Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/01/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawing is objected to because they fail to label the element boxes in Figure 4. Without some indication as to the content of the boxes (or preferably symbols of the actual elements) it is not clear as to what the elements are and they are not explanatory to a reader as a quick method of determining the general background of the invention. See MPEP 608.02 and 37 CFR 1.84 (o) -- Legends --
Suitable descriptive legends may be used, or may be required by the Examiner, where necessary for understanding of the drawing, subject to approval by the Office. They should contain as few words as possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Proksch et al. (Hereinafter, “Proksch”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20060186876 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Proksch teaches a linear distance measuring system (a simple, low cost and high resolution sensor that does not require the precision machining of other high-resolution position sensors or the careful selection, machining or treatment of the magnetic material used in conventional LVDT cores; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-6; FIG. 8 shows the mechanical apparatus we used for characterizing the noise of these different LVDTs; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-2; Figures 1-8), comprising:
an air-tight compartment (Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch below shows an airtight compartment) (It consists of a mechanical frame 16 containing a mechanical flexure 17 attached to the moving LVDT core 18, whether any of the several conventional LVDT cores (FIG. 1); Paragraph [0076] Line 2-5; The coils are housed in a shell that also often acts as a magnetic shield 9. Because the core 1 is a magnetically soft ferromagnet, it is often desirable to shield it from external magnetic fields; Paragraph [0034] Line 17-20; Therefore, the compartment is air-tight as the compartment is sealed) including a first coil [15] shown in Figure 2, a second coil [3], a third coil [4] (FIG. 2 shows our improved LVDT position sensor. This LVDT comprises a non-ferromagnetic coil form 14 around which a moving primary coil 15 is wound and two stationary secondary coils 3 and 4 wound around a non-ferromagnetic coil form 10; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-5),
Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch
an intermediate cover (Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows an intermediate cover) and a cover [16] (mechanical frame 16 as the cover as it covers the LVDT) (FIG. 8 shows the mechanical apparatus we used for characterizing the noise of these different LVDTs. It consists of a mechanical frame 16; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-3),
the intermediate cover including a cylindrical protrusion configured to receive a spool [18] (LVDT core 18 as the spool) (the moving LVDT core 18, whether any of the several conventional LVDT cores (FIG. 1) or the non-ferromagnetic coil form wound with a moving primary coil; Paragraph [0076] Line 4-7; Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the intermediate cover including a cylindrical protrusion configured to receive a spool [18]).
Regarding claim 2, Proksch teaches a linear distance measuring system,
further comprising electrical components [11+12] (excitation electronics 11 and the signal conditioning electronics 12 as the electrical components in Figure 2) to generate an alternating current signal (The excitation electronics drive the LVDT primary 15 with a pure sine wave; Paragraph [0069] Line 5-6) and electrical components that generate a signal that is proportionate to a position of the spool [18] (Excitation electronics 11 in Figure 2, more fully described below, produce the current driving the primary coil. As the position of the primary coil 15 changes with respect to the secondary coils 3 and 4, and therefore the object of interest attached to shaft 8, the flux coupled to the two secondaries changes. These voltages are amplified with a differential amplifier 6 and converted to a voltage proportional to the core displacement by the signal conditioning electronics 12; Paragraph [0068] Line 14-21).
Regarding claim 3, Proksch teaches a linear distance measuring system,
where the cylindrical protrusion passes through a center of the first coil [15] , a center of the second coil [3]l, and a center of the third coil [4] Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch below shows that the cylindrical protrusion passes through a center of the first coil, a center of the second coil, and a center of the third coil).
Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch
Regarding claim 4, Proksch teaches a linear distance measuring system,
where the first coil [15] (Inside core 18) is directly adjacent to the second coil [3] (Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the first coil [15] (Inside core 18) is directly adjacent to the second coil 3]).
Regarding claim 5, Proksch teaches a linear distance measuring system,
where the second coil [3] is directly adjacent to the third coil [4] (Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the second coil [3] is directly adjacent to the third coil [4]).
Regarding claim 6, Proksch teaches a linear distance measuring system,
where the electrical components [11+12] to generate the alternating current signal are electrically coupled to the second coil [3] (The LVDT secondaries 3 and 4 were connected to the mechanical frame 16, which acted as a reference. A piezo stack 19 pushed on the flexure assembly, moving it with respect to the mechanical reference. In all measurements made with FIG. 8 the piezo was driven with a -15 Volt to +150 Volt 0.1 Hz triangle wave and the same excitation and signal conditioning electronics of FIG. 3 were used; Paragraph [0076] Line 7-13; Figure 3 shows that the electrical components 23 to generate the alternating current are electrically coupled to the secondary coil).
Regarding claim 7, Proksch teaches a linear distance measuring system,
where the electrical components to generate the signal are electrically coupled to the first coil [15] and the third coil [4] (The LVDT secondaries 3 and 4 were connected to the mechanical frame 16, which acted as a reference. A piezo stack 19 pushed on the flexure assembly, moving it with respect to the mechanical reference. In all measurements made with FIG. 8 the piezo was driven with a -15 Volt to +150 Volt 0.1 Hz triangle wave and the same excitation and signal conditioning electronics of FIG. 3 were used; Paragraph [0076] Line 7-13; Figure 3 shows that the electrical components 23 to generate the signal are electrically coupled to the first coil [15] and the third coil [4]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proksch ‘876 A1 in view of Glasson in the US Patent Number US 6694861 B2.
Regarding claim 8, Proksch fails to teach a linear distance measuring system, where the cover and the intermediate cover are comprised of a polymer.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16),
where the cover and the intermediate cover are comprised of a polymer (The construction and design of the high pressure seal assembly 858 is show in FIGS. 13A and 13B and which are perspective views of the high pressure seal assembly 858 showing the internal end 860 in FIG. 13B and the external end 862 in FIG. 13A. The high-pressure seal assembly 858 comprises a body 864 that may be constructed of a molded plastic material, a head 866 and an end cap 868; Column 12 Line 17-23; Therefore, the intermediate cover comprises plastic as the polymer). The purpose of doing so is to insure a good seal along the solid conductive pins to prevent leakage from the high-pressure environment.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to have the cover and the intermediate cover comprised of a polymer insures a good seal along the solid conductive pins to prevent leakage from the high-pressure environment (Column 4 Line 2-4).
Regarding claim 9, Proksch fails to teach a linear distance measuring system, where the intermediate cover is molded over a circular bushing, and where the circular bushing includes a through hole that is aligned with a center of the cylindrical protrusion.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16),
where the intermediate cover is molded over a circular bushing [322] in FIGS 3B, and where the circular bushing includes a through hole that is aligned with a center of the cylindrical protrusion (In FIGS. 3B and 3C, an exploded view of the converting element 218 is shown. A press-in hub 316 having a shaft 309 with internal threads is rotatably attached to a bushing 321. The bushing is fixedly attached to the third mounting element 308. For ease of installation, the third mounting element can comprise an upper half 308A and a lower half 308B. The translating member 324, having threads formed thereon, engages the internal threads of the hub 316. The rotating element 310 defines an internal opening into which the hub is pressed so that it rotates as the rotating element 310 rotates. On a side opposite the hub 316, a bushing 322 fixedly mounts in the second mounting element 306 which can also comprise an upper half 306A and a lower half 306B. As shown in FIG. 3C, the brackets 306 and 308 define a circular opening for attaching the bushings 322 and 321, respectively. An axle 323 attaches to the bushing 322, and the rotating element 310 rotatably engages the bushing 322; Column 6 Line 28-51). The purpose of doing so is to seal against the opening in the hydraulic cylinder when the high pressure seal assembly 858 is installed thereon.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to have the circular bushing includes a through hole aligned with a center of the cylindrical protrusion seals against the opening in the hydraulic cylinder when the high pressure seal assembly 858 is installed thereon (Column 12 Line 64-65).
Regarding claim 10, Proksch fails to teach a linear distance measuring system, where the circular bushing further comprises a counter bore.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16),
where the circular bushing [322] further comprises a counter bore [323] (axle 323 as the counter bore) (In FIGS. 3B and 3C, an exploded view of the converting element 218 is shown. A press-in hub 316 having a shaft 309 with internal threads is rotatably attached to a bushing 321. The bushing is fixedly attached to the third mounting element 308. For ease of installation, the third mounting element can comprise an upper half 308A and a lower half 308B. The translating member 324, having threads formed thereon, engages the internal threads of the hub 316. The rotating element 310 defines an internal opening into which the hub is pressed so that it rotates as the rotating element 310 rotates. On a side opposite the hub 316, a bushing 322 fixedly mounts in the second mounting element 306 which can also comprise an upper half 306A and a lower half 306B. As shown in FIG. 3C, the brackets 306 and 308 define a circular opening for attaching the bushings 322 and 321, respectively. An axle 323 attaches to the bushing 322, and the rotating element 310 rotatably engages the bushing 322; Column 6 Line 28-51). The purpose of doing so is to seal against the opening in the hydraulic cylinder when the high pressure seal assembly 858 is installed thereon.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to include a counter bore seals against the opening in the hydraulic cylinder when the high pressure seal assembly 858 is installed thereon (Column 12 Line 64-65).
Regarding claim 11, Proksch fails to teach a linear distance measuring system, further comprising an electrical connector included with the cover.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16),
further comprising an electrical connector included with the cover (Turning now to FIG. 8, there is shown a perspective view, partly in section, and showing an exemplary embodiment of some of the components that are used in constructing the converting element 800. In FIG. 8, thereof there is a rotating hub 802 that basically, as explained with respect to FIGS. 3A, 3B and 3C, rotates as the connector (not shown) is unwound and wound as determined by the position and movement of the piston (not shown). As the connector is extended and retracted proportionally with the piston movement, the rotating hub 802 thus rotates and is threadedly engaged to the LVDT core 804 affixed to a translating lead 806; Column 9 Line 24-35). The purpose of doing so is to prevent the rotation of the LVDT core 804 so that the translation of the LVDT core 804 is solely along a linear path and not a rotational path.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to include an electrical connector included with the cover prevents the rotation of the LVDT core 804 so that the translation of the LVDT core 804 is solely along a linear path and not a rotational path (Column 9 Line 41-43).
Regarding claim 12, Proksch teaches a method generating a signal representative of linear motion (a simple, low cost and high resolution sensor that does not require the precision machining of other high-resolution position sensors or the careful selection, machining or treatment of the magnetic material used in conventional LVDT cores; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-6; FIG. 8 shows the mechanical apparatus we used for characterizing the noise of these different LVDTs; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-2; Figures 1-8), comprising:
converting to linear motion of a spool (LVDT core 18 as the spool) within a cavity of an intermediate cover (FIG. 2 shows our improved LVDT position sensor. This LVDT comprises a non-ferromagnetic coil form 14 around which a moving primary coil 15 is wound and two stationary secondary coils 3 and 4 wound around a non-ferromagnetic coil form 10. The primary coil form 14 is mechanically connected to the object of interest (not shown) by a shaft 8; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-7);
where the intermediate cover (Figure 8: Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows an intermediate cover) and a cover [16] (mechanical frame 16 as the cover as it covers the LVDT) (FIG. 8 shows the mechanical apparatus we used for characterizing the noise of these different LVDTs. It consists of a mechanical frame 16; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-3) form an air-tight compartment (Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch below shows an airtight compartment) (It consists of a mechanical frame 16 containing a mechanical flexure 17 attached to the moving LVDT core 18, whether any of the several conventional LVDT cores (FIG. 1); Paragraph [0076] Line 2-5; The coils are housed in a shell that also often acts as a magnetic shield 9. Because the core 1 is a magnetically soft ferromagnet, it is often desirable to shield it from external magnetic fields; Paragraph [0034] Line 17-20; Therefore, the compartment is air-tight as the compartment is sealed); and
generating the signal according to a position of the spool (LVDT core 18 as the spool) (the moving LVDT core 18, whether any of the several conventional LVDT cores (FIG. 1) or the non-ferromagnetic coil form wound with a moving primary coil; Paragraph [0076] Line 4-7; Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the intermediate cover including a cylindrical protrusion configured to receive a spool [18]; FIG. 3 shows one version of the signal conditioning electronics of our improved LVDT position sensor. One end of each of the secondaries 3 and 4 is grounded and the connected to a high precision, low noise differential amplifier 6. This differential amplifier is designed to produce low noise when coupled to a low impedance input source (such as a coil). The output of the differential amplifier 6 is input to a low noise analog multiplier circuit 27. The output of the filter 24 goes through a low noise, precision phase shift circuit 28 and fed as the other input of the multiplier circuit 27. Finally, the output of the multiplier circuit 27 is filtered by another high precision, low noise, stable, low pass filter 29 to remove the frequency doubled component of the multiplier output. The output of this filter provides the synchronous signal proportional to the position of the moving primary coil 15; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-16).
However Proksch fails to teach converting rotation of a pulley to linear motion of a spool.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16), wherein
converting rotation of a pulley to linear motion of a spool (In this embodiment, an LVDT core 424 is caused to translate along an axis substantially parallel to an axis of rotation for a rotating element 410. The flexible connector 420 affixes to the rotating element 410 and to a movable element (not shown). A lead screw 415 threadedly engages the rotating element 410 at one end. At another end, the lead screw is affixed to an arm 422. The LVDT core 424 affixes to the other end of the arm 422 and is disposed to translate in an LVDT body 426. When the flexible connector is pulled such that it unwinds from the rotating element 410, the threaded engagement causes the lead screw 415 to translate. This, in turn causes the LVDT core 424 to translate within the LVDT body 426. A recoil mechanism 428 causes the rotating element 410 to wind the connector 420 when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector 420. This also causes the LVDT core 424 to translate within the LVDT body 426. The LVDT thereby provides a position-related signal for the movable element (not shown); Column 8 Line 45-65). The purpose of ding so is to translate within the LVDT body, to cause the rotating element to wind the connector when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector 420, to cause the LVDT core to translate within the LVDT body, to provide a position-related signal for the movable element.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to include unsealed mechanical compartment that contains a spiral spring causes the rotating element to wind the connector when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector, causes the LVDT core to translate within the LVDT body, provides a position-related signal for the movable element (Column 8 Line 58-65).
Regarding claim 13, Proksch teaches a method,
where the signal is generated via output of a first coil [15] and a third coil [4] (FIG. 2 shows our improved LVDT position sensor. This LVDT comprises a non-ferromagnetic coil form 14 around which a moving primary coil 15 is wound and two stationary secondary coils 3 and 4 wound around a non-ferromagnetic coil form 10; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-5) while supplying an alternating current to a second coil [3] (The LVDT secondaries 3 and 4 were connected to the mechanical frame 16, which acted as a reference. A piezo stack 19 pushed on the flexure assembly, moving it with respect to the mechanical reference. In all measurements made with FIG. 8 the piezo was driven with a -15 Volt to +150 Volt 0.1 Hz triangle wave and the same excitation and signal conditioning electronics of FIG. 3 were used; Paragraph [0076] Line 7-13; Figure 3 shows that the electrical components 23 to generate the alternating current are electrically coupled to the secondary coil; Figure 3 shows that the electrical components 23 to generate the signal are electrically coupled to the first coil [15] and the third coil [4]).
Regarding claim 14, Proksch teaches a method,
where a protrusion of the intermediate cover passes through the first coil, the second coil, and the third coil (Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows that the cylindrical protrusion passes through a center of the first coil, a center of the second coil, and a center of the third coil).
Regarding claim 15, Proksch teaches a method,
where the second coil is positioned between the first coil and the third coil (Figure 8 (II): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows the second coil is positioned between the first coil and the third coil).
Regarding claim 16 Proksch teaches a contactless linear variable displacement transducer sensor system (a simple, low cost and high resolution sensor that does not require the precision machining of other high-resolution position sensors or the careful selection, machining or treatment of the magnetic material used in conventional LVDT cores; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-6; FIG. 8 shows the mechanical apparatus we used for characterizing the noise of these different LVDTs; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-2; Figures 1-8), comprising:
a housing including: a sealed compartment (Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch below shows an airtight compartment) (It consists of a mechanical frame 16 containing a mechanical flexure 17 attached to the moving LVDT core 18, whether any of the several conventional LVDT cores (FIG. 1); Paragraph [0076] Line 2-5; The coils are housed in a shell that also often acts as a magnetic shield 9. Because the core 1 is a magnetically soft ferromagnet, it is often desirable to shield it from external magnetic fields; Paragraph [0034] Line 17-20; Therefore, the compartment is air-tight as the compartment is sealed) that contains a plurality of solenoid coils [15, 3, 4] that are connected to a circuit board (FIG. 2 shows our improved LVDT position sensor. This LVDT comprises a non-ferromagnetic coil form 14 around which a moving primary coil 15 is wound and two stationary secondary coils 3 and 4 wound around a non-ferromagnetic coil form 10; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-5).
Proksch fails to teach an unsealed mechanical compartment that contains a spiral spring, a wire pulley, and a ferromagnetic spool that extends into a cavity side of a protrusion extending into the sealed compartment, where the ferromagnetic spool is axially moved via rotation of the wire pulley.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16),
an unsealed mechanical compartment that contains a spiral spring (Similarly, the rotational spring can be a spiral torsion spring, a twisted elastic element, a round tension or compression spring, a cantilever tension or compression spring or any other type of spring which may be usable to impart a rotational action on the rotating element; Column 8 Line 37-44), a wire pulley, and a ferromagnetic spool that extends into a cavity side of a protrusion extending into the sealed compartment, where the ferromagnetic spool is axially moved via rotation of the wire pulley (In this embodiment, an LVDT core 424 is caused to translate along an axis substantially parallel to an axis of rotation for a rotating element 410. The flexible connector 420 affixes to the rotating element 410 and to a movable element (not shown). A lead screw 415 threadedly engages the rotating element 410 at one end. At another end, the lead screw is affixed to an arm 422. The LVDT core 424 affixes to the other end of the arm 422 and is disposed to translate in an LVDT body 426. When the flexible connector is pulled such that it unwinds from the rotating element 410, the threaded engagement causes the lead screw 415 to translate. This, in turn causes the LVDT core 424 to translate within the LVDT body 426. A recoil mechanism 428 causes the rotating element 410 to wind the connector 420 when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector 420. This also causes the LVDT core 424 to translate within the LVDT body 426. The LVDT thereby provides a position-related signal for the movable element (not shown); Column 8 Line 45-65). The purpose of ding so is to translate within the LVDT body, to cause the rotating element to wind the connector when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector 420, to cause the LVDT core to translate within the LVDT body, to provide a position-related signal for the movable element.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to include unsealed mechanical compartment that contains a spiral spring causes the rotating element to wind the connector when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector, causes the LVDT core to translate within the LVDT body, provides a position-related signal for the movable element (Column 8 Line 58-65).
Regarding claim 17, Proksch teaches contactless linear variable displacement transducer sensor system,
where the plurality of solenoid coils [15, 3, 4] in Figure 2 includes a first output coil [3], a second input coil [15], and a third output coil [4] (FIG. 2 shows our improved LVDT position sensor. This LVDT comprises a non-ferromagnetic coil form 14 around which a moving primary coil 15 is wound and two stationary secondary coils 3 and 4 wound around a non-ferromagnetic coil form 10; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-5).
Regarding claim 18, Proksch fails to teach a contactless linear variable displacement transducer sensor system, further comprising a lead screw coupled to the wire pulley and the ferromagnetic spool.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16),
further comprising a lead screw [415] in Figure 4 coupled to the wire pulley [410] and the ferromagnetic spool [422] (A lead screw 415 threadedly engages the rotating element 410 at one end. At another end, the lead screw is affixed to an arm 422. Th LVDT core 424 affixes to the other end of the arm 422 and is disposed to translate in an LVDT body 426. When the flexible connector is pulled such that it unwinds from the rotating element 410, the threaded engagement causes the lead screw 415 to translate; Column 8 Line 51-57). The purpose of ding so is to translate within the LVDT body, to cause the rotating element to wind the connector when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector 420, to cause the LVDT core to translate within the LVDT body, to provide a position-related signal for the movable element.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to include a lead screw coupled to the wire pulley and the ferromagnetic spool translates within the LVDT body, causes the rotating element to wind the connector when the moveable element (not shown) moves such that there is no tension on the connector 420, causes the LVDT core to translate within the LVDT body, provides a position-related signal for the movable element (Column 8 Line 58-65).
Regarding claim 19, Proksch teaches contactless linear variable displacement transducer sensor system,
where the sealed compartment (Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch below shows an airtight compartment) (It consists of a mechanical frame 16 containing a mechanical flexure 17 attached to the moving LVDT core 18, whether any of the several conventional LVDT cores (FIG. 1); Paragraph [0076] Line 2-5; The coils are housed in a shell that also often acts as a magnetic shield 9. Because the core 1 is a magnetically soft ferromagnet, it is often desirable to shield it from external magnetic fields; Paragraph [0034] Line 17-20; Therefore, the compartment is air-tight as the compartment is sealed) including a first coil [15] shown in Figure 2, a second coil [3], a third coil [4] (FIG. 2 shows our improved LVDT position sensor. This LVDT comprises a non-ferromagnetic coil form 14 around which a moving primary coil 15 is wound and two stationary secondary coils 3 and 4 wound around a non-ferromagnetic coil form 10; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-5),
an intermediate cover (Figure 8 (I): Modified Figure 8 of Proksch above shows an intermediate cover) and a cover [16] (mechanical frame 16 as the cover as it covers the LVDT) (FIG. 8 shows the mechanical apparatus we used for characterizing the noise of these different LVDTs. It consists of a mechanical frame 16; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-3).
Regarding claim 20, Proksch fails to teach a contactless linear variable displacement transducer sensor system, where the intermediate cover is molded over a bushing.
Glasson teaches a position sensors, and more particularly, to linear position sensors for use on power cylinders (Column 1 Line 14-16),
where the intermediate cover is molded over a bushing [322] (In FIGS. 3B and 3C, an exploded view of the converting element 218 is shown. A press-in hub 316 having a shaft 309 with internal threads is rotatably attached to a bushing 321. The bushing is fixedly attached to the third mounting element 308. For ease of installation, the third mounting element can comprise an upper half 308A and a lower half 308B. The translating member 324, having threads formed thereon, engages the internal threads of the hub 316. The rotating element 310 defines an internal opening into which the hub is pressed so that it rotates as the rotating element 310 rotates. On a side opposite the hub 316, a bushing 322 fixedly mounts in the second mounting element 306 which can also comprise an upper half 306A and a lower half 306B. As shown in FIG. 3C, the brackets 306 and 308 define a circular opening for attaching the bushings 322 and 321, respectively. An axle 323 attaches to the bushing 322, and the rotating element 310 rotatably engages the bushing 322; Column 6 Line 28-51). The purpose of doing so is to seal against the opening in the hydraulic cylinder when the high pressure seal assembly 858 is installed thereon.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Proksch in view of Glasson, because Glasson discloses to have the bushing seals against the opening in the hydraulic cylinder when the high pressure seal assembly 858 is installed thereon (Column 12 Line 64-65).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Karenowska et al. (US 20090091314 A1) discloses, “Position Sensor- [0001] The present invention relates to a position sensor for detecting linear and/or angular position, and to a method of position sensing. [0075] Having explained the underlying theory, some examples of its application will now be described. Referring first to FIGS. 2a, 2b and 2c, a linear position sensor 20 according to one embodiment of the present invention is shown. [0076] The linear position sensor 20 comprises an outer earthed cylindrical screen 22 having an internal radius R.sub.1, an inner earthed cylindrical screen 24 having an internal radius R.sub.2 (where R.sub.2<R.sub.1), and a wire-wound inductor coil 26 having an internal radius R.sub.3 (where R.sub.3<R.sub.2<R.sub.1). The screens 22 and 24 are coaxial with the coil 26. The coil 26 has a length L is wound onto a former 28. The sensor 20 further comprises an oscillator circuit (not shown) which is connected to the coil 26. [0077] The screens 22 and 24 are metallic and are good conductors. Alternatively, the screens could be manufactured from doped semiconductors. Preferably, the screens 22 and 24 are made of copper. The former 28 is a poor conductor. Preferably, the former 28 is made of PTFE. However, other materials (for these and other components of the sensor 20) are also contemplated within the scope of the invention. For example, the former 28 could alternatively be made of machineable ceramic, Tufnol, Nylon, Fibreglass, or Delrin. [0078] The outer screen 22 is closed at one end by an end cap 30, such as a copper disc, which is soldered or welded into place. The end cap 30 comprises a central aperture 32 to accommodate a coaxial cable (not shown) which connects the coil 26 to the oscillator circuit. The outer screen 22 may be mounted to a stand or base (not shown). [0079] The former 28 comprises a first cylindrical portion 34 having a radius equal to the radius R.sub.1. The former 28 further comprises a second cylindrical portion 36 which is coaxial with the first cylindrical portion 34 and protrudes from it. The coil 26 is wound around the second cylindrical portion 36. A radius of the second cylindrical portion 36 is equal to the radius R.sub.2. [0080] The first cylindrical portion 34 is secured to the outer screen 22. This may be accomplished by screwing screws 38 through apertures 40 in the outer screen 22 into threaded apertures 42 in the first cylindrical portion 34. A first end 44 of the first cylindrical portion 34 is flush with a surface of the end cap 30. The first cylindrical portion 34 comprises a central cylindrical recess 46 extending coaxially from the first end 44 into the first cylindrical portion 34. The recess 46 enables electrical connections to be made to an oscillator, power source and earth. In an alternative embodiment, a space may be provided between the end cap 30 and the first cylindrical portion 34 to accommodate the oscillator circuitry, etc.-However Karenowska does not disclose an intermediate cover and a cover, the intermediate cover including a cylindrical protrusion configured to receive a spool.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858