DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Furuie (US. Pub: 2017/0194599 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Furuie discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 4-10) a display panel, comprising: a first base substrate (6; [0028]) and a second base substrate (7; [0028]) oppositely arranged; and a support pillar (9) disposed between the first base substrate and the second base substrate (see at least fig. 2), wherein: the first base substrate (6) includes a first substrate (11; [0030]) and a plurality of pixel openings (see fig. 2; the openings are formed in display region area) disposed on a side of the first substrate facing the second base substrate (see fig. 2); the second base substrate (7) includes a second substrate (61; [0029]) and a first insulation layer (65; [0029]; see fig. 2) disposed on a side of the second substrate facing the first base substrate (see fig. 2); the first insulation layer (65) includes a first insulation portion; in a first direction (see fig. 2), the first insulation portion overlaps with the support pillar (9; see at least fig. 2); the first direction is perpendicular to a plane where the first substrate (11) is located; the first insulation portion includes a first edge (see fig. 2); an orthographic projection of the first edge on the first substrate (11) is located outside an orthographic projection of the pixel opening on the first substrate (see at least fig. 2); the orthographic projection of the first edge on the first substrate (11) and the orthographic projection of the pixel opening on the first substrate have a first preset distance D; and D>0 (as evident by at least fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Furuie discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 4-10) in the first direction, the first insulation portion covers the pixel opening (see fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-5, 7-9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuie (US. Pub: 2017/0194599 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Furuie does not expressly disclose D≥4 μm.
However, Furuie discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 4-10) D>0.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the distance of Future D≥4 μm through routine experimentation and optimization. Also, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Furuie does not expressly disclose a thickness of the first insulation layer is H2; and 1 μm<H2≤1.5 μm.
However, Furuie discloses (in at least fig. 2) a first insulation layer (65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the first insulation layer of Furuie with a thickness H2 in the range of 1 μm<H2≤1.5 μm through routine experimentation and optimization. Also, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Furuie does not expressly disclose the first insulation layer further comprises: a second insulation portion located between adjacent first insulation portions and continuously disposed with the first insulation portions; wherein a thickness of the first insulation layer is H1; and 0.5 μm≤H1≤1 μm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming a second insulation portion located between adjacent first insulation portions of Furuie and continuously disposed with the first insulation portions; wherein a thickness of the first insulation layer is H1; and 0.5 μm≤H1≤1 μm, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Furuie does not expressly disclose in the first direction, the first insulation portion does not overlap with the pixel opening.
However, Furuie discloses (in at least fig. 2) in the first direction, the first insulation portion does overlap with the pixel opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the first insulation portion of Furuie such that in the first direction, the first insulation portion does not overlap with the pixel opening, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Furuie discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 4-10) the orthographic projection of the first insulation portion (65) on the first substrate (9) and the orthographic projection of the support pillar on the first substrate have similar patterns (see at least fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Furuie does not expressly disclose the orthographic projection of the first insulation portion on the first substrate is a first circle; a diameter of the first circle is d1; and d1≥10 μm.
However, Furuie discloses (in at least figs. 1-2 and 4-10) the orthographic projection of the first insulation portion on the first substrate is a rectangle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to contemplate forming the orthographic projection of the first insulation portion on the first substrate of Furuie as a first circle; wherein a diameter of the first circle is d1; and d1≥10 μm instead of a rectangle, since it has been held that simple substitution of one known shape for another to obtain predictable results is obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 10-16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the first insulation layer comprises: a first sub-insulation layer; and a second sub-insulation layer, wherein: in the first direction, the first sub-insulation layer is located between the second sub-insulation layer and the second substrate; and the first insulation portion and the second insulation portion are both located in the second sub-insulation layer.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a shape of an orthographic projection of at least one pixel opening on the first substrate is a first polygon; a shape of the orthographic projection of the first insulation portion on the first substrate is a second polygon; and in the pixel opening and the first insulation portion adjacently arranged, the first polygon includes a first sub-edge, the second polygon includes the first edge, and the first edge includes a second sub-edge, and the first sub-edge and the second sub-edge are adjacent and parallel to each other. Claims 11-16 are objected due to their dependency upon claim 10.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the second base substrate further includes a touch layer, wherein the touch layer is located between the second substrate and the first insulation layer, the touch layer includes touch electrodes, and in the first direction, the touch electrodes do not overlap with the pixel openings and do not overlap with the first insulation portion; and the first insulation layer further includes a second insulation portion, wherein the second insulation portion located between adjacent first insulation portions and arranged continuously with the first insulation portions, and in the first direction, the second insulation portion covers the touch electrode and the pixel opening.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875