Priority
This application is a Continuation of 17488826, filed 09/29/2021, 17488826 is a Continuation of 16163695, filed 10/18/2018, 16163695 is a Continuation of 15017817, filed 02/08/2016, 15017817 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 62113496, filed 02/08/2015.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 10/23/2024 has been considered. See the attached PTO 1449 form.
Claim Status
Claims 1-18, 20, 22, 39-42 are currently pending and presented for examination on the merits for patentability.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 20, the recitation “consisting essentially the diluent” should recite “consisting essentially of the diluent”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 10, 11, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claims 9, 10, 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For example, in claim 9, it is unclear what exactly constitutes substantially immediately and how is it different from released immediately. The specification do not provide clear definition of what constitutes “substantially”. Similarly, in claims 10 and 14, it is unclear what exactly constitutes “substantially all” and how is it different from “all” of the drug being released.
Claims 11 and 15 are included in the rejection as they depend on a rejected base claim and do not clarify the issues discussed above.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 20 recites "consisting essentially of". The "consisting essentially of" language recited in the claims still allows for inclusion of other components not recited in the instant claims. The transitional phrase "consisting essentially of" limits the scope of a claim to the specified materials or steps "and those that do not materially affect the basic and novel characteristic(s)" of the claimed invention. In re Herz, 537 F.2d 549, 551-52, 190 USPQ 461, 463 (CCPA 1976). For the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, "consisting essentially of" will be construed as equivalent to "comprising." See, e.g., PPG, 156 F.3d at 1355, 48 USPQ2d at 1355. If an applicant contends that additional steps or materials in the prior art are excluded by the recitation of "consisting essentially of," applicant has the burden of showing that the introduction of additional steps or components would materially change the characteristics of applicant’s invention. In re De Lajarte, 337 F.2d 870, 143 USPQ 256 (CCPA 1964). See also Ex parte Hoffman, 12 USPQ2d 1061, 1063-64 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989). See MPEP 2111. Thus, in the instant case, "consisting essentially of" is interpreted as "comprising of" which does not exclude ingredients not positively recited in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 16-17, 20, 22, 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldman (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0216615 A1, Published 08/22/2013) in view of Zeidan et al. (US Patent 8669281 B1, Published 03/11/2014).
The claims are directed to a capsule composition comprising a plurality of tablet cores containing 70-80% 2-(2,5-dioxopyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl methyl fumurate comprising having an enteric coating on the cores. The core further comprises microcrystalline cellulose and crosslinked polyvinylpyrrolidone (crospovidone). The coating further comprises controlled release polymer, plasticizer and talc.
Goldman teaches formations of capsules containing microtablets (e.g. paragraph 0232) comprising a core comprising 83.60% dimethyl fumurate, 0.46% croscarmellose sodium, 7.00% microcrystalline cellulose, 0.26% magnesium stearate, 0.43% silica colloidal anhydrous and coating comprising 0.11% methacrylic acid methyl acrylate, 4.34% methacrylic acid ethyl acrylate (controlled release polymer), 0.97% triethyl citrate, 2.65% talc, 0.02% simethicone, 0.11 polysorbate 80, and 0.05% sodium lauryl sulfate (paragraphs 0232-0235, example 5).
Disintegrants can be selected from croscarmellose sodium and crospovidone (e.g. paragraph 0163). Silica colloidal anhydrous can be substituted with colloidal silica (colloidal silicon dioxide) (e.g. para 0163-0164).
The microtablets can be coated with one or more of methacrylic acid-methyl acrylate copolymer or methacrylic acid-ethyl acrylate copolymer (e.g. claim 13). Fillers can be selected from polysorbate 80, simethicone and talc (e.g. paragraph 0162). Lubricants can be selected from magnesium stearate, talc, and sodium lauryl sulfate (e.g. paragraph 0165).
The microtablets can be coated by one or more coatings (e.g. paragraph 0122). The coatings can be an enteric coating (e.g. paragraph 0194). The enteric coating can comprise one or more of plasticizes, fillers, lubricants, polymers, copolymers, or combinations thereof (e.g. paragraphs 0202-0210).
Goldman lacks a teaching wherein the core comprises 2-(2,5-dioxopyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl methyl fumurate.
Zeidan et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising 2-(2,5-dioxopyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl methyl fumurate (see prior art claims 1 and 2). 2-(2,5-dioxopyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl methyl fumurate is derivative of monomethyl fumurate which offer improved properties relative to dimethyl fumurate (column 1, lines 13-17). Dimethyl fumurate is known to cause side effects (column 2, lines 62-67). The compound 2-(2,5-dioxopyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl methyl fumurate results in decreased side effects upon administration (column 5, lines 39-42).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute diemthyl fumurate with 2-(2,5-dioxopyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl methyl fumurate in the composition of Goldman and have a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so since Zeidan et al. teach that 2-(2,5-dioxopyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl methyl fumurate has reduced side effects relative to dimethyl fumurate.
With regard to the amount of coating to applied to the core, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the instantly claimed amounts (e.g. claims 6-8), through routine optimization of the composition. One would have been motivated to do so in order to arrive at a preferred release profile.
With regard to the instant release profile instantly claimed (e.g. claims 9-11), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to achieve the release profile through routine optimization of the composition. One would have been motivated to do so in order to arrive at a preferred release profile. Further, the combination of the cited prior art teaches the composition which is the same as the instantly claimed composition and thus it would necessarily have the release profile recited in the instant claims.
From the combined teaching of the cited reference, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 12-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldman (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0216615 A1, Published 08/22/2013) in view of Zeidan et al. (US Patent 8669281 B1, Published 03/11/2014) as applied to claims 1-11, 16-17, 20, 22, 39-41 above and further in view of Naringrekar et al. (US2009/0317473A1; Dec. 24, 2009).
The teachings of Goldman and Zeidan have been set forth above.
As discussed supra, Goldman teaches formations of capsules containing microtablets having a core and coating which comprises a controlled release polymer. Goldman also teaches the active (dimethyl fumarate), croscarmellose sodium, talcum, colloidal silicon and magnesium stearate are mixed to formed a blend (see e.g. example 2). As such, the active would be dispersed throughout the carrier matrix. Goldman does not expressly teache wherein the capsule contains pellets instead of microtablets. However, Naringrekar cures this deficiency.
Naringrekar also teaches controlled release pharmaceutical formulations wherein the active agent is blended with other material to form a matrix mixture, which is then compressed to form mini-tablets or pelletized to form pellets. Minitablets and pellets can be filled into capsules. Pellets can be produced through extrusion method. (see e.g. para 0004; 0075; 0079).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Goldman and Naringrekar and fill the capsule of Goldman with either minitablets or pellets because Naringrekar teaches both minitablet form and pellet form as being suitable for filling capsules in a controlled release formulation. Moreover, Naringrekar teaches extrusion method can be used to produce pellets and thus, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to use the known method to produce pellets. Further, claim 13 recites a method of producing the pellets and the instant claims are directed to a product. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113 (I).
With regard to the instant release profile instantly claimed (e.g. claims 14-15), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to achieve the release profile through routine optimization of the composition. One would have been motivated to do so in order to arrive at a preferred release profile. Further, the combination of the cited prior art teaches the composition which is the same as the instantly claimed composition and thus it would necessarily have the release profile recited in the instant claims.
From the combined teaching of the cited reference, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldman (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0216615 A1, Published 08/22/2013) in view of Zeidan et al. (US Patent 8669281 B1, Published 03/11/2014) and Mulye (US6475493B1; Nov. 5, 2002).
The teachings of Goldman discussed supra are incorporated herein.
As discussed supra, Goldman teaches formations of capsules containing microtablets (e.g. paragraph 0232) comprising a core comprising 83.60% dimethyl fumurate, 0.46% croscarmellose sodium, 7.00% microcrystalline cellulose, 0.26% magnesium stearate, 0.43% silica colloidal anhydrous and coating comprising 0.11% methacrylic acid methyl acrylate, 4.34% methacrylic acid ethyl acrylate (controlled release polymer), 0.97% triethyl citrate, 2.65% talc, 0.02% simethicone, 0.11 polysorbate 80, and 0.05% sodium lauryl sulfate (paragraphs 0232-0235, example 5).
Disintegrants can be selected from croscarmellose sodium and crospovidone (e.g. paragraph 0163). Silica colloidal anhydrous can be substituted with colloidal silica (colloidal silicon dioxide) (e.g. para 0163-0164). The microtablets can be coated with one or more of methacrylic acid-methyl acrylate copolymer or methacrylic acid-ethyl acrylate copolymer (e.g. claim 13). Fillers can be selected from polysorbate 80, simethicone and talc (e.g. paragraph 0162). Lubricants can be selected from magnesium stearate, talc, and sodium lauryl sulfate (e.g. paragraph 0165). Thus, one skilled in the art would have readily envisioned using crospovidone instead of croscarmellose in the core, and only methacrylic acid ethyl acrylate as the copolymer, and talc as the filler/lubricant. Thus, Goldman does not require materials which are excluded from the claims with the use of consisting of language.
Goldman further teaches the microtablets can be coated by one or more coatings (e.g. paragraph 0122). The coatings can be an enteric coating (e.g. paragraph 0194). The enteric coating can comprise one or more of plasticizes, fillers, lubricants, polymers, copolymers, or combinations thereof (e.g. paragraphs 0202-0210).
Goldman lacks a teaching wherein the core comprises 2-(2,5-dioxopyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl methyl fumurate.
Zeidan et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising 2-(2,5-dioxopyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl methyl fumurate (see prior art claims 1 and 2). 2-(2,5-dioxopyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl methyl fumurate is derivative of monomethyl fumurate which offer improved properties relative to dimethyl fumurate (column 1, lines 13-17). Dimethyl fumurate is known to cause side effects (column 2, lines 62-67). The compound 2-(2,5-dioxopyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl methyl fumurate results in decreased side effects upon administration (column 5, lines 39-42).
Goldman also does not expressly teach the coating also includes colloidal silicon dioxide. However, Mulye cures this deficiency.
Mulye teaches controlled release formulations having a core containing medicament and a coating which controls the release of drug. The coating may contain lubricants such as colloidal silicon dioxide. (see e.g. Background of Invention; Col. 8, line 5-25).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute diemthyl fumurate with 2-(2,5-dioxopyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl methyl fumurate in the composition of Goldman and have a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so since Zeidan et al. teach that 2-(2,5-dioxopyrrolidin-1-yl)ethyl methyl fumurate has reduced side effects relative to dimethyl fumurate.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further included colloidal silicon dioxide in the coating of Goldman’s composition because Goldman teaches the coating can include lubricant and Mulye teaches controlled release formulations having a core containing medicament and a coating which controls the release of drug wherein the coating may contain lubricants such as colloidal silicon dioxide. Thus, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to include colloidal silicon dioxide in the coating of Goldmans composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to the amount of the materials in the core and the coating, while Goldman does not expressly disclose the exact which are recited in the claim, Goldman in its disclosure teaches general amounts which can be used (see e.g. para 0155-0178) and which overlap the claimed amounts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the instantly claimed amounts through routine optimization of the composition. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
From the combined teaching of the cited reference, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/ALI S SAEED/Examiner, Art Unit 1616