DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao et al. US 20220089163, in view of Hartmann et al. US 20150371095 and further in view of Kjaerp-Lohse et al. US 20180118100.
Regarding claim 1, Qiao et al. teach A device for indicating a vehicle driver's intent to execute a turn,
the device comprising: an vehicle interior camera configured to capture at least one image sequence and generate image data corresponding to each image of the sequence, wherein each image of the sequence depicts an area of the vehicle interior; (Qiao et al. US 20220089163 abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0009]; [0011]-[0015]; [0024]; [0028]-[0035]; [0039]; [0045]-[0049]; [0053]-[0055]; figures 1-6;)
In accordance with an exemplary embodiment, a method is provided for controlling a vehicle. The method includes: monitoring an eye gaze of a driver of the vehicle; monitoring current traffic conditions surrounding the vehicle; predicting an intention of the driver to perform a lane change maneuver based on the eye gaze, a history of the eye gaze of the driver, and the current traffic conditions; and controlling, by the processor, the vehicle based on the predicted intention of the driver to perform a lane change maneuver (Qiao et al. par. 4). In various embodiments, the computer system 140 receives the camera images from the camera 132 and identifies the gaze direction of the eyes (or eye) of the driver of the vehicle 100 using the camera images. In various embodiments, the computer system 140 receives the sensor data from the perception system and identifies the current traffic conditions using the sensor data. (Qiao et al. par. 32).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the image arrange in sequence corresponding in the order of the images captured by the camera.
and a processing unit configured to process the image data, wherein the processing unit is configured to, in advance of the turn: determine a first result, based on the image data, wherein the first result is a focus area of a driver outside the vehicle,
In various embodiments, the processor is configured to monitor the eye gaze by counting a number of driver eye switches from a first on-road direction to a second side mirror direction, and wherein the processor is configured to predict the intention of the driver to perform a lane change maneuver based on the number (Qiao et al. par. 12). In various embodiments, the processor is configured to monitor the eye gaze by accumulating a time of focus of the eye gaze on a side mirror, and wherein the processor is configured to predict the intention of the driver to perform the lane change maneuver based on the accumulated time of focus (Qiao et al. par. 13).
According to the cite passages and figures, examiner interpret the number of time driver focus of the eye gaze on the side mirror as the focus area of the driver look outside the vehicle.
Qiao et al. do not explicitly teach a turn indicator configured to indicate external to the vehicle the driver's intent to execute the turn; determine a second result, based on odometry data from the vehicle, wherein the second result is the possibility of the turn being executed in the direction of the determined focus area, determine a third result, via an environmental capture unit, wherein the third result verifies whether the odometry data has another cause distinct from the driver's intent to execute the turn in the direction of the determined focus area, determine the driver's intent to execute the turn in the direction of the determined focus area based on the three results, and activate the turn indicator of the vehicle in response to determining the driver's intent to execute the turn in the direction of the determined focus area.
Hartmann et al. teach determine a second result, based on odometry data from the vehicle, wherein the second result is the possibility of the turn being executed in the direction of the determined focus area, determine a third result, via an environmental capture unit, wherein the third result verifies whether the odometry data has another cause distinct from the driver's intent to execute the turn in the direction of the determined focus area, determine the driver's intent to execute the turn in the direction of the determined focus area based on the three results, (Hartmann et al. US 20150371095 abstract; paragraphs [0005]; [0021];[0042]-[0054]; [0060]-[0065]; [0094]; [0097]-[0108]; [0112]; [0115]; [0118]-[0123]; figures 1-10;)
The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on GPS vehicle data, preferably in accordance with the vehicle speed and heading angle (or yaw angle), and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 50). The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on vehicle odometry data and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 51). Optionally, the trajectory or path of one's own vehicle may be predicted in step S14. Data from the vehicle's own sensors (V), e.g. steering angle, speed, etc. navigation system data or map data (N), or data from other environmental sensors such as radar, lidar, telematics unit, etc. may be taken into account here (Hartmann et al. par. 94). FIG. 2 shows an example of an image (I) of the vehicle environment lying ahead as taken from the front camera (6) of a moving vehicle. Camera-based driver assistance functionality can be implemented from the same image, e. g. a lane departure warning (LDW) function, a lane keeping assistance/system (LKA/LKS), a traffic sign recognition (TSR) function, an intelligent headlamp control (IHC) function, a forward collision warning (FCW) function, a precipitation detection function, an adaptive cruise control (ACC) function, a parking assistance function, an automatic emergency brake assist (EBA) function or emergency steering assist (ESA) function (Hartmann et al. par. 97). In such an emergency maneuver, however, determining the road condition or camera-based estimation of the friction coefficient is extremely important since the brake and steering system brakes or steers up to the limit of the friction coefficient. A puddle (2) on an otherwise dry road (1) as shown in FIG. 2 could mean that a collision with the obstacle cannot be avoided or that one's own vehicle leaves the road. FIG. 10 shows a camera image (I) depicting a stationary obstacle (7), e.g. a vehicle, in the traffic lane used by the ego vehicle (6). It shows in addition to the calculated vehicle path (or corridor of movement) T with the continuous median trajectory and the dotted sidelines for an avoiding maneuver how a prediction horizon X.sub.pVeh, Y.sub.pVeh determined from FIG. 9 can be transformed in the image (I) by adjusting the image area from R1 to R1″. An intermediate step of the adjustment (R1′) is also shown (Hartmann et al par. 122).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret a front camera 6 of the moving vehicle as the environment sensor that detect the obstacle 7 in front of the vehicle. At least one of vehicle driving assistance of vehicle like forward collision warning and emergency steering assist disclose in par. 97 help the driver to turn a vehicle into the different direction to avoid the obstacle 7 as show in the figure 10 based on those image data captured by the vehicle camera show in the figures 3 and 10. Therefore, the changing direction of the vehicle cause by a detection of the surround environment.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the odometry data associated with environmental sensing to enhance reliability of turn determination as taught by Hartmann et al. reference into Qiao et al. reference and the result would be predictable with the turn or intent to turn base on all those three factors above.
The combination of Qiao et al. and Hartmann et al. do not explicitly teach a turn indicator configured to indicate external to the vehicle the driver's intent to execute the turn; and activate the turn indicator of the vehicle in response to determining the driver's intent to execute the turn in the direction of the determined focus area.
Kjaerp-Lohse et al. teach a turn indicator configured to indicate external to the vehicle the driver's intent to execute the turn; and activate the turn indicator of the vehicle in response to determining the driver's intent to execute the turn in the direction of the determined focus area. (Kjaerp-Lohse et al. US 20180118100 abstract; paragraphs [0011]-[0013]; [0042]-[0048]; [0051]-[0062]; figures 1-2 )
In order to select which side road vehicle turn signals 3 to activate in embodiments described herein as a first alternative the road vehicle 1 further comprises a driver monitoring camera 11. The driver monitoring camera 11 is arranged to determine a viewing direction of a driver of the road vehicle 1. The determined viewing direction is used for selectively activating right hand side or left hand side road vehicle turn signals 3, e.g. if the attention of a driver of the road vehicle 1 is focused on the right hand side of the road vehicle 1, the right hand side road vehicle turn signals 3 are activated, and conversely, if the attention of a driver of the road vehicle 1 is focused on the left hand side of the road vehicle 1, the left hand side road vehicle turn signals 3 are activated. This provides an efficient way of selecting which side road vehicle turn signals 3 to activate (Kjaerp-Lohse et al. par. 56).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a turn signal assistance as taught by Kjaerp-Lohse et al. reference into the modify system of Qiao et al. and Hartmann et al. reference and the result of substitution would be predictable for alert the external road user the heading of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. disclose The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to verify, in order to determine the first result, whether at least one turning option of the vehicle exists in the visual capture area of the driver and whether this turning option is within the determined focus area.
The intention prediction module 162 evaluates the condition flags 172, the driver gaze data 180, and the driver facial recognition data 182 as driver identification to load the driver's history of eye gaze activity pattern during a lane change maneuver in order to predict the driver's intentions 184 to perform a lane change maneuver (e.g., right lane change, left lane change, overtaking, etc.). For example, the intention prediction module 162 evaluates the driver gaze data 180 during a lane change maneuver over time to determine driver gaze behavior. The driver gaze behavior can include, for example, driver eye activity including the number of times the driver's eyes switch from on-road to a side mirror or window (left or right) in a short time interval and the time the driver's eyes are focused on the side mirror or window (left or right). with different lane change maneuver traffic conditions (Qiao et al. par. 45). The intention prediction module 162 then recognizes the driver based on the driver facial data and retrieves the same driver gaze behavior history data 186 for the recognized driver. The intention prediction module 162 then evaluates the condition flags 172 and compares the current driver gaze behavior data with the history data to determine the predicted intentions 184. For example, the intention prediction module 162 sets a left lane change flag to TRUE when the left lane change traffic condition flag 174 is TRUE and the current behavior data is less than or equal to the history data 186 for the left lane change (plus or minus an offset in some cases) with similar lane change traffic conditions such as ego vehicle speed, and adjacent lane traffics, etc. In another example, the intention prediction module 162 sets a right lane change flag to TRUE when the right lane change condition flag 176 is TRUE and the current behavior data is less than or equal to the history data 185 for the right lane change (plus or minus an offset in some cases) with similar lane change traffic conditions such as ego vehicle speed, and adjacent lane traffics, etc. In another example, the intention prediction module 162 sets an overtaking flag to TRUE when intention prediction flag for the right lane change or the left lane change is TRUE and the overtaking change condition flag 178 is TRUE (Qiao et al. par. 46).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. disclose The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to determine at least one possible turning direction of the vehicle in the visual capture area of the driver based on the environmental information of the visual capture area of the vehicle provided by the environment capture unit
The intention prediction module 162 evaluates the condition flags 172, the driver gaze data 180, and the driver facial recognition data 182 as driver identification to load the driver's history of eye gaze activity pattern during a lane change maneuver in order to predict the driver's intentions 184 to perform a lane change maneuver (e.g., right lane change, left lane change, overtaking, etc.). For example, the intention prediction module 162 evaluates the driver gaze data 180 during a lane change maneuver over time to determine driver gaze behavior. The driver gaze behavior can include, for example, driver eye activity including the number of times the driver's eyes switch from on-road to a side mirror or window (left or right) in a short time interval and the time the driver's eyes are focused on the side mirror or window (left or right). with different lane change maneuver traffic conditions (Qiao et al. par. 45). The intention prediction module 162 then recognizes the driver based on the driver facial data and retrieves the same driver gaze behavior history data 186 for the recognized driver. The intention prediction module 162 then evaluates the condition flags 172 and compares the current driver gaze behavior data with the history data to determine the predicted intentions 184. For example, the intention prediction module 162 sets a left lane change flag to TRUE when the left lane change traffic condition flag 174 is TRUE and the current behavior data is less than or equal to the history data 186 for the left lane change (plus or minus an offset in some cases) with similar lane change traffic conditions such as ego vehicle speed, and adjacent lane traffics, etc. In another example, the intention prediction module 162 sets a right lane change flag to TRUE when the right lane change condition flag 176 is TRUE and the current behavior data is less than or equal to the history data 185 for the right lane change (plus or minus an offset in some cases) with similar lane change traffic conditions such as ego vehicle speed, and adjacent lane traffics, etc. In another example, the intention prediction module 162 sets an overtaking flag to TRUE when intention prediction flag for the right lane change or the left lane change is TRUE and the overtaking change condition flag 178 is TRUE (Qiao et al. par. 46).
and to verify the first result based thereon, wherein the processing unit is configured to change the first result based on the result of the verification.
The history learning module 166 updates the history data datastore 168 with current driver eye gaze data at a corresponding datastore cell indexed by vehicle speed and the time waiting for traffic conditions met after receiving the confirmation information 192. For example, the history learning module 166 learns driver gaze behavior for a lane change maneuver for a driver and stores the information in a learning cell history data structure dedicated to that driver. FIG. 6 illustrates an exemplary history data structure 500. In various embodiments, the data structure 500 is defined by vehicle speed (MPH) on the x-axis 502 and the time of waiting for a lane change maneuver traffic conditions met on the y-axis 504. Each cell 506 of the data structure 500 stores a computed moving average of the driver gaze behavior data including a computed moving average of counts of eyes turning to the side mirrors, and a computed moving average of the accumulated time the eyes are on the side mirror during a lane change maneuver. The stored history data is then used by the intention prediction module 162 to determine the next prediction for the same driver (Qiao et al. par. 49).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. disclose The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to verify whether safe turning is possible based on odometry data from the vehicle in order to determine the second result.
The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on GPS vehicle data, preferably in accordance with the vehicle speed and heading angle (or yaw angle), and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 50). The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on vehicle odometry data and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 51). In such an emergency maneuver, however, determining the road condition or camera-based estimation of the friction coefficient is extremely important since the brake and steering system brakes or steers up to the limit of the friction coefficient. A puddle (2) on an otherwise dry road (1) as shown in FIG. 2 could mean that a collision with the obstacle cannot be avoided or that one's own vehicle leaves the road. FIG. 10 shows a camera image (I) depicting a stationary obstacle (7), e.g. a vehicle, in the traffic lane used by the ego vehicle (6). It shows in addition to the calculated vehicle path (or corridor of movement) T with the continuous median trajectory and the dotted sidelines for an avoiding maneuver how a prediction horizon X.sub.pVeh, Y.sub.pVeh determined from FIG. 9 can be transformed in the image (I) by adjusting the image area from R1 to R1″. An intermediate step of the adjustment (R1′) is also shown (Hartmann et al par. 122).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret a camera detect the obstacle 7 in front of the vehicle. The system turn a vehicle into the different direction to avoid the obstacle 7 as show in the figure 10 based on those image data captured by the vehicle camera show in the figures 3 and 10.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. disclose The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to verify whether there is a traffic-related reason for the odometry data of the vehicle in order to determine the third result.
The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on GPS vehicle data, preferably in accordance with the vehicle speed and heading angle (or yaw angle), and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 50). The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on vehicle odometry data and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 51). In such an emergency maneuver, however, determining the road condition or camera-based estimation of the friction coefficient is extremely important since the brake and steering system brakes or steers up to the limit of the friction coefficient. A puddle (2) on an otherwise dry road (1) as shown in FIG. 2 could mean that a collision with the obstacle cannot be avoided or that one's own vehicle leaves the road. FIG. 10 shows a camera image (I) depicting a stationary obstacle (7), e.g. a vehicle, in the traffic lane used by the ego vehicle (6). It shows in addition to the calculated vehicle path (or corridor of movement) T with the continuous median trajectory and the dotted sidelines for an avoiding maneuver how a prediction horizon X.sub.pVeh, Y.sub.pVeh determined from FIG. 9 can be transformed in the image (I) by adjusting the image area from R1 to R1″. An intermediate step of the adjustment (R1′) is also shown (Hartmann et al par. 122).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret a camera detect the obstacle 7 in front of the vehicle. The system turn a vehicle into the different direction to avoid the obstacle 7 as show in the figure 10 based on those image data captured by the vehicle camera show in the figures 3 and 10.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. disclose The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is further configured to determine; a positive first result if the focus area exists outside the vehicle in a specific turning direction,
In various embodiments, the processor is configured to monitor the eye gaze by counting a number of driver eye switches from a first on-road direction to a second side mirror direction, and wherein the processor is configured to predict the intention of the driver to perform a lane change maneuver based on the number (Qiao et al. par. 12). In various embodiments, the processor is configured to monitor the eye gaze by accumulating a time of focus of the eye gaze on a side mirror, and wherein the processor is configured to predict the intention of the driver to perform the lane change maneuver based on the accumulated time of focus (Qiao et al. par. 13).
According to the cite passages and figures, examiner interpret the number of time driver focus of the eye gaze on the side mirror as the focus area of the driver look outside the vehicle.
a positive second result if the odometry data allow the vehicle to turn in the direction of the determined focus area, a positive third result if the determined odometry data have no other cause, and the intent to turn only when all three results are positive.
The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on GPS vehicle data, preferably in accordance with the vehicle speed and heading angle (or yaw angle), and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 50). The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on vehicle odometry data and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 51). In such an emergency maneuver, however, determining the road condition or camera-based estimation of the friction coefficient is extremely important since the brake and steering system brakes or steers up to the limit of the friction coefficient. A puddle (2) on an otherwise dry road (1) as shown in FIG. 2 could mean that a collision with the obstacle cannot be avoided or that one's own vehicle leaves the road. FIG. 10 shows a camera image (I) depicting a stationary obstacle (7), e.g. a vehicle, in the traffic lane used by the ego vehicle (6). It shows in addition to the calculated vehicle path (or corridor of movement) T with the continuous median trajectory and the dotted sidelines for an avoiding maneuver how a prediction horizon X.sub.pVeh, Y.sub.pVeh determined from FIG. 9 can be transformed in the image (I) by adjusting the image area from R1 to R1″. An intermediate step of the adjustment (R1′) is also shown (Hartmann et al par. 122).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret a camera detect the obstacle 7 in front of the vehicle. The system turn a vehicle into the different direction to avoid the obstacle 7 as show in the figure 10 based on those image data captured by the vehicle camera show in the figures 3 and 10.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. disclose The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is further configured to determine: as a first result, the probability of the existence of a focus area contingent on the intent to turn outside the vehicle,
In various embodiments, the processor is configured to monitor the eye gaze by counting a number of driver eye switches from a first on-road direction to a second side mirror direction, and wherein the processor is configured to predict the intention of the driver to perform a lane change maneuver based on the number (Qiao et al. par. 12). In various embodiments, the processor is configured to monitor the eye gaze by accumulating a time of focus of the eye gaze on a side mirror, and wherein the processor is configured to predict the intention of the driver to perform the lane change maneuver based on the accumulated time of focus (Qiao et al. par. 13). FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary method of determining the driver behavior data (step 210 of FIG. 3) including the driver switch count and the driver focus time. In FIG. 4, the method may begin at 315. The driver gaze data 180 is received and eye movement of the driver is evaluated to determine a direction or point of interest of driver's eye gaze at 320. When it is determined that the driver's eye gaze switches from on-road to a side mirror or window (left or right) at 325, timers and counter that track the driver's gaze behavior are updated (Qiao et al. par. 53).
According to the cite passages and figures, examiner interpret the number of time driver focus of the eye gaze on the side mirror as the focus area of the driver look outside the vehicle.
as a second result, the probability of the vehicle turning in the direction of the determined focus area based on the odometry data, an overall probability, at least based on the three results, and the intent to turn when the determined overall probability exceeds a preset stored limit value.
The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on GPS vehicle data, preferably in accordance with the vehicle speed and heading angle (or yaw angle), and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 50). The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on vehicle odometry data and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 51). In such an emergency maneuver, however, determining the road condition or camera-based estimation of the friction coefficient is extremely important since the brake and steering system brakes or steers up to the limit of the friction coefficient. A puddle (2) on an otherwise dry road (1) as shown in FIG. 2 could mean that a collision with the obstacle cannot be avoided or that one's own vehicle leaves the road. FIG. 10 shows a camera image (I) depicting a stationary obstacle (7), e.g. a vehicle, in the traffic lane used by the ego vehicle (6). It shows in addition to the calculated vehicle path (or corridor of movement) T with the continuous median trajectory and the dotted sidelines for an avoiding maneuver how a prediction horizon X.sub.pVeh, Y.sub.pVeh determined from FIG. 9 can be transformed in the image (I) by adjusting the image area from R1 to R1″. An intermediate step of the adjustment (R1′) is also shown (Hartmann et al par. 122).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret a camera detect the obstacle 7 in front of the vehicle. The system turn a vehicle into the different direction to avoid the obstacle 7 as show in the figure 10 based on those image data captured by the vehicle camera show in the figures 3 and 10.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. disclose The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to detect the gaze direction of the driver over a preset period of time of several seconds in order to determine the first result and to determine the focus area based on the gazes of the driver directed outside the vehicle.
The intention prediction module 162 evaluates the condition flags 172, the driver gaze data 180, and the driver facial recognition data 182 as driver identification to load the driver's history of eye gaze activity pattern during a lane change maneuver in order to predict the driver's intentions 184 to perform a lane change maneuver (e.g., right lane change, left lane change, overtaking, etc.). For example, the intention prediction module 162 evaluates the driver gaze data 180 during a lane change maneuver over time to determine driver gaze behavior. The driver gaze behavior can include, for example, driver eye activity including the number of times the driver's eyes switch from on-road to a side mirror or window (left or right) in a short time interval and the time the driver's eyes are focused on the side mirror or window (left or right). with different lane change maneuver traffic conditions (Qiao et al. par. 45).
According to the cite passages and figures, examiner interpret the number of time driver focus of the eye gaze on the side mirror as the focus area of the driver look outside the vehicle.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. disclose The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to detect a head-eye rotation of the driver over a preset period of several seconds in order to determine the first result and to determine the focus area based on the detected head- eye rotation.
The intention prediction module 162 evaluates the condition flags 172, the driver gaze data 180, and the driver facial recognition data 182 as driver identification to load the driver's history of eye gaze activity pattern during a lane change maneuver in order to predict the driver's intentions 184 to perform a lane change maneuver (e.g., right lane change, left lane change, overtaking, etc.). For example, the intention prediction module 162 evaluates the driver gaze data 180 during a lane change maneuver over time to determine driver gaze behavior. The driver gaze behavior can include, for example, driver eye activity including the number of times the driver's eyes switch from on-road to a side mirror or window (left or right) in a short time interval and the time the driver's eyes are focused on the side mirror or window (left or right). with different lane change maneuver traffic conditions (Qiao et al. par. 45).
According to the cite passages and figures, examiner interpret the number of time driver focus of the eye gaze on the side mirror as the focus area of the driver look outside the vehicle.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. disclose The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to: determine a possible turning direction in order to determine the second result, determine the plausible driving intervals required to safely perform a turning maneuver in the determined turning direction, and verify the possibility of performing the determined diving intervals with the current driving speed data and direction data in order to render the intent to turn plausible.
The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on GPS vehicle data, preferably in accordance with the vehicle speed and heading angle (or yaw angle), and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 50). The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on vehicle odometry data and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 51). As an example of such an adjustment of the first image area (R1), we use an adjustment based on the vehicle's own speed, the course of the traffic lane while driving through a bend, and the predicted vehicle path in an avoiding maneuver (Hartmann et al. par. 108). In such an emergency maneuver, however, determining the road condition or camera-based estimation of the friction coefficient is extremely important since the brake and steering system brakes or steers up to the limit of the friction coefficient. A puddle (2) on an otherwise dry road (1) as shown in FIG. 2 could mean that a collision with the obstacle cannot be avoided or that one's own vehicle leaves the road. FIG. 10 shows a camera image (I) depicting a stationary obstacle (7), e.g. a vehicle, in the traffic lane used by the ego vehicle (6). It shows in addition to the calculated vehicle path (or corridor of movement) T with the continuous median trajectory and the dotted sidelines for an avoiding maneuver how a prediction horizon X.sub.pVeh, Y.sub.pVeh determined from FIG. 9 can be transformed in the image (I) by adjusting the image area from R1 to R1″. An intermediate step of the adjustment (R1′) is also shown (Hartmann et al par. 122).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret a camera detect the obstacle 7 in front of the vehicle. The system turn a vehicle into the different direction to avoid the obstacle 7 as show in the figure 10 based on those image data captured by the vehicle camera show in the figures 3 and 10.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. disclose The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to verify whether there are objects in the vehicle trajectory which account for the current travel speed data and direction data, and/or whether a collision or convergence of the trajectories of the detected objects with the vehicle trajectory is predictable.
The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on GPS vehicle data, preferably in accordance with the vehicle speed and heading angle (or yaw angle), and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 50). The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on vehicle odometry data and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 51). As an example of such an adjustment of the first image area (R1), we use an adjustment based on the vehicle's own speed, the course of the traffic lane while driving through a bend, and the predicted vehicle path in an avoiding maneuver (Hartmann et al. par. 108). In such an emergency maneuver, however, determining the road condition or camera-based estimation of the friction coefficient is extremely important since the brake and steering system brakes or steers up to the limit of the friction coefficient. A puddle (2) on an otherwise dry road (1) as shown in FIG. 2 could mean that a collision with the obstacle cannot be avoided or that one's own vehicle leaves the road. FIG. 10 shows a camera image (I) depicting a stationary obstacle (7), e.g. a vehicle, in the traffic lane used by the ego vehicle (6). It shows in addition to the calculated vehicle path (or corridor of movement) T with the continuous median trajectory and the dotted sidelines for an avoiding maneuver how a prediction horizon X.sub.pVeh, Y.sub.pVeh determined from FIG. 9 can be transformed in the image (I) by adjusting the image area from R1 to R1″. An intermediate step of the adjustment (R1′) is also shown (Hartmann et al par. 122).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret a camera detect the obstacle 7 in front of the vehicle. The system turn a vehicle into the different direction to avoid the obstacle 7 as show in the figure 10 based on those image data captured by the vehicle camera show in the figures 3 and 10.
Regarding claim 15, Qiao et al. teach A method for indicating a vehicle driver's intent to execute a turn, the method comprising: capturing image data depicting an area of the interior via an interior camera; (Qiao et al. US 20220089163 abstract; paragraphs [0002]-[0009]; [0011]-[0015]; [0024]; [0028]-[0035]; [0039]; [0045]-[0049]; [0053]-[0055]; figures 1-6;)
In accordance with an exemplary embodiment, a method is provided for controlling a vehicle. The method includes: monitoring an eye gaze of a driver of the vehicle; monitoring current traffic conditions surrounding the vehicle; predicting an intention of the driver to perform a lane change maneuver based on the eye gaze, a history of the eye gaze of the driver, and the current traffic conditions; and controlling, by the processor, the vehicle based on the predicted intention of the driver to perform a lane change maneuver (Qiao et al. par. 4). In various embodiments, the computer system 140 receives the camera images from the camera 132 and identifies the gaze direction of the eyes (or eye) of the driver of the vehicle 100 using the camera images. In various embodiments, the computer system 140 receives the sensor data from the perception system and identifies the current traffic conditions using the sensor data. (Qiao et al. par. 32).
determining, in advance of the turn and via a processing unit: a first result based on the image data, wherein the first result is a focus area of a driver outside the vehicle,
In various embodiments, the processor is configured to monitor the eye gaze by counting a number of driver eye switches from a first on-road direction to a second side mirror direction, and wherein the processor is configured to predict the intention of the driver to perform a lane change maneuver based on the number (Qiao et al. par. 12). In various embodiments, the processor is configured to monitor the eye gaze by accumulating a time of focus of the eye gaze on a side mirror, and wherein the processor is configured to predict the intention of the driver to perform the lane change maneuver based on the accumulated time of focus (Qiao et al. par. 13).
According to the cite passages and figures, examiner interpret the number of time driver focus of the eye gaze on the side mirror as the focus area of the driver look outside the vehicle.
Qiao et al. do not explicitly teach a second result based on odometry data from the vehicle, wherein the second result is the possibility of the turn being executed in the direction of the determined focus area, a third result based on data from an environment capture unit, wherein the third result verifies whether the odometry data has another cause distinct from the driver's intent to execute the turn in the direction of the determined focus area, the driver's intent to execute the turn in the direction of the determined focus area based on the three results; and activating a turn indicator of the vehicle in response to determining the driver's intent to execute the turn in the direction of the determined focus area.
Hartmann et al. teach a second result based on odometry data from the vehicle, wherein the second result is the possibility of the turn being executed in the direction of the determined focus area, a third result based on data from an environment capture unit, wherein the third result verifies whether the odometry data has another cause distinct from the driver's intent to execute the turn in the direction of the determined focus area, the driver's intent to execute the turn in the direction of the determined focus area based on the three results; (Hartmann et al. US 20150371095 abstract; paragraphs [0005]; [0021];[0042]-[0054]; [0060]-[0065]; [0094]; [0097]-[0108]; [0112]; [0115]; [0118]-[0123]; figures 1-10;)
The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on GPS vehicle data, preferably in accordance with the vehicle speed and heading angle (or yaw angle), and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 50). The first image area is at least one dynamic image section which is projected in the direction of travel in front of the vehicle based on vehicle odometry data and tracked dynamically (Hartmann et al. par. 51). Optionally, the trajectory or path of one's own vehicle may be predicted in step S14. Data from the vehicle's own sensors (V), e.g. steering angle, speed, etc. navigation system data or map data (N), or data from other environmental sensors such as radar, lidar, telematics unit, etc. may be taken into account here (Hartmann et al. par. 94). FIG. 2 shows an example of an image (I) of the vehicle environment lying ahead as taken from the front camera (6) of a moving vehicle. Camera-based driver assistance functionality can be implemented from the same image, e. g. a lane departure warning (LDW) function, a lane keeping assistance/system (LKA/LKS), a traffic sign recognition (TSR) function, an intelligent headlamp control (IHC) function, a forward collision warning (FCW) function, a precipitation detection function, an adaptive cruise control (ACC) function, a parking assistance function, an automatic emergency brake assist (EBA) function or emergency steering assist (ESA) function (Hartmann et al. par. 97). In such an emergency maneuver, however, determining the road condition or camera-based estimation of the friction coefficient is extremely important since the brake and steering system brakes or steers up to the limit of the friction coefficient. A puddle (2) on an otherwise dry road (1) as shown in FIG. 2 could mean that a collision with the obstacle cannot be avoided or that one's own vehicle leaves the road. FIG. 10 shows a camera image (I) depicting a stationary obstacle (7), e.g. a vehicle, in the traffic lane used by the ego vehicle (6). It shows in addition to the calculated vehicle path (or corridor of movement) T with the continuous median trajectory and the dotted sidelines for an avoiding maneuver how a prediction horizon X.sub.pVeh, Y.sub.pVeh determined from FIG. 9 can be transformed in the image (I) by adjusting the image area from R1 to R1″. An intermediate step of the adjustment (R1′) is also shown (Hartmann et al par. 122).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret a front camera 6 of the moving vehicle as the environment sensor that detect the obstacle 7 in front of the vehicle. At least one of vehicle driving assistance of vehicle like forward collision warning and emergency steering assist disclose in par. 97 help the driver to turn a vehicle into the different direction to avoid the obstacle 7 as show in the figure 10 based on those image data captured by the vehicle camera show in the figures 3 and 10. Therefore, the changing direction of the vehicle cause by a detection of the surround environment.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the odometry data associated with environmental sensing to enhance reliability of turn determination as taught by Hartmann et al. reference into Qiao et al. reference and the result would be predictable with the turn or intent to turn base on all those three factors above.
The combination of Qiao et al. and Hartmann et al. do not explicitly teach and activating a turn indicator of the vehicle in response to determining the driver's intent to execute the turn in the direction of the determined focus area.
Kjaerp-Lohse et al. teach and activating a turn indicator of the vehicle in response to determining the driver's intent to execute the turn in the direction of the determined focus area. (Kjaerp-Lohse et al. US 20180118100 abstract; paragraphs [0011]-[0013]; [0042]-[0048]; [0051]-[0062]; figures 1-2 )
In order to select which side road vehicle turn signals 3 to activate in embodiments described herein as a first alternative the road vehicle 1 further comprises a driver monitoring camera 11. The driver monitoring camera 11 is arranged to determine a viewing direction of a driver of the road vehicle 1. The determined viewing direction is used for selectively activating right hand side or left hand side road vehicle turn signals 3, e.g. if the attention of a driver of the road vehicle 1 is focused on the right hand side of the road vehicle 1, the right hand side road vehicle turn signals 3 are activated, and conversely, if the attention of a driver of the road vehicle 1 is focused on the left hand side of the road vehicle 1, the left hand side road vehicle turn signals 3 are activated. This provides an efficient way of selecting which side road vehicle turn signals 3 to activate (Kjaerp-Lohse et al. par. 56).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a turn signal assistance as taught by Kjaerp-Lohse et al. reference into the modify method of Qiao et al. and Hartmann et al. reference and the result of substitution would be predictable for alert the external road user the heading of the vehicle.
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao et al. US 20220089163, in view of Hartmann et al. US 20150371095, in view of Kjaerp-Lohse et al. US 20180118100 and further in view of Glas US 20190135299.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. do not explicitly teach The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to verify whether, based on stored odometry data associated with the driver and/or the vehicle and the odometry data of the vehicle, the intent to turn is probable in order to determine the second result.
Glas teaches The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to verify whether, based on stored odometry data associated with the driver and/or the vehicle and the odometry data of the vehicle, the intent to turn is probable in order to determine the second result. (Glas US 20190135299 abstract; paragraphs [0011]; [0030]-[0034]; [0040]; figures 1-2)
Accordingly, a method for providing driver assistance is provided, which method comprises the following steps, namely recording at least one movement pattern of a vehicle together with activated vehicle functions, and providing the respective vehicle function on the basis of detection of at least one part of a movement pattern which has already been recorded during a journey, wherein the movement pattern is created by way of odometry sensors (Glas par. 11). According to another aspect of the present invention, the detection of at least one part of a movement pattern which has already been recorded comprises comparing captured movement patterns with stored movement patterns, wherein both substantially match (Glas par. 31). According to the invention, a driver assistance system provides driver assistance, having a sensor unit set up to record at least one movement pattern of a vehicle together with activated vehicle functions, and an output unit set up to provide the respective vehicle function on the basis of detection of at least one part of a movement pattern which has already been recorded during a journey, wherein the movement pattern is created using odometry sensors (Glas par. 34). FIG. 1 shows a schematic flowchart of a method for providing driver assistance, having the steps of recording 100 at least one movement pattern of a vehicle together with activated vehicle functions, and providing 102 the respective vehicle function on the basis of detection 101 of at least one part of a movement pattern which has already been recorded during a journey, wherein the movement pattern is created 100 using odometry sensors (Glas par. 40).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. with Glas by comprising the teaching of Glas into the system of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al.. The motivation to combine these arts to store the movement pattern created by odometry sensors from Glas reference into Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. reference so the system can easily determine any abnormal movement pattern of the vehicle by verify with the historical data to avoid any mishap.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al., Kjaerp-Lohse et al. and Glas disclose The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to determine an odometry pattern over a preset period of several seconds in order to determine the second result and preferably to compare it with odometry patterns stored for the driver and/or the vehicle.
Accordingly, a method for providing driver assistance is provided, which method comprises the following steps, namely recording at least one movement pattern of a vehicle together with activated vehicle functions, and providing the respective vehicle function on the basis of detection of at least one part of a movement pattern which has already been recorded during a journey, wherein the movement pattern is created by way of odometry sensors (Glas par. 11). According to another aspect of the present invention, the detection of at least one part of a movement pattern which has already been recorded comprises comparing captured movement patterns with stored movement patterns, wherein both substantially match (Glas par. 31). According to the invention, a driver assistance system provides driver assistance, having a sensor unit set up to record at least one movement pattern of a vehicle together with activated vehicle functions, and an output unit set up to provide the respective vehicle function on the basis of detection of at least one part of a movement pattern which has already been recorded during a journey, wherein the movement pattern is created using odometry sensors (Glas par. 34). FIG. 1 shows a schematic flowchart of a method for providing driver assistance, having the steps of recording 100 at least one movement pattern of a vehicle together with activated vehicle functions, and providing 102 the respective vehicle function on the basis of detection 101 of at least one part of a movement pattern which has already been recorded during a journey, wherein the movement pattern is created 100 using odometry sensors (Glas par. 40).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao et al. US 20220089163, in view of Hartmann et al. US 20150371095, in view of Kjaerp-Lohse et al. US 20180118100 and further in view of Winner et al. US 20030163239.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. do not explicitly teach The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to: output information to the driver via an output unit of the vehicle, actuate the turn indicator automatically after a preset time if the driver does not abort.
Winner et al. teach The device according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit is configured to: output information to the driver via an output unit of the vehicle, actuate the turn indicator automatically after a preset time if the driver does not abort.
(Winner et al. US 20030163239 abstract; paragraphs [0038]-[0040]; figures 1-4;)
If, in countries with right-hand traffic, the left turn signal indicator is actuated in the situation shown in FIG. 2, then this can mean that the driver would like to pass preceding vehicle 32. However, it can also mean that the driver, without intention of passing, would simply like to change lanes for other reasons (Winner et al. par. 38).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to combine Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. with Winner et al. by comprising the teaching of Winner et al. into the system of Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al.. The motivation to combine these arts to provide a simple substitution of actuated the signal indicator from Winner et al. reference into Qiao et al., Hartmann et al. and Kjaerp-Lohse et al. reference and the results of the substitution would have been predictable to inform the surround traffic of the vehicle intent to turn or changing lane.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remark applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argument: Applicant argues that the cited art Qiao et al. and Hartmann et al. failed to teach or suggest the amendment as cited in the independent claims 1 and 15.
Examiner response: The presented arguments are rendered moot in view of the new ground rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by applicant. Please see above rejections.
Conclusion
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686