DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 13, 16, 17, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ku et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2009/0116623) in view of Philbin (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2017/0289350).
Consider claim 1; Ku discloses an emergency call method, applied to a mobile terminal, comprising:
in a case of receiving an input of a first emergency call by a user to a first number (e.g. emergency contact destination devices) [par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”], sending a SIP message of the first emergency call to an IMS network [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”], wherein
a header field of the SIP message comprises first information [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”], the first information comprises a number of at least one emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”], and the number of the emergency contact is used as a called target (e.g. emergency contact destination device) [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”], so as to continue to initiate an emergency call after the first emergency call [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”].
Ku discloses the claimed invention except: after the first emergency call is ended, continuing to initiate an emergency call to the number of at least one emergency contact;
in a process of continuing to initiate an emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact parsed, calls are initiated one by one according to a preset priority of the at least one emergency contact.
In an analogous art Philbin discloses after the first emergency call is ended [“…based on the emergency contact information in the profile 240, use the communication network 180…to facilitate transmission of a text message (e.g. to the user’s son, David) and/or placing an automated phone call to the selected emergency contact’s phone.” (par. 101, lines 1-6)], continuing to initiate an emergency call to the number of at least one emergency contact [“…the PERS 100 may attempt to contact specific emergency contacts one at a time (e.g. in order of priority) …” (par. 101, lines 11-13)];
in a process of continuing to initiate an emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact parsed [“…the PERS 100 may attempt to contact specific emergency contacts one at a time (e.g. in order of priority) …” (par. 101, lines 11-13)], calls are initiated one by one according to a preset priority of the at least one emergency contact [“…the PERS 100 may attempt to contact specific emergency contacts one at a time (e.g. in order of priority) …” (par. 101, lines 11-13)].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Philbin’s invention to provide an emergency response. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ku by including emergency call priority, as taught by Philbin, for the purpose of improving an alert system.
Consider claim 4, as applied in claim 1; Ku discloses sending a short message to the first number and/or the number of the at least one emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”], and/or sending an emergency message by using the instant messaging software to the target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software, wherein the short message or the emergency message is used for prompting that the user of the mobile terminal is in an emergency [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”].
Consider claim 5; Ku discloses an emergency call method, applied to a network side device, comprising:
receiving a SIP message of a first emergency call sent by a mobile terminal [par. 53, lines 4-7, “The computer system 1100 can also be implemented as or incorporated into various devices, such as … a mobile device…”] [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”], wherein a header field of the SIP message comprises first information [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”], and the first information comprises a number of at least one emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”]; and
after the first emergency call is ended [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”], continuing to initiate an emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact parsed from the first information [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”].
Ku discloses the claimed invention except: in a process of continuing to initiate an emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact parsed, calls are initiated one by one according to a preset priority of the at least one emergency contact.
In an analogous art Philbin discloses in a process of continuing to initiate an emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact parsed [“…the PERS 100 may attempt to contact specific emergency contacts one at a time (e.g. in order of priority) …” (par. 101, lines 11-13)], calls are initiated one by one according to a preset priority of the at least one emergency contact [“…the PERS 100 may attempt to contact specific emergency contacts one at a time (e.g. in order of priority) …” (par. 101, lines 11-13)].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Philbin’s invention to provide an emergency response. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ku by including emergency call priority, as taught by Philbin, for the purpose of improving an alert system.
Consider claim 7; Ku discloses a mobile terminal [par. 53, lines 4-7, “The computer system 1100 can also be implemented as or incorporated into various devices, such as … a mobile device…”], comprising a processor [par. 54, lines 1-2, “…the computer system 1100 may include a processor…”], a memory [par. 54, line 4, “…the computer system 1100 can include a main memory 1104…”], and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], wherein the program or instructions [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], when executed by the processor [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], causes the mobile terminal [par. 53, lines 4-7, “The computer system 1100 can also be implemented as or incorporated into various devices, such as … a mobile device…”] to perform:
in a case of receiving an input of a first emergency call by a user to a first number (e.g. emergency contact destination devices) [par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”], sending a SIP message of the first emergency call to an IMS network [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”], wherein
a header field of the SIP message comprises first information [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”], the first information comprises a number of at least one emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”], and the number of the emergency contact is used as a called target (e.g. emergency contact destination device) [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”], so as to continue to initiate an emergency call after the first emergency call [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”].
Ku discloses the claimed invention except: after the first emergency call is ended, continuing to initiate an emergency call to the number of at least one emergency contact;
in a process of continuing to initiate an emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact parsed, calls are initiated one by one according to a preset priority of the at least one emergency contact.
In an analogous art Philbin discloses after the first emergency call is ended [“…based on the emergency contact information in the profile 240, use the communication network 180…to facilitate transmission of a text message (e.g. to the user’s son, David) and/or placing an automated phone call to the selected emergency contact’s phone.” (par. 101, lines 1-6)], continuing to initiate an emergency call to the number of at least one emergency contact [“…the PERS 100 may attempt to contact specific emergency contacts one at a time (e.g. in order of priority) …” (par. 101, lines 11-13)];
in a process of continuing to initiate an emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact parsed [“…the PERS 100 may attempt to contact specific emergency contacts one at a time (e.g. in order of priority) …” (par. 101, lines 11-13)], calls are initiated one by one according to a preset priority of the at least one emergency contact [“…the PERS 100 may attempt to contact specific emergency contacts one at a time (e.g. in order of priority) …” (par. 101, lines 11-13)].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Philbin’s invention to provide an emergency response. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ku by including emergency call priority, as taught by Philbin, for the purpose of improving an alert system.
Consider claim 10, as applied in claim 7; Ku discloses sending a short message to the first number and/or the number of the at least one emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”], and/or sending an emergency message by using the instant messaging software to the target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software, wherein the short message or the emergency message is used for prompting that the user of the mobile terminal is in an emergency [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”].
Consider claim 11, as applied in claim 5; Ku discloses a network side device [par. 53, lines 1-3, “…the computer system may operate in the capacity of a …network management system…”], comprising a processor [par. 54, lines 1-2, “…the computer system 1100 may include a processor…”], a memory [par. 54, line 4, “…the computer system 1100 can include a main memory 1104…”], and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], wherein the program or instructions [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], when executed by the processor [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], implement the steps of the emergency call method according to claim 5 [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”].
Consider claim 13, as applied in claim 1; Ku discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium [par. 55, lines 10-11, “The main memory 1104 and the processor 1102 also may include computer-readable media.”], storing a program or instructions [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], wherein the program or instructions [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], when executed by a processor of a mobile terminal [par. 53, lines 4-7, “The computer system 1100 can also be implemented as or incorporated into various devices, such as … a mobile device…;” par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], implement the method according to claim 1 [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”].
Consider claim 16, as applied in claim 13; Ku discloses sending a short message to the first number and/or the number of the at least one emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”], and/or sending an emergency message by using the instant messaging software to the target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software, wherein the short message or the emergency message is used for prompting that the user of the mobile terminal is in an emergency [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”].
Consider claim 17, as applied in claim 5; Ku discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium [par. 55, lines 10-11, “The main memory 1104 and the processor 1102 also may include computer-readable media.”], storing a program or instructions [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], wherein the program or instructions [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], when executed by a processor of a network side device [par. 53, lines 1-3, “…the computer system may operate in the capacity of a …network management system…”], implement the method according to claim 5 [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”].
Consider claim 19, as applied in claim 1; Ku discloses a chip [par. 54, lines 1-3, “…the computer system 1100 may include a processor 1102 e.g. a central processing unit (CPU)…”], comprising a processor and a communication interface [par. 54, lines 1-6, “…the computer system 1100 may include a processor 1102 e.g. a central processing unit (CPU)…the computer system can include a main memory 1104 and a static memory 1106, which can communicate with each other via a bus 1108”], wherein the communication interface is coupled to the processor [par. 54, lines 1-6, “…the computer system 1100 may include a processor 1102 e.g. a central processing unit (CPU)…the computer system can include a main memory 1104 and a static memory 1106, which can communicate with each other via a bus 1108”], and the processor is configured to run a program or instructions to implement the method according to claim 1 [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”].
Consider claim 20, as applied in claim 1; Ku discloses a computer program product [par. 55, lines 1-4, “…the disk drive unit 1116 may include a computer-readable medium 1122 in which one or more sets of instructions 1124, e.g. software, can be embedded.”], stored in a non-volatile storage medium [par. 55, lines 1-4, “…the disk drive unit 1116 may include a computer-readable medium 1122 in which one or more sets of instructions 1124, e.g. software, can be embedded.”], wherein the program product [par. 55, lines 1-4, “…the disk drive unit 1116 may include a computer-readable medium 1122 in which one or more sets of instructions 1124, e.g. software, can be embedded.”], when executed by at least one processor [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], implements the method according to claim 1 [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”].
Claims 2, 3, 6, 8, 9, 12, 14, 15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ku et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2009/0116623) in view of Philbin (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2017/0289350) in view of Shurtz (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2016/0379470).
Consider claim 2, as applied in claim 1; Ku and Philbin disclose the claimed invention except: in a case of receiving call failure information sent by the IMS network, initiating an IP network call by using instant messaging software to a target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software, wherein the call failure information is used for indicating that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails.
In an analogous art Shurtz discloses in a case of receiving call failure information sent by the IMS network [par. 73, lines 92-95, “… a similar scheme may also be implemented in… IMS…networks… for handing emergency call failures.”], initiating an IP network call by using instant messaging software to a target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software [par. 67, lines 84-95, “…the call failure notification message…may be forwarded to…private entities…using Instant Messaging (IM)…”], wherein the call failure information is used for indicating that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails [par. 67, lines 73-78, “…a call failure notification message operative to indicate that an emergency service call has failed…”].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Philbin’s invention to provide an emergency response. It is an object of Shurtz’s invention to mitigate emergency call failures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ku and Philbin by including call failures, as taught by Shurtz, for the purpose of efficiently providing services in a wireless network.
Consider claim 3, as applied in claim 2; Ku discloses according to the number of the emergency contact [par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”], querying from all instant messaging software on the mobile terminal for target accounts associated with the number of the emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”]; and according to priorities of the instant messaging software [par. 32, lines 11-12, “The URI 308 may have associated order 314 and preference data 316;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”], calling all the target accounts one by one [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”].
Consider claim 6, as applied in claim 5; Ku and Philbin disclose the claimed invention except: in a case that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails, sending call failure information to the mobile terminal.
In an analogous art Shurtz discloses in a case that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails [par. 67, lines 73-78, “…a call failure notification message operative to indicate that an emergency service call has failed…”], sending call failure information to the mobile terminal [par. 67, lines 84-95, “…the call failure notification message…may be forwarded to…private entities…using Instant Messaging (IM)…”].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Philbin’s invention to provide an emergency response. It is an object of Shurtz’s invention to mitigate emergency call failures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ku and Philbin by including call failures, as taught by Shurtz, for the purpose of efficiently providing services in a wireless network.
Consider claim 8, as applied in claim 7; Ku and Philbin disclose the claimed invention except: in a case of receiving call failure information sent by the IMS network, initiating an IP network call by using instant messaging software to a target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software, wherein the call failure information is used for indicating that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails.
In an analogous art Shurtz discloses in a case of receiving call failure information sent by the IMS network [par. 73, lines 92-95, “… a similar scheme may also be implemented in… IMS…networks… for handing emergency call failures.”], initiating an IP network call by using instant messaging software to a target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software [par. 67, lines 84-95, “…the call failure notification message…may be forwarded to…private entities…using Instant Messaging (IM)…”], wherein the call failure information is used for indicating that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails [par. 67, lines 73-78, “…a call failure notification message operative to indicate that an emergency service call has failed…”].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Philbin’s invention to provide an emergency response. It is an object of Shurtz’s invention to mitigate emergency call failures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ku and Philbin by including call failures, as taught by Shurtz, for the purpose of efficiently providing services in a wireless network.
Consider claim 9, as applied in claim 8; Ku discloses according to the number of the emergency contact [par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”], querying from all instant messaging software on the mobile terminal for target accounts associated with the number of the emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”]; and according to priorities of the instant messaging software [par. 32, lines 11-12, “The URI 308 may have associated order 314 and preference data 316;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”], calling all the target accounts one by one [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”].
Consider claim 12, as applied in claim 11; Ku and Philbin disclose the claimed invention except: in a case that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails, sending call failure information to the mobile terminal.
In an analogous art Shurtz discloses in a case that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails [par. 67, lines 73-78, “…a call failure notification message operative to indicate that an emergency service call has failed…”], sending call failure information to the mobile terminal [par. 67, lines 84-95, “…the call failure notification message…may be forwarded to…private entities…using Instant Messaging (IM)…”].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Philbin’s invention to provide an emergency response. It is an object of Shurtz’s invention to mitigate emergency call failures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ku and Philbin by including call failures, as taught by Shurtz, for the purpose of efficiently providing services in a wireless network.
Consider claim 14, as applied in claim 13; Ku and Philbin disclose the claimed invention except: in a case of receiving call failure information sent by the IMS network, initiating an IP network call by using instant messaging software to a target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software, wherein the call failure information is used for indicating that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails.
In an analogous art Shurtz discloses in a case of receiving call failure information sent by the IMS network [par. 73, lines 92-95, “… a similar scheme may also be implemented in… IMS…networks… for handing emergency call failures.”], initiating an IP network call by using instant messaging software to a target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software [par. 67, lines 84-95, “…the call failure notification message…may be forwarded to…private entities…using Instant Messaging (IM)…”], wherein the call failure information is used for indicating that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails [par. 67, lines 73-78, “…a call failure notification message operative to indicate that an emergency service call has failed…”].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Philbin’s invention to provide an emergency response. It is an object of Shurtz’s invention to mitigate emergency call failures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ku and Philbin by including call failures, as taught by Shurtz, for the purpose of efficiently providing services in a wireless network.
Consider claim 15, as applied in claim 14; Ku discloses according to the number of the emergency contact [par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”], querying from all instant messaging software on the mobile terminal for target accounts associated with the number of the emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”]; and according to priorities of the instant messaging software [par. 32, lines 11-12, “The URI 308 may have associated order 314 and preference data 316;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”], calling all the target accounts one by one [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”].
Consider claim 18, as applied in claim 17; Ku and Philbin disclose the claimed invention except: in a case that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails, sending call failure information to the mobile terminal.
In an analogous art Shurtz discloses in a case that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails [par. 67, lines 73-78, “…a call failure notification message operative to indicate that an emergency service call has failed…”], sending call failure information to the mobile terminal [par. 67, lines 84-95, “…the call failure notification message…may be forwarded to…private entities…using Instant Messaging (IM)…”].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Philbin’s invention to provide an emergency response. It is an object of Shurtz’s invention to mitigate emergency call failures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ku and Philbin by including call failures, as taught by Shurtz, for the purpose of efficiently providing services in a wireless network.
Balabhadruni is another reference that discloses the inventive concept.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Examiner should be directed to Joel Ajayi whose telephone number is (571) 270-1091. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am to 5:00pm and Friday 7:30am to 4:00 pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646