DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to include the condition of 4.0 < |f3/f| appears to be taught by Chung para. [0030]. Specifically, Chung teaches 0 < |f/f3| < 0.45 which is 2.22 < |f3/f| which is a an overlapping range of sufficient specificity (MPEP 2131.03) and prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Chung et al. (US 2015/0098137 - Chung; of record).
Examiner’s note: the USC 102 rejection includes an overlapping range of sufficient specificity (MPEP 2131.03).
As to claim 1, Chung teaches an optical imaging system (Chung Fig. 8A) comprising
a first lens having negative refractive power and a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 810, 812; Table 15)
a second lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 820; Table 15);
a third lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 830; Table 15);
a fourth lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 840; Table 15) and a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 841);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 850; Table 15);
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed in numerical order from an object side to an image side (Chung Fig. 8A);
the optical imaging system has a total number of five lenses with refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A);
wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Chung Table 15 - |S4| = 4.6538; |S1| = 1.8377);
a distance from an image side surface of the second lens to an object side surface of the third lens is greater than a distance from an image side surface of the fourth lens to an object side surface of the fifth lens (Chung Table 15 - D5 = 0.13; D9 = 0.03);
TTL is in a range of 3.8mm to 4.8mm (Chung Table 15 - TTL = ∑d ≈ 4.7mm);
TTL/ImgH < 2.0 (Chung Table 15 - TTL ≈ 4.7mm; Fig. 8B - ImgH ≈ 2.86mm);
4.0 < |f3/f| (Chung para. [0030] - teaching 0 < |f/f3| < 0.45 which is 2.2 < |f3/f| which is an overlapping range of sufficient specificity (MPEP 2131.03) to anticipate the claimed range).
As to claim 2, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the second lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 821).
As to claim 3, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the second lens has a convex image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 822).
As to claim 4, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the third lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 831; Table 15).
As to claim 5, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the third lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 832; Table 15).
As to claim 6, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the fourth lens has a convex image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 842).
As to claim 7, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 851; Table 15).
As to claim 8, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 852).
As to claim 9, Chung teaches an optical imaging system (Chung Fig. 8A) comprising
a first lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 810; Table 15)
a second lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 820; Table 15);
a third lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 830; Table 15);
a fourth lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 840; Table 15) and a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 841);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 850; Table 15);
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed in numerical order from an object side to an image side (Chung Fig. 8A);
the optical imaging system has a total number of five lenses with refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A);
wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Chung Table 15 - |S4| = 4.6538; |S1| = 1.8377);
TTL is in a range of 3.8mm to 4.8mm (Chung Table 15 - TTL = ∑d ≈ 4.7mm);
TTL/ImgH < 2.0 (Chung Table 15 - TTL ≈ 4.7mm; Fig. 8B - ImgH ≈ 2.86mm);
4.0 < |f3/f| (Chung para. [0030] - teaching 0 < |f/f3| < 0.45 which is 2.2 < |f3/f| which is an overlapping range of sufficient specificity (MPEP 2131.03) to anticipate the claimed range).
As to claim 10, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the first lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 811).
As to claim 11, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the second lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 821).
As to claim 12, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the third lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 832; Table 15).
As to claim 13, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 851; Table 15).
As to claim 14, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 852).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (cited above).
Examiner’s note: the USC 103 rejection is directed to an overlapping range and thus prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 1, Chung teaches an optical imaging system (Chung Fig. 8A) comprising
a first lens having negative refractive power and a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 810, 812; Table 15)
a second lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 820; Table 15);
a third lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 830; Table 15);
a fourth lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 840; Table 15) and a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 841);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 850; Table 15);
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed in numerical order from an object side to an image side (Chung Fig. 8A);
the optical imaging system has a total number of five lenses with refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A);
wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Chung Table 15 - |S4| = 4.6538; |S1| = 1.8377);
a distance from an image side surface of the second lens to an object side surface of the third lens is greater than a distance from an image side surface of the fourth lens to an object side surface of the fifth lens (Chung Table 15 - D5 = 0.13; D9 = 0.03);
TTL is in a range of 3.8mm to 4.8mm (Chung Table 15 - TTL = ∑d ≈ 4.7mm);
TTL/ImgH < 2.0 (Chung Table 15 - TTL ≈ 4.7mm; Fig. 8B - ImgH ≈ 2.86mm);
4.0 < |f3/f| (Chung para. [0030] - teaching 0 < |f/f3| < 0.45 which is 2.2 < |f3/f| which is an overlapping range of and thus prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to satisfy 4.0 < |f3/f| since, as taught by Chung, such features allow for reducing distortion (Chung para. [0030]).
As to claim 2, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the second lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 821).
As to claim 3, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the second lens has a convex image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 822).
As to claim 4, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the third lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 831; Table 15).
As to claim 5, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the third lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 832; Table 15).
As to claim 6, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the fourth lens has a convex image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 842).
As to claim 7, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 851; Table 15).
As to claim 8, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 852).
As to claim 9, Chung teaches an optical imaging system (Chung Fig. 8A) comprising
a first lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 810; Table 15)
a second lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 820; Table 15);
a third lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 830; Table 15);
a fourth lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 840; Table 15) and a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 841);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 850; Table 15);
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed in numerical order from an object side to an image side (Chung Fig. 8A);
the optical imaging system has a total number of five lenses with refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A);
wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Chung Table 15 - |S4| = 4.6538; |S1| = 1.8377);
TTL is in a range of 3.8mm to 4.8mm (Chung Table 15 - TTL = ∑d ≈ 4.7mm);
TTL/ImgH < 2.0 (Chung Table 15 - TTL ≈ 4.7mm; Fig. 8B - ImgH ≈ 2.86mm);
4.0 < |f3/f| (Chung para. [0030] - teaching 0 < |f/f3| < 0.45 which is 2.2 < |f3/f| which is an overlapping range of and thus prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to satisfy 4.0 < |f3/f| since, as taught by Chung, such features allow for reducing distortion (Chung para. [0030]).
As to claim 10, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the first lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 811).
As to claim 11, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the second lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 821).
As to claim 12, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the third lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 832; Table 15).
As to claim 13, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 851; Table 15).
As to claim 14, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 852).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 July 14, 2026