DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9 as they pertain to the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Tseng et al. (US 2018/0341086 - Tseng).
As to claim 1, Tseng teaches an optical imaging system (Tseng Fig. 11) comprising
a first lens having negative refractive power (Tseng Fig. 11 - 610; Table 11) and a concave image side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - surface (612) being concave off-axis);
a second lens having positive refractive power (Tseng Fig. 11 - 620; Table 11);
a third lens having negative refractive power (Tseng Fig. 11 - 630; Table 11);
a fourth lens having positive refractive power (Tseng Fig. 11 - 640; Table 11) and a convex object side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - surface (641) convex off-axis);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (Tseng Fig. 11 - 650; Table 11);
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed in numerical order from an object side to an image side (Tseng Fig. 11);
the optical imaging system has a total number of five lenses with refractive power (Tseng Fig. 11);
wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Tseng Table 11 - |s4| = 3.455; |s1| = 2.617);
a distance from an image side surface of the second lens to an object side surface of the third lens is greater than a distance from an image side surface of the fourth lens to an object side surface of the fifth lens (Tseng Table 11 - D23 = 0.046; D45 = 0.032);
TTL is in a range of 3.8mm to 4.8mm (Tseng Fig. 12 - ImgH = 2.00mm; para. [0150] - TL/ImgH = 1.92… TL ≈ 1.92*2.00mm ≈ 3.84mm);
Fno < 2.3 (Tseng Table 11 - Fno = 1.94).
As to claim 2, Tseng teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tseng further teaches the second lens has a convex object side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - 621).
As to claim 3, Tseng teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tseng further teaches the second lens has a convex image side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - 622).
As to claim 4, Tseng teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tseng further teaches the third lens has a convex object side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - 631).
As to claim 5, Tseng teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tseng further teaches the third lens has a concave image side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - 632).
As to claim 6, Tseng teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tseng further teaches the fourth lens has a convex image side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - 642).
As to claim 7, Tseng teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tseng further teaches the fifth lens has a convex object side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - 651).
As to claim 8, Tseng teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tseng further teaches the fifth lens has a concave image side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - 652).
As to claim 9, Tseng teaches an optical imaging system (Tseng Fig. 11) comprising
a first lens having negative refractive power (Tseng Fig. 11 - 610; Table 11);
a second lens having positive refractive power (Tseng Fig. 11 - 620; Table 11);
a third lens having negative refractive power (Tseng Fig. 11 - 630; Table 11);
a fourth lens having positive refractive power (Tseng Fig. 11 - 640; Table 11) and a convex object side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - surface (641) convex off-axis);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (Tseng Fig. 11 - 650; Table 11);
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed in numerical order from an object side to an image side (Tseng Fig. 11);
the optical imaging system has a total number of five lenses with refractive power (Tseng Fig. 11);
wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Tseng Table 11 - |s4| = 3.455; |s1| = 2.617);
TTL is in a range of 3.8mm to 4.8mm (Tseng Fig. 12 - ImgH = 2.00mm; para. [0150] - TL/ImgH = 1.92… TL ≈ 1.92*2.00mm ≈ 3.84mm);
Fno < 2.3 (Tseng Table 11 - Fno = 1.94).
As to claim 10, Tseng teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Tseng further teaches the first lens has a convex object side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - surface (611) convex off-axis).
As to claim 11, Tseng teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Tseng further teaches the second lens has a convex object side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - 621).
As to claim 12, Tseng teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Tseng further teaches the third lens has a concave image side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - 632).
As to claim 13, Tseng teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Tseng further teaches the fifth lens has a convex object side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - 651).
As to claim 14, Tseng teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Tseng further teaches the fifth lens has a concave image side surface (Tseng Fig. 11 - 652).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2015/0098137 - Chung; of record) in view of Lin et al. (US 2016/0091696 - Lin).
As to claim 1, Chung teaches an optical imaging system (Chung Fig. 8A) comprising
a first lens having negative refractive power and a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 810, 812; Table 15)
a second lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 820; Table 15);
a third lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 830; Table 15);
a fourth lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 840; Table 15) and a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 841);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 850; Table 15);
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed in numerical order from an object side to an image side (Chung Fig. 8A);
the optical imaging system has a total number of five lenses with refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A);
wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Chung Table 15 - |S4| = 4.6538; |S1| = 1.8377);
a distance from an image side surface of the second lens to an object side surface of the third lens is greater than a distance from an image side surface of the fourth lens to an object side surface of the fifth lens (Chung Table 15 - D5 = 0.13; D9 = 0.03);
TTL is in a range of 3.8mm to 4.8mm (Chung Table 15 - TTL = ∑d ≈ 4.7mm);
TTL/ImgH < 2.0 (Chung Table 15 - TTL ≈ 4.7mm; Fig. 8B - ImgH ≈ 2.86mm);
Chung doesn’t specify Fno < 2.3.
In the same field of endeavor Lin teaches 5-lens systems with Fno < 2.3 (Lin Fig. 1; Table 1; para. [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide Fno < 2.3 since, as taught by Lin, such features allow for obtaining a large aperture for sharp images based on the lighting conditions (Lin para. [0048]).
As to claim 2, Chung in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the second lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 821).
As to claim 3, Chung in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the second lens has a convex image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 822).
As to claim 4, Chung in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the third lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 831; Table 15).
As to claim 5, Chung in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the third lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 832; Table 15).
As to claim 6, Chung in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the fourth lens has a convex image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 842).
As to claim 7, Chung in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 851; Table 15).
As to claim 8, Chung in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 852).
As to claim 9, Chung teaches an optical imaging system (Chung Fig. 8A) comprising
a first lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 810; Table 15)
a second lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 820; Table 15);
a third lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 830; Table 15);
a fourth lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 840; Table 15) and a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 841);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 850; Table 15);
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed in numerical order from an object side to an image side (Chung Fig. 8A);
the optical imaging system has a total number of five lenses with refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A);
wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Chung Table 15 - |S4| = 4.6538; |S1| = 1.8377);
TTL is in a range of 3.8mm to 4.8mm (Chung Table 15 - TTL = ∑d ≈ 4.7mm);
TTL/ImgH < 2.0 (Chung Table 15 - TTL ≈ 4.7mm; Fig. 8B - ImgH ≈ 2.86mm).
Chung doesn’t specify Fno < 2.3.
In the same field of endeavor Lin teaches 5-lens systems with Fno < 2.3 (Lin Fig. 1; Table 1; para. [0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide Fno < 2.3 since, as taught by Lin, such features allow for obtaining a large aperture for sharp images based on the lighting conditions (Lin para. [0048]).
As to claim 10, Chung in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the first lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 811).
As to claim 11, Chung in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the second lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 821).
As to claim 12, Chung in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the third lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 832; Table 15).
As to claim 13, Chung in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 851; Table 15).
As to claim 14, Chung in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 852).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Zhao et al. (WO 2016/003211) is cited for teaching a similar 5-lens system, however doesn’t satisfy all the claimed structure and values.
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 September 23, 2026