DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11, 13, 15-17, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Ku et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2009/0116623).
Consider claim 1; Ku discloses an emergency call method, applied to a mobile terminal, comprising:
in a case of receiving an input of a first emergency call by a user to a first number (e.g. emergency contact destination devices) [par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”], sending a SIP message of the first emergency call to an IMS network [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”], wherein
a header field of the SIP message comprises first information [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”], the first information comprises a number of at least one emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”], and the number of the emergency contact is used as a called target (e.g. emergency contact destination device) [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”], so as to continue to initiate an emergency call after the first emergency call [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”].
Consider claim 3; Ku discloses according to the number of the emergency contact [par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”], querying from all instant messaging software on the mobile terminal for target accounts associated with the number of the emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”]; and according to priorities of the instant messaging software [par. 32, lines 11-12, “The URI 308 may have associated order 314 and preference data 316;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”], calling all the target accounts one by one [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”].
Consider claim 4; Ku discloses sending a short message to the first number and/or the number of the at least one emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”], and/or sending an emergency message by using the instant messaging software to the target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software, wherein the short message or the emergency message is used for prompting that the user of the mobile terminal is in an emergency [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”].
Consider claim 5; Ku discloses an emergency call method, applied to a network side device, comprising:
receiving a SIP message of a first emergency call sent by a mobile terminal [par. 53, lines 4-7, “The computer system 1100 can also be implemented as or incorporated into various devices, such as … a mobile device…”] [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”], wherein a header field of the SIP message comprises first information [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”], and the first information comprises a number of at least one emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”]; and
after the first emergency call is ended [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”], continuing to initiate an emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact parsed from the first information [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”].
Consider claim 7; Ku discloses a mobile terminal [par. 53, lines 4-7, “The computer system 1100 can also be implemented as or incorporated into various devices, such as … a mobile device…”], comprising a processor [par. 54, lines 1-2, “…the computer system 1100 may include a processor…”], a memory [par. 54, line 4, “…the computer system 1100 can include a main memory 1104…”], and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], wherein the program or instructions [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], when executed by the processor [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], causes the mobile terminal [par. 53, lines 4-7, “The computer system 1100 can also be implemented as or incorporated into various devices, such as … a mobile device…”] to perform:
in a case of receiving an input of a first emergency call by a user to a first number (e.g. emergency contact destination devices) [par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”], sending a SIP message of the first emergency call to an IMS network [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”], wherein
a header field of the SIP message comprises first information [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”], the first information comprises a number of at least one emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”], and the number of the emergency contact is used as a called target (e.g. emergency contact destination device) [par. 32, lines 4-8, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices. For example, a URI 308 can be a SIP URI and URIs 310 and 312 may be URIs for corresponding telephone devices.”], so as to continue to initiate an emergency call after the first emergency call [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”].
Consider claim 9; Ku discloses according to the number of the emergency contact [par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”], querying from all instant messaging software on the mobile terminal for target accounts associated with the number of the emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”]; and according to priorities of the instant messaging software [par. 32, lines 11-12, “The URI 308 may have associated order 314 and preference data 316;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”], calling all the target accounts one by one [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”].
Consider claim 10; Ku discloses sending a short message to the first number and/or the number of the at least one emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”], and/or sending an emergency message by using the instant messaging software to the target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software, wherein the short message or the emergency message is used for prompting that the user of the mobile terminal is in an emergency [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”].
Consider claim 11; Ku discloses a network side device [par. 53, lines 1-3, “…the computer system may operate in the capacity of a …network management system…”], comprising a processor [par. 54, lines 1-2, “…the computer system 1100 may include a processor…”], a memory [par. 54, line 4, “…the computer system 1100 can include a main memory 1104…”], and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], wherein the program or instructions [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], when executed by the processor [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], implement the steps of the emergency call method according to claim 5 [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”].
Consider claim 13; Ku discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium [par. 55, lines 10-11, “The main memory 1104 and the processor 1102 also may include computer-readable media.”], storing a program or instructions [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], wherein the program or instructions [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], when executed by a processor of a mobile terminal [par. 53, lines 4-7, “The computer system 1100 can also be implemented as or incorporated into various devices, such as … a mobile device…;” par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], implement the method according to claim 1 [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”].
Consider claim 15; Ku discloses according to the number of the emergency contact [par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”], querying from all instant messaging software on the mobile terminal for target accounts associated with the number of the emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”]; and according to priorities of the instant messaging software [par. 32, lines 11-12, “The URI 308 may have associated order 314 and preference data 316;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”], calling all the target accounts one by one [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”].
Consider claim 16; Ku discloses sending a short message to the first number and/or the number of the at least one emergency contact [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”], and/or sending an emergency message by using the instant messaging software to the target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software, wherein the short message or the emergency message is used for prompting that the user of the mobile terminal is in an emergency [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 50, lines 5-8, “The communication provided to the destination device may be a pre-recorded message, an instant message (IM)…”].
Consider claim 17; Ku discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium [par. 55, lines 10-11, “The main memory 1104 and the processor 1102 also may include computer-readable media.”], storing a program or instructions [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], wherein the program or instructions [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], when executed by a processor of a network side device [par. 53, lines 1-3, “…the computer system may operate in the capacity of a …network management system…”], implement the method according to claim 5 [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…”].
Consider claim 19; Ku discloses a chip [par. 54, lines 1-3, “…the computer system 1100 may include a processor 1102 e.g. a central processing unit (CPU)…”], comprising a processor and a communication interface [par. 54, lines 1-6, “…the computer system 1100 may include a processor 1102 e.g. a central processing unit (CPU)…the computer system can include a main memory 1104 and a static memory 1106, which can communicate with each other via a bus 1108”], wherein the communication interface is coupled to the processor [par. 54, lines 1-6, “…the computer system 1100 may include a processor 1102 e.g. a central processing unit (CPU)…the computer system can include a main memory 1104 and a static memory 1106, which can communicate with each other via a bus 1108”], and the processor is configured to run a program or instructions to implement the method according to claim 1 [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”].
Consider claim 20; Ku discloses a computer program product [par. 55, lines 1-4, “…the disk drive unit 1116 may include a computer-readable medium 1122 in which one or more sets of instructions 1124, e.g. software, can be embedded.”], stored in a non-volatile storage medium [par. 55, lines 1-4, “…the disk drive unit 1116 may include a computer-readable medium 1122 in which one or more sets of instructions 1124, e.g. software, can be embedded.”], wherein the program product [par. 55, lines 1-4, “…the disk drive unit 1116 may include a computer-readable medium 1122 in which one or more sets of instructions 1124, e.g. software, can be embedded.”], when executed by at least one processor [par. 55, lines 6-9, “…the instructions 1124 may reside completely, or at least partially, within the main memory 1104, the static memory 1106, and/or within the processor 1102 during execution by the computer system…”], implements the method according to claim 1 [par. 32, lines 4-6, “A record 304 associated with User A may include a plurality of URIs associated with corresponding emergency contact destination devices;” par. 33, lines 5-8, “…an IMS may contact destination devices in a sequential order based on URI…;” par. 45, lines 5-10, “For example, a user who has registered for an emergency calling service may provide an E.164 emergency telephone number and one or more URIs associated with emergency destination devices associated with the user, such as communication devices of family members, physicians, or other emergency contact persons or entities.”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, 8, 12, 14, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ku et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2009/0116623) in view of Shurtz (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2016/0379470).
Consider claim 2, as applied in claim 1; Ku discloses the claimed invention except: in a case of receiving call failure information sent by the IMS network, initiating an IP network call by using instant messaging software to a target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software, wherein the call failure information is used for indicating that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails.
In an analogous art Shurtz discloses in a case of receiving call failure information sent by the IMS network [par. 73, lines 92-95, “… a similar scheme may also be implemented in… IMS…networks… for handing emergency call failures.”], initiating an IP network call by using instant messaging software to a target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software [par. 67, lines 84-95, “…the call failure notification message…may be forwarded to…private entities…using Instant Messaging (IM)…”], wherein the call failure information is used for indicating that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails [par. 67, lines 73-78, “…a call failure notification message operative to indicate that an emergency service call has failed…”].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Shurtz’s invention to mitigate emergency call failures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ku by including call failures, as taught by Shurtz, for the purpose of efficiently providing services in a wireless network.
Consider claim 6, as applied in claim 5; Ku discloses the claimed invention except: in a case that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails, sending call failure information to the mobile terminal.
In an analogous art Shurtz discloses in a case that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails [par. 67, lines 73-78, “…a call failure notification message operative to indicate that an emergency service call has failed…”], sending call failure information to the mobile terminal [par. 67, lines 84-95, “…the call failure notification message…may be forwarded to…private entities…using Instant Messaging (IM)…”].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Shurtz’s invention to mitigate emergency call failures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ku by including call failures, as taught by Shurtz, for the purpose of efficiently providing services in a wireless network.
Consider claim 8, as applied in claim 7; Ku discloses the claimed invention except: in a case of receiving call failure information sent by the IMS network, initiating an IP network call by using instant messaging software to a target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software, wherein the call failure information is used for indicating that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails.
In an analogous art Shurtz discloses in a case of receiving call failure information sent by the IMS network [par. 73, lines 92-95, “… a similar scheme may also be implemented in… IMS…networks… for handing emergency call failures.”], initiating an IP network call by using instant messaging software to a target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software [par. 67, lines 84-95, “…the call failure notification message…may be forwarded to…private entities…using Instant Messaging (IM)…”], wherein the call failure information is used for indicating that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails [par. 67, lines 73-78, “…a call failure notification message operative to indicate that an emergency service call has failed…”].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Shurtz’s invention to mitigate emergency call failures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ku by including call failures, as taught by Shurtz, for the purpose of efficiently providing services in a wireless network.
Consider claim 12, as applied in claim 11; Ku discloses the claimed invention except: in a case that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails, sending call failure information to the mobile terminal.
In an analogous art Shurtz discloses in a case that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails [par. 67, lines 73-78, “…a call failure notification message operative to indicate that an emergency service call has failed…”], sending call failure information to the mobile terminal [par. 67, lines 84-95, “…the call failure notification message…may be forwarded to…private entities…using Instant Messaging (IM)…”].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Shurtz’s invention to mitigate emergency call failures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ku by including call failures, as taught by Shurtz, for the purpose of efficiently providing services in a wireless network.
Consider claim 14, as applied in claim 13; Ku discloses the claimed invention except: in a case of receiving call failure information sent by the IMS network, initiating an IP network call by using instant messaging software to a target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software, wherein the call failure information is used for indicating that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails.
In an analogous art Shurtz discloses in a case of receiving call failure information sent by the IMS network [par. 73, lines 92-95, “… a similar scheme may also be implemented in… IMS…networks… for handing emergency call failures.”], initiating an IP network call by using instant messaging software to a target account associated with the number of the emergency contact in the instant messaging software [par. 67, lines 84-95, “…the call failure notification message…may be forwarded to…private entities…using Instant Messaging (IM)…”], wherein the call failure information is used for indicating that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails [par. 67, lines 73-78, “…a call failure notification message operative to indicate that an emergency service call has failed…”].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Shurtz’s invention to mitigate emergency call failures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ku by including call failures, as taught by Shurtz, for the purpose of efficiently providing services in a wireless network.
Consider claim 18, as applied in claim 17; Ku discloses the claimed invention except: in a case that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails, sending call failure information to the mobile terminal.
In an analogous art Shurtz discloses in a case that the emergency call to the number of the at least one emergency contact fails [par. 67, lines 73-78, “…a call failure notification message operative to indicate that an emergency service call has failed…”], sending call failure information to the mobile terminal [par. 67, lines 84-95, “…the call failure notification message…may be forwarded to…private entities…using Instant Messaging (IM)…”].
It is an object of Ku’s invention to provide emergency services. It is an object of Shurtz’s invention to mitigate emergency call failures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ku by including call failures, as taught by Shurtz, for the purpose of efficiently providing services in a wireless network.
Balabhadruni is another reference that discloses the inventive concept.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646