Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III (claims 14-17 & 20) in the reply filed on 5/18/2026 is acknowledged and is made final.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 12 uses the word “known” in place of “know”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-17 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)or(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (2024/0334392), hereinafter “Hong”.
As to claim 14, (Original) Hong discloses An information processing method, comprising:
performing, by a terminal, a sixth operation in a case that a third condition is satisfied;
wherein the sixth operation comprises at least one of the following:
applying a first feature or a multi-subscriber feature to a first network; wherein the multi-subscriber feature is an optimization function for a multi-subscriber terminal;
initiating a first-feature related operation in the first network, or initiating the multi-subscriber-feature related operation in the first network (see step S101), [0023]-[0026]);
performing paging optimization in the first network;
sending paging restriction information to the first network in a case that the terminal moves out of a location area to make a mobility registration update request and/or does not known whether the first feature or multi-subscriber feature is supported in a new location area; or
being able to send connection release request information to the first network in a case that the terminal needs to leave the first network;
wherein the paging optimization comprises at least one of the following: avoiding a paging collision or optimizing a paging reception probability.
The examiner notes that the BRI of claim 14 is a method of performing any one of the five (“applying a first feature or a multi-subscriber feature”, “initiating”, “performing”, “sending”, “being able to send”) listed operations, as stated the third condition is satisfied.
As to claim 15, (Original) Hong discloses The method according to claim 14, wherein the third condition comprises that a type of registration performed by the terminal in the first network does not comprise emergency registration. Hong does not limit the operation to ‘emergency’ registration. Further it is noted that the claim does not require a test or determination.
As to claim 16, (Original) Hong discloses The method according to claim 15, wherein the third condition further comprises at least one of the following: a paging time of the terminal in the first network collides with a paging time of the terminal in other networks; or a paging reception probability of the terminal in the first network decreases, or the terminal needs to improve a paging reception probability in the first network. See [0087], etc.
As to claim 17, (Original) Hong discloses The method according to claim 14, wherein the first feature or the multi-subscriber feature comprises at least one of the following:
a paging cause indication function, a connection release function, a paging rejection function, a paging restriction function, or a paging collision control function (also see S201); or,
wherein the being able to perform paging optimization in the first network comprises: being able to perform a fifth operation in the first network; wherein the fifth operation comprises at least one of the following: a paging-optimization-triggered requirement for updating a temporary terminal identifier, wherein the temporary terminal identifier is a temporary terminal identifier allocated for the terminal by the first network; paging-optimization-triggered transmission of a mobility registration request to the first network; a paging-optimization-triggered request to the first network, wherein the request to the first network comprises one of the following: an updated terminal identifier or a terminal identifier offset; or a paging-optimization-triggered paging restriction request to the first network.
As to claim 20, (Original) Hong discloses A communication device (800), comprising a processor (802), a memory (804), and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the information processing method according to claim 14 are implemented. See Figs 1, 2, & 8, step S101, [0023]-[0026], etc.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ianev et al. (2022/0303934) provide for registration including updating of temporary UE IDs. See Fig 1.
Gurumoorthy et al. (2023/0254918) provide for multi-SIM paging optimization. See [0138], etc.
Kumar et al. (2022/0361143) provide for mobility registration and releasing. See [0041]-[0042].
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center
for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
LESTER G. KINCAID
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/LESTER G KINCAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649