space provided between the object to be processed W and the groove 14, allowing the object to be processed W to be directly cooled by the transfer gas.”, para. 0060).
Regarding Claim 10, Yuichi discloses the electrostatic chuck (electrostatic chuck 110), wherein the at least one conductive element (electrode layer 12) comprises at least one electrode (electrode layer 12), wherein the at least one electrode is configured to produce an electrostatic field (electrostatic force) in response to an electrical charge (electric charge) (“electrostatic chuck 110 applies an adsorption and holding voltage 80 to the electrode layer 12, thereby generating an electric charge on the first main surface 11a side of the electrode layer 12, and adsorbing and holding the object to be processed W by electrostatic force”, para. 0049).
Regarding Claim 11, Yuichi discloses the electrostatic chuck (electrostatic chuck 110), wherein the at least one electrode (at least electrode layer 12) is located beneath a top surface of the insulating body (substrate 11).
Regarding Claim 12, Yuichi discloses the electrostatic chuck (electrostatic chuck 110), wherein the at least one conductive element further comprises at least one heating element (heating element), wherein the at least one heating element is configured to provide thermal energy to the monolithic structure (ceramic dielectric substrate 11 comprising at least electrode layer 12) (“a heating element can be built into the electrostatic chuck 110”, para. 0058. It is noted the heating element is capable of heating the substrate 11).
Claims 5, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Yuichi (JP 2015088743, published on 05/07/2015) and Fung (US 20170133252) as applied to claims 3 and 1, further in view of Ikeda (US 20060005930)
Regarding Claim 5, Yuichi discloses the electrostatic chuck (electrostatic chuck 110), wherein the conduit (passage 53) is coextensive with (according to Webster dictionary, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/coextensive, “coextensive” is interpreted to mean having the same boundaries. In this case, the passage 53 terminates at the groove 14 and the substrate 11 has a border at the groove 14. Therefore, the passage 53 shares the same border as the substrate 11, thus they are coextensive) and adjacent to an outer perimeter of the insulating body (annotated fig. 1).
The modification does not disclose the at least one conduit is a thermal shield structure.
However, Ikeda discloses the at least one conduit (introduction channel 505, discharging channel 506) is a thermal shield structure (“The introduction channel 505 and the discharging channel 506 are surrounded by thermal insulators 505A and 506A, e.g., a thermally insulating tube, to increase thermal insulating effect between the heat exchange medium and the transmission path 502.”, para. 0067).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one conduit of Yuichi (i.e. passage 53) to be surrounded by thermally insulating tube as taught by Ikeda, in order to thermally insulate the heat exchange medium of low temperature, thereby improve the effectiveness of the cooling of the object to be processed (“If the introduction channel 505 and the discharge channel 506 are surrounded by the thermal insulators 505A and 506A, the heat from the discharge channel 506 is prevented from being transferred to the introduction channel 505, thereby efficiently cooling the substrate W to be processed”, para. 0068 of Ikeda).
Regarding Claim 8, the modification does not disclose the insulating body comprises at least one of: alumina, zirconia, aluminum-nitride, aluminum-oxy-nitride, silicon-nitride, silicon-oxide, silicon-carbide, silicon-oxy-nitride, silicon-carbo-nitride, tungsten-carbide, titanium-oxide, hafnium silicate, zirconium silicate, zirconium silicate, hafnium dioxide, strontium dioxide, scandium dioxide, zirconium oxide, chromium oxide, yttrium oxide, iron oxide, barium oxide, barium titanate, tantalum oxide, or any combinations thereof and
the at least one conductive element comprises at least one of: aluminum, tungsten, nickel, stainless steel, silver, gold, tantalum, platinum, palladium, cobalt, titanium, copper, molybdenum, silicon, molybdenum disilicide, or any combinations thereof.
However, Ikeda discloses the insulating body (dielectric layer 503; fig. 2) comprises aluminum-nitride (aluminum nitride) (“dielectric layer 503 may be formed as a dielectric film such as aluminum nitride (AlN), SiC, BN or the like,”, para. 0049) and
the at least one conductive element (electrode 504) comprises tungsten (tungsten W) (“The electrode 504 of the electrostatic chuck is made of metal, e.g., W or the like.”, para. 0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulating body of Yuichi (i.e. substrate 11) to comprise the aluminum nitride as taught by Ikeda because it is conventionally known to utilize aluminum nitride as the ceramic material for the insulating body to support the object to be processed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one conductive element of Yuichi (i.e. electrode layer 12) to comprise tungsten as taught by Ikeda because it is conventionally known to utilize tungsten as the material for the chucking electrode to provide holding force to hold the object to be processed on the electrostatic chuck.
Regarding Claim 9, the modification does not disclose the insulating body has a resistivity of not less than about 1011 Ohm-cm.
However, Ikeda discloses the insulating body (dielectric layer 503; fig. 2) comprises aluminum nitride (AlN) (“dielectric layer 503 may be formed as a dielectric film such as aluminum nitride (AlN), SiC, BN or the like,”, para. 0049).
Regarding the limitation “insulating body has a resistivity of not less than about 1011 Ohm-cm”, according to attached non-patent literature to Accuratus, https://accuratus.com/alnchar.html, published in 2013, “Aluminum Nitride Substrate Properties and Physical Characteristics”, the resistivity of aluminum nitride is 1014 Ohm-cm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insulating body of Yuichi (i.e. substrate 11) to comprise the aluminum nitride that would result in the insulating body has a resistivity of not less than about 1011 Ohm-cm as taught by Ikeda because it is conventionally known to utilize aluminum nitride as the ceramic material for the insulating body to support the object to be processed.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Yuichi (JP 2015088743, published on 05/07/2015) and Fung (US 20170133252) as applied to claim 12, further in view of Khaja (US 20200176296)
Regarding Claim 13, the modification does not disclose the at least one heating element is located below the at least one electrode in the insulating body.
However, Khaja discloses the at least one heating element (heaters 188) is located below the at least one electrode (chucking electrode 186) in the insulating body (substrate support 174) (para. 0028-0029; fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one heater of Yuichi to be located below the at least one electrode in the insulating body as taught by Khaja, in order to heat the object to be processed without interfering with the chucking force generated by the chucking electrode.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Yuichi (JP 2015088743, published on 05/07/2015) and Fung (US 20170133252) as applied to claim 12, further in view of Woytowitz (US 20180033672)
Regarding Claim 14, the modification does not disclose the at least one heating element is located adjacent a sidewall within the insulating body.
However, Woytowitz discloses the at least one heating element (heating plate 12) is located adjacent a sidewall within the insulating body (substrate support 106) (para. 0028-0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one heating element of Yuichi such that it is located adjacent a sidewall within the insulating body as taught by Woytowitz, in order to ensure the heater heats the entire surface of the support substrate, thereby eliminating cold spots near the edges of the substrate.
Claims 6-7, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Yuichi (JP 2015088743, published on 05/07/2015) and Fung (US 20170133252) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Wada (US 20140355170)
Regarding Claim 6, Yuichi discloses the electrostatic chuck (electrostatic chuck 110), wherein the insulating body (ceramic dielectric substrate 11) comprises a ceramic material (“the electrostatic chuck 110 according to this embodiment comprises a ceramic dielectric substrate 11 and an electrode layer 12”, para. 0046).
The modification does not disclose the at least one conductive element comprises a metal material.
However, Wada discloses the at least one conductive element (electrode 12) comprises a metal material (metal) (“The material of the electrode 12 includes a noble metal”, para. 0123 and “By application of a clamping voltage 80 to this electrode 12, the electrostatic chuck 110 generates charge on the first major surface 11a side of the electrode 12 and clamps the object to be clamped W by electrostatic force”, para. 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one conductive element of Yuichi (i.e. electrode layer 12) to comprise the metal material as taught by Wada, because it is conventionally known to utilize metal as the chucking electrode to generate electrostatic force such that the object to be processed is securely held on the electrostatic chuck.
Regarding Claim 7, Yuichi discloses the insulating body comprises the ceramic material and the at least one conductive element comprise the metal material (see rejection to claim 6). Fung discloses the monolithic structure is manufactured via additive manufacturing.
The modification does not disclose the ceramic material and the metal material are co-printed layer by layer to form the additive manufactured monolithic structure, wherein the ceramic material and metal material are co-printed such that ceramic material and metal material lie in a same horizontal plane.
However, Fung discloses a first material (material to form first feature 204) and a second material (second material to form second feature 206) (“the second features 206 may have a lower hardness value and a lower value of elastic modulus, while the first features 204 may have a higher hardness value and a higher value of elastic modulus”, para. 0045) are co-printed layer by layer to form the additive manufactured monolithic structure (unitary composite pad body 202) (“The composite pad body 202 may include a plurality of layers, each including regions of the second features 206 and/or regions of first features 204 according to the design of the composite pad body 202. In one embodiment, each region, which includes first features 204 and/or second features 206, may be deposited by a 3D printer in a simultaneous or sequential printing process. The plurality of layers may then be cured, for example by UV light or by a heat source, to solidify and achieve a target hardness. After deposition and curing, a unitary composite pad body 202 is formed including the first features 204 and the second features 206 that are coupled or joined together.”, para. 0044), wherein the first material (first material of the first feature 204) and second material (second material of the second feature 206) are co-printed such that the first material and the second material lie in a same horizontal plane (fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the additive manufacturing process of Yuichi in view of Fung to co-print the ceramic material and the metal material layer by layer to form the additive manufactured monolithic structure, wherein the ceramic material and metal material are co-printed such that ceramic material and metal material lie in a same horizontal plane as further taught by Fung, in order to form the insulating body and the at least conductive element using additive manufacturing, thereby yield high-speed production of the monolithic structure and reduce manufacturing cost.
Regarding Claim 15, Yuichi discloses a method, wherein a ceramic material (ceramic dielectric substrate 11; fig. 1) and the at least one conductive element (at least electrode layer 12; fig. 1) define a monolithic structure having a unitary construction (ceramic dielectric substrate 11 comprising at least electrode layer 12) (“electrode layer 12 is integrally sintered onto the ceramic dielectric substrate 11”, para. 0048”) free from bonding components (according to published specification of the instant application, “monolithic structure” refers the structure that does not include any bonding components such that the monolithic structure is a single structure having a unitary construction. Para. 0107 of the instant application states “bonding component may comprise, consist of, or essentially consist of, or may be selected from the group of adhesives, solders, filler metals, polymers (e.g., thermoplastics), glass bonding materials, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, for example, adhesive includes epoxy”. In this case, the electrode layer 12 is integrally formed within the substrate 11 and there is no adhesive or solder materials used to bond the electrode layer 12 to the substrate 11. Therefore, the substrate 11 is the monolithic structure) and capable of withstanding temperatures at or above 500° C (according to para. 0105 and also para. 0076 of the published instant application, “insulating body may comprise a ceramic component”. In this case, the substrate 11 of Yuichi is also made of ceramic, therefore it is capable to withstand temperature above 500° C).
Yuichi does not disclose the method comprising:
depositing a ceramic material to form an insulating body, and
depositing a metal material to form at least one conductive element located in the insulating body,
However, Fung discloses a method (3D printing) comprising:
depositing a second material to form a second feature 206, and
depositing a first material to form a first feature 204 located in the second feature 206 (The composite pad body 202 may include a plurality of layers, each including regions of the second features 206 and/or regions of first features 204 according to the design of the composite pad body 202. In one embodiment, each region, which includes first features 204 and/or second features 206, may be deposited by a 3D printer in a simultaneous or sequential printing process... After deposition and curing, a unitary composite pad body 202 is formed including the first features 204 and the second features 206 that are coupled or joined together.”, para. 0044 and also 0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yuichi to utilize additive manufacturing process of Fung to deposit the ceramic material of Yuichi to form the insulating body of Yuichi (i.e. to form ceramic substrate 11) and to deposit the conductive material of Yuichi to form the at least one conductive element of Yuichi (i.e. electrode layer 12 of Yuichi) located in the insulating body of Yuichi (fig. 1 of Yuichi), to yield unitary structure by using additive manufacturing of Fung because it is known that the additive manufacturing produce 3D products with optimum efficiencies, thereby reduce manufacturing cost.
The modification does not disclose the conductive material forming the electrode is metal.
However, Wada discloses the at least one conductive element (electrode 12) comprises a metal material (metal) (“The material of the electrode 12 includes a noble metal”, para. 0123 and “By application of a clamping voltage 80 to this electrode 12, the electrostatic chuck 110 generates charge on the first major surface 11a side of the electrode 12 and clamps the object to be clamped W by electrostatic force”, para. 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yuichi in view of Fung to deposit the metal material as taught by Wada using additive manufacturing process to form the metal electrode within the insulating body of Yuichi, because it is conventionally known to utilize metal as the chucking electrode such that the object to be processed is securely held on the electrostatic chuck.
Regarding Claim 16, Yuichi discloses further comprising forming a least one conduit (passage 53; fig. 1) free from any material within the monolithic structure (ceramic dielectric substrate 11 comprising at least electrode layer 12) (“When a transfer gas such as helium (He) is introduced from the introduction passage 53 while the object to be processed W is adsorbed and held, the transfer gas flows into the space provided between the object to be processed W and the groove 14, allowing the object to be processed W to be directly cooled by the transfer gas.”, para. 0060. It is noted the passage 53 is hollow conduit, and the inside of the passage 53 is free of any material to allow passage of gas to cool the object being processed).
Regarding Claim 17, the modification discloses an additive manufacturing process (3D printing of Fung) is used to deposit the ceramic material (ceramic material to form the ceramic dielectric substrate 11 of Yuichi) and deposit the metal material (metal material to form the electrode layer 12 of Wada).
Regarding Claim 18, the modification discloses the method, wherein the ceramic material (ceramic of Yuichi) and the metal material (metal of Wada) are co-printed layer by layer such that the ceramic material and the metal material lie within a same horizontal plane (in one embodiment, each region, which includes first features 204 and/or second features 206, may be deposited by a 3D printer in a simultaneous or sequential printing process”, para. 0044; fig. 2 of Fung).
Regarding Claim 20, Yuichi discloses the method, wherein the monolithic structure (ceramic dielectric substrate 11 comprising at least electrode layer 12) forms at least a part of an electrostatic chuck (electrostatic chuck 110) (para. 0055; fig. 1).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Yuichi (JP 2015088743, published on 05/07/2015), Fung (US 20170133252), and Wada (US 20140355170) as applied to claim 15, further in view of Thach (US 20140177123)
Regarding Claim 19, the modification does not disclose the method, further comprising:
applying a coating onto a top surface of the insulating body.
However, Thach discloses the method comprising applying a coating (dielectric layer coating) onto a top surface of the insulating body (electrostatic chuck) (“coatings may include a metal layer coating that may function as a clamping electrode and/or a radio frequency (RF) electrode and a dielectric layer coating that is a plasma resistant ceramic.”, para. 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yuichi to apply coating onto a top surface of the insulating body as taught by Thach, in order to protect the insulating body from corrosion that is caused by exposure to plasma (abstract and para. 0002 of Thach).
Conclusion
/BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761