DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Chung et al. (US 2015/0098137 - Chung).
As to claim 1, Chung teaches an optical imaging system (Chung Fig. 8A) comprising
a first lens having negative refractive power and a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 810, 812; Table 15)
a second lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 820; Table 15);
a third lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 830; Table 15);
a fourth lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 840; Table 15) and a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 841);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 850; Table 15);
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed in numerical order from an object side to an image side (Chung Fig. 8A);
the optical imaging system has a total number of five lenses with refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A);
wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Chung Table 15 - |S4| = 4.6538; |S1| = 1.8377);
a distance from an image side surface of the second lens to an object side surface of the third lens is greater than a distance from an image side surface of the fourth lens to an object side surface of the fifth lens (Chung Table 15 - D5 = 0.13; D9 = 0.03);
TTL is in a range of 3.8mm to 4.8mm (Chung Table 15 - TTL = ∑d ≈ 4.7mm);
and wherein TTL/ImgH < 2.0 (Chung Table 15 - TTL ≈ 4.7mm; Fig. 8B - ImgH ≈ 2.86mm).
As to claim 2, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the second lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 821).
As to claim 3, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the second lens has a convex image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 822).
As to claim 4, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the third lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 831; Table 15).
As to claim 5, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the third lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 832; Table 15).
As to claim 6, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the fourth lens has a convex image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 842).
As to claim 7, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 851; Table 15).
As to claim 8, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 852).
As to claim 9, Chung teaches an optical imaging system (Chung Fig. 8A) comprising
a first lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 810; Table 15)
a second lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 820; Table 15);
a third lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 830; Table 15);
a fourth lens having positive refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 840; Table 15) and a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 841);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A - 850; Table 15);
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed in numerical order from an object side to an image side (Chung Fig. 8A);
the optical imaging system has a total number of five lenses with refractive power (Chung Fig. 8A);
wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Chung Table 15 - |S4| = 4.6538; |S1| = 1.8377);
TTL is in a range of 3.8mm to 4.8mm (Chung Table 15 - TTL = ∑d ≈ 4.7mm);
and wherein TTL/ImgH < 2.0 (Chung Table 15 - TTL ≈ 4.7mm; Fig. 8B - ImgH ≈ 2.86mm).
As to claim 10, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the first lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 811).
As to claim 11, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the second lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 821).
As to claim 12, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the third lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 832; Table 15).
As to claim 13, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a convex object side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 851; Table 15).
As to claim 14, Chung teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chung further teaches the fifth lens has a concave image side surface (Chung Fig. 8A - 852).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2017/0168264 - Chen) in view of Lohmann (Scaling Laws for Lens Systems; of record).
As to claim 1, Chen teaches an optical imaging system (Chen Fig. 1A) comprising
a first lens having negative refractive power and a concave image side surface (Chen Fig. 1A - 110, 112; Table 1)
a second lens having positive refractive power (Chen Fig. 1A - 120; Table 1);
a third lens having negative refractive power (Chen Fig. 1A - 130; Table 1);
a fourth lens having positive refractive power (Chen Fig. 1A - 140; Table 1) and a convex object side surface (Chen Fig. 1A - 141; Table 1);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (Chen Fig. 1A - 150; Table 1);
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed in numerical order from an object side to an image side (Chen Fig. 1A);
the optical imaging system has a total number of five lenses with refractive power (Chen Fig. 1A);
wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Chen Table 1 - |S4| = 5.069; |S1| = 2.390);
a distance from an image side surface of the second lens to an object side surface of the third lens is greater than a distance from an image side surface of the fourth lens to an object side surface of the fifth lens (Chen Table 1 - D3 = 0.025; D9 - 0.025);
and wherein TTL/ImgH < 2.0 (Chen para. [0050] - teaching TTL/ImgH < 3.0 which is an overlapping range of sufficient specificity (MPEP 2131.03), such overlapping range also prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05)).
Chen further teaches TTL ≈ 5.07mm (Chen para. [0085], [0097], [0098] - calculated from f, ImgH/f, TL/ImgH) which represents a scaling up of 3.8mm < TTL < 4.8mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide 3.8mm ≤ TTL ≤ 4.8mm, since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component - e.g. scaling down the optical system by 10%. Scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art. In re Rinehart, 189 USPQ 143 (CCAP 1976).
As to claim 2, Chen in view of Lohmann teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chen further teaches the second lens has a convex object side surface (Chen Fig. 1A - 121; Table 1).
As to claim 3, Chen in view of Lohmann teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chen further teaches the second lens has a convex image side surface (Chen Fig. 1A - 122; Table 1).
As to claim 4, Chen in view of Lohmann teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chen further teaches the third lens has a convex object side surface (Chen Fig. 1A - 131; Table 1).
As to claim 5, Chen in view of Lohmann teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chen further teaches the third lens has a concave image side surface (Chen Fig. 1A - 132; Table 1).
As to claim 6, Chen in view of Lohmann teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chen further teaches the fourth lens has a convex image side surface (Chen Fig. 1A - 142; Table 1).
As to claim 7, Chen in view of Lohmann teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chen further teaches the fifth lens has a convex object side surface (Chen Fig. 1A - 151; Table 1).
As to claim 8, Chen in view of Lohmann teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Chen further teaches the fifth lens has a concave image side surface (Chen Fig. 1A - 152; Table 1).
As to claim 9, Chen teaches an optical imaging system (Chen Figs. 1A, 2A) comprising
a first lens having negative refractive power (Chen Figs. 1A, 2A - 110, 210; Table 1, 3)
a second lens having positive refractive power (Chen Figs. 1A, 2A - 120, 220; Tables 1, 3);
a third lens having negative refractive power (Chen Figs. 1A, 2A - 130, 230; Tables 1, 3);
a fourth lens having positive refractive power (Chen Figs. 1A, 2A - 140, 240; Tables 1, 3) and a convex object side surface (Chen Figs. 1A, 2A - 141, 241; Tables 1, 3);
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (Chen Figs. 1A, 2A - 150, 250; Tables 1, 3);
the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed in numerical order from an object side to an image side (Chen Figs. 1A, 2A);
the optical imaging system has a total number of five lenses with refractive power (Chen Figs. 1A, 2A);
wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (Chen Table 1 - |S4| = 5.069; |S1| = 2.390; Table 3 - |S4| = 3.274; |S1| = 1.771);
and wherein TTL/ImgH < 2.0 (Chen para. [0050] - teaching TTL/ImgH < 3.0 which is an overlapping range of sufficient specificity (MPEP 2131.03), such overlapping range also prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05)).
Chen further teaches TTL ≈ 5.07mm (Chen para. [0085], [0097], [0098] - calculated from f, ImgH/f, TL/ImgH; Table 5 - calculated from f, ImgH/f, TL/ImgH) which represents a scaling up of 3.8mm < TTL < 4.8mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide 3.8mm ≤ TTL ≤ 4.8mm, since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component - e.g. scaling down the optical system by 10%. Scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art. In re Rinehart, 189 USPQ 143 (CCAP 1976).
As taught by Lohmann, scaling optical systems is trivial (Lohmann Section II). It would have been obvious to scale the optical system of Muller for the purpose of being used with smaller cameras and/or CCD/CMOS image sensor.
As to claim 11, Chen in view of Lohmann teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chen further teaches the second lens has a convex object side surface (Chen Fig. 1A - 121; Fig. 2A - 221).
As to claim 12, Chen in view of Lohmann teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chen further teaches the third lens has a concave image side surface (Chen Fig. 1A - 132; Fig. 2A - 232).
As to claim 13, Chen in view of Lohmann teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chen further teaches the fifth lens has a convex object side surface (Chen Fig. 1A - 151; Table 1).
As to claim 14, Chen in view of Lohmann teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Chen further teaches the fifth lens has a concave image side surface (Chen Fig. 1A - 152; Table 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Liao (US 10,788,648; 2020/0192061); Hsieh (US 10,571,659; 2018/0314038); Chen et al. (US 9,696,519); Chung et al. (US 9,235,031) are cited as additional examples of 5-lens systems.
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 March 3, 2026