DETAILED ACTION
This office action is set to be a second non-final action, thus replacing the non-final action posted on 12/3/2025. A new ground(s) of rejections have been made, therefore, the office action posted on 12/3/2025 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “a second sensor”. A first sensor is not claimed in claim 1. The bolded phrase makes the claimed limitations indefinite, because It is unclear whether a first sensor is required by the claim. For the purpose of the examination, it is interpreted as only one sensor is claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9-11, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazaira (US 2025/0178400 A1), in view of Eller (US 2024/0204297 A1), and in view of Gao (US 2022/0390195 A1).
Claim 1: Mazaira discloses a coolant leak detection and mitigation system for a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system having a plurality of battery cells arranged in individual battery modules, comprising:
a cooling system (56) including: a main coolant loop (58) configured to circulate coolant;
wherein each coolant branch (annotated FIG.2) is configured to receive a portion of the coolant from the main coolant loop (58) to adjust temperature of one of the respective battery module (24); and
at least one flow-valve (67) configured to regulate and distribute across the coolant branch (annotated FIG.2) the coolant circulated through the main coolant loop (58); and an electronic controller (paragraph [30]: 78) in operative communication with the cooling system (56) and configured to: shut off, via the at least one flow-valve (78), a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch (annotated FIG.2).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (coolant branch)]
Mazaira discloses the claimed limitations in claim 1, but fails to disclose a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel, battery modules, the coolant leak detection and mitigation system, monitor, via at least one coolant leak detection technique, the plurality of coolant branches for coolant leaks; identify a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak;
However, Eller teaches a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel (as shown in FIG.5 three coolant branches 122a-122b-122c), battery modules (battery modules 1-3) for the purpose of having backup battery to provide power in case of failure of one battery module (paragraph [3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Mazaira to include a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel, battery modules as taught by Eller in order to have backup battery to provide power in case of failure of one battery module.
Further, Gao teaches the coolant leak detection and mitigation system (paragraph [15]: implementing advanced liquid management and fluid control), monitor, via at least one coolant leak detection technique (to clarify, leak detection sensors used as one coolant leak detection technique; paragraph [23]: technique is conducted by leak detection sensors), the plurality of coolant branches for coolant leaks; identify a coolant branch (to clarify, section used as coolant branch, section is identified as a leaking section determined by the respective sensor), from among the plurality of coolant branches (paragraph [24]: for example, to detect fluid leak from section 204 by a sensor 242), having a coolant leak (to clarify, cooling system 200 includes cooling sections 202/24, sections used as cooling branches; leak detected by sensor to a section that has leaking; see paragraph [23]) for the purpose of detecting fluid leakage to reduce damage which resulting in undesirable loss of capabilities and reducing reliability of the system (paragraph [4]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Mazaira to include the coolant leak detection and mitigation system, monitor, via at least one coolant leak detection technique, the plurality of coolant branches for coolant leaks; identify a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak as taught by in order to detect fluid leakage to reduce damage which resulting in undesirable loss of capabilities and reducing reliability of the system.
Claim 2: Mazaira as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electronic controller (Gao; 122) is additionally configured to set an alert indicative of the coolant branch (Gao; paragraph [27]: controller controls shut off valve 234 if a leak is detected in leak detection sensors) having the coolant leak and the flow of the coolant having been shut off (Gao; 234).
Claim 7: Mazaira as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one flow-valve is a multi-way valve assembly (67) arranged in a junction between the main coolant loop (58) and the plurality of coolant branches (Eller; three coolant branches with 3 batteries) and configured to control a flow of the coolant into each of the coolant branches (Eller; coolant branches).
Claim 9: Mazaira as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein each coolant branch (annotated FIG.2) includes a one-way valve (67) configured to control a flow of the coolant out of the subject coolant branch (functional language).
Claim 10: Mazaira discloses a method of detecting and mitigating a coolant leak in a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system having a plurality of battery cells arranged in individual battery modules, the method comprising:
a cooling system (56), via an electronic controller (paragraph [30]: 78), wherein the cooling system (56) includes:
a main coolant loop (58) configured to circulate coolant (functional language); wherein each coolant branch (annotated FIG.2) is configured to receive a portion of the coolant from the main coolant loop (56) to adjust temperature of battery module (24); and at least one flow-valve (67) configured to regulate and distribute across the coolant branch (annotated FIG.2) the coolant circulated through the main coolant loop (58); and shutting off, via the at least one flow-valve (67).
Mazaira discloses the claimed limitations in claim 10, but fails to disclose monitoring for coolant leaks, using at least one coolant leak detection technique, a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel, one of the respective battery modules, identifying, via the electronic controller, a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak; a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak.
However, Eller teaches a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel (as shown in FIG.5 three coolant branches 122a-122b-122c), battery modules (battery modules 1-3), one of the respective battery modules (battery modules 1-3) for the purpose of having backup battery to provide power in case of failure of one battery module (paragraph [3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Mazaira to include teaches a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel, battery modules, one of the respective battery modules as taught by Eller in order to have backup battery to provide power in case of failure of one battery module.
Further, Gao teaches monitoring (paragraph [23]) for coolant leaks, using at least one coolant leak detection technique (to clarify, leak detection sensors used as one coolant leak detection technique; paragraph [23]: technique is conducted by leak detection sensors), identifying, via the electronic controller (controller 122), a coolant branch (to clarify, section used as branch, section is identified as a leaking section determined by the respective sensor), from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak (to clarify, cooling system 200 includes cooling sections 202/24, sections used as cooling branches; leak detected by sensor to a section that has leaking; see paragraph [23]); a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak (paragraph [24]: for example, to detect fluid leak from section 204 by a sensor 242) for the purpose of detecting fluid leakage to reduce damage which resulting in undesirable loss of capabilities and reducing reliability of the system (paragraph [4]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Mazaira to include monitoring for coolant leaks, using at least one coolant leak detection technique, identifying, via the electronic controller, a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak; a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak as taught by Gao in order to detect fluid leakage to reduce damage which resulting in undesirable loss of capabilities and reducing reliability of the system.
Claim 11: Mazaira as modified discloses the method as claimed in claim 10, further comprising setting, via the electronic controller (Gao; 122), an alert indicative of the coolant branch (Gao; paragraph [27]: controller controls shut off valve 234 if a leak is detected in leak detection sensors) having the coolant leak (Gao; to clarify, cooling system 200 includes cooling sections 202/24, sections used as cooling branches; leak detected by sensor to a section that has leaking; see paragraph [23]) and the flow of the coolant having been shut off (Gao; 234).
Claim 16: Mazaira discloses a motor vehicle (FIG.1) comprising:
an electric motor-generator configured to generate torque (paragraph [8]: high voltage battery in full electric vehicle to generate power to wheels of vehicle);
a cooling system (56) including: a main coolant loop (58) configured to circulate coolant (functional language); wherein: coolant branch (annotated FIG.2) is configured to receive a portion of the coolant from the main coolant loop (58) to adjust temperature of one of the battery module (24); and coolant branch (annotated FIG.2) includes a one-way valve (67); and at least one flow-valve (67) configured to regulate and distribute across the coolant branch (annotated FIG.2) the coolant circulated through the main coolant loop (58); and an electronic controller (paragraph [30]: 78) in operative communication with the at least one flow-valve (67) and configured to: regulate operation of the at least one flow-valve (67); and shut off, via the at least one flow-valve (67),
Mazaira discloses the claimed limitations in claim 16, but fails to disclose a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system configured to supply electrical energy to the electric motor-generator, the RESS including: a plurality of battery cells arranged in individual battery modules; a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel, one of the respective battery modules; each coolant branch includes a one-way valve configured to control a flow of the coolant out of the subject coolant branch; and monitor, via at least one coolant leak detection technique, the plurality of coolant branches for coolant leaks; identify a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak; a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak.
However, Eller teaches a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (paragraph [1]: battery thermal management system with multiple battery modules 1-3) configured to supply electrical energy to the electric motor-generator (functional language/intended use), the RESS including: a plurality of battery cells arranged in individual battery modules (battery cells inside modules 1-3); a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel (as shown in FIG.5 three coolant branches 122a-122b-122c), one of the respective battery modules (battery modules 1-3); each coolant branch includes a one-way valve (126a-126b-126c) configured to control a flow of the coolant out of the subject coolant branch (functional language) for the purpose of having backup battery to provide power in case of failure of one battery module (paragraph [3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Mazaira to include a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system configured to supply electrical energy to the electric motor-generator, the RESS including: a plurality of battery cells arranged in individual battery modules; a plurality of coolant branches arranged in parallel, one of the respective battery modules; each coolant branch includes a one-way valve configured to control a flow of the coolant out of the subject coolant branch as taught by Eller in order to have backup battery to provide power in case of failure of one battery module.
Further, Gao teaches monitor (paragraph [23]), via at least one coolant leak detection technique (to clarify, leak detection sensors used as one coolant leak detection technique; paragraph [23]: technique is conducted by leak detection sensors), the plurality of coolant branches for coolant leaks; identify a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak (coolant leak is detected by sensors for each sections, section is identified as a leaking section determined by the respective sensor); a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak (to clarify, cooling system 200 includes cooling sections 202/24, sections used as cooling branches; leak detected by sensor to a section that has leaking; see paragraph [23]) for the purpose of detecting fluid leakage to reduce damage which resulting in undesirable loss of capabilities and reducing reliability of the system (paragraph [4]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Mazaira to include monitor, via at least one coolant leak detection technique, the plurality of coolant branches for coolant leaks; identify a coolant branch, from among the plurality of coolant branches, having a coolant leak; a flow of the coolant into the coolant branch having the coolant leak as taught by in order to detect fluid leakage to reduce damage which resulting in undesirable loss of capabilities and reducing reliability of the system.
Claim 17: Mazaira as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 16, wherein the electronic controller (Gao; 122) is additionally configured to set an alert indicative of the coolant branch (Gao; paragraph [27]: controller controls shut off valve 234 if a leak is detected in leak detection sensors) having the coolant leak (Gao; to clarify, cooling system 200 includes cooling sections 202/24, sections used as cooling branches; leak detected by sensor to a section that has leaking; see paragraph [23]) and the flow of the coolant having been shut off (Gao; 234).
Claims 3, 12, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazaira (US 2025/0178400 A1), in view of Eller (US 2024/0204297 A1), in view of Gao (US 2022/0390195 A1), and in view of Lundqvist (US 2020/0338958 A1).
Claim 3: Mazaira as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein each battery module (Eller; battery modules 1-3) includes a first sensor (Eller; 230a) in communication with the electronic controller (Eller; 205).
Mazaira discloses the claimed limitations in claim 3, but fails to disclose to detect a coolant leak via a change in electrical resistance of the first sensor, as a first coolant leak detection technique.
However, Lundqvist teaches to detect a coolant leak via a change in electrical resistance of the first sensor (paragraph [48]: detection unit 4 the electrical resistance between sensor pins 2 is measured using for, in case leaking cooling fluids between two sensor pins electrical resistance between sensor pins 2 and the leakage can thus be detected to which leakage sensor 1 is connected), as a first coolant leak detection technique (paragraph [48]) for the purpose of providing improved protection means for absorption cooling devices for vehicles to provide a reliable system for safety operating a cooling device (paragraph [3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include to detect a coolant leak via a change in electrical resistance of the first sensor, as a first coolant leak detection technique as taught by Lundqvist in order to provide improved protection means for absorption cooling devices for vehicles to provide a reliable system for safety operating a cooling device.
Claim 12: Mazaira as modified discloses the method as claimed in claim 10, wherein each battery module (Eller; battery modules 1-3) includes a first sensor (Eller; 230a) in communication with the electronic controller (Eller; 205).
Mazaira discloses the claimed limitations in claim 12, but fails to disclose detecting, via at least one of the first sensors, a coolant leak via a change in electrical resistance of the first sensor, as a first coolant leak detection technique.
However, Lundqvist teaches detecting, via at least one of the first sensors, a coolant leak via a change in electrical resistance of the first sensor, as a first coolant leak detection technique (paragraph [48]: detection unit 4 the electrical resistance between sensor pins 2 is measured using for, in case leaking cooling fluids between two sensor pins electrical resistance between sensor pins 2 and the leakage can thus be detected to which leakage sensor 1 is connected) for the purpose of providing improved protection means for absorption cooling devices for vehicles to provide a reliable system for safety operating a cooling device (paragraph [3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include detecting, via at least one of the first sensors, a coolant leak via a change in electrical resistance of the first sensor, as a first coolant leak detection technique as taught by Lundqvist in order to provide improved protection means for absorption cooling devices for vehicles to provide a reliable system for safety operating a cooling device.
Claim 18: Mazaira as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 16, wherein each battery module (Eller; battery modules 1-3) includes a first sensor (Eller; 230a) in communication with the electronic controller (Eller; 205).
Mazaira discloses the claimed limitations in claim 18, but fails to disclose to detect a coolant leak via a change in electrical resistance of the first sensor, as a first coolant leak detection technique.
However, Lundqvist teaches to detect a coolant leak via a change in electrical resistance of the first sensor (paragraph [48]: detection unit 4 the electrical resistance between sensor pins 2 is measured using for, in case leaking cooling fluids between two sensor pins electrical resistance between sensor pins 2 and the leakage can thus be detected to which leakage sensor 1 is connected), as a first coolant leak detection technique (paragraph [48]) for the purpose of providing improved protection means for absorption cooling devices for vehicles to provide a reliable system for safety operating a cooling device (paragraph [3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include detect a coolant leak via a change in electrical resistance of the first sensor, as a first coolant leak detection technique as taught by Lundqvist in order to provide improved protection means for absorption cooling devices for vehicles to provide a reliable system for safety operating a cooling device.
Claims 4, 13, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazaira (US 2025/0178400 A1), in view of Eller (US 2024/0204297 A1), in view of Gao (US 2022/0390195 A1), and in view of Haastert (DE 102010051345 A1).
Claim 4: Mazaira as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein each battery module (Eller; battery modules 1-3) includes a second sensor (Eller; 230a) in communication with the electronic controller (Eller; 205).
Mazaira discloses the claimed limitations in claim 4, but fails to disclose the coolant includes a fluorescent dye, and configured to detect a coolant leak via detection of the fluorescent dye, as a second coolant leak detection technique.
However, Haastert teaches the coolant includes a fluorescent dye (paragraph [19]), and configured to detect a coolant leak via detection of the fluorescent dye, as a second coolant leak detection technique (to clarify, using fluorescent dye to detect coolant leak sued as second coolant leak detection technique) for the purpose of making it particularly easy to detect a leak in the refrigeration cycle (paragraph [19]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include the coolant includes a fluorescent dye, and configured to detect a coolant leak via detection of the fluorescent dye, as a second coolant leak detection technique as taught by Haastert in order to make it particularly easy to detect a leak in the refrigeration cycle.
Claim 13: Mazaira as modified discloses the method as claimed in claim 10, wherein each battery module (Eller battery modules 1-3) includes a second sensor (Eller; 230a) in communication with the electronic controller (78), the method further comprising detecting, via at least one of the second sensors (Eller; 230a).
Mazaira discloses the claimed limitations in claim 13, but fails to disclose the coolant includes a fluorescent dye, and a coolant leak via detection of the fluorescent dye, as a second coolant leak detection technique.
However, Haastert teaches the coolant includes a fluorescent dye (paragraph [19]), and a coolant leak via detection of the fluorescent dye, as a second coolant leak detection technique (to clarify, using fluorescent dye to detect coolant leak sued as second coolant leak detection technique) for the purpose of making it particularly easy to detect a leak in the refrigeration cycle (paragraph [19]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include the coolant includes a fluorescent dye, and a coolant leak via detection of the fluorescent dye, as a second coolant leak detection technique as taught by Haastert in order to make it particularly easy to detect a leak in the refrigeration cycle.
Claim 19: Mazaira as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 16, wherein each battery module (Eller battery modules 1-3) includes a second sensor (Eller; 230a) in communication with the electronic controller (78).
Mazaira discloses the claimed limitations in claim 19, but fails to disclose the coolant includes a fluorescent dye, and configured to detect a coolant leak via detection of the fluorescent dye, as a second coolant leak detection technique.
However, Haastert teaches the coolant includes a fluorescent dye (paragraph [19]), and configured to detect a coolant leak via detection of the fluorescent dye, as a second coolant leak detection technique (to clarify, using fluorescent dye to detect coolant leak sued as second coolant leak detection technique) for the purpose of making it particularly easy to detect a leak in the refrigeration cycle (paragraph [19]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include the coolant includes a fluorescent dye, and configured to detect a coolant leak via detection of the fluorescent dye, as a second coolant leak detection technique as taught by Haastert in order to make it particularly easy to detect a leak in the refrigeration cycle.
Claims 5, 14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazaira (US 2025/0178400 A1), in view of Eller (US 2024/0204297 A1), in view of Gao (US 2022/0390195 A1), and in view of Ko (US 2021/0033483 A1).
Claim 5: Mazaira as modified further fails to disclose the multi-cell RESS is connected to a high-voltage BUS, and wherein the electronic controller is additionally configured to identify a coolant branch having a coolant leak via an isolation measurement of electrical resistance of the respective battery modules, as a third coolant leak detection technique.
However, Eller teaches a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (paragraph [1]: battery thermal management system with multiple battery modules 1-3) is connected to a high-voltage BUS (intended use; paragraph [25]: controller includes processors, computer, interfaces, and various connections for example ‘system-bus’ connecting the components) for the purpose of having backup battery to provide power in case of failure of one battery module (paragraph [3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system is connected to a high-voltage BUS as taught by Eller in order to have backup battery to provide power in case of failure of one battery module.
Further, Ko teaches the electronic controller (paragraph [97]: various control logics of detection unit 300 implemented in software) is additionally configured to identify a coolant branch having a coolant leak via an isolation measurement of electrical resistance of the respective battery modules, as a third coolant leak detection technique (paragraph [11]: apparatus for detecting coolant leakage includes resistor provided in battery pack and configured such resistor is disposed at different heights from lower end of battery pack toward upper end of battery pack, resistor comes into contact with coolant, processor configured to receive electrical signal from resistor and detect coolant leakage based on electrical signal received from resistor in the isolated battery pack) for the purpose of providing an improved apparatus for detecting coolant leakage that can effectively detect coolant leaks and coolant leakage height in the process of detecting leakage (paragraph [9]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include configured to identify a coolant branch having a coolant leak via an isolation measurement of electrical resistance of the respective battery modules, as a third coolant leak detection technique as taught by Ko in order to provide an improved apparatus for detecting coolant leakage that can effectively detect coolant leaks and coolant leakage height in the process of detecting leakage.
Claim 14: Mazaira as modified further fails to disclose wherein the multi-cell RESS is connected to a high-voltage BUS, and the method further comprising identifying, via the electronic controller, a coolant branch having a coolant leak via an isolation measurement of electrical resistance of the respective battery modules, as a third coolant leak detection technique.
However, Eller teaches a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (paragraph [1]: battery thermal management system with multiple battery modules 1-3) is connected to a high-voltage BUS (intended use; paragraph [25]: controller includes processors, computer, interfaces, and various connections for example ‘system-bus’ connecting the components) for the purpose of having backup battery to provide power in case of failure of one battery module (paragraph [3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system is connected to a high-voltage BUS as taught by Eller in order to have backup battery to provide power in case of failure of one battery module.
Further, Ko teaches the method further comprising identifying, via the electronic controller, a coolant branch having a coolant leak via an isolation measurement of electrical resistance of the respective battery modules, as a third coolant leak detection technique (paragraph [97]: various control logics of detection unit 300 implemented in software) (paragraph [11]: apparatus for detecting coolant leakage includes resistor provided in battery pack and configured such resistor is disposed at different heights from lower end of battery pack toward upper end of battery pack, resistor comes into contact with coolant, processor configured to receive electrical signal from resistor and detect coolant leakage based on electrical signal received from resistor in the isolated battery pack) for the purpose of providing an improved apparatus for detecting coolant leakage that can effectively detect coolant leaks and coolant leakage height in the process of detecting leakage (paragraph [9]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include configured to identify a coolant branch having a coolant leak via an isolation measurement of electrical resistance of the respective battery modules, as a third coolant leak detection technique as taught by Ko in order to provide an improved apparatus for detecting coolant leakage that can effectively detect coolant leaks and coolant leakage height in the process of detecting leakage.
Claim 20: Mazaira as modified further fails to disclose the multi-cell RESS is connected to a high-voltage BUS, and wherein the electronic controller is additionally configured to identify a coolant branch having a coolant leak via an isolation measurement of electrical resistance of the respective battery modules, as a third coolant leak detection technique.
However, Eller teaches a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system (paragraph [1]: battery thermal management system with multiple battery modules 1-3) is connected to a high-voltage BUS (intended use; paragraph [25]: controller includes processors, computer, interfaces, and various connections for example ‘system-bus’ connecting the components) for the purpose of having backup battery to provide power in case of failure of one battery module (paragraph [3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include a multi-cell rechargeable energy storage system is connected to a high-voltage BUS as taught by Eller in order to have backup battery to provide power in case of failure of one battery module.
Further, Ko teaches the electronic controller (paragraph [97]: various control logics of detection unit 300 implemented in software) is additionally configured to identify a coolant branch having a coolant leak via an isolation measurement of electrical resistance of the respective battery modules, as a third coolant leak detection technique (paragraph [11]: apparatus for detecting coolant leakage includes resistor provided in battery pack and configured such resistor is disposed at different heights from lower end of battery pack toward upper end of battery pack, resistor comes into contact with coolant, processor configured to receive electrical signal from resistor and detect coolant leakage based on electrical signal received from resistor in the isolated battery pack) for the purpose of providing an improved apparatus for detecting coolant leakage that can effectively detect coolant leaks and coolant leakage height in the process of detecting leakage (paragraph [9]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include configured to identify a coolant branch having a coolant leak via an isolation measurement of electrical resistance of the respective battery modules, as a third coolant leak detection technique as taught by Ko in order to provide an improved apparatus for detecting coolant leakage that can effectively detect coolant leaks and coolant leakage height in the process of detecting leakage.
Claims 6, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazaira (US 2025/0178400 A1), in view of Eller (US 2024/0204297 A1), in view of Gao (US 2022/0390195 A1), and in view of Parakulam (US 2011/0081562 A1).
Claim 6: Mazaira as modified further fails to disclose wherein the electronic controller is configured identify the coolant branch having a coolant leak via at least two individual coolant leak detection techniques to distinguish a coolant leak from condensation internal to the corresponding battery module enclosure, but external to the subject coolant branch.
However, Parakulam teaches the electronic controller (paragraph [28]: processor) is configured identify the coolant branch having a coolant leak via at least two individual coolant leak detection techniques (paragraph [25]: sensor 100 for detecting fluid leakage sensor 100 in battery system having battery cells and electrolyte) to distinguish a coolant leak from condensation internal to the corresponding battery module enclosure (paragraph [31]: fluid may be a different type of fluid the presence of water in battery system may be attributed to condensation, but does not indicate electrolyte are leaking), but external to the subject coolant branch for the purpose of providing leak detection sensor for detecting a leakage of flow battery system and distinguishing between different types of fluids (paragraph [31]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include the electronic controller is configured identify the coolant branch having a coolant leak via at least two individual coolant leak detection techniques to distinguish a coolant leak from condensation internal to the corresponding battery module enclosure, but external to the subject coolant branch as taught by Parakulam in order to provide leak detection sensor for detecting a leakage of flow battery system and distinguishing between different types of fluids.
Claim 15: Mazaira as modified further fails to disclose wherein the method includes identifying, via the electronic controller, the coolant branch having a coolant leak via at least two individual coolant leak detection techniques to distinguish a coolant leak from condensation internal to the corresponding battery module enclosure, but external to the subject coolant branch.
However, Parakulam teaches the method includes identifying, via the electronic controller (paragraph [28]: processor), the coolant branch having a coolant leak via at least two individual coolant leak detection techniques (paragraph [25]: sensor 100 for detecting fluid leakage sensor 100 in battery system having battery cells and electrolyte) to distinguish a coolant leak from condensation internal to the corresponding battery module enclosure (paragraph [31]: fluid may be a different type of fluid the presence of water in battery system may be attributed to condensation, but does not indicate electrolyte are leaking), but external to the subject coolant branch for the purpose of providing leak detection sensor for detecting a leakage of flow battery system and distinguishing between different types of fluids (paragraph [31]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include the method includes identifying, via the electronic controller, the coolant branch having a coolant leak via at least two individual coolant leak detection techniques to distinguish a coolant leak from condensation internal to the corresponding battery module enclosure, but external to the subject coolant branch as taught by Parakulam in order to provide leak detection sensor for detecting a leakage of flow battery system and distinguishing between different types of fluids.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazaira (US 2025/0178400 A1), in view of Eller (US 2024/0204297 A1), in view of Gao (US 2022/0390195 A1), and in view of Liu (US 2024/0042828 A1).
Claim 8: Mazaira as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein each valve (Eller 162a) arranged in one of the plurality of coolant branches (Eller three coolant branches with 3 batteries) upstream of the corresponding battery module (Eller battery modules 1-3) and configured to control a flow of the coolant into the subject coolant branch (annotated FIG.2).
Mazaira discloses the claimed limitations in claim 8, but fails to disclose the at least one flow-valve is a plurality of throttle valves.
However, Liu teaches the at least one flow-valve is a plurality of throttle valves (paragraph [6]: large number of throttle valves 5) for the purpose of regulating the flow rate of fluid by creating resistance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Mazaira to include throttle valves as taught by Liu in order to regulate the flow rate of fluid by creating resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all the claims under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered, and they are moot. This is second non-final, therefore, a new ground of rejections have been made and a new reference is used.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure which is relevant to thermal management for electrical vehicle:
Zhang (US 2023/0191868 A1).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached on (571) 272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /PAUL ALVARE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763