Response to Arguments
The objection to the Drawing, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 1/08/2026 has been withdrawn because of the amendment filed on 3/31/2026.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8-11, filed 3/31/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Proksch et al. (Hereinafter, “Proksch”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20060186876 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 8-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proksch ‘876 A1 in view of Glasson in the US Patent Number US 6694861 B2 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 8-11, of the remarks, filed on 3/31/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Proksch et al. (Hereinafter, “Proksch”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20060186876 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 8-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proksch ‘876 A1 in view of Glasson in the US Patent Number US 6694861 B2, that “However, there are various differences between Proksch's system and the claimed configuration. The protrusion alluded to by the Office appears to be a portion of the (Remarks-Page 9) mechanical flexure 17 that supports the moving LVDT core 18 (read by the Office as the spool) and/or attaches the moving LVDT core 18 to the mechanical flexure 17. This protrusion is not described as hollow, nor is it "configured to enclose a spool" as required by amended claim 1.
Additionally, the claimed configuration includes a ferromagnetic spool arranged between three adjacent coils. Non-limiting support for this feature may be found in Applicant's Figure 3, provided below with annotation, for example (Remarks-page 10).
………………….
In contrast, modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the spool disposed within the air-tight compartment, and the protrusion of Proksch provides support for the spool, not for the first coil, the second coil, and the third coil as required by amended claim 1. The other cited reference, Glasson, also does not describe such a protrusion.
Therefore, for at least the reasons expressed above, the rejections of claim 1 and all claims depending therefrom should be withdrawn.
Claims 12 and 16 have been amended in a similar manner. Therefore, the rejection of claims 12 and 16, and all claims depending therefrom, should also be withdrawn (Remarks-Page 11).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8-11, of the remarks, filed on 3/31/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Proksch et al. (Hereinafter, “Proksch”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20060186876 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 8-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proksch ‘876 A1 in view of Glasson in the US Patent Number US 6694861 B2, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 1/08/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in claim 1, “the intermediate cover including a hollow cylindrical protrusion configured to enclose a spool; where the spool is disposed within the cylindrical protrusion and outside the air-tight compartment, the cylindrical protrusion acting as a support for the first coil, the second coil, and the third coil”, and in claim 16, “a sealed compartment that contains a first coil, a second coil, and a third coil sharing a central axis that are connected to a circuit board; and an unsealed mechanical compartment that contains a spiral spring, a wire pulley, and a ferromagnetic spool that extends into a cavity of a cylindrical protrusion extending from the unsealed mechanical compartment into the sealed compartment along the central axis, where the ferromagnetic spool is axially moved along the central axis via rotation of the wire pulley” which overcomes the present rejection of claims 1, 12 and 16. Similar Amendment for independent claim 12. Therefore, present amendment overcomes the present rejection of Claim(s) 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Proksch et al. (Hereinafter, “Proksch”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20060186876 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 8-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proksch ‘876 A1 in view of Glasson in the US Patent Number US 6694861 B2, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 1/08/2026. However, applicant has amended the claim and added the limitation and therefore Francis et al. (US 4453124 A) is applied to meet at least some of the amended limitation of claims 1, 12 and 16. Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Francis below shows the spool is disposed within the cylindrical protrusion and outside the air-tight compartment. Therefore Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proksch et al. (Hereinafter, “Proksch”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20060186876 A1 in view of Francis et al. (Hereinafter, “Francis”) in the US patent Number US 4453124 A and Claim(s) 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proksch ‘876 A1 in view of Francis ‘124 A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Glasson in the US Patent Number US 6694861 B2, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of the newly combination of references.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 3/31/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proksch et al. (Hereinafter, “Proksch”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20060186876 A1 in view of Francis et al. (Hereinafter, “Francis”) in the US patent Number US 4453124 A.
Regarding claim 1, Proksch teaches a linear distance measuring system (a simple, low cost and high resolution sensor that does not require the precision machining of other high-resolution position sensors or the careful selection, machining or treatment of the magnetic material used in conventional LVDT cores; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-6; FIG. 8 shows the mechanical apparatus we used for characterizing the noise of these different LVDTs; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-2; Figures 1-8), comprising:
an air-tight compartment (Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch below shows an airtight compartment) (It consists of a mechanical frame 16 containing a mechanical flexure 17 attached to the moving LVDT core 18, whether any of the several conventional LVDT cores (FIG. 1); Paragraph [0076] Line 2-5; The coils are housed in a shell that also often acts as a magnetic shield 9. Because the core 1 is a magnetically soft ferromagnet, it is often desirable to shield it from external magnetic fields; Paragraph [0034] Line 17-20; Therefore, the compartment is air-tight as the compartment is sealed) including a first coil [15] shown in Figure 2, a second coil [3], a third coil [4/2] (FIG. 2 shows our improved LVDT position sensor. This LVDT comprises a non-ferromagnetic coil form 14 around which a moving primary coil 15 is wound and two stationary secondary coils 3 and 4 wound around a non-ferromagnetic coil form 10; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-5),
Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch
an intermediate cover (Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows an intermediate cover) and a cover [16] (mechanical frame 16 as the cover as it covers the LVDT) (FIG. 8 shows the mechanical apparatus we used for characterizing the noise of these different LVDTs. It consists of a mechanical frame 16; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-3),
the intermediate cover including a cylindrical protrusion configured to receive a spool [18] (LVDT core 18 as the spool) (the moving LVDT core 18, whether any of the several conventional LVDT cores (FIG. 1) or the non-ferromagnetic coil form wound with a moving primary coil; Paragraph [0076] Line 4-7; Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the intermediate cover including a cylindrical protrusion configured to receive a spool [18]).
Proksch fails to teach that the intermediate cover including a hollow cylindrical protrusion configured to enclose a spool; where the spool is disposed within the cylindrical protrusion and outside the air-tight compartment, the cylindrical protrusion acting as a support for the first coil, the second coil, and the third coil.
Francis teaches a linear inductive transducer includes a non-magnetic former which has a bore in which is slidable a core formed from magnetic material. The core in use is moved axially within the former by the component whose axial position it is required to sense. The former has three circumferential grooves in which are located coils connected together to form the transducer winding the inductance of which varies with the axial position of the core (Abstract), wherein
the intermediate cover [17] (tubular member 17 forms as the intermediate cover) including a hollow cylindrical protrusion (within the bore 11) configured to enclose a spool [16] (core 16 as the spool) (FIG. 1 is a sectional side elevation of a transducer forming part of the system; Column 1 Line 33-34; Slidable within the bore 11 is a core 16 formed from a material having a high permeability and a high internal resistance. An example of such a material is ferrite; Column 1 Line 52-54; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Francis below shows the intermediate cover [17] (tubular member 17 forms as the intermediate cover) including a hollow cylindrical protrusion (within the bore 11) configured to enclose a spool [16]);
where the spool [16] is disposed within the cylindrical protrusion and outside the air-tight compartment [10] (former 10 as the compartment) (former 10 is considered here as the air-tight compartment because Proksch already discloses an air-tight compartment and former 10 of Francis is considered as a compartment in view of Proksch) (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Francis below shows the spool [16] is disposed within the cylindrical protrusion and outside the air-tight compartment [10]),
the cylindrical protrusion acting as a support for the first coil 112], the second coil [13], and the third coil [13] (The transducer system includes a transducer having a former 10 which is constructed from a non-magnetic electrically insulating material such as plastics. In the former there is provided a blind bore 11 and in the peripheral surface of the former there is provided a plurality, in this case three, of circumferentially extending grooves 12, 13 and 14; Column 1 Line 45-51; The former has three circumferential grooves in which are located coils connected together to form the transducer winding the inductance of which varies with the axial position of the core. The widths of the coils and the number of turns in each coil varies so as to produce a substantially linear variation of inductance as the core is moved; Abstract). The purpose of doing so is to provide compensation for variation in temperature, to vary the inductance so that the inductance of the winding changes substantially linearly over the desired range of movement of the core member.
Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Francis
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the design of the intermediate cover of Proksch in view of the intermediate cover disclosed by Francis, because Francis discloses to have the intermediate cover including a hollow cylindrical protrusion to enclose a spool provides compensation for variation in temperature (Column 1 Line 11-12), varies the inductance so that the inductance of the winding changes substantially linearly over the desired range of movement of the core member (Column 1 Line 16-20).
Regarding claim 2, Proksch teaches a linear distance measuring system,
further comprising electrical components [11+12] (excitation electronics 11 and the signal conditioning electronics 12 as the electrical components in Figure 2) to generate an alternating current signal (The excitation electronics drive the LVDT primary 15 with a pure sine wave; Paragraph [0069] Line 5-6) and electrical components that generate a signal that is proportionate to a position of the spool [18] (Excitation electronics 11 in Figure 2, more fully described below, produce the current driving the primary coil. As the position of the primary coil 15 changes with respect to the secondary coils 3 and 4, and therefore the object of interest attached to shaft 8, the flux coupled to the two secondaries changes. These voltages are amplified with a differential amplifier 6 and converted to a voltage proportional to the core displacement by the signal conditioning electronics 12; Paragraph [0068] Line 14-21).
Regarding claim 3, Proksch teaches a linear distance measuring system,
where the cylindrical protrusion passes through a center of the first coil [15] , a center of the second coil [3]l, and a center of the third coil [4/2] Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch below shows that the cylindrical protrusion passes through a center of the first coil, a center of the second coil, and a center of the third coil).
Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch
Regarding claim 4, Proksch teaches a linear distance measuring system,
where the first coil [15] (Inside core 18) is directly adjacent to the second coil [3] (Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the first coil [15] (Inside core 18) is directly adjacent to the second coil [3]).
the second coil [3] is directly adjacent to the third coil [4/2] (Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the second coil [3] is directly adjacent to the third coil [4]), and the second coil [3] is between the first coil [15] and the third coil [4] (Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the second coil [3] is between the first coil [15] and the third coil [3]).
Regarding claim 5, Proksch teaches a linear distance measuring system,
where the first coil [15], the second coil [3], and the third coil [4] include a central axis along which a position of the spool is adjusted (Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the first coil [15], the second coil [3], and the third coil [4] include a central axis (center of the three coil) along which a position of the spool is adjusted).
Regarding claim 6, Proksch teaches a linear distance measuring system,
where the electrical components [11+12] to generate the alternating current signal are electrically coupled to the second coil [3] (The LVDT secondaries 3 and 4 were connected to the mechanical frame 16, which acted as a reference. A piezo stack 19 pushed on the flexure assembly, moving it with respect to the mechanical reference. In all measurements made with FIG. 8 the piezo was driven with a -15 Volt to +150 Volt 0.1 Hz triangle wave and the same excitation and signal conditioning electronics of FIG. 3 were used; Paragraph [0076] Line 7-13; Figure 3 shows that the electrical components 23 to generate the alternating current are electrically coupled to the secondary coil).
Regarding claim 7, Proksch teaches a linear distance measuring system,
where the electrical components to generate the signal are electrically coupled to the first coil [15] and the third coil [4] (The LVDT secondaries 3 and 4 were connected to the mechanical frame 16, which acted as a reference. A piezo stack 19 pushed on the flexure assembly, moving it with respect to the mechanical reference. In all measurements made with FIG. 8 the piezo was driven with a -15 Volt to +150 Volt 0.1 Hz triangle wave and the same excitation and signal conditioning electronics of FIG. 3 were used; Paragraph [0076] Line 7-13; Figure 3 shows that the electrical components 23 to generate the signal are electrically coupled to the first coil [15] and the third coil [4]).
Claim(s) 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proksch ‘876 A1 in view of Francis ‘124 A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Glasson in the US Patent Number US 6694861 B2.
Regarding claim 8, The combination of Proksch and Francis fails to teach a linear distance measuring system, where the cover and the intermediate cover are comprised of a polymer.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16),
where the cover and the intermediate cover are comprised of a polymer (The construction and design of the high pressure seal assembly 858 is show in FIGS. 13A and 13B and which are perspective views of the high pressure seal assembly 858 showing the internal end 860 in FIG. 13B and the external end 862 in FIG. 13A. The high-pressure seal assembly 858 comprises a body 864 that may be constructed of a molded plastic material, a head 866 and an end cap 868; Column 12 Line 17-23; Therefore, the intermediate cover comprises plastic as the polymer). The purpose of doing so is to insure a good seal along the solid conductive pins to prevent leakage from the high-pressure environment.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch and Francis in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to have the cover and the intermediate cover comprised of a polymer insures a good seal along the solid conductive pins to prevent leakage from the high-pressure environment (Column 4 Line 2-4).
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Proksch and Francis fails to teach a linear distance measuring system, where the intermediate cover is molded over a circular bushing, and where the circular bushing includes a through hole that is aligned with a center of the cylindrical protrusion.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16),
where the intermediate cover is molded over a circular bushing [322] in FIGS 3B, and where the circular bushing includes a through hole that is aligned with a center of the cylindrical protrusion (In FIGS. 3B and 3C, an exploded view of the converting element 218 is shown. A press-in hub 316 having a shaft 309 with internal threads is rotatably attached to a bushing 321. The bushing is fixedly attached to the third mounting element 308. For ease of installation, the third mounting element can comprise an upper half 308A and a lower half 308B. The translating member 324, having threads formed thereon, engages the internal threads of the hub 316. The rotating element 310 defines an internal opening into which the hub is pressed so that it rotates as the rotating element 310 rotates. On a side opposite the hub 316, a bushing 322 fixedly mounts in the second mounting element 306 which can also comprise an upper half 306A and a lower half 306B. As shown in FIG. 3C, the brackets 306 and 308 define a circular opening for attaching the bushings 322 and 321, respectively. An axle 323 attaches to the bushing 322, and the rotating element 310 rotatably engages the bushing 322; Column 6 Line 28-51). The purpose of doing so is to seal against the opening in the hydraulic cylinder when the high pressure seal assembly 858 is installed thereon.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch and Francis in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to have the circular bushing includes a through hole aligned with a center of the cylindrical protrusion seals against the opening in the hydraulic cylinder when the high pressure seal assembly 858 is installed thereon (Column 12 Line 64-65).
Regarding claim 10, The combination of Proksch and Francis fails to teach a linear distance measuring system, where the circular bushing further comprises a counter bore.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16),
where the circular bushing [322] further comprises a counter bore [323] (axle 323 as the counter bore) (In FIGS. 3B and 3C, an exploded view of the converting element 218 is shown. A press-in hub 316 having a shaft 309 with internal threads is rotatably attached to a bushing 321. The bushing is fixedly attached to the third mounting element 308. For ease of installation, the third mounting element can comprise an upper half 308A and a lower half 308B. The translating member 324, having threads formed thereon, engages the internal threads of the hub 316. The rotating element 310 defines an internal opening into which the hub is pressed so that it rotates as the rotating element 310 rotates. On a side opposite the hub 316, a bushing 322 fixedly mounts in the second mounting element 306 which can also comprise an upper half 306A and a lower half 306B. As shown in FIG. 3C, the brackets 306 and 308 define a circular opening for attaching the bushings 322 and 321, respectively. An axle 323 attaches to the bushing 322, and the rotating element 310 rotatably engages the bushing 322; Column 6 Line 28-51). The purpose of doing so is to seal against the opening in the hydraulic cylinder when the high pressure seal assembly 858 is installed thereon.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch and Francis in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to include a counter bore seals against the opening in the hydraulic cylinder when the high pressure seal assembly 858 is installed thereon (Column 12 Line 64-65).
Regarding claim 11, The combination of Proksch and Francis fails to teach a linear distance measuring system, further comprising an electrical connector included with the cover.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16),
further comprising an electrical connector included with the cover (Turning now to FIG. 8, there is shown a perspective view, partly in section, and showing an exemplary embodiment of some of the components that are used in constructing the converting element 800. In FIG. 8, thereof there is a rotating hub 802 that basically, as explained with respect to FIGS. 3A, 3B and 3C, rotates as the connector (not shown) is unwound and wound as determined by the position and movement of the piston (not shown). As the connector is extended and retracted proportionally with the piston movement, the rotating hub 802 thus rotates and is threadedly engaged to the LVDT core 804 affixed to a translating lead 806; Column 9 Line 24-35). The purpose of doing so is to prevent the rotation of the LVDT core 804 so that the translation of the LVDT core 804 is solely along a linear path and not a rotational path.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch and Francis in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to include an electrical connector included with the cover prevents the rotation of the LVDT core 804 so that the translation of the LVDT core 804 is solely along a linear path and not a rotational path (Column 9 Line 41-43).
Regarding claim 12, Proksch teaches a method generating a signal representative of linear motion (a simple, low cost and high resolution sensor that does not require the precision machining of other high-resolution position sensors or the careful selection, machining or treatment of the magnetic material used in conventional LVDT cores; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-6; FIG. 8 shows the mechanical apparatus we used for characterizing the noise of these different LVDTs; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-2; Figures 1-8), comprising:
converting to linear motion of a spool (LVDT core 18 as the spool) within a cavity of an intermediate cover (FIG. 2 shows our improved LVDT position sensor. This LVDT comprises a non-ferromagnetic coil form 14 around which a moving primary coil 15 is wound and two stationary secondary coils 3 and 4 wound around a non-ferromagnetic coil form 10. The primary coil form 14 is mechanically connected to the object of interest (not shown) by a shaft 8; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-7);
where the intermediate cover (Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows an intermediate cover) and a cover [16] (mechanical frame 16 as the cover as it covers the LVDT) (FIG. 8 shows the mechanical apparatus we used for characterizing the noise of these different LVDTs. It consists of a mechanical frame 16; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-3) form an air-tight compartment (Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch below shows an airtight compartment) (It consists of a mechanical frame 16 containing a mechanical flexure 17 attached to the moving LVDT core 18, whether any of the several conventional LVDT cores (FIG. 1); Paragraph [0076] Line 2-5; The coils are housed in a shell that also often acts as a magnetic shield 9. Because the core 1 is a magnetically soft ferromagnet, it is often desirable to shield it from external magnetic fields; Paragraph [0034] Line 17-20; Therefore, the compartment is air-tight as the compartment is sealed); and
generating the signal according to a position of the spool (LVDT core 18 as the spool) (the moving LVDT core 18, whether any of the several conventional LVDT cores (FIG. 1) or the non-ferromagnetic coil form wound with a moving primary coil; Paragraph [0076] Line 4-7; Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the intermediate cover including a cylindrical protrusion configured to receive a spool [18]; FIG. 3 shows one version of the signal conditioning electronics of our improved LVDT position sensor. One end of each of the secondaries 3 and 4 is grounded and the connected to a high precision, low noise differential amplifier 6. This differential amplifier is designed to produce low noise when coupled to a low impedance input source (such as a coil). The output of the differential amplifier 6 is input to a low noise analog multiplier circuit 27. The output of the filter 24 goes through a low noise, precision phase shift circuit 28 and fed as the other input of the multiplier circuit 27. Finally, the output of the multiplier circuit 27 is filtered by another high precision, low noise, stable, low pass filter 29 to remove the frequency doubled component of the multiplier output. The output of this filter provides the synchronous signal proportional to the position of the moving primary coil 15; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-16).
However, Proksch fails to teach that converting rotation of a pulley to linear motion of the spool and the spool is formed within the hollow cylindrical protrusion; where the spool is disposed within the cylindrical protrusion and outside the air-tight compartment, the cylindrical protrusion acting as a support for the first coil, the second coil, and the third coil.
Francis teaches a linear inductive transducer includes a non-magnetic former which has a bore in which is slidable a core formed from magnetic material. The core in use is moved axially within the former by the component whose axial position it is required to sense. The former has three circumferential grooves in which are located coils connected together to form the transducer winding the inductance of which varies with the axial position of the core (Abstract), wherein
the intermediate cover [17] (tubular member 17 forms as the intermediate cover) including a hollow cylindrical protrusion (within the bore 11) configured to enclose a spool [16] (core 16 as the spool) (FIG. 1 is a sectional side elevation of a transducer forming part of the system; Column 1 Line 33-34; Slidable within the bore 11 is a core 16 formed from a material having a high permeability and a high internal resistance. An example of such a material is ferrite; Column 1 Line 52-54; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Francis above shows the intermediate cover [17] (tubular member 17 forms as the intermediate cover) including a hollow cylindrical protrusion (within the bore 11) configured to enclose a spool [16]);
where the spool [16] is disposed within the cylindrical protrusion and outside the air-tight compartment [10] (former 10 as the compartment) (former 10 is considered here as the air-tight compartment because Proksch already discloses an air-tight compartment and former 10 of Francis is considered as a compartment in view of Proksch) (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Francis above shows the spool [16] is disposed within the cylindrical protrusion and outside the air-tight compartment [10]),
the cylindrical protrusion acting as a support for the first coil [12], the second coil [13], and the third coil [13] (The transducer system includes a transducer having a former 10 which is constructed from a non-magnetic electrically insulating material such as plastics. In the former there is provided a blind bore 11 and in the peripheral surface of the former there is provided a plurality, in this case three, of circumferentially extending grooves 12, 13 and 14; Column 1 Line 45-51; The former has three circumferential grooves in which are located coils connected together to form the transducer winding the inductance of which varies with the axial position of the core. The widths of the coils and the number of turns in each coil varies so as to produce a substantially linear variation of inductance as the core is moved; Abstract). The purpose of doing so is to provide compensation for variation in temperature, to vary the inductance so that the inductance of the winding changes substantially linearly over the desired range of movement of the core member.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the design of the intermediate cover of Proksch in view of the intermediate cover disclosed by Francis, because Francis discloses to have the intermediate cover including a hollow cylindrical protrusion to enclose a spool provides compensation for variation in temperature (Column 1 Line 11-12), varies the inductance so that the inductance of the winding changes substantially linearly over the desired range of movement of the core member (Column 1 Line 16-20).
The combination of Proksch and Francis fails to teach converting rotation of a pulley to linear motion of a spool.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16), wherein
converting rotation of a pulley to linear motion of a spool (In this embodiment, an LVDT core 424 is caused to translate along an axis substantially parallel to an axis of rotation for a rotating element 410. The flexible connector 420 affixes to the rotating element 410 and to a movable element (not shown). A lead screw 415 threadedly engages the rotating element 410 at one end. At another end, the lead screw is affixed to an arm 422. The LVDT core 424 affixes to the other end of the arm 422 and is disposed to translate in an LVDT body 426. When the flexible connector is pulled such that it unwinds from the rotating element 410, the threaded engagement causes the lead screw 415 to translate. This, in turn causes the LVDT core 424 to translate within the LVDT body 426. A recoil mechanism 428 causes the rotating element 410 to wind the connector 420 when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector 420. This also causes the LVDT core 424 to translate within the LVDT body 426. The LVDT thereby provides a position-related signal for the movable element (not shown); Column 8 Line 45-65). The purpose of ding so is to translate within the LVDT body, to cause the rotating element to wind the connector when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector 420, to cause the LVDT core to translate within the LVDT body, to provide a position-related signal for the movable element.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch and Francis in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to include unsealed mechanical compartment that contains a spiral spring causes the rotating element to wind the connector when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector, causes the LVDT core to translate within the LVDT body, provides a position-related signal for the movable element (Column 8 Line 58-65).
Regarding claim 13, Proksch teaches a method,
where the signal is generated via output of the first coil [15] and the third coil [4] (FIG. 2 shows our improved LVDT position sensor. This LVDT comprises a non-ferromagnetic coil form 14 around which a moving primary coil 15 is wound and two stationary secondary coils 3 and 4 wound around a non-ferromagnetic coil form 10; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-5) while supplying an alternating current to a second coil [3] (The LVDT secondaries 3 and 4 were connected to the mechanical frame 16, which acted as a reference. A piezo stack 19 pushed on the flexure assembly, moving it with respect to the mechanical reference. In all measurements made with FIG. 8 the piezo was driven with a -15 Volt to +150 Volt 0.1 Hz triangle wave and the same excitation and signal conditioning electronics of FIG. 3 were used; Paragraph [0076] Line 7-13; Figure 3 shows that the electrical components 23 to generate the alternating current are electrically coupled to the secondary coil; Figure 3 shows that the electrical components 23 to generate the signal are electrically coupled to the first coil [15] and the third coil [4]).
Regarding claim 14, Proksch teaches a method,
where the first coil [15], the second coil [3], and the third coil [4] include a central axis along which a position of the spool is adjusted (Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the first coil [15], the second coil [3], and the third coil [4] include a central axis (center of the three coil) along which a position of the spool is adjusted).
Regarding claim 15, Proksch teaches a method,
where the second coil [3] is positioned between the first coil [15] and the third coil [4/2] (Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the second coil is positioned between the first coil and the third coil).
Regarding claim 16 Proksch teaches a contactless linear variable displacement transducer sensor system (a simple, low cost and high resolution sensor that does not require the precision machining of other high-resolution position sensors or the careful selection, machining or treatment of the magnetic material used in conventional LVDT cores; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-6; FIG. 8 shows the mechanical apparatus we used for characterizing the noise of these different LVDTs; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-2; Figures 1-8), comprising:
a housing (Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch below shows a housing) including:
a sealed compartment (Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch below shows an airtight compartment) (It consists of a mechanical frame 16 containing a mechanical flexure 17 attached to the moving LVDT core 18, whether any of the several conventional LVDT cores (FIG. 1); Paragraph [0076] Line 2-5; The coils are housed in a shell that also often acts as a magnetic shield 9. Because the core 1 is a magnetically soft ferromagnet, it is often desirable to shield it from external magnetic fields; Paragraph [0034] Line 17-20; Therefore, the compartment is air-tight as the compartment is sealed) that contains a first coil, a second coil and a third coil [15, 3, 4/2] sharing a central axis (Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows a sealed compartment that contains a first coil, a second coil and a third coil [15, 3, 4/2] sharing a central axis) that are connected to a circuit board (FIG. 2 shows our improved LVDT position sensor. This LVDT comprises a non-ferromagnetic coil form 14 around which a moving primary coil 15 is wound and two stationary secondary coils 3 and 4 wound around a non-ferromagnetic coil form 10; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-5).
a ferromagnetic spool (LVDT core 18 as the spool) (the moving LVDT core 18, whether any of the several conventional LVDT cores (FIG. 1) or the non-ferromagnetic coil form wound with a moving primary coil; Paragraph [0076] Line 4-7) that extends into a cavity (Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows a ferromagnetic spool [18] that extends into a cavity).
Proksch fails to teach an unsealed mechanical compartment that contains a spiral spring, a wire pulley, and the ferromagnetic spool that extends into a cavity of a cylindrical protrusion extending from the unsealed mechanical compartment into the sealed compartment along the central axis, where the ferromagnetic spool is axially moved via rotation of the wire pulley.
Francis teaches a linear inductive transducer includes a non-magnetic former which has a bore in which is slidable a core formed from magnetic material. The core in use is moved axially within the former by the component whose axial position it is required to sense. The former has three circumferential grooves in which are located coils connected together to form the transducer winding the inductance of which varies with the axial position of the core (Abstract), wherein
the ferromagnetic spool [16] that extends into a cavity of a cylindrical protrusion extending from the unsealed mechanical compartment (outside former 10) into the sealed compartment [10] (former 10 is considered here as the air-tight compartment because Proksch already discloses an air-tight compartment and former 10 of Francis is considered as a compartment in view of Proksch) (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Francis above shows the spool [16] is disposed within the cylindrical protrusion and outside the air-tight compartment [10]) along the central axis (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Francis above shows the ferromagnetic spool [16] that extends into a cavity of a cylindrical protrusion extending from the unsealed mechanical compartment (outside former 10) into the sealed compartment [10] along the central axis). The purpose of doing so is to provide compensation for variation in temperature, to vary the inductance so that the inductance of the winding changes substantially linearly over the desired range of movement of the core member.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the design of the intermediate cover of Proksch in view of the intermediate cover disclosed by Francis, because Francis discloses to extend the ferromagnetic spool into a cavity of a cylindrical protrusion extending from the unsealed mechanical compartment into the sealed compartment provides compensation for variation in temperature (Column 1 Line 11-12), varies the inductance so that the inductance of the winding changes substantially linearly over the desired range of movement of the core member (Column 1 Line 16-20).
The combination of Proksch and Francis fails to teach an unsealed mechanical compartment that contains a spiral spring, a wire pulley, where the ferromagnetic spool is axially moved via rotation of the wire pulley.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16),
an unsealed mechanical compartment that contains a spiral spring (Similarly, the rotational spring can be a spiral torsion spring, a twisted elastic element, a round tension or compression spring, a cantilever tension or compression spring or any other type of spring which may be usable to impart a rotational action on the rotating element; Column 8 Line 37-44), a wire pulley, and the ferromagnetic spool is axially moved via rotation of the wire pulley (In this embodiment, an LVDT core 424 is caused to translate along an axis substantially parallel to an axis of rotation for a rotating element 410. The flexible connector 420 affixes to the rotating element 410 and to a movable element (not shown). A lead screw 415 threadedly engages the rotating element 410 at one end. At another end, the lead screw is affixed to an arm 422. The LVDT core 424 affixes to the other end of the arm 422 and is disposed to translate in an LVDT body 426. When the flexible connector is pulled such that it unwinds from the rotating element 410, the threaded engagement causes the lead screw 415 to translate. This, in turn causes the LVDT core 424 to translate within the LVDT body 426. A recoil mechanism 428 causes the rotating element 410 to wind the connector 420 when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector 420. This also causes the LVDT core 424 to translate within the LVDT body 426. The LVDT thereby provides a position-related signal for the movable element (not shown); Column 8 Line 45-65). The purpose of ding so is to translate within the LVDT body, to cause the rotating element to wind the connector when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector 420, to cause the LVDT core to translate within the LVDT body, to provide a position-related signal for the movable element.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch and Francis in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to include unsealed mechanical compartment that contains a spiral spring causes the rotating element to wind the connector when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector, causes the LVDT core to translate within the LVDT body, provides a position-related signal for the movable element (Column 8 Line 58-65).
Regarding claim 17, Proksch teaches contactless linear variable displacement transducer sensor system,
where the first coil [15] (Inside core 18) is directly adjacent to the second coil [3] (Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the first coil [15] (Inside core 18) is directly adjacent to the second coil [3]).
the second coil [3] is directly adjacent to the third coil [4/2] (Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the second coil [3] is directly adjacent to the third coil [4]),
Regarding claim 18, The combination of Proksch and Francis fails to teach a contactless linear variable displacement transducer sensor system, further comprising a lead screw coupled to the wire pulley and the ferromagnetic spool.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16),
further comprising a lead screw [415] in Figure 4 coupled to the wire pulley [410] and the ferromagnetic spool [422] (A lead screw 415 threadedly engages the rotating element 410 at one end. At another end, the lead screw is affixed to an arm 422. Th LVDT core 424 affixes to the other end of the arm 422 and is disposed to translate in an LVDT body 426. When the flexible connector is pulled such that it unwinds from the rotating element 410, the threaded engagement causes the lead screw 415 to translate; Column 8 Line 51-57). The purpose of ding so is to translate within the LVDT body, to cause the rotating element to wind the connector when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector 420, to cause the LVDT core to translate within the LVDT body, to provide a position-related signal for the movable element.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch and Francis in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to include a lead screw coupled to the wire pulley and the ferromagnetic spool translates within the LVDT body, causes the rotating element to wind the connector when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector 420, causes the LVDT core to translate within the LVDT body, provides a position-related signal for the movable element (Column 8 Line 58-65).
Regarding claim 19, Proksch teaches contactless linear variable displacement transducer sensor system,
where the sealed compartment (Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch below shows an airtight compartment) (It consists of a mechanical frame 16 containing a mechanical flexure 17 attached to the moving LVDT core 18, whether any of the several conventional LVDT cores (FIG. 1); Paragraph [0076] Line 2-5; The coils are housed in a shell that also often acts as a magnetic shield 9. Because the core 1 is a magnetically soft ferromagnet, it is often desirable to shield it from external magnetic fields; Paragraph [0034] Line 17-20; Therefore, the compartment is air-tight as the compartment is sealed) including a first coil [15] shown in Figure 2, a second coil [3], a third coil [4] (FIG. 2 shows our improved LVDT position sensor. This LVDT comprises a non-ferromagnetic coil form 14 around which a moving primary coil 15 is wound and two stationary secondary coils 3 and 4 wound around a non-ferromagnetic coil form 10; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-5),
an intermediate cover (Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows an intermediate cover) and a cover [16] (mechanical frame 16 as the cover as it covers the LVDT) (FIG. 8 shows the mechanical apparatus we used for characterizing the noise of these different LVDTs. It consists of a mechanical frame 16; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-3).
Regarding claim 20, The combination of Proksch and Francis fails to teach a contactless linear variable displacement transducer sensor system, where the intermediate cover is molded over a bushing.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16),
where the intermediate cover is molded over a bushing [322] (In FIGS. 3B and 3C, an exploded view of the converting element 218 is shown. A press-in hub 316 having a shaft 309 with internal threads is rotatably attached to a bushing 321. The bushing is fixedly attached to the third mounting element 308. For ease of installation, the third mounting element can comprise an upper half 308A and a lower half 308B. The translating member 324, having threads formed thereon, engages the internal threads of the hub 316. The rotating element 310 defines an internal opening into which the hub is pressed so that it rotates as the rotating element 310 rotates. On a side opposite the hub 316, a bushing 322 fixedly mounts in the second mounting element 306 which can also comprise an upper half 306A and a lower half 306B. As shown in FIG. 3C, the brackets 306 and 308 define a circular opening for attaching the bushings 322 and 321, respectively. An axle 323 attaches to the bushing 322, and the rotating element 310 rotatably engages the bushing 322; Column 6 Line 28-51). The purpose of doing so is to seal against the opening in the hydraulic cylinder when the high pressure seal assembly 858 is installed thereon.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch and Francis in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to have the bushing seals against the opening in the hydraulic cylinder when the high pressure seal assembly 858 is installed thereon (Column 12 Line 64-65).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Roberts et al. (US 20200232781 A1) discloses, “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR A PRECISION POSITION SENSOR- [0002] The present invention relates in general to the field of sensors, and more particularly, to a method and apparatus for precisely measuring angular or linear displacement. [0051] FIG. 7A illustrates a cross-sectional view of one embodiment of the present invention in which a resolver is used as a fine sensor and a linear variable differential transformer (LVDT) is used as a coarse sensor. In this and some other embodiments of the present invention, the excitation source amplitude to a resolver can be adjusted over the full scale range of the device being measured by using a magnetic coupling mechanism. The secondary outputs of the resolver can then carry both the fine and the coarse measurement information. A coarse measurement is provided by the combined magnitude of the secondary outputs, and a fine measurement is provided by the four-quadrant arctangent of the ratio of the resolver's secondary outputs. An LVDT or an RVDT can as the coarse position measurement device and using one secondary output as the input to the fine measurement resolver. FIG. 7A, illustrates such an embodiment. LVDT-resolver measurement system 700 provides a measurement for a displacement using a linear displacement sensor, the LVDT for the coarse measurement can be calculated and the resolver, an angular displacement sensor, to provide the fine measurement. Input gear 705, which may be used to translate either an angular or a linear displacement into an angular displacement, is attached to screw 710, which rotates with input gear 705. As input gear 705 turns, screw 710 turns and moves displacement core 715 linearly within linear displacement shaft 720 which is surrounded by primary linear winding 725 and secondary linear winding 730, and which is slotted to keep displacement core 715 from rotating with screw 710. Voltages produced by primary linear winding 725 and secondary linear winding 730 as screw 710 moves displacement core 715 within displacement shaft 720 provide information on the position of displacement core 715 for the coarse measurement. As input gear 705 turns, it also rotates screw 710 within angular displacement sensor 735, which provides the fine measurement. [0052] FIG. 7B illustrates aspects of LVDT-resolver measurement system 700. The position of displacement core 715 within displacement shaft 720, the excitation voltage provided by the alternating-current power source 740, and the transformation ratio across displacement shaft 720 determine the voltage V.sub.a across secondary linear winding 730. Voltage V.sub.a is used as the excitation voltage for angular displacement sensor 735, which is configured to produce two output voltages-However Roberts does not disclose where the spool is disposed within the cylindrical protrusion and outside the air-tight compartment, the cylindrical protrusion acting as a support for the first coil, the second coil, and the third coil.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858