DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending and currently under review.
Claim Interpretation
The term “normal pressure” is interpreted to refer to atmospheric pressure as expressly defined in [0053 instant spec.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the term “valuable metals”, which is indefinite because “valuable” is a relative term of degree which is not further defined in the specification or claims. It is unclear whether “valuable” requires some particular monetary value, or whether it refers to specific metals having a particular use or application, or something else entirely. The examiner interprets the aforementioned term to be met by vanadium as further claimed or any other metal that would be considered to have at least some degree of value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, and alternatively under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN104630483, machine translation referred to herein) alone or further evidenced by Park et al. (KR20090132462, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. discloses a method for leaching vanadium from waste (ie. spent) catalysts [0002, 0009]; wherein said method includes a step of crushing said waste catalysts which meets the claimed preparation step, followed by leaching with sodium hydroxide at 80 degrees C [0024]. The examiner notes that the disclosure of Zhang et al. falls within the claimed range. Zhang et al. does not expressly teach a leaching pressure or the use of specialized pressure vessels/devices, such that one of ordinary skill would understand that leaching is performed at normal, atmospheric temperature as claimed.
Alternatively, Zhang et al. also teaches a broad method of crushing which meets the claimed preparation step, followed by leaching with an alkali such as sodium hydroxide at 80 to 120 degrees C, which overlaps with the claimed range [0011-0012, 0016]. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Zhang et al. does not expressly teach a leaching pressure or the use of specialized pressure vessels/devices, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize normal, atmospheric pressure absent a specific teaching to the contrary because normal, atmospheric pressure is the natural, ambient condition which does not require any further tooling/considerations.
Zhang et al. further does not expressly teach inorganic compounds of VO3 as claimed. However, as evidenced by Park et al., sodium hydroxide leaching of vanadium catalysts naturally results in solutionizing of vanadium in the form of NaVO3 [p.5]. Therefore, VO3 compounds would have naturally been expected to be present in the disclosure of Zhang et al. as evidenced by Park et al.
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Zhang et al. further teaches stirring during leaching [0012]. Alternatively, the examiner submits that stirring during leaching is well-known and would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill would readily understand that stirring serves to increase reaction rates.
Regarding claim 4, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Zhang et al. further teaches addition of an oxidant during leaching such as KClO3 or NaClO3, which includes oxygen [0012, 0017, 0025].
Regarding claim 5, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Zhang et al. further does not teach any steps between crushing and leaching that are performed at temperatures of 100 degrees C or greater, which one of ordinary skill would readily understand to mean that such steps are absent and not performed as claimed.
Regarding claims 6-7, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Zhang et al. further teaches a precipitation step of obtaining ammonium metavanadate by adding ammonium chloride, which meets the limitation of a VO3 compound [0013, 0025].
Regarding claim 9, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). Zhang et al. further teaches calcining to obtain vanadium pentoxide, which one of ordinary skill would understand to meet the limitation of oxidation because ammonium metavanadate is oxidized to form vanadium pentoxide [0015, 0027].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN104630483, machine translation referred to herein) alone or evidenced by Park et al. (KR20090132462, machine translation referred to herein) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Xia et al. (CN112981113, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 3, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 2 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach a NaOH concentration as claimed. Xia et al. discloses a method of recovering V from waste catalysts [0002]; wherein NaOH can be utilized for alkaline leaching in a concentration of 5 to 40 percent [0014, 0020]. The examiner notes that all of the claimed feature are disclosed in the prior art, although not necessarily in a single reference, wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to arrive at the predictable result of a catalyst recycling method of Zhang et al., wherein a specific NaOH concentration range is disclosed by Xia et al. to be applicable to alkaline leaching for V as taught above. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The examiner notes that the overlap between the NaOH range of Xia et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN104630483, machine translation referred to herein) alone or evidenced by Park et al. (KR20090132462, machine translation referred to herein) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hao et al. (CN103789550, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 8, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 6 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach that ammonium chloride is produced by addition of hydrochloric acid to ammonia produced from oxidation and further reused as claimed. Hao et al. discloses a method of recovering vanadium from spent catalysts [0002]; wherein V precipitation is performed with ammonium chloride and produced ammonia gas is absorbed by hydrochloric acid to product ammonium chloride which is further recycled to the precipitation process [0023, 0025]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by performing the steps of Hao et al. such that ammonium chloride can be recycled as taught by Hao et al.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN104630483, machine translation referred to herein) alone or evidenced by Park et al. (KR20090132462, machine translation referred to herein) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Park et al. above.
Regarding claim 10, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 6 (see previous). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach recover of Ni, Al, or Mo as claimed. Park et al. further teaches that Ni, Al, and/or Mo can be recovered along with V, which would naturally happen after the precipitation step as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill [p.8-9].
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734