DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 6/18/2026 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 05/01/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tonar (US20120243093A1, of record).
With respect to Claim 1, Tonar discloses an optical module (Fig. 8B—element 8A, vibratory assembly; [0084]) comprising:
a translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]);
a vibrator (Fig. 8B—element 16A, piezoelectric transducer; [0084]) with a tubular shape (See Fig. 8A and 8B-- element 16A is cylindrical and supports element 20A) and supporting the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]);
a piezoelectric element (Fig. 8B and [0084]: Element 16A contains a piezoelectric transducer) located at the vibrator (Fig. 8B—element 16A, piezoelectric transducer; [0084]) to vibrate the vibrator ([0004]: The piezoelectric transducer is adapted to vibrate upon actuation of the power source); and
an inner-layer optical component (Fig. 8B—element 38A, light sensor device lens, and inner surface of 14A, housing; [0084]) located at an inner side portion of the vibrator (Fig. 8B—element 38A is located inside the vibratory assembly below element 16A); wherein
a recess (Fig. 8B— inner surface of element 20A) that is recessed in a thickness direction of the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]) and includes a curvature at a surface (Fig. 8A—the inner surface of element 20A is concave) of the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]) facing the inner-layer optical component (Fig. 8B—element 38A, light sensor device lens, and inner surface of 14A, housing; [0084]);
the inner-layer optical component (Fig. 8B—element 38A, light sensor device lens, and inner surface of 14A, housing; [0084]) includes an inner-layer lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A) that faces the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]);
the inner-layer lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A) includes a first portion (Fig. 8B— convex top surface of element 38A) that protrudes toward the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]) and includes a curvature and a second portion (Fig. 8B— flat periphery top surface of element 38A) at an outer periphery of the first portion (Fig. 8B— convex top surface of element 38A);
a first gap (See annotated excerpt of Fig. 8B— G1, space between convex top surface of element 38A and inner surface of element 20A) is located between the first portion (Fig. 8B— convex top surface of element 38A) and the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]) in the outer periphery of the first portion (Fig. 8B— convex top surface of element 38A);
a second gap (See annotated Fig. 8B— G2, space between flat periphery surface of element 38A and inner surface of element 20A) is located between the second portion (Fig. 8B— flat periphery top surface of element 38A) and the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]); and
the second gap (See annotated Fig. 8B— G2, space between flat periphery surface of element 38A and inner surface of element 20A) is larger (Fig. 8B— space between flat periphery surface of element 38A and inner surface of element 20A is larger than the space between convex top surface of element 38A and inner surface of element 20A) than the first gap (See annotated excerpt of Fig. 8B— G1, space between convex top surface of element 38A and inner surface of element 20A).
With respect to Claim 2, Tonar discloses the optical module according to Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the second portion (Fig. 8B— flat periphery top surface of element 38A) includes a step (See annotated Fig. 8B-- step) that is recessed in a direction separated farther from the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]) than the first portion (Fig. 8B— convex top surface of element 38A).
With respect to Claim 3, Tonar discloses the optical module according to Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the second portion (Fig. 8B— flat periphery top surface of element 38A) includes an inclination surface (See annotated Fig. 8B-- inclination surface) that is inclined in a direction extending away from the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]) toward an outer periphery of the inner-layer lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A).
With respect to Claim 4, Tonar discloses the optical module according to Claim 1, and further discloses wherein a size of the second gap (See annotated Fig. 8B— G2, space between flat periphery surface of element 38A and inner surface of element 20A) is about 1.2 times or more (See annotated excerpt of Fig. 8B—G2 is about than 1.2 times larger than G1) than the first gap (See annotated excerpt of Fig. 8B— G1, space between convex top surface of element 38A and inner surface of element 20A).
With respect to Claim 5, Tonar discloses the optical module according to Claim 1, and further discloses wherein when viewed from the thickness direction of the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]), an outer diameter of the inner-layer lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A) is larger than an outer diameter of the recess (Fig. 8B— inner surface of element 20A) of the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]) (Fig. 8A—the outer diameter of 38A is larger than the outer diameter of the inner surface of element 20A).
With respect to Claim 6, Tonar discloses the optical module according to Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the curvature of the first portion (Fig. 8B— convex top surface of element 38A) of the inner-layer lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A) is larger ([0084]: he curvature of the viewing pane 60 A of the lens cover 20 A includes a smaller radius than the curvature of the light sensor device lens 38 A) than the curvature of the recess (Fig. 8B— inner surface of element 20A) of the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]).
With respect to Claim 7, Tonar discloses the optical module according to Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the second portion (Fig. 8B— flat periphery top surface of element 38A) includes a flat surface (See annotated Fig. 8B-- flat surface) perpendicular to a thickness direction of the inner-layer lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A) ;
the inner-layer optical component (Fig. 8B—element 38A, light sensor device lens, and inner surface of 14A, housing; [0084]) includes a lens holding portion that has a tubular shape (Fig. 8B-- element 14A is tubular and inner surface holds element 38A) and accommodates the inner-layer lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A) ; and
the lens holding portion (Fig. 8B-- element 14A is tubular and inner surface holds element 38A) includes a pressing portion (See annotated Fig. 8B-- pressing portion) that is in contact with the flat surface (See annotated Fig. 8B-- flat surface) at an inner side portion of the lens holding portion.
With respect to Claim 8, Tonar discloses the optical module according to Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first portion (Fig. 8B— convex top surface of element 38A) is in (Fig. 8B— convex top surface of element 38A is accommodated by the inner surface of element 20A) the recess (Fig. 8B— inner surface of element 20A) of the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]).
With respect to Claim 9, Tonar discloses the optical module according to Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the inner-layer lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A) is a spherical lens or an aspherical lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A is aspheric).
With respect to Claim 10, Tonar discloses the optical module according to Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the recess (Fig. 8B— inner surface of element 20A) of the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]) is recessed in a hemispherical or substantially hemispherical shape (Fig. 8B—element 20A is recessed in a substantially hemispherical shape).
With respect to Claim 11, Tonar discloses an optical device (Fig. 9- piezoelectric system) comprising: the optical module (Fig. 8B—element 8A, vibratory assembly; [0084]) according to Claim 1; and an optical element (Fig. 8A—element 12A, light sensor device; [0081]) at the optical module (Fig. 8B—element 8A, vibratory assembly; [0084]).
With respect to Claim 12, Tonar discloses the optical device according to Claim 11, and further discloses wherein the second portion (Fig. 8B— flat periphery top surface of element 38A) includes a step (See annotated Fig. 8B-- step) that is recessed in a direction separated farther from the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]) than the first portion (Fig. 8B— convex top surface of element 38A).
With respect to Claim 13, Tonar discloses the optical device according to Claim 11, and further discloses wherein the second portion (Fig. 8B— flat periphery top surface of element 38A) includes an inclination surface (See annotated Fig. 8B-- inclination surface) that is inclined in a direction extending away from the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]) toward an outer periphery of the inner-layer lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A).
With respect to Claim 14, Tonar discloses the optical device according to Claim 11, and further discloses wherein a size of the second gap (See annotated Fig. 8B— G2, space between flat periphery surface of element 38A and inner surface of element 20A) is about 1.2 times or more (See annotated excerpt of Fig. 8B—G2 is about than 1.2 times larger than G1) than the first gap (See annotated excerpt of Fig. 8B— G1, space between convex top surface of element 38A and inner surface of element 20A).
With respect to Claim 15, Tonar discloses the optical device according to Claim 11, and further discloses wherein when viewed from the thickness direction of the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]), an outer diameter of the inner-layer lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A) is larger than an outer diameter of the recess (Fig. 8B— inner surface of element 20A) of the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]) (Fig. 8A—the outer diameter of 38A is larger than the outer diameter of the inner surface of element 20A).
With respect to Claim 16, Tonar discloses the optical device according to Claim 11, and further discloses wherein the curvature of the first portion (Fig. 8B— convex top surface of element 38A) of the inner-layer lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A) is larger ([0084]: he curvature of the viewing pane 60 A of the lens cover 20 A includes a smaller radius than the curvature of the light sensor device lens 38 A) than the curvature of the recess (Fig. 8B— inner surface of element 20A) of the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]).
With respect to Claim 17, Tonar discloses the optical device according to Claim 11, and further wherein the second portion (Fig. 8B— flat periphery top surface of element 38A) includes a flat surface (See annotated Fig. 8B-- flat surface) perpendicular to a thickness direction of the inner-layer lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A);
the inner-layer optical component (Fig. 8B—element 38A, light sensor device lens, and inner surface of 14A, housing; [0084]) includes a lens holding portion that has a tubular shape (Fig. 8B-- element 14A is tubular and inner surface holds element 38A) and accommodates the inner-layer lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A); and
the lens holding portion (Fig. 8B-- element 14A is tubular and inner surface holds element 38A) includes a pressing portion (See annotated Fig. 8B-- pressing portion) that is in contact with the flat surface (See annotated Fig. 8B-- flat surface) at an inner side portion of the lens holding portion.
With respect to Claim 18, Tonar discloses the optical device according to Claim 11, and further wherein the first portion (Fig. 8B— convex top surface of element 38A) is in (Fig. 8B— convex top surface of element 38A is accommodated by the inner surface of element 20A) the recess (Fig. 8B— inner surface of element 20A) of the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]).
With respect to Claim 19, Tonar discloses the optical device according to Claim 11, and further discloses wherein the inner-layer lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A) is a spherical lens or an aspherical lens (Fig. 8B— lens including top surface of element 38A is aspheric).
With respect to Claim 20, Tonar discloses the optical device according to Claim 11, and further discloses wherein the recess (Fig. 8B— inner surface of element 20A) of the translucent portion (Fig. 8B—element 20A, lens cover; [0084]) is recessed in a hemispherical or substantially hemispherical shape (Fig. 8B—element 20A is recessed in a substantially hemispherical shape).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that G2 of Tonar is smaller than G1 of Tonar. Examiner has provided a supplementary image, annotated excerpt of Fig. 8A above, in order to provide a clearer definition of the first and second gap. As seen in the annotated excerpt of Fig. 8A, G2 is approximately 0.3 inches larger than G1. G1 is measured between a peripheral portion of the rounded section of element 38A and element 20A. G2 is measured between the flat flange portion of element 38A and element 20A.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872