Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Claims 1-3, 7 and 11 are amended. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 06/24/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 11, 13 and 15-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 5, 7 and 8, “the roller” should read --the roller chain--.
Claim 1, line 6, “adjacent pairs link plates” should read --adjacent pairs of link plates—
Claim 1, line 2, “plural transverse axes” should read --a plurality of transverse axes--and line 9, “a plurality of transverse axes” should read --the plurality of transverse axes--.
Claim 2, line 1, “the roller” should read --the roller chain--.
Claim 2, lines 5 and 6, “the roller” should read --the roller chain--.
Claim 4, “the roller” should read --the roller chain--.
Claim 4, “the roller” should read --the roller chain--.
Claim 7, lines 8 and 9, “the roller” should read --the roller chain--.
Claim 11, lines 7 and 9, “the roller” should read --the roller chain--.
Claim 11, line 11, “a threaded fastener” should read --the threaded fastener--.
Claim 13, lines 1-2, “the roller” should read --the roller chain--.
Claim 15, line 5, “the roller” should read --the roller chain--.
Claim 16, lines 1-2, “the roller” should read --the roller chain--.
Claim 16, line 2, “plural transverse axes” should read --the plurality of transverse axes--.
Claim 17, line 1, “the roller” should read --the roller chain--.
Claim 17, line 2, “each of plural transverse articulating axes” should read --each articulating axis of the plurality of transverse axes”.
Claim 18, lines 1 and 3, “the roller” should read --the roller chain--.
Claim 18, line 2, “each of the plural transverse articulating axes” should read --each articulating axis of the plurality of transverse axes”.
Claim 19, lines 1 and 3, “the roller” should read --the roller chain--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7, 11, 12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones (US 3002409 A).
Regarding claim 1, Jones teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) an elongate wrench for rotating a threaded fastener,
the wrench defining a longitudinal axis (LA), plural transverse axes (TA) perpendicular thereto and comprising: a handle (handle 28, 30) having a first handle end and a second handle end opposed thereto; a roller chain (chain 10 comprising pivoted link chains 56) having a first chain end joined to the handle and a second chain end opposed thereto and spaced outwardly from the handle, the roller chain having alternatingly paired, transversely spaced apart, generally planar link plates (see spaced apart planar link plates 56) and roller links (pins connecting spaced apart planar link plates 56) joining longitudinally adjacent pairs of link plates; and a drive shaft (polygonal plug 36) joined to the second end of the roller chain and configured to insert into a bore (44) of a socket (40), whereby the roller chain is articulable about a plurality of transverse axes (TA) perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (LA) and can apply torque about the longitudinal axis in response to a user.
Regarding claim 2, Jones teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the roller chain is made according to ANSI B29.1 (it is a link chain).
Regarding claim 7, Jones teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a kit comprising a modular elongate wrench for rotating a threaded fastener,
the wrench defining a longitudinal axis (LA), the kit comprising: at least one elongate handle (handle 28, 30) coincident the longitudinal axis (LA) and having a first handle end and a second handle end opposed thereto; at least one roller chain (chain 10 comprising pivoted link chains 56) made according to ASME Standard B29.1-2011(R2022) (it is a link chain) and having a proximal end removably joinable (by 32 and 34) to the handle proximate the second handle end and having a distal end opposed to the proximal end and being spaced away from the handle; and at least one drive shaft (36) removably joinable to the distal end of the roller chain and configured to insert into a bore (44) of a socket (40), whereby the roller chain is articulable about a plurality of transverse axes (TA) perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (LA) and can apply torque about the longitudinal axis (LA).
Regarding claim 11, Jones teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a method of tightening or loosening a threaded fastener,
the method comprising, in order, the steps of: providing a modular wrench for rotating a threaded fastener and defining a longitudinal axis (LA), the wrench having at least one elongate handle (handle 28, 30) coincident the longitudinal axis (LA) with a first handle end and a second handle end opposed thereto, at least one roller chain (chain 10 comprising pivoted link chains 56) made according to ANSI B.29.1 (it is a link chain) and having a proximal end removably joined to the handle and a distal end opposed thereto and spaced outwardly from the handle, whereby the chain is articulable about a plurality of transverse axis (TA) perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, and a drive shaft removably joined to the distal end of the chain and configured to insert into a bore of a socket; removably attaching a first socket (46) to the drive shaft (36); engaging the first socket with the threaded fastener; and applying torque about the longitudinal axis of the wrench (by rotating 30) to thereby rotate the threaded fastener about a respective threaded fastener axis.
Regarding claim 12, Jones teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the step of inserting the first socket into a confined space before engaging the first socket with the threaded fastener.
Regarding claim 16, Jones teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the step of articulating the chain about plural transverse axes after removably attaching the first socket (40) to the drive shaft (36) and before engaging the first socket with the threaded fastener.
Regarding claim 17, Jones teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the articulating the chain in plural angles about each of plural transverse articulating axes while rotating the threaded fastener about a respective threaded fastener axis (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Jones teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the step of articulating the chain in plural angles about each of the plural transverse articulating axes comprises the step of articulating the chain in opposed directions about at least one of the transverse articulating axes (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Jones teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the step of articulating the chain in plural angles about each of the plural transverse articulating axes comprises the step of articulating the chain in opposed directions about at least two of the transverse articulating axes (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Jones teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the at least two transverse articulating axes have at least one transverse axis therebetween not subjected to articulating in opposed directions (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steininger (US 1316398 A) in view of Jones.
Regarding claim 1, Steininger teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) an elongate wrench for rotating a threaded fastener (A), the wrench defining a longitudinal axis (LA), plural transverse axes (TA) perpendicular thereto and comprising: a handle (10) having a first handle end and a second handle end opposed thereto; a roller chain having a first chain end joined to the handle and a second chain end opposed thereto and spaced outwardly from the handle, the roller chain having alternatingly paired, transversely spaced apart, generally planar link plates (see spaced apart planar link plates 5 and 8) and roller links (pins 7) joining longitudinally adjacent pairs of link plates; and wrench (head 1) joined to the second end of the roller chain and configured to insert into a bore of a socket, whereby the roller chain is articulable about a plurality of transverse axes (TA) perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (LA) and can apply torque about the longitudinal axis in response to a user (head 1 of wrench of Steininger is removable by removing lug 11 and nut 12 to attach another wrench shown in Fig. 6).
Jones teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) an elongate wrench for rotating a threaded fastener,
the wrench defining a longitudinal axis (LA), plural transverse axes (TA) perpendicular thereto and comprising: a handle (handle 28, 30) having a first handle end and a second handle end opposed thereto; a roller chain (chain 10 comprising pivoted link chains 56) having a first chain end joined to the handle and a second chain end opposed thereto and spaced outwardly from the handle, the roller chain having alternatingly paired, transversely spaced apart, generally planar link plates (see spaced apart planar link plates 56) and roller links (pins connecting spaced apart planar link plates 56) joining longitudinally adjacent pairs of link plates; and a drive shaft (polygonal plug 36) joined to the second end of the roller chain and configured to insert into a bore (44) of a socket (40), whereby the roller chain is articulable about a plurality of transverse axes (TA) perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (LA) and can apply torque about the longitudinal axis in response to a user.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to removably attach a drive shaft to wrench of Steininger. Doing so would make it capable of being attached to a socket.
Regarding claim 2, Steininger teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the roller chain is made according to ANSI B29.1 (it is a link chain).
Regarding claims 3-6 and 8, Steininger does not explicitly teach the size and ratio of the chain.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose different size for the ratchet flexible handle chain portion depending on the use and reach of the ratchet.
Regarding claim 7, Steininger teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a kit comprising a modular elongate wrench for rotating a threaded fastener (A), the wrench defining a longitudinal axis (LA), the kit comprising: at least one elongate handle (10) coincident the longitudinal axis and having a first handle end and a second handle end opposed thereto; at least one roller chain (see spaced apart planar link plates 5 and 8 and pins 7) made according to ASME Standard B29.1 -2011(R2022) (it is a link chain) and having a proximal end removably joinable to the handle proximate the second handle end and having a distal end opposed to the proximal end and being spaced away from the handle; and at least one wrench (head 1) removably joinable to the distal end of the roller chain and configured to insert into a bore of a socket, whereby the roller chain is articulable about a plurality of transverse axes perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and can apply torque about the longitudinal axis (head 1 of wrench of Steininger is removable by removing lug 11 and nut 12 to attach another wrench shown in Fig. 6).
Jones teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) an elongate wrench for rotating a threaded fastener,
the wrench defining a longitudinal axis (LA), plural transverse axes (TA) perpendicular thereto and comprising: a handle (handle 28, 30) having a first handle end and a second handle end opposed thereto; a roller chain (chain 10 comprising pivoted link chains 56) having a first chain end joined to the handle and a second chain end opposed thereto and spaced outwardly from the handle, the roller chain having alternatingly paired, transversely spaced apart, generally planar link plates (see spaced apart planar link plates 56) and roller links (pins connecting spaced apart planar link plates 56) joining longitudinally adjacent pairs of link plates; and a drive shaft (polygonal plug 36) joined to the second end of the roller chain and configured to insert into a bore (44) of a socket (40), whereby the roller chain is articulable about a plurality of transverse axes (TA) perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (LA) and can apply torque about the longitudinal axis in response to a user.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to removably attach a drive shaft to wrench of Steininger. Doing so would make it capable of being attached to a socket.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steininger in view of Jones and further in view of Quentyn73 Kobalt 4-in-1 ratcheting handle 72T 1/4 & 3/8 removable heads 5062986 found at:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hs6w2-dDAuQ
Regarding claims 9-10, in both Steininger and Jones tools the head is interchangeable; but does not show interchangeable drive shafts.
Quentyn73 teaches a ratchet with interchangeable 1/4 & 3/8 drive shafts.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use interchangeable ratchet heads to make the tool useable for different sockets.
Claims 3-6, 8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones.
Regarding claims 3-6, 8 and 13, Jones does not explicitly teach the size and ratio of the chain.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose different size for the ratchet flexible handle chain portion depending on the use and reach of the ratchet.
Regarding claim 14, Jones teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the step of selecting a chain from a kit having a plurality of chains comprises the step of selecting a chain from a plurality of chains wherein each has a drive shaft attached to the distal end thereof (see different drive shafts in Figs. 1 and 3-5).
Regarding claim 15, Jones teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the step of selecting a chain from a kit having a plurality of chains comprises the step of selecting a chain not having a drive shaft associated therewith (see figs. 9 and 11) and further comprises the steps of: selecting a drive shaft from a plurality of drive shafts (see different drive shafts in Figs. 1 and 3-5); and removably joining the selected drive shaft to the distal end of the chain before removably attaching the first socket to the selected drive shaft.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Quentyn73.
Regarding claims 9-10, in Jones tool the head is interchangeable; but does not show interchangeable drive shafts.
Quentyn73 teaches a ratchet with interchangeable 1/4 & 3/8 drive shafts.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use interchangeable ratchet heads to make the tool useable for different sockets.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new primary reference and combination of the references being used in the current rejection as necessitate by amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723