DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing filed on July 21, 2026, Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 5/1/2024, has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed July 21st, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s arguments filed 7/21/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 should be withdrawn, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the amended claims are an improvement towards overcoming the abstract idea, the amended claims still recite abstract ideas. The addition of “wherein the instantiating includes generating a corresponding computer graphical model for each of the first virtual object and the first plurality of enemy virtual objects and rendering a computer display of the computer graphical models in the virtual scene”, simply adds additional details to a process that was already occurring within the claim language. The addition of “instantiating includes generating a corresponding computer graphical model for each of the first virtual object and the first plurality of enemy virtual objects,” does not change the scope of the original claim language which contained “instantiating a first virtual object and a first plurality of enemy virtual objects.” As the claims were originally written, it was clear that “a corresponding computer graphical model for each of the first virtual object and the first plurality of enemy virtual objects” was being generated. It is well known in the art that this is how “virtual objects” are created within videogames. Section 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) of the MPEP states that, “claims can still recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer.” This means that using a computer to automate a mental process is still a mental process, and therefore, the 101 rejection stands.
As stated by the Applicant, “these steps require accessing stored graphical data and executing rendering algorithms to produce visual output on a computer display,” which under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, is collecting data and displaying it. This is a form of information processing, which can be considered as a form of insignificant-extra solution activity as it is a routine or conventional function rather than a technological improvement. Information processing is very much a mental process, so the claim language as written recites an abstract idea. The amended claim language simply states what the system does, but can be improved by specifying how it achieves this, whether it be through some specific technological or algorithmic improvement.
Furthermore, the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, because they recite generic rendering of virtual objects, and rules/sequences of a videogame. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims define an abstract pipeline: displaying data, displaying data in a specific area, collecting data, and displaying data in a different area based on the collected data. This is an alternative implementation of managing virtual object states and displays in a competitive gaming environment, rather than being a solution to a problem. There is no precedential case in the MPEP that states an improvement to matchmaking is considered to be a technical improvement. This is most likely because improved matchmaking is directed towards user enjoyment. The improvements of the claimed invention, if any, are interpreted as an improvement to the abstract idea of, “matchmaking.”
Section 2106.04(d)(1) of the MPEP states, “the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art).” It is unclear where the “technical improvement to computer functionality” actually is, and it is unclear how the claimed invention “reduces unnecessary data overhead of computers.” Merely stating that something “reduces unnecessary data overhead of computers” is not sufficient for showing a technological improvement. Paragraphs [00102], [00117], [00129], and [00136] of the Applicant’s own specification state, “so that the user can easily learn the distribution of enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and adjust an attack strategy, thereby reducing data overhead of a computer”, “user can formulate relevant game strategies to shorten the time length of the match and win the match as quickly as possible, thereby reducing data overhead of a computer”, “In addition, the method of additionally displaying enemy virtual objects can increase a total quantity of enemy virtual objects in the two battle areas, thereby speeding up the match, improving efficiency of the match, and reducing data overhead of a computer”, and “In this way, only one single combined virtual object needs to be rendered in the second battle area, thereby reducing data rendering overhead of a computer”. As it can be seen from paragraphs [00102] and [00117], the reduction in overhead is dependent on the user formulating strategies to complete the game faster. This is not directly from the claimed invention itself, but rather a hope that human intervention can reduce the time of the game, which would then result in less computer overhead. In addition, paragraph [00129] mentions displaying increasing the quantity enemies in an area, which when defeated will reduce overhead as there will be fewer enemies remaining. This is a design choice and is dependent on the type of game being played as there must be a certain limit on the quantity of enemies for that game. Furthermore, the increased display of enemies would increase overhead not reduce it, at least temporarily until those enemies are defeated, which is again, dependent on how quickly a user can defeat them. Lastly, paragraph [00136] mentions a single combined virtual object indicating that only one virtual object needs to be displayed, which would then reduce overhead. This is again a game design choice and is not a result of the method of the claimed invention. These are all directed to a type of game or how a game is played and is directed to the computer itself. The amended claims and specification fail to show a technical improvement to how the computer manages and renders virtual objects, reducing unnecessary computational overhead. The Applicant’s specification only provides disclosure. If there is an improvement, it fails to describe the improvement as a bare assertion of an improvement and does not provide the necessary detail(s) to be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art, and the human mental process(es) plays a disproportionate role in asserting the improvement(s).
Accordingly, Examiner respectfully has reconsidered the rejection, but states that the rejection stands as the claims are currently written.
Amended claims 1, 12, 19, and 20 recite the specifics of rendering virtual objects and fail to include additional limitations that further narrow the scope of the claims. They recite generic computer rendering steps that occur in all computer rendering systems. As a result, the amended claims as written do not overcome prior art of record nor do they contain allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-11 are drawn to a method and claims 12-20 are drawn to a device (i.e., a manufacture). As such, claims 1-20 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 1, the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite any judicial exceptions including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes).
Claims 11, 12, and 19, recite a computer-assisted method comprising: instantiating a first virtual object and a first plurality of enemy virtual objects engaged in a virtual battle in a first battle area in a virtual scene, wherein the instantiating includes generating a corresponding computer graphical model for each of the first virtual object and the first plurality of enemy virtual objects and rendering a computer display of the computer graphical models in the virtual scene, the virtual scene further comprising a second virtual object and a second plurality of enemy virtual objects engaged in a virtual battle in a second battle area; adding, in response to an enemy virtual object being eliminated by the second virtual object in the second battle area, the enemy virtual object in the first battle area, including acquiring model rendering data corresponding to the eliminated enemy virtual object and rendering the enemy virtual object in the first battle area based on the model rendering data; receiving an attack operation on an enemy virtual object in the first battle area, and adding, in response to the enemy virtual object being eliminated in the first battle area, the enemy virtual object in the second battle area, including acquiring model rendering data corresponding to the enemy virtual object eliminated in the first battle area and rendering the enemy virtual object in the second battle area based on the model rendering data; and determining a virtual battle result between the first virtual object and the second virtual object based on comparison of a quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and in the second battle area. If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity, the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 12, and 19 recite abstract ideas.
Representative Claim 1: a computer-assisted method comprising: instantiating a first virtual object and a first plurality of enemy virtual objects engaged in a virtual battle in a first battle area in a virtual scene, wherein the instantiating includes generating a corresponding computer graphical model for each of the first virtual object and the first plurality of enemy virtual objects and rendering a computer display of the computer graphical models in the virtual scene, the virtual scene further comprising a second virtual object and a second plurality of enemy virtual objects engaged in a virtual battle in a second battle area; adding, in response to an enemy virtual object being eliminated by the second virtual object in the second battle area, the enemy virtual object in the first battle area, including acquiring model rendering data corresponding to the eliminated enemy virtual object and rendering the enemy virtual object in the first battle area based on the model rendering data; receiving an attack operation on an enemy virtual object in the first battle area, and adding, in response to the enemy virtual object being eliminated in the first battle area, the enemy virtual object in the second battle area, including acquiring model rendering data corresponding to the enemy virtual object eliminated in the first battle area and rendering the enemy virtual object in the second battle area based on the model rendering data; and determining a virtual battle result between the first virtual object and the second virtual object based on comparison of a quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and in the second battle area.
Representative Claim 12: One or more non-transitory computer readable media storing computer readable instructions which, when executed by a processor, configure a data processing system to execute a virtual object control method, comprising: instantiating a first virtual object and a first plurality of enemy virtual objects engaged in a virtual battle in a first battle area in a virtual scene, wherein the instantiating includes generating a corresponding computer graphical model for each of the first virtual object and the first plurality of enemy virtual objects and rendering a computer display of the computer graphical models in the virtual scene, the virtual scene further comprising a second virtual object and a second plurality of enemy virtual objects engaged in a virtual battle in a second battle area; adding, in response to an enemy virtual object being eliminated by the second virtual object in the second battle area, the enemy virtual object in the first battle area, including acquiring model rendering data corresponding to the eliminated enemy virtual object and rendering the enemy virtual object in the first battle area based on the model rendering data; receiving an attack operation on an enemy virtual object in the first battle area, and adding, in response to the enemy virtual object being eliminated in the first battle area, the enemy virtual object in the second battle area, including acquiring model rendering data corresponding to the enemy virtual object eliminated in the first battle area and rendering the enemy virtual object in the second battle area based on the model rendering data; and determining a virtual battle result between the first virtual object and the second virtual object based on comparison of a quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and in the second battle area.
Representative Claim 19: A data processing system, comprising: a processor; and memory storing computer readable instructions which, when executed by the processor, configure the data processing system to execute a virtual object control method, comprising: instantiating a first virtual object and a first plurality of enemy virtual objects engaged in a virtual battle in a first battle area in a virtual scene, wherein the instantiating includes generating a corresponding computer graphical model for each of the first virtual object and the first plurality of enemy virtual objects and rendering a computer display of the computer graphical models in the virtual scene, the virtual scene further comprising a second virtual object and a second plurality of enemy virtual objects engaged in a virtual battle in a second battle area; adding, in response to an enemy virtual object being eliminated by the second virtual object in the second battle area, the enemy virtual object in the first battle area, including acquiring model rendering data corresponding to the eliminated enemy virtual object and rendering the enemy virtual object in the first battle area based on the model rendering data; receiving an attack operation on an enemy virtual object in the first battle area, and adding, in response to the enemy virtual object being eliminated in the first battle area, the enemy virtual object in the second battle area, including acquiring model rendering data corresponding to the enemy virtual object eliminated in the first battle area and rendering the enemy virtual object in the second battle area based on the model rendering data; and determining a virtual battle result between the first virtual object and the second virtual object based on comparison of a quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and in the second battle area.
(Examiner notes: The underlined claim terms above are interpreted as additional elements beyond the abstract idea and are further analyzed under Step 2A - Prong Two)
The additional elements are instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device as, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements of processors, and a non-transitory computer readable media are generic computer components for performing the above method, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements are generic components of a computing device used to apply the abstract idea.
Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the recited steps of a method comprising: instantiating a virtual object engaged in a battle against a plurality of enemy virtual objects in a first battle area in a virtual scene, the virtual scene comprising a second virtual object engaged in battle with and a second plurality of enemy virtual objects in a second battle area; adding, in enemy virtual objects from the first battle area in response to an enemy virtual object being eliminated in the second battle area; receiving an attack operation on an enemy virtual object in the first battle area, and adding the enemy virtual object to the second battle area in response to the enemy virtual object being eliminated in the first battle area; and determining a battle result by comparing the quantity of enemies in two battle areas (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas. The recited steps are a simulation that applies an abstract idea, specifically mental processes (observation (instantiating virtual objects, instantiating virtual objects in battle, and instantiating virtual objects in battle in different battle areas) and/or evaluation (comparing quantities of enemies in two different areas)). If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity (CMOHA), the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 12, and 19 recite abstract ideas.
Dependent Claims 2-11, 13-18, and 20 further narrow the abstract ideas of instantiating virtual objects in two different areas, having them engage in battles against enemies in those respective areas, adding defeated enemies to the battle a different battle area, and determining a result by comparing the quantity of enemies in the two different battle areas (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), then it also falls within the “Mental Processes” and is an abstract idea and then it also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas and then also falls within the “Organizing Human Processes” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
Independent claim(s) 1, 12, and 19 recite/describe nearly identical steps (and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and this/these claim(s) is/are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 1, 12, and 19 recite an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Under Step 2A Prong 2 the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A - Prong Two: In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “addition element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “instantiating virtual objects in two different areas”, “having them engage in battles against enemies in those respective areas”, “adding defeated enemies to the battle a different battle area”, and “determining a result by comparing the quantity of enemies in the two different battle areas,” etc. (Claims 1, 12, and 19) are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer.
Similarly, the limitations of applying “instantiating virtual objects in two different areas”, “having them engage in battles against enemies in those respective areas”, “adding defeated enemies to the battle a different battle area”, and “determining a result by comparing the quantity of enemies in the two different battle areas,” etc. Independent Claim(s) 1, 12, and 19, and dependent claims 2-11, 13-18, and 20 are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components in a vehicle. This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serves merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, it/they serve(s) to limit the application of the abstract idea to computerized environments (e.g., instantiating virtual objects in two different areas, having them engage in battles against enemies in those respective areas, adding defeated enemies to the battle a different battle area, and determining a result by comparing the quantity of enemies in the two different battle areas, etc.). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The recited additional element(s) of instantiating an object, having multiple objects engage in activity (e.g. battle), adding objects to new areas upon a condition being met (e.g. an enemy being defeated), and comparing two quantities to determine an outcome, (Claim(s) 1, 12, and 19), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea). This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Dependent claims 2-11, 13-18, and 20 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B: In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, is/are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an "inventive concept." An "inventive concept" is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the identified additional elements in independent claim(s) 1, 12, and 19, and dependent claims 2-11, 13-18, and 20 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The recited additional element(s) of instantiating virtual objects in two different areas, having them engage in battles against enemies in those respective areas, adding defeated enemies to the battle a different battle area, and determining a result by comparing the quantity of enemies in the two different battle areas (Claim(s) 1, 12, and 19), additionally and/or alternatively simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea) i.e. selecting users (i.e. using a user interface) is similar to “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data”, is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here) (See MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)).
This conclusion is based on a factual determination. Applicant’s own disclosure at paragraphs [0018] and [0019] acknowledge that “According to another aspect, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium is provided. The storage medium has at least one instruction, at least one program, a code set or an instruction set stored thereon. The at least one instruction, the at least one program, and the code set or the instruction set are loaded and executed by a processor to implement the virtual object control method according to any one of aspects of this application” and “According to another aspect, a computer program product or a computer program is provided. The computer program product or the computer program includes computer instructions stored on a computer-readable storage medium. A processor of a computer device reads the computer instructions from the computer-readable storage medium, and the processor executes the computer instructions to enable the computer device to perform the virtual object control method according to any one of aspects” (i.e. conventional nature of using a computer and/or computer program). This additional element therefore does not ensure the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
The dependent claims 2-11, 13-18, and 20 are dependent from claims 1, 12, and 19 and include all the limitations of the independent claims, but fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims is/are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea. The limitations of the dependent claims fail to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example:
The limitations of claims 2-11, 13-18, and 20 recite clarifications of determining game progress based on quantity of remaining enemies, generating a countdown, adding an enemy from one battle area to another after that enemy is eliminated, counting the number of enemies eliminated, generating a point redemption interface, buffing an enemy prior to adding it to the next battle area after it’s been eliminated, redeeming points for a second buff effect, calculating a point acquisition rate and acquiring points based off the rate, and adding a combined enemy based on the number of previously eliminated enemy objects. Such clarifications, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are merely defining/selecting a type of data to be manipulated which, per MPEP 2106.05(g), is insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claims is also applicable on these claims.
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Therefore, claims 1-20 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al. (US 2016/0008722 A1), in view of Atsumi et al. (US 2002/0045470 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Berger discloses a computer-assisted method comprising ([0003] The gaming device may be a general purpose computing device that is programmed to execute the video game, or a special-purpose gaming machine or console):
instantiating a first virtual object and a first plurality of enemy virtual objects engaged in a virtual battle in a first battle area in a virtual scene, wherein the instantiating includes generating a corresponding computer graphical model for each of the first virtual object and the first plurality of enemy virtual objects and rendering a computer display of the computer graphical models in the virtual scene, the virtual scene further comprising a second virtual object and a second plurality of enemy virtual objects engaged in a virtual battle in a second battle area ([0017] A creature that is invades the game world of a second player based on actions performed by a first player is referred to herein as a “nemesis”; [0020] In response to determining that the invasion conditions are satisfied, the computer system generates a nemesis, based on the nemesis data, for the characters (generating a corresponding computer graphical model for the first virtual object rendering a computer display of the computer graphical models in the virtual scene) of the second account to battle. In some cases, the nemesis may be generated with one or more “henchman” NPCs (generating a corresponding computer graphical model for the first plurality of enemy virtual objects and rendering a computer display of the computer graphical models in the virtual scene) that assist the nemesis in battle against the second player; [0027] The game world database 105 stores data associated with generating and controlling game instances, such as the maps on which the game takes place, enemy NPCs (enemy virtual objects), friendly NPCs, player and NPC abilities, scripted events, cut scene breakpoints, geometric characteristics of the map, objects, object interactions, and so forth, [0038] At block 200, game client 100 connects to a game instance on behalf of the active account, [0056] At block 300, game client 101 connects to a game instance on behalf of the active account (100 and 101 are two different instances of the same game, meaning two different virtual objects and two different virtual scenes));
adding, in response to an enemy virtual object being eliminated by the second virtual object in the second battle area, the enemy virtual object in the first battle area including acquiring model rendering data corresponding to the eliminated enemy virtual object and rendering the enemy virtual object in the first battle area based on the model rendering data ([0018] However, in the event that the second account is defeated by the nemesis invasion, a third account is selected to be invaded by the computer-controlled nemesis and the process repeats until the nemesis invasion is defeated or until a threshold number of players have been defeated (invading a third/other account is analogous to invading a first account), [0019] For example, assume the creation condition is that a player be defeated by an NPC that is flagged to create a nemesis… If so, the computer system selects the second player account to be invaded by a nemesis. In addition, the computer system creates nemesis data specifying the characteristics, attributes, and abilities of the nemesis. According to one embodiment, the nemesis data is based on an "upgraded’ version of the computer-controlled NPC that defeated the first player);
receiving an attack operation on an enemy virtual object in the first battle area, including acquiring model rendering data corresponding to the enemy virtual object eliminated in the first battle area and rendering the enemy virtual object in the second battle area based on the model rendering data ([0020] In response to determining that the invasion conditions (receiving an attack operation) are satisfied, the computer system generates a nemesis, based on the nemesis data, for the characters of the second account to battle), and adding, in response to the enemy virtual object being eliminated in the first battle area, the enemy virtual object in the second battle area ([0018] However, in the event that the second account (first battle area) is defeated by the nemesis invasion, a third account (second battle area) is selected to be invaded by the computer-controlled nemesis and the process repeats until the nemesis invasion is defeated or until a threshold number of players have been defeated); and
determining a virtual battle result between the first virtual object and the second virtual object ([0070] At block 304, if the player characters meet the success condition (determine a virtual battle result), the game server 104 generates one or more player rewards… For example, upon defeating the nemesis (first virtual object), the game server 104 may generate in-game currency, equipment, consumable items, experience, cosmetic items, and so forth for the characters (second virtual object) of the active account).
However, Berger is not relied upon disclosing comparison of a quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and in the second battle area.
Atsumi teaches comparison of a quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and in the second battle area, (Abstract the position of each character in a 3-dimensional virtual space is calculated, the character number of other friend characters existing in a predetermined region about the character is calculated (S304), an attack value and a defense value expressing the attack power and the defense Strength of the character are calculated on the basis of the character number (S310, S312), [0011] when several hundreds of characters (soldiers) are handled as a group, Strong points and weak points regarding an attack power, a defense strength or the like occur unevenly in a friend group (friend unit) according to the position or situation of the friend group to an enemy group).
Berger and Atsumi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of group battle games. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a computer-assisted method, as disclosed by Berger, further including determining a virtual battle based on comparison of a quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and in the second battle area as taught by Atsumi for the purpose of determining battle results that express the uneven distribution of attack power, defense strength, or the like regarding a group comprising of a plurality of characters (Atsumi, [0012]).
Regarding Claim 12, Berger discloses one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing computer readable instructions which, when executed by a processor, configure a data processing system to execute a virtual object control method, comprising ([0079] Main memory 506 also may be used for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions to be executed by processor 504. Such instructions, when stored in non-transitory storage media accessible to processor 504, render computer system 500 into a special purpose machine that is customized to perform the operations specified in the instructions):
instantiating a first virtual object and a first plurality of enemy virtual objects engaged in a virtual battle in a first battle area in a virtual scene, wherein the instantiating includes generating a corresponding computer graphical model for each of the first virtual object and the first plurality of enemy virtual objects and rendering a computer display of the computer graphical models in the virtual scene, the virtual scene further comprising a second virtual object and a second plurality of enemy virtual objects engaged in a virtual battle in a second battle area ([0017] A creature that is invades the game world of a second player based on actions performed by a first player is referred to herein as a “nemesis”; [0020] In response to determining that the invasion conditions are satisfied, the computer system generates a nemesis, based on the nemesis data, for the characters (generating a corresponding computer graphical model for the first virtual object rendering a computer display of the computer graphical models in the virtual scene) of the second account to battle. In some cases, the nemesis may be generated with one or more “henchman” NPCs (generating a corresponding computer graphical model for the first plurality of enemy virtual objects and rendering a computer display of the computer graphical models in the virtual scene) that assist the nemesis in battle against the second player; [0027] The game world database 105 stores data associated with generating and controlling game instances, such as the maps on which the game takes place, enemy NPCs (enemy virtual objects), friendly NPCs, player and NPC abilities, scripted events, cut scene breakpoints, geometric characteristics of the map, objects, object interactions, and so forth, [0038] At block 200, game client 100 connects to a game instance on behalf of the active account, [0056] At block 300, game client 101 connects to a game instance on behalf of the active account (100 and 101 are two different instances of the same game, meaning two different virtual objects and two different virtual scenes));
adding, in response to an enemy virtual object being eliminated by the second virtual object in the second battle area the enemy virtual object in the first battle area, including acquiring model rendering data corresponding to the eliminated enemy virtual object and rendering the enemy virtual object in the first battle area based on the model rendering data ([0018] However, in the event that the second account is defeated by the nemesis invasion, a third account is selected to be invaded by the computer-controlled nemesis and the process repeats until the nemesis invasion is defeated or until a threshold number of players have been defeated (invading a third/other account is analogous to invading a first account, [0019] For example, assume the creation condition is that a player be defeated by an NPC that is flagged to create a nemesis… If so, the computer system selects the second player account to be invaded by a nemesis. In addition, the computer system creates nemesis data specifying the characteristics, attributes, and abilities of the nemesis. According to one embodiment, the nemesis data is based on an "upgraded’ version of the computer-controlled NPC that defeated the first player);
receiving an attack operation on an enemy virtual object in the first battle area, including acquiring model rendering data corresponding to the enemy virtual object eliminated in the first battle area and rendering the enemy virtual object in the second battle area based on the model rendering data ([0020] In response to determining that the invasion conditions (receiving an attack operation) are satisfied, the computer system generates a nemesis, based on the nemesis data, for the characters of the second account to battle), and adding, in response to the enemy virtual object being eliminated in the first battle area, the enemy virtual object in the second battle area ([0018] However, in the event that the second account (first battle area) is defeated by the nemesis invasion, a third account (second battle area) is selected to be invaded by the computer-controlled nemesis and the process repeats until the nemesis invasion is defeated or until a threshold number of players have been defeated); and
determining a virtual battle result between the first virtual object and the second virtual object ([0070] At block 304, if the player characters meet the success condition (determine a virtual battle result), the game server 104 generates one or more player rewards… For example, upon defeating the nemesis (first virtual object), the game server 104 may generate in-game currency, equipment, consumable items, experience, cosmetic items, and so forth for the characters (second virtual object) of the active account).
However, Berger is not relied upon disclosing comparison of a quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and in the second battle area.
Atsumi teaches comparison of a quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and in the second battle area (Abstract the position of each character in a 3-dimensional virtual Space is calculated, the character number of other friend characters existing in a predetermined region about the character is calculated (S304), an attack value and a defense value expressing the attack power and the defense Strength of the character are calculated on the basis of the character number (S310, S312), [0011] when several hundreds of characters (soldiers) are handled as a group, Strong points and weak points regarding an attack power, a defense strength or the like occur unevenly in a friend group (friend unit) according to the position or situation of the friend group to an enemy group).
Regarding Claim 19, Berger discloses a data processing system, comprising:
a processor ([0079] instructions to be executed by processor 504); and
memory storing computer readable instructions which, when executed by the processor, configure the data processing system to execute a virtual object control method, comprising ([0079] Main memory 506 also may be used for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions to be executed by processor 504. Such instructions, when stored in non-transitory storage media accessible to processor 504, render computer system 500 into a special purpose machine that is customized to perform the operations specified in the instructions):
instantiating a first virtual object and a first plurality of enemy virtual objects engaged in a virtual battle in a first battle area in a virtual scene, wherein the instantiating includes generating a corresponding computer graphical model for each of the first virtual object and the first plurality of enemy virtual objects and rendering a computer display of the computer graphical models in the virtual scene, the virtual scene further comprising a second virtual object and a second plurality of enemy virtual objects engaged in a virtual battle in a second battle area ([0017] A creature that is invades the game world of a second player based on actions performed by a first player is referred to herein as a “nemesis”; [0020] In response to determining that the invasion conditions are satisfied, the computer system generates a nemesis, based on the nemesis data, for the characters (generating a corresponding computer graphical model for the first virtual object rendering a computer display of the computer graphical models in the virtual scene) of the second account to battle. In some cases, the nemesis may be generated with one or more “henchman” NPCs (generating a corresponding computer graphical model for the first plurality of enemy virtual objects and rendering a computer display of the computer graphical models in the virtual scene) that assist the nemesis in battle against the second player; [0027] The game world database 105 stores data associated with generating and controlling game instances, such as the maps on which the game takes place, enemy NPCs (enemy virtual objects), friendly NPCs, player and NPC abilities, scripted events, cut scene breakpoints, geometric characteristics of the map, objects, object interactions, and so forth, [0038] At block 200, game client 100 connects to a game instance on behalf of the active account, [0056] At block 300, game client 101 connects to a game instance on behalf of the active account (100 and 101 are two different instances of the same game, meaning two different virtual objects and two different virtual scenes)); and
adding, in response to an enemy virtual object being eliminated by the second virtual object in the second battle area, the enemy virtual object in the first battle area, including acquiring model rendering data corresponding to the eliminated enemy virtual object and rendering the enemy virtual object in the first battle area based on the model rendering data ([0018] However, in the event that the second account is defeated by the nemesis invasion, a third account is selected to be invaded by the computer-controlled nemesis and the process repeats until the nemesis invasion is defeated or until a threshold number of players have been defeated (invading a third/other account is analogous to invading a first account, [0019] For example, assume the creation condition is that a player be defeated by an NPC that is flagged to create a nemesis… If so, the computer system selects the second player account to be invaded by a nemesis. In addition, the computer system creates nemesis data specifying the characteristics, attributes, and abilities of the nemesis. According to one embodiment, the nemesis data is based on an "upgraded’ version of the computer-controlled NPC that defeated the first player);
receiving an attack operation on an enemy virtual object in the first battle area, including acquiring model rendering data corresponding to the enemy virtual object eliminated in the first battle area and rendering the enemy virtual object in the second battle area based on the model rendering data ([0020] In response to determining that the invasion conditions (receiving an attack operation) are satisfied, the computer system generates a nemesis, based on the nemesis data, for the characters of the second account to battle), and adding, in response to the enemy virtual object being eliminated in the first battle area, the enemy virtual object in the second battle area ([0018] However, in the event that the second account (first battle area) is defeated by the nemesis invasion, a third account (second battle area) is selected to be invaded by the computer-controlled nemesis and the process repeats until the nemesis invasion is defeated or until a threshold number of players have been defeated); and
determining a virtual battle result between the first virtual object and the second virtual object ([0070] At block 304, if the player characters meet the success condition (determine a virtual battle result), the game server 104 generates one or more player rewards… For example, upon defeating the nemesis (first virtual object), the game server 104 may generate in-game currency, equipment, consumable items, experience, cosmetic items, and so forth for the characters (second virtual object) of the active account).
However, Berger is not relied upon disclosing comparison of a quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and in the second battle area.
Atsumi teaches comparison of a quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and in the second battle area (Abstract the position of each character in a 3-dimensional virtual Space is calculated, the character number of other friend characters existing in a predetermined region about the character is calculated (S304), an attack value and a defense value expressing the attack power and the defense Strength of the character are calculated on the basis of the character number (S310, S312), [0011] when several hundreds of characters (soldiers) are handled as a group, Strong points and weak points regarding an attack power, a defense strength or the like occur unevenly in a friend group (friend unit) according to the position or situation of the friend group to an enemy group).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al. (US 2016/0008722 A1), Atsumi et al. (US 2002/0045470 A1), in view of Abecassis (US 2021/0213361 A1), and in further view of Zhao (CN 114288655 A).
Regarding Claim 2, Berger discloses wherein the adding comprises:
determining a progress indication element, the progress indication element being responsive to and based on a survival status of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([0021] the game instance may track the current position of the player and non-player characters, current attributes of the characters (e.g. health, action points, stamina, mana, status effects, etc.), current object states, and so forth).
However, Berger is not relied upon disclosing a progress indication element based on a survival status of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and updating the progress indication element based on a change in the survival status of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area.
Abecassis teaches
an element based on a survival status of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([0058] Scoreboard 130 displays all of the players competing in the current game along with players statistics such as scores and health (survival status)); and
updating the progress indication element based on a change in the survival status of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([0047] At the end of each round, each player earns some gold based at least on the player's performance (e.g., number of champions survived, number of damage inflicted, winning streak, losing streak), [0059] A battle is over once all champions of a team are defeated or one of the players surrendered).
Berger and Abecassis are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of gaming interfaces and systems for creating battles between a plurality of players. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a computer-assisted method, as disclosed by Berger, further including an element based on a survival status of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and updating the progress indication element based on a change in the survival status of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area as taught by Abecassis for the purpose of being able to show player rankings with the highest scoring player being on top and the lowest scoring player being on the bottom (Abecassis, [0058]).
However, Abecassis is not relied upon teaching a progress indication element.
Zhao teaches a progress indication element ([00110] In the game progress icon 217 of the first display area 210, the numbers and progress bars used to display the game progress in the first virtual organization are also marked in blue, and the numbers used to display the game progress in the second virtual organization are marked in red).
Berger and Zhao are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of online videogames containing interactions with virtual objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a computer-assisted method, as disclosed by Berger as previously modified by Abecassis and Atsumi, further including a progress indication element as taught by Zhao for the purpose of being able to check the progress of the game at any time (Zhao, [0098]).
Regarding Claim 3, Berger discloses generating a countdown element in response to the survival status of the enemy virtual objects in at least one battle area satisfying a preset survival condition, the countdown element being based on a remaining duration from a current moment to an end of a virtual battle; and determining the virtual battle result in response to the end of a countdown indicated by the countdown element ([0068] In an embodiment, the defeat conditions (preset survival conditions) include: death of the player characters by the invading forces, death of one or more particular player characters, death of one or more player characters of the host, failure of one or more objectives, failure to defeat the invasion within a time limit (determine battle result at the end of a countdown), and so forth).
However, Berger, as previously modified by Abecassis and Atsumi, is not relied upon disclosing the countdown element being based on a remaining duration from a current moment to an end of a virtual battle; and determining the virtual battle result in response to the end of a countdown indicated by the countdown element.
Zhao teaches a countdown element being based on a remaining duration from a current moment to an end of a virtual battle ([00180] As shown in FIG. 4, a countdown component 216 can be displayed in the upper middle of the first display area 210, and the countdown component 216 is used to display the remaining time of the game); and determining the virtual battle result in response to the end of a countdown indicated by the countdown element ([00180] If after the end of the game time, no virtual object of a virtual organization has reached the end point of the preset route, then compare the distance between the final position of each virtual object and the end point of the preset route after the countdown. The side that gets closer to the finish line wins (determining a virtual battle result)).
Berger and Zhao are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of online videogames containing interactions with virtual objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a computer-assisted method, as disclosed by Berger as previously modified by Abecassis and Atsumi, further including a countdown element being based on a remaining duration from a current moment to an end of a virtual battle and determining the virtual battle result in response to the end of a countdown indicated by the countdown element as taught by Zhao for the purpose of being able to display the remaining time of the game (Zhao, [00180]).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al. (US 2016/0008722 A1), in view of Atsumi et al. (US 2002/0045470 A1), and in further view of de Plater et al. (US 2016/0279522 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Berger discloses determining an attribute value of the enemy virtual object in response to the enemy virtual object in the first battle area being hit by the attack operation ([0021] For example, the game instance may track the current position of the player and non-player characters, current attributes of the characters (e.g. health, action points, stamina, mana, status effects, etc.), current object states, and so forth (determining an attribute value)); and adding the enemy virtual object in the second battle area in response to the attribute value of the enemy virtual object satisfying an elimination condition ([0071] In some embodiments, when the nemesis is defeated, the nemesis record associated with the active account in the account database 106 is removed to prevent the nemesis from being regenerated in another invasion…In other embodiments, the “zombified” version of the nemesis may instead invade another player account, such as one of the previously defeated player accounts, rather than the active account).
However, Berger, as previously modified by Atsumi, is not relied upon disclosing determining an attribute value of the enemy virtual object in response to the enemy virtual object in the first battle area being hit by the attack operation.
De Plater teaches determining an attribute value of the enemy virtual object in response to the enemy virtual object in the first battle area being hit by the attack operation ([0062] For example, the power parameter may be used by the combat module to determine a rate at which the nemesis loses health (attribute value) when attacked, or a rate at which the nemesis causes a player avatar or another character to lose health, when the nemesis is attacking, [0135] Non-player character traits may include fear weaknesses that may be used by the game engine to cause the nemesis flee “in terror” from certain attacks).
Berger and de Plater are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of design and operation of video games for operation in a computer and/or gaming console. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a computer-assisted method, as disclosed by Berger as previously modified by Atsumi, further determining an attribute value of the enemy virtual object in response to the enemy virtual object in the first battle area being hit by the attack operation as taught by de Plater for the purpose of determining the rate at which attributes of enemies and/or players change, such as how quickly they lose health (de Plater, [0062]).
Regarding Claim 14, Berger discloses determining an attribute value of the enemy virtual object in response to the enemy virtual object in the first battle area being hit by the attack operation ([0021] For example, the game instance may track the current position of the player and non-player characters, current attributes of the characters (e.g. health, action points, stamina, mana, status effects, etc.), current object states, and so forth); and adding the enemy virtual object in the second battle area in response to the attribute value of the enemy virtual object satisfying an elimination condition ([0071] In some embodiments, when the nemesis is defeated, the nemesis record associated with the active account in the account database 106 is removed to prevent the nemesis from being regenerated in another invasion…In other embodiments, the “zombified” version of the nemesis may instead invade another player account, such as one of the previously defeated player accounts, rather than the active account).
However, Berger is not relied upon disclosing determining an attribute value of the enemy virtual object in response to the enemy virtual object in the first battle area being hit by the attack operation.
De Plater teaches determining an attribute value of the enemy virtual object in response to the enemy virtual object in the first battle area being hit by the attack operation ([0062] For example, the power parameter may be used by the combat module to determine a rate at which the nemesis loses health (attribute value) when attacked, or a rate at which the nemesis causes a player avatar or another character to lose health, when the nemesis is attacking, [0135] Non-player character traits may include fear weaknesses that may be used by the game engine to cause the nemesis flee “in terror” from certain attacks).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al. (US 2016/0008722 A1), in view of Atsumi et al. (US 2002/0045470 A1), and in further view of Hiroyuki (JP 2021-159091 A).
Regarding Claim 5, Berger discloses counting an elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area to obtain an elimination count result corresponding to the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([0069] If there are multiple players connected to the same game instance, the invasion may also be scaled based on the number of players (count or counting)); and adding an additional enemy virtual object in the second battle area and resetting the elimination count result, in response to the elimination count result reaching a first quantity threshold ([0018] However, in the event that the second account is defeated by the nemesis invasion, a third account is selected to be invaded by the computer-controlled nemesis and the process repeats until the nemesis invasion is defeated or until a threshold number of players have been defeated).
However, Berger is not relied upon disclosing counting an elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area to obtain an elimination count result corresponding to the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area.
Hiroyuki teaches counting an elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area to obtain an elimination count result corresponding to the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([00225] It manages the event-related parameter that counts the number of defeated enemy characters that appeared in the virtual space).
Berger and Hiroyuki are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of group battle games. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of a computer-assisted method, as disclosed by Berger, further including counting an elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area to obtain an elimination count result corresponding to the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area as taught by Hiroyuki for the purpose of allowing the game management unit to execute the event at a plurality of points in the virtual space (Hiroyuki, [00221]-[00226]).
Regarding Claim 15, The computer readable media according to claim 12, further comprising:
counting an elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area to obtain an elimination count result corresponding to the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([0069] If there are multiple players connected to the same game instance, the invasion may also be scaled based on the number of players (count or counting)); and
adding an additional enemy virtual object in the second battle area and resetting the elimination count result, in response to the elimination count result reaching a predetermined quantity threshold ([0018] However, in the event that the second account is defeated by the nemesis invasion, a third account is selected to be invaded by the computer-controlled nemesis and the process repeats until the nemesis invasion is defeated or until a threshold number of players have been defeated).
However, Berger is not relied upon disclosing counting an elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area to obtain an elimination count result corresponding to the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area.
Hiroyuki teaches counting an elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area to obtain an elimination count result corresponding to the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([00225] It manages the event-related parameter that counts the number of defeated enemy characters that appeared in the virtual space).
Claims 6-11, 13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al. (US 2016/0008722 A1), in view of Atsumi et al. (US 2002/0045470 A1), and in further view of Abecassis (US 2021/0213361 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Berger is not relied upon disclosing generating a point redemption interface, the point redemption interface comprising a plurality of candidate redemption options, the candidate redemption options being used for obtaining match attribute effects by redeeming points, and the points being acquired by eliminating the enemy virtual objects; and redeeming, in response to receiving a triggering operation on a first redemption option, acquired points to obtain a first attribute effect corresponding to the first redemption option, the first attribute effect being used for generating a first buff effect on the enemy virtual objects.
Abecassis teaches generating a point redemption interface, the point redemption interface comprising a plurality of candidate redemption options, the candidate redemption options being used for obtaining match attribute effects by redeeming points, and the points being acquired by eliminating the enemy virtual objects ([0047] Gold (analogous to points) can also be earned from interest on the number of gold generators in the player's possession. Gold can be used to purchase more champions from the store or to buy experience points to level up faster. The store can show a randomized list of available champions that the player can purchase with the player's gold. The player can also spend gold to refresh the store, which provides a new list of purchasable champions); and redeeming, in response to receiving a triggering operation on a first redemption option, acquired points to obtain a first attribute effect corresponding to the first redemption option, the first attribute effect being used for generating a first buff effect on the enemy virtual objects ([0037] Throughout the game, the player's team can become more powerful as the player drafts champions that share origins and classes to unlock trait bonuses, [0038] Items can be combined at various stages of the game (e.g., planning stage, battling stage), [0052] To purchase a champion from store 115, the champion can be dragged onto bench 110, [0056] Each champion has an origin and a potential class bonus for which the champion can be qualified, [0067] While item 215 hovers over champion 220, a small information (or preview) window 225 can be displayed. Information window 225 can contain equipped item data such as item statistics (e.g., damage, weapon and/or armor bonus, item name, item type, item bonus, combination bonus), description, and effects when equipped by the character over which item 215 is hovering. The equipped item data can be the same regardless of the champion's class and/or origin).
Regarding Claim 7, Berger discloses adding a target enemy virtual object in the first battle area based on the first buff effect in response to an enemy virtual object being eliminated by the second virtual object in the second battle area, an attribute value of the target enemy virtual object corresponding to the first buff effect ([0071] For example, after a first defeat the attributes of the nemesis may be modified and the model changed to an “undead” or "zombified” (first buff) version of the nemesis to re-invade again at a future point in time… In other embodiments, the “zombified” version of the nemesis may instead invade another player account (adding target enemy virtual object to first battle area), such as one of the previously defeated player accounts, rather than the active account).
Regarding Claim 8, Berger is not relied upon disclosing redeeming, in response to receiving a triggering operation on a second redemption option, acquired points to obtain a second attribute effect corresponding to the second redemption option, the second attribute effect being used for generating a second buff effect on the first virtual object.
Abecassis teaches redeeming, in response to receiving a triggering operation on a second redemption option, acquired points to obtain a second attribute effect corresponding to the second redemption option, the second attribute effect being used for generating a second buff effect on the first virtual object ([0068] After quickly hovering item 215 over various champions, the user can determine which type of special power or effect is desired for the champion. As shown, once champion 220 is equipped with item 215, champion will gain the ability of “Rapid Firecannon” with +20 damage and/or defense bonuses (e.g., 50% chance of a counter-attack), for example. In addition, champion 220 attacks cannot be dodged by the opposing team. If this is the desired effect/power, the user can simply drop item 215 over champion 220, and champion 200 will be instantly upgraded as described in the equipped item data).
Regarding Claim 9, Berger is not relied upon disclosing redeeming, in response to receiving a triggering operation on a third redemption option, acquired points to obtain a third attribute effect corresponding to the third redemption option, the third attribute effect being used for generating an attribute debuff effect on the second virtual object.
Abecassis teaches redeeming, in response to receiving a triggering operation on a third redemption option, acquired points to obtain a third attribute effect corresponding to the third redemption option, the third attribute effect being used for generating an attribute debuff effect on the second virtual object (Fig. 4 Frozen Heart (item combination of Elements 410 and 423) “Adjacent enemies lose 20% AS” This is a debuff impacting AS, where AS is attack speed; [0038] to create new in-game items… Items can be combined at various stages of the game (e.g., planning stage, battling stage)).
Regarding Claim 10, Berger is not relied upon disclosing determining a redemption point acquisition rate in response to that a survival quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area reaches a second quantity threshold; and acquiring the redemption points based on the redemption point acquisition rate.
Abecassis teaches determining a redemption point acquisition rate in response to that a survival quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area reaches a second quantity threshold ([0047] At the end of each round, each player earns some gold based at least on the player's performance (e.g., number of champions survived, number of damage inflicted, winning streak, losing streak)); and acquiring the redemption points based on the redemption point acquisition rate ([0047] Gold can also be earned from interest on the number of gold generators in the player's possession).
Regarding Claim 11, Berger discloses adding a combined virtual object in the second battle area in response to the elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area reaching a third quantity threshold, wherein an attribute value of the combined virtual object corresponds to a sum of attribute values of the eliminated enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([0073] Thus, as more players fall victim to the nemesis, the nemesis becomes more and more powerful. As a result, the game server 104 may start with the characteristics of the invading nemesis and scale those characteristics based on the number of defeated players (sum of attribute values of eliminated virtual objects)).
However, Berger is not relied upon disclosing adding a combined virtual object in the second battle area in response to virtual objects in the first battle area reaching a third quantity threshold.
Abecassis teaches adding a combined virtual object in the second battle area in response to virtual objects in the first battle area reaching a third quantity threshold ([0051] For example, during the planning stage, the player can buy one or more new characters (e.g., Zed, a ninja assassin). If the player has three of the same champion (Zed), an automatic character boost (sum of attribute values) will occur. Three (quantity threshold) normal or one-star level Zeds will become a two-star level Zed (combined virtual object). Similarly, three two-star level Zeds will be combined to create a three-star level Zed. In another example, if there are two one-star level Lucians (a gun slinger) on bench 110 and the player purchases another Lucian from store 115, then the three one-star level Lucians will create a two-star level Lucian).
Regarding Claim 13, Berger discloses wherein the adding comprises: determining a progress indication element, the progress indication element being responsive to and based on a survival status of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([0021] the game instance may track the current position of the player and non-player characters, current attributes of the characters (e.g. health, action points, stamina, mana, status effects, etc.), current object states, and so forth).
However, Berger is not relied upon disclosing a progress indication element based on a survival status of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area and updating the progress indication element based on a change in the survival status of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area.
Abecassis teaches a progress indication element based on a survival status of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([0058] Scoreboard 130 displays all of the players competing in the current game along with players statistics such as scores and health (survival status)); and updating the progress indication element based on a change in the survival status of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([0047] At the end of each round, each player earns some gold based at least on the player's performance (e.g., number of champions survived, number of damage inflicted, winning streak, losing streak), [0059] A battle is over once all champions of a team are defeated or one of the players surrendered).
Regarding Claim 16, Berger is not relied upon disclosing generating a point redemption interface, the point redemption interface comprising a plurality of candidate redemption options, the candidate redemption options being used for obtaining match attribute effects by redeeming points, and the points being acquired by eliminating the enemy virtual objects; and redeeming, in response to receiving a triggering operation on a first redemption option, acquired points to obtain a first attribute effect corresponding to the first redemption option, the first attribute effect being used for generating a first buff effect on the enemy virtual objects.
Abecassis teaches
generating a point redemption interface, the point redemption interface comprising a plurality of candidate redemption options, the candidate redemption options being used for obtaining match attribute effects by redeeming points, and the points being acquired by eliminating the enemy virtual objects ([0047] Gold (analogous to points) can also be earned from interest on the number of gold generators in the player's possession. Gold can be used to purchase more champions from the store or to buy experience points to level up faster. The store can show a randomized list of available champions that the player can purchase with the player's gold. The player can also spend gold to refresh the store, which provides a new list of purchasable champions); and
redeeming, in response to receiving a triggering operation on a first redemption option, acquired points to obtain a first attribute effect corresponding to the first redemption option, the first attribute effect being used for generating a first buff effect on the enemy virtual objects ([0037] Throughout the game, the player's team can become more powerful as the player drafts champions that share origins and classes to unlock trait bonuses, [0038] Items can be combined at various stages of the game (e.g., planning stage, battling stage), [0052] To purchase a champion from store 115, the champion can be dragged onto bench 110, [0056] Each champion has an origin and a potential class bonus for which the champion can be qualified, [0067] While item 215 hovers over champion 220, a small information (or preview) window 225 can be displayed. Information window 225 can contain equipped item data such as item statistics (e.g., damage, weapon and/or armor bonus, item name, item type, item bonus, combination bonus), description, and effects when equipped by the character over which item 215 is hovering. The equipped item data can be the same regardless of the champion's class and/or origin).
Regarding Claim 17, Berger is not relied upon disclosing redeeming, in response to receiving a triggering operation on a second redemption option, acquired points to obtain a second attribute effect corresponding to the second redemption option, the second attribute effect being used for generating an attribute debuff effect on the second virtual object.
Abecassis teaches redeeming, in response to receiving a triggering operation on a second redemption option, acquired points to obtain a second attribute effect corresponding to the second redemption option, the second attribute effect being used for generating a second buff effect on the first virtual object ([0068] After quickly hovering item 215 over various champions, the user can determine which type of special power or effect is desired for the champion. As shown, once champion 220 is equipped with item 215, champion will gain the ability of “Rapid Firecannon” with +20 damage and/or defense bonuses (e.g., 50% chance of a counter-attack), for example. In addition, champion 220 attacks cannot be dodged by the opposing team. If this is the desired effect/power, the user can simply drop item 215 over champion 220, and champion 200 will be instantly upgraded as described in the equipped item data).
Regarding Claim 18, Berger is not relied upon disclosing adding a combined virtual object in the second battle area in response to the elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area reaching a predetermined quantity threshold, wherein an attribute value of the combined virtual object corresponds to a sum of attribute values of the eliminated enemy virtual objects in the first battle area.
Abecassis teaches adding a combined virtual object in the second battle area in response to the elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area reaching a predetermined quantity threshold, wherein an attribute value of the combined virtual object corresponds to a sum of attribute values of the eliminated enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([0051] For example, during the planning stage, the player can buy one or more new characters (e.g., Zed, a ninja assassin). If the player has three of the same champion (Zed), an automatic character boost (sum of attribute values) will occur. Three normal or one-star level Zeds will become a two-star level Zed (combined virtual object). Similarly, three two-star level Zeds will be combined to create a three-star level Zed. In another example, if there are two one-star level Lucians (a gun slinger) on bench 110 and the player purchases another Lucian from store 115, then the three one-star level Lucians will create a two-star level Lucian).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al. (US 2016/0008722 A1), in view of Atsumi et al. (US 2002/0045470 A1), in view of Hiroyuki (JP 2021-159091 A), and in further view of Abecassis (US 2021/0213361 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Berger discloses wherein the virtual object control method comprises:
counting an elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area to obtain an elimination count result corresponding to the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([0069] If there are multiple players connected to the same game instance, the invasion may also be scaled based on the number of players (count or counting)); and
adding an additional enemy virtual object in the second battle area and resetting the elimination count result, in response to the elimination count result reaching a first quantity threshold ([0018] However, in the event that the second account is defeated by the nemesis invasion, a third account is selected to be invaded by the computer-controlled nemesis and the process repeats until the nemesis invasion is defeated or until a threshold number of players have been defeated).
However, Berger, as previously modified by Atsumi, is not relied upon disclosing counting an elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area to obtain an elimination count result corresponding to the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area; adding a combined virtual object in the second battle area in response to the elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area reaching a second quantity threshold, wherein an attribute value of the combined virtual object corresponds to a sum of attribute values of the eliminated enemy virtual objects in the first battle area; generating a point redemption interface, the point redemption interface comprising a plurality of candidate redemption options, the candidate redemption options being used for obtaining match attribute effects by redeeming points, and the points being acquired by eliminating the enemy virtual objects; and redeeming, in response to receiving a triggering operation on a first redemption option, acquired points to obtain a first attribute effect corresponding to the first redemption option, the first attribute effect being used for generating a first buff effect on the enemy virtual objects.
Hiroyuki teaches counting an elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area to obtain an elimination count result corresponding to the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([00225] It manages the event-related parameter that counts the number of defeated enemy characters that appeared in the virtual space).
However, Hiroyuki is not relied upon teaching adding a combined virtual object in the second battle area in response to the elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area reaching a second quantity threshold, wherein an attribute value of the combined virtual object corresponds to a sum of attribute values of the eliminated enemy virtual objects in the first battle area; generating a point redemption interface, the point redemption interface comprising a plurality of candidate redemption options, the candidate redemption options being used for obtaining match attribute effects by redeeming points, and the points being acquired by eliminating the enemy virtual objects; and redeeming, in response to receiving a triggering operation on a first redemption option, acquired points to obtain a first attribute effect corresponding to the first redemption option, the first attribute effect being used for generating a first buff effect on the enemy virtual objects.
Abecassis teaches
adding a combined virtual object in the second battle area in response to the elimination quantity of the enemy virtual objects in the first battle area reaching a second quantity threshold, wherein an attribute value of the combined virtual object corresponds to a sum of attribute values of the eliminated enemy virtual objects in the first battle area ([0051] For example, during the planning stage, the player can buy one or more new characters (e.g., Zed, a ninja assassin). If the player has three of the same champion (Zed), an automatic character boost (sum of attribute values) will occur. Three (quantity threshold) normal or one-star level Zeds will become a two-star level Zed (combined virtual object). Similarly, three two-star level Zeds will be combined to create a three-star level Zed. In another example, if there are two one-star level Lucians (a gun slinger) on bench 110 and the player purchases another Lucian from store 115, then the three one-star level Lucians will create a two-star level Lucian);
generating a point redemption interface, the point redemption interface comprising a plurality of candidate redemption options, the candidate redemption options being used for obtaining match attribute effects by redeeming points, and the points being acquired by eliminating the enemy virtual objects ([0047] Gold (analogous to points) can also be earned from interest on the number of gold generators in the player's possession. Gold can be used to purchase more champions from the store or to buy experience points to level up faster. The store can show a randomized list of available champions that the player can purchase with the player's gold. The player can also spend gold to refresh the store, which provides a new list of purchasable champions); and
redeeming, in rese to receiving a triggering operation on a first redemption option, acquired points to obtain a first attribute effect corresponding to the first redemption option, the first attribute effect being used for generating a first buff effect on the enemy virtual objects ([0037] Throughout the game, the player's team can become more powerful as the player drafts champions that share origins and classes to unlock trait bonuses, [0038] Items can be combined at various stages of the game (e.g., planning stage, battling stage), [0052] To purchase a champion from store 115, the champion can be dragged onto bench 110, [0056] Each champion has an origin and a potential class bonus for which the champion can be qualified, [0067] While item 215 hovers over champion 220, a small information (or preview) window 225 can be displayed. Information window 225 can contain equipped item data such as item statistics (e.g., damage, weapon and/or armor bonus, item name, item type, item bonus, combination bonus), description, and effects when equipped by the character over which item 215 is hovering. The equipped item data can be the same regardless of the champion's class and/or origin).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kislyi et al. (US 2013/0310181 A1) is in the field of methods and systems for performing smart matchmaking in a massive multiplayer online game (Abstract).
Dong (US 2018/0296920 A1) is in the field of an interactive system that enables two or more players to prepare for and engage in a battle on a common battle ground (Abstract).
Suzuki (US 2015/0238862 A1) is in the field of teaches a game control method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable recording medium for providing a battle game over a network (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT J UTAMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715
1 Examiner notes that claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for failing Step 1 as discussed above for being directed to non-statutory subject matter. This rejection under steps 2A and 2B for being directed to ineligible subject matter is included herein for the sake of compact prosecution, assuming the Applicant(s) amends the claims to overcome Step 1.