DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, line 6, “nozzle cavities)} should read “nozzle cavities”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krebs (DE 19943764) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Krebs).
Regarding claim 1, Krebs discloses
a connector (figs. 1-9d; a connection device for a hose cable/cable system; [0001], [0013], and [0069]) comprising:
a connector body and at least one nozzle projecting from the connector body (see fig. 1, connector 1 has connecting piece/nozzle 4 projecting from the body; [0070] and [0074]) and
a clamp comprising opposed nozzle cavities corresponding in shape to the at least one nozzle (see figs. 1 and 9d which shows the locking sleeve having inner cavities that are shaped to engage with the nozzle and hose 2; [0075]),
the clamp moveable with respect to the at least one nozzle (see fig. 1, the locking sleeve 9 has two parts 10 and 10’ pivots around the connecting nozzle 4; [0076] and [0079]) between an open, unclamped state (see fig. 1, locking sleeve 9 is in an open/unlocked state) and a closed, clamped state (see fig. 3, locking sleeve 9 is a closed/locked state) in which the at least one nozzle is received into the opposed nozzle cavities (see figs. 3 and 9d; connecting nozzle 4 is received within the inner sides of the parts 10, 10’ of the locking sleeve 9 when closed; [0075] and [0076]).
Regarding claim 2, Krebs further discloses
the connector (connecting device) as recited in claim 1,
wherein the clamp is attached on the connector body (fig. 1; the locking sleeve 9, which is associated with and axially secured to the connecting piece 4, is also provided on the connecting piece 1; [0075]).
Regarding claim 3, Krebs further discloses
the connector (connecting device) as recited in claim 1,
wherein the clamp includes first and second opposed jaws (fig. 1; the locking sleeve 9 has two pivotable cuff parts; [0075] and [0076]) attached to the connector body (fig. 1; the locking sleeve 9, which is associated with and axially secured to the connecting piece 4, is also provided on the connecting piece 1; [0075]) by, respectively, first and second hinges (fig. 1; pivotable cuff parts 10 and 10' are each articulated via a film hinge 11 and 11'; [0076]), the first and second jaws rotatable between the open and closed states (see figs. 1 and 3; the cuff parts 10 are pivotable around the connecting nozzle 4 between an open and closed state; [0076] and [0078].
Regarding claim 4, Krebs further discloses
the connector (connecting device) as recited in claim 3,
wherein the first and second hinges are living hinges (fig. 1; pivotable cuff parts 10 and 10' are each articulated via a film hinge 11 and 11'; [0076]).
Regarding claim 5, Krebs further discloses
the connector (connecting device) as recited in claim 3,
wherein the opposed nozzle cavities (see fig. 1, the locking sleeve 9 has two parts 10 and 10’ which surrounds and locks the hose 2 to the connecting nozzle 4; [0076]-[0079]) includes a first semi-cylindrical cavity in the first jaw and a second semi-cylindrical cavity in the second jaw (see fig. 9d, which shows the inner side of the parts (10, 10’) of the locking sleeve (9) to be semi-cylindrical).
Regarding claim 6, Krebs further discloses
the connector (connecting device) as recited in claim 5,
wherein the at least one nozzle nests into the first and second semi-cylindrical sections (see fig. 9d, which shows the inner side of the parts (10, 10’) of the locking sleeve (9) to be semi-cylindrical) when the clamp is in the closed state (see figs. 3 and 9d; connecting nozzle 4 is received within the inner sides of the parts 10, 10’ of the locking sleeve 9 when closed; [0075] and [0076]).
Regarding claim 7, Krebs further discloses
the connector (connecting device) as recited in claim 1,
wherein the clamp includes at least one lock that secures the clamp in the closed state (figs. 1-3; To hold the cuff parts 10 or 10' in a pivoted, closed position, locking elements 14 or 15 are provided on them, which snap into each other when the locking sleeve 9 is closed; [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (KR 102093375) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Kang) in view of Krebs (DE 19943764) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Krebs).
Regarding claim 1, Kang discloses
a connector (figs.1-5; connection device 200 for a seat pneumatic control system; [0020]-[0023]) comprising:
a connector body and at least one nozzle projecting from the connector body (figs. 1-4d; connection device 200 has a body made of first connector 210 and second connector 220 with a plurality of second fitting heads 222 formed on the body of the second connector 220; [0020]-[0023]).
Kang does not disclose a clamp comprising opposed nozzle cavities corresponding in shape to the at least one nozzle, the clamp moveable with respect to the at least one nozzle between an open, unclamped state and a closed, clamped state in which the at least one nozzle is received into the opposed nozzle cavities.
Krebs discloses an analogous connection device used with hose/piping systems with
a clamp comprising opposed nozzle cavities corresponding in shape to the at least one nozzle (see figs. 1 and 9d which shows the locking sleeve having inner cavities that are shaped to engage with the nozzle and hose 2; [0075]),
the clamp moveable with respect to the at least one nozzle (see fig. 1, the locking sleeve 9 has two parts 10 and 10’ pivots around the connecting nozzle 4; [0076] and [0079]) between an open, unclamped state (see fig. 1, locking sleeve 9 is in an open/unlocked state) and a closed, clamped state (see fig. 3, locking sleeve 9 is a closed/locked state) in which the at least one nozzle is received into the opposed nozzle cavities (see figs. 3 and 9d; connecting nozzle 4 is received within the inner sides of the parts 10, 10’ of the locking sleeve 9 when closed; [0075] and [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nozzles and connection device of Kang to have locking sleeves as taught in Krebs to provide axial locking of the hose sections against the connectors, ensuring a high resistance against the hose being pulled or pushed off the connector while supporting sealing of the hose section on the connection fitting; therefore, providing an improvement of a leak-proof design of a piping system (Krebs: [0015]-[0019]).
Regarding claim 8, Kang further discloses
the connector (Kang: connecting device for seat pneumatic control system; Krebs: connecting device with locking sleeve) as recited in claim 1,
wherein the connector body includes at least one air inlet (figs. 1-4d; first connector 210 has a plurality of first fitting heads 212 formed on the body; [0020]-[0023]), the at least one air inlet in fluid communication with the at least one nozzle (figs. 1-4b; the internal channel 213 of the first fitting heads 212 are in communication with the internal passage 223 of the second fitting heads 222 (nozzles); [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 9, Kang further discloses
the connector (Kang: connecting device for seat pneumatic control system; Krebs: connecting device with locking sleeve) as recited in claim 1,
wherein the at least one nozzle includes a plurality of nozzles (figs. 1-4d; plurality of second fitting heads 222; [0020]-[0023]) that are tapered tubes (see figs. 1-4d which shows the plurality of second fitting heads 222 to be tapered/conical tubes; [0041]) that each project along a respective nozzle axes from the connector body, and the nozzle axes are parallel to each other (see figs. 1-4d, the plurality of second fitting heads 222 and their respective central axes are formed parallel to each other on the body of the second connector 220).
Regarding claim 10, the modified device of Kang further discloses
the connector (Kang: connecting device for seat pneumatic control system; Krebs: connecting device with locking sleeve) as recited in claim 1,
wherein the at least one nozzle includes a plurality of nozzles (Kang: figs. 1-4d; plurality of second fitting heads 222; [0020]-[0023]),
the opposed nozzle cavities include a plurality of opposed nozzle cavities (Krebs: see figs. 6a-8b; a plurality of connecting nozzles 4 are received within the inner sides of the parts 10, 10’ of their respective locking sleeves 9 when closed; [0075] and [0076]) , and in the closed state the plurality of nozzles are received in the plurality of opposed nozzle cavities (Krebs: see figs. 6a-8b and 9d; connecting nozzle 4 and hose 2 are received within the inner sides of the parts 10, 10’ of the locking sleeve 9 when in a closed/locked state; [0075] and [0076]).
Regarding claim 11, Kang discloses
a seat (figs. 1-5; a seat that has an air hose connecting device; [0001]) comprising:
a bladder system including at least one inflatable bladder (figs. 1 and 5; seat pneumatic control system comprises a plurality of air bladder 150; [0020]-[0023]) and at least one air channel in fluid communication with the at least one inflatable bladder (figs. 1 and 5; first air hoses 130 and second hoses 140 communicates with pneumatic pump, connection device 200, air bladders 150; [0020]-[0023]);
a connector body and at least one nozzle projecting from the connector body (figs. 1-4d; connection device 200 has a body made of first connector 210 and second connector 220 with a plurality of second fitting heads 222 formed on the body of the second connector 220; [0020]-[0023]), the at least one air channel received by the at least one nozzle (fig. 1; the plurality of second fitting heads 222 are connected to and in communication with the second air hoses 140; [0023]).
Kang does not disclose a clamp comprising opposed nozzle cavities) corresponding in shape to the at least one nozzle, the clamp moveable with respect to the at least one nozzle between an open, unclamped state and a closed, clamped state on the at least one nozzle and the at least one air channel, and in the closed state the clamp compressing the at least one air channel and forming an airtight connection.
Krebs discloses an analogous connection device used with hose/piping systems with
a clamp comprising opposed nozzle cavities corresponding in shape to the at least one nozzle (see figs. 1 and 9d which shows the locking sleeve 9 having inner cavities that are shaped to engage with the nozzle and hose 2; [0075]),
the clamp moveable with respect to the at least one nozzle (see fig. 1, the locking sleeve 9 has two parts 10 and 10’ pivots around the connecting nozzle 4; [0076] and [0079]) between an open, unclamped state (see fig. 1, locking sleeve 9 is in an open/unlocked state) and a closed, clamped state (see fig. 3, locking sleeve 9 is a closed/locked state) in which the at least one nozzle is received into the opposed nozzle cavities (see figs. 3 and 9d; connecting nozzle 4 is received within the inner sides of the parts 10, 10’ of the locking sleeve 9 when closed; [0075] and [0076]); and
the at least one air channel (figs. 1-5b; connection device 1 has hose 2 attached to the connecting nozzle 4; [0084]), and in the closed state the clamp compressing the at least one air channel and forming an airtight connection (figs. 1-8d; where the locking sleeve 9 ensures a secure fit of the corrugated hose section 2 on the fitting/connecting nozzle 4 and exerts a radial pressure force which supports a sealing effect between the end section 5 of the hose 2 and the connecting nozzle 4; [0034] and [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nozzles and connection device of Kang to have locking sleeves as taught in Krebs to provide axial locking of the hose sections against the connectors, ensuring a high resistance against the hose being pulled or pushed off the connector while supporting sealing of the hose section on the connection fitting; therefore, providing an improvement of a leak-proof design of a piping system (Krebs: [0015]-[0019]).
Regarding claim 12, the modified device of Kang further discloses
the seat (Kang: seat with pneumatic connector/control system; Krebs: connector with locking sleeve) as recited in claim 11,
wherein the clamp includes first and second opposed jaws (Krebs: fig. 1; the locking sleeve 9 has two pivotable cuff parts; [0075] and [0076]) attached to the connector body (Krebs: fig. 1; the locking sleeve 9, which is associated with and axially secured to the connecting piece 4, is also provided on the connecting piece 1; [0075]) by, respectively, first and second hinges (Krebs: fig. 1; pivotable cuff parts 10 and 10' are each articulated via a film hinge 11 and 11'; [0076]), the first and second jaws rotatable between the open and closed states (Krebs: see figs. 1 and 3; the cuff parts 10 are pivotable around the connecting nozzle 4 between an open and closed state; [0076] and [0078].
Regarding claim 14, the modified device of modified method of Kang further discloses
the seat (Kang: seat with pneumatic connector/control system; Krebs: connector with locking sleeve) as recited in claim 11,
wherein the clamp includes at least one lock that secures the clamp in the closed state (Krebs: figs. 1-3; To hold the cuff parts 10 or 10' in a pivoted, closed position, locking elements 14 or 15 are provided on them, which snap into each other when the locking sleeve 9 is closed; [0079]).
Regarding claim 15, Kang discloses
a method (figs. 1-5; using a seat that has an air hose connecting device; [0001]) comprising:
fitting at least one air channel onto at least one nozzle of a connector (see figs. 1 and 5; the plurality of second fitting heads 222 are connected to and in communication with the second air hoses 140 and first air hoses 130 are connected to the pneumatic pump; [0020]-[0023]),
the at least one nozzle projecting from a connector body of the connector (figs. 1-4d; connection device 200 has a body made of first connector 210 and second connector 220 with a plurality of second fitting heads 222 formed on the body of the second connector 220; [0020]-[0023]) and
the at least one air channel is in a bladder system (figs. 1 and 5; seat pneumatic control system comprises a plurality of air bladder 150 and hoses 130, 140; [0020]-[0023]) comprising at least one inflatable bladder in fluid communication with the at least one air channel (figs. 1 and 5; air bladders 150 communicates with second hoses 140, connection device 200, first air hoses 130 and with pneumatic pump; [0020]-[0023]).
Kang does not disclose closing a clamp around the at least one nozzle, the clamp comprising opposed nozzle cavities corresponding in shape to the at least one nozzle, the at least one nozzle and the at least one air channel received by the opposed nozzle cavities when the clamp is in a closed state, the clamp compressing the at least one air channel on the at least one nozzle to form an airtight connection.
However, Krebs discloses an analogous connection device used with hose/piping systems with
closing a clamp around the at least one nozzle (see figs. 1-3, the locking sleeve 9 has two parts 10 and 10’ pivots around the connecting nozzle 4 where the parts 10, 10’ can be locked together around the hose 2 and connecting nozzle 4; [0075]-[0079]),
the clamp comprising opposed nozzle cavities corresponding in shape to the at least one nozzle (see figs. 1 and 9d which shows the locking sleeve 9 having inner cavities that are shaped to engage with the nozzle and hose 2; [0075]),
the at least one nozzle and the at least one air channel received by the opposed nozzle cavities (see figs. 3 and 9d; connecting nozzle 4 and hose 2 are received within the inner sides of the parts 10, 10’ of the locking sleeve 9 when closed; [0075] and [0076]) when the clamp is in a closed state (see fig. 3, locking sleeve 9 is a closed/locked state),
the clamp compressing the at least one air channel on the at least one nozzle to form an airtight connection (figs. 1-8d; where the locking sleeve 9 ensures a secure fit of the corrugated hose section 2 on the fitting/connecting nozzle 4 and exerts a radial pressure force which supports a sealing effect between the end section 5 of the hose 2 and the connecting nozzle 4; [0034] and [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nozzles and connection device of Kang to have locking sleeves as taught in Krebs to provide axial locking of the hose sections against the connectors, ensuring a high resistance against the hose being pulled or pushed off the connector while supporting sealing of the hose section on the connection fitting; therefore, providing an improvement of a leak-proof design of a piping system (Krebs: [0015]-[0019]).
Regarding claim 16, the modified method of Kang further discloses
the method (Kang: seat with pneumatic connector/control system; Krebs: connector with locking sleeve) as recited in claim 15,
wherein the fitting of the at least one air channel onto the at least one nozzle (Kang: see figs. 1 and 5; the plurality of second fitting heads 222 are connected to and in communication with the second air hoses 140 and first air hoses 130 are connected to the pneumatic pump; [0020]-[0023]) includes inserting a tip of the at least one nozzle into an open end of the at least one air channel and sliding the at least one air channel over the at least one nozzle (Kang: see figs. 1 and 2a-2b; the plurality of second fitting heads 222 are inserted into an open end of the second air hoses 140 such that the internal passage 223 is in communication with the second air hose 140 as the hoses 140 are fitted over the fitting heads; [0020]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 17, the modified method of Kang further discloses
the method (Kang: seat with pneumatic connector/control system; Krebs: connector with locking sleeve) as recited in claim 15, further comprising
actuating a lock on the clamp, the lock preventing the clamp from moving from the closed state to an open state (Krebs: figs. 1-3; locking sleeve when actuated to a closed position, holds the cuff parts 10 or 10' in the pivoted, closed position using locking elements 14 or 15 are provided on the cuffs, which snap into each other; [0079]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (KR 102093375) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Kang) in view of Krebs (DE 19943764) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Krebs) and further in view of Muller (US 4846505).
Regarding claim 13, the modified device of Kang discloses
the seat (Kang: seat with pneumatic connector/control system; Krebs: connector with locking sleeve) as recited in claim 12,
While Kang does disclose using O-rings between the first connector and second connector ([0024] and [0036]), it does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first and second opposed jaws include a seal channel that intersects the opposed nozzle cavities, and a seal disposed in the seal channel compressing the at least one air channel on the at least one nozzle.
Muller discloses an analogous connecting piece using in pneumatics
wherein at least one of the first and second opposed jaws include a seal channel that intersects the opposed nozzle cavities (figs. 1, 4 and 7; clamping halves 9 and 10 comprises a depression 36; col. 6, lines 45-49), and a seal disposed in the seal channel (figs. 1, 4 and 7; a sealing ring 39 is inserted on the depression 36 to surround the plug-in end 15; col. 6, lines 45-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the locking sleeve of the modified device of Kang with the depression and sealing ring of Muller to provide further sealing of the connecting piece against the hose forming a pressure means-tight seal (Muller: col. 2, lines 53-64 and col. 6, lines 45-49).
It directly follows that the resultant locking sleeve of the modified device of Kang combined with the depression and sealing ring of Muller would meet the claimed structural limitations since:
The modified device of Kang combined with Muller discloses
a seal disposed in the seal channel (Muller: figs. 1, 4 and 7; a sealing ring 39 is inserted on the depression 36 to surround the plug-in end 15; col. 6, lines 45-49) compressing the at least one air channel on the at least one nozzle (Krebs: figs. 1-8d; where the locking sleeve 9 ensures a secure fit of the corrugated hose section 2 on the fitting/connecting nozzle 4 and exerts a radial pressure force which supports a sealing effect between the end section 5 of the hose 2 and the connecting nozzle 4; [0034] and [0078]; Kang: fig. 1; the second air hoses 140 fitted over the plurality of second fitting heads 222; [0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dörfler (US 20210246916) – A connecting element and supply block for a pneumatic seat system using adjustable air cushions
O’Moore (US 20200069513) – A pneumatic massage system for vehicular seating with a plurality of nozzles
/S.R.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785