DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 01 May 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 13 and 18, claims 13 and 18 recite in pertinent part “wherein the second electrode of the first pixel and the second electrode of the second pixel” however the only antecedent basis for “the second electrode” is of “wherein the capacitor includes a first electrode and a second electrode.” For the purposes of examination, the phrase “the second electrode” will be interpreted as second electrodes of the recited capacitors.
Claims 14-17, 19, and 20 are directly or indirectly dependent from claims 13 and 18 and therefore inherit the indefinite limitations discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10-13, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipation by Takeda et al. (US 2022/0285410 A1; hereinafter Takeda).
In regards to claim 1, Takeda teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 13, an image sensor comprising:
a plurality of pixels (PR/PG/PB) [0058], each of which includes a photovoltaic device (PD1/PD2) configured to convert incident light into charge [0052], and a capacitor configured to store the charge [0045],
wherein the capacitor of each of the plurality of pixels comprises:
a first electrode and a second electrode that overlap each other ([0045]: e.g. MIS capacitor has electrodes that overlap in a direction); and
a dielectric layer that is between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0045]: e.g. MIS capacitor),
wherein the plurality of pixels include a first pixel (e.g. (PR)) and a second pixel (e.g. (PG)) adjacent to each other (fig. 1C), and
wherein the second electrode of the first pixel and the second electrode of the second pixel are integral with each other (fig. 1C: instances of (250) span between two pixels, e.g. instance of (250) between (PR) and (PG) in (PMD) under (DT)).
In regards to claim 10, Takeda teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Takeda further teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 13, the limitations wherein the plurality of pixels further include a third pixel and a fourth pixel adjacent to the first pixel and the second pixel, and wherein the second electrode of the first pixel, the second electrode of the second pixel, the second electrode of the third pixel, and the second electrode of the fourth pixel are integral with each other (fig. 13: e.g. (PX1-PX4)).
In regards to claim 11, Takeda teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 10. Takeda further teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 13, the limitations wherein the first pixel, the second pixel, the third pixel, and the fourth pixel are arranged along a row direction and a column direction (fig. 13: e.g. (PX1-PX4)).
In regards to claim 12, Takeda teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Takeda further teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 13, the limitations wherein the second electrodes of the plurality of pixels are integral with each other (fig. 1C: instances of (250) span between two pixels, e.g. instance of (250) between (PR) and (PG) in (PMD) under (DT)).
In regards to claim 13, Takeda teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 13, an image sensor comprising:
a plurality of pixels (PR/PG/PB) [0058], each of which comprises:
a photovoltaic device (PD1/PD2) configured to convert incident light into charge [0052];
a first floating diffusion zone (fig. 13; [0106]) and a second floating diffusion zone (fig. 13; [0106]) that are coupled to the photovoltaic device [0052];
a transfer transistor (e.g. (25)) that is coupled between the photovoltaic device and the first floating diffusion zone [0045]; and
a dual conversion gain transistor ([0052]: amplifying transistor for electric charges from (PD1) and electric charges from (PD2)) that is coupled between the first floating diffusion zone and the second floating diffusion zone [0052],
wherein the second floating diffusion zone includes a capacitor [0045],
wherein the capacitor includes a first electrode and a second electrode that overlap each other ([0045]: e.g. MIS capacitor has electrodes that overlap in a direction), and a dielectric layer that is between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0045]: e.g. MIS capacitor),
wherein the plurality of pixels include a first pixel (e.g. (PR)) and a second pixel (e.g. (PG)) adjacent to each other (fig. 1C), and
wherein the second electrode of the first pixel and the second electrode of the second pixel are integral with each other (fig. 1C: instances of (250) span between two pixels, e.g. instance of (250) between (PR) and (PG) in (PMD) under (DT)).
In regards to claim 18, Takeda teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 13, an image sensor comprising:
a plurality of pixels (PR/PG/PB) [0058], each of which comprises:
a light transmission layer (CFR/CFG/CFB) [0058];
a photoelectric conversion layer (PD1/PD2) configured to convert light passing through the light transmission layer into an electrical signal [0052];
a transfer transistor (e.g. (25)) that is coupled to the photoelectric conversion layer [0045];
a first floating diffusion zone (fig. 13; [0106]) and a dual conversion gain transistor ([0052]: amplifying transistor for electric charges from (PD1) and electric charges from (PD2)) that are coupled to the transfer transistor [0052]; and
a capacitor that is coupled to the dual conversion gain transistor [0045],
wherein the capacitor includes a first electrode and a second electrode that overlap each other ([0045]: e.g. MIS capacitor has electrodes that overlap in a direction), and a dielectric layer that is between the first electrode and the second electrode ([0045]: e.g. MIS capacitor),
wherein the plurality of pixels include a first pixel (e.g. (PR)) and a second pixel (e.g. (PG)) adjacent to each other (fig. 1C), and
wherein the second electrode of the first pixel and the second electrode of the second pixel are integral with each other (fig. 1C: instances of (250) span between two pixels, e.g. instance of (250) between (PR) and (PG) in (PMD) under (DT)).
In regards to claim 19, Takeda teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 18. Takeda further teaches, e.g. in figs. 1 and 13, the limitations wherein the plurality of pixels further include a third pixel and a fourth pixel adjacent to the first pixel and the second pixel, and wherein the second electrode of the first pixel, the second electrode of the second pixel, the second electrode of the third pixel, and the second electrode of the fourth pixel are integral with each other (fig. 13: PX1-PX4).
In regards to claim 20, Takeda teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 18. Takeda further teaches, e.g. in figs. 1, and 13, the limitations wherein the second electrodes of the plurality of pixels are integral with each other (fig. 1C: instances of (250) span between two pixels, e.g. instance of (250) between (PR) and (PG) in (PMD) under (DT)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 6, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda.
In regards to claim 2, Takeda teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Takeda teaches in a separate embodiment, the limitations wherein the first electrode of the capacitor is coupled to the photovoltaic device, and wherein the second electrode of the capacitor is coupled to a ground (fig. 2: e.g. (CINC2) is connected to a ground with another side indirectly connected to (PD2)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to combine the limitations taught by the different embodiments as taught by Takeda to tune a capacitance of a device element for desired applications (Takeda [0096]).
In regards to claim 3, Takeda teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 1. Takeda teaches in a separate embodiment, the limitations further comprising:
a first wiring line that is coupled between the photovoltaic device and the first electrode of the capacitor (fig. 2: wiring (e.g. M1/M2/M3) between (CEL2) and (PD2));
a first insulating layer (fig. 1C: e.g. (PMD)) that is between the first electrode of the capacitor and the first wiring line (fig. 2); and
a first via that extends through the first insulating layer so as to couple the first electrode of the capacitor and the first wiring line together [0056].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to combine the limitations taught by the different embodiments as taught by Takeda to tune a capacitance of a device element for desired applications (Takeda [0096]).
In regards to claim 5, Takeda teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 3. Takeda teaches in a separate embodiment, the limitations wherein the first electrode of the first pixel and the first electrode of the second pixel are spaced apart from each other (e.g. fig. 1C: some electrodes like (251/254) are separated from one another). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to combine the limitations taught by the different embodiments as taught by Takeda to tune a capacitance of a device element for desired applications (Takeda [0096]).
In regards to claim 6, Takeda teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 5. Takeda teaches in a separate embodiment, the limitations further comprising a second via that extends through the first insulating layer and the dielectric layer so as to be coupled to the first wiring line (fig. 1C: e.g. metallization layers in (ILD)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to combine the limitations taught by the different embodiments as taught by Takeda to tune a capacitance of a device element for desired applications (Takeda [0096]).
In regards to claim 14, Takeda teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 13. Takeda teaches in a separate embodiment, the limitations further comprising:
a first wiring line that is coupled between the photovoltaic device and the first electrode of the capacitor (fig. 2: wiring (e.g. M1/M2/M3) between (CEL2) and (PD2));
a first insulating layer (fig. 1C: e.g. (PMD)) that is between the first electrode of the capacitor and the first wiring line (fig. 2); and
a first via that extends through the first insulating layer so as to couple the first electrode of the capacitor and the first wiring line together [0056].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to combine the limitations taught by the different embodiments as taught by Takeda to tune a capacitance of a device element for desired applications (Takeda [0096]).
In regards to claim 16, Takeda teaches the limitations discussed above in addressing claim 14. Takeda teaches in a separate embodiment, the limitations wherein the first electrode of the first pixel and the first electrode of the second pixel are spaced apart from each other (e.g. fig. 1C: some electrodes like (251/254) are separated from one another). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to combine the limitations taught by the different embodiments as taught by Takeda to tune a capacitance of a device element for desired applications (Takeda [0096]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-9, 15, and 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claims 4, 7-9, 15, and 17, Takeda teaches the limitations as discussed above in addressing claims 3, 6, 14, and 16. Takeda appears to be silent as to the limitations wherein the second electrode has first and second holes that have the layout as set forth in claims 4, 7-9, 15, and 17.
Conclusion
CALVIN CHOI
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2812
/CALVIN Y CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812