DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
A response filed on 4/13/26 had been entered in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rodriquez-Garcia et al (12,401,129) in view of Gustafson et al (11,450,962).
Regarding claim 1, Rodriquez-Garcia et al disclose a first fin 110 arranged in the first side 107 and defining a first (middle portion) long curve and a first (end portions) short curve and disposed on the first side of a substrate 105; a microstrip feed line 112,141 connected to the first fin.
Regarding claims 2-4, Rodriquez-Garcia et al disclose the first long curve is defined by a first exponential function; and the first short curve is defined by a second exponential function different than the first exponential function (figs1-3), further comprising a second fin 111 arranged in the second side and defining a second long curve and a second short curve and disposed on the second side of the PCB 105, the second long curve matches the first long curve; and the second short curve matches the first short curve (figs4-5). Rodriquez-Garcia et al had been discussed but fail to teach a PCB including a first side and a second side, the first side including a first plurality of components arranged in a first circuit, the second side opposing the first side and including a second plurality of components arranged in a second circuit, the first fin extending parallel to the first side of the PCB and a matching section disposed between the first fin and the microstrip feed line. However, Gustafson et al in figure 1 teach a radiator element 110 extending parallel to a first side of the PCB (micro-PCB), the PCB including the first side and the second side, the first side including a first plurality of components 106 arranged in a first circuit, the second side opposing the first side and including a second plurality of components 108 arranged in a second circuit and a matching section 134-1,134-2. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skilled in the art to provide Rodriquez-Garcia et al with a PCB including a first side and a second side, the first side including a first plurality of components arranged in a first circuit, the second side opposing the first side and including a second plurality of components arranged in a second circuit, the first fin extending parallel to the first side of the PCB and a matching section disposed between the first fin and the microstrip feed line for the purpose of impedance matching so as to improve the antenna gain.
Claims 8, 12-13, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rodriquez-Garcia et al (12,401,129) in view of Gustafson et al (11,450,962) and further in view of Morimoto et al (12,355,140).
Rodriquez-Garcia et al had been discussed and also teach an additional PCB 117,118 coupled to the second side of the PCB 105 (fig1). However, Rodriquez-Garcia et al in view of Gustafson et al fail to teach a parasitic fin disposed on the first or second side of the PCB and wherein the parasitic fin is spaced apart from the first fin. However, Morimoto et al disclose a parasitic element 115 disposed on the first side of the PCB and wherein the parasitic is spaced apart from the first driven element 110 (fig.16). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skilled in the art to provide Rodriquez-Garcia et al with a parasitic fin disposed on the first or second side of the PCB and wherein the parasitic fin is spaced apart from the first fin so that directivity oriented toward the outside of the electronic device is achieved by the antenna element.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 9-11 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THO G PHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845