DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 5/18/2026 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1 and 5-7 are amended, Claim 2 is canceled, Claims 8-14 have been added, and Claims 1 and 3-14 remain pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 05/01/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im (KR 20110047518 A) in view of Pohl (US 20190047473 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Im discloses a side mirror control device (Fig. 2-- side mirror protection system; [0016]) for controlling side mirrors of a vehicle (Fig. 2, abstract, and [0016]: side mirror protection system is for protecting side mirrors on a vehicle), the side mirror control device (Fig. 2-- side mirror protection system; [0016]) comprising:
a mobile object detection unit (Fig. 2-- element 21, object detection unit; [0017]) configured to detect entry of a mobile object into a side warning area set on left and right sides of the vehicle ([0014]: the invention detects objects in an obstacle area around the maximum projected position of the side mirrors); and
a side mirror control unit (Fig. 2-- element 24, drive unit; [0020]) configured to rapidly retract the side mirror on a side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area when the entry of the mobile object into the side warning area is detected when a vehicle speed of the vehicle is lower than a side mirror retraction threshold ([0008]-[0010] and [0014]: the side mirrors automatically retract when an object is detected to collide with the side mirrors if the speed of the vehicle allows enough time to retract the side mirrors).
However, Im does not explicitly disclose wherein the side mirror control unit does not perform the retraction of the side mirror when a value obtained by subtracting a width of the mobile object from a minimum width of a passage space on the side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area is equal to or greater than a first threshold even when entry of the mobile object into the side warning area is detected.
Im and Pohl are related as both pertaining to the field of side mirror control devices. Pohl discloses a side mirror control unit (Fig. 1a—element 120, assembly [0058]) wherein the side mirror control unit (Fig. 2—element 120 is moved via controlling element 202) does not perform the retraction of the side mirror (Fig. 1—element 120, assembly [0058]) when a minimum width of a passage space (Fig. 1a—element 143, lateral distance; [0058]) on the side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area (Fig. 1a—element 141, lateral safety space; [0058]) is equal to or greater than a first threshold even when entry of the mobile object into the side warning area (Fig. 1a—element 141, lateral safety space; [0058]) is detected ([0057]: a collision threat may be predicted in the case that a lateral distance 143a, 143b of the one or more obstacles 131 from the external structure 102 and, therefore, from the assembly 120 is less than or equal to the lateral safety distance 143). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the side mirror control unit of Im with the side mirror retraction method of Pohl in order to prevent the loss of expensive high-tech side mirror (Pohl, [0035]).
With respect to Claim 3, Im discloses the side mirror control device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the side mirror control unit (Fig. 2-- element 24, drive unit; [0020]) does not perform the retraction of the side mirror (Fig. 2, abstract, and [0016]: side mirror protection system is for protecting side mirrors on a vehicle) when a width of the mobile object on the side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area is equal to or greater than a second threshold even when entry of the mobile object into the side warning area is detected (Fig. 3 and [0022]: element 21 measures the distance between the mirror and the object in order to determine if contact will occur).
However, Im does not explicitly disclose wherein the side mirror control unit does not perform the retraction of the side mirror when a value obtained by subtracting a width of the mobile object from a minimum width of a passage space on the side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area is equal to or greater than a first threshold even when entry of the mobile object into the side warning area is detected.
Im and Pohl are related as both pertaining to the field of side mirror control devices. Pohl discloses a side mirror control unit (Fig. 1a—element 120, assembly [0058]) wherein the side mirror control unit (Fig. 2—element 120 is moved via controlling element 202) does not perform the retraction of the side mirror (Fig. 1—element 120, assembly [0058]) when a value obtained by subtracting a width of the mobile object (Fig. 1a—element 143a, lateral distance; [0057]) from a minimum width of a passage space (Fig. 1a—element 143, lateral distance; [0058]) on the side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area (Fig. 1a—element 141, lateral safety space; [0058]) is equal to or greater than a first threshold even when entry of the mobile object into the side warning area (Fig. 1a—element 141, lateral safety space; [0058]) is detected ([0057]: a collision threat may be predicted in the case that a lateral distance 143a, 143b of the one or more obstacles 131 from the external structure 102 and, therefore, from the assembly 120 is less than or equal to the lateral safety distance 143). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the side mirror control unit of Im with the side mirror retraction method of Pohl in order to prevent the loss of expensive high-tech side mirror (Pohl, [0035]).
With respect to Claim 7, Im discloses a control method for a side mirror control device (Fig. 3-- flow diagram of a side mirror protection method) for controlling side mirrors of a vehicle (Fig. 2, abstract, and [0016]: side mirror protection system is for protecting side mirrors on a vehicle), the control method for a side mirror control device (Fig. 3-- flow diagram of a side mirror protection method) comprising:
detecting entry of a mobile object into a side warning area set on left and right sides of the vehicle ([0014]: the invention detects objects in an obstacle area around the maximum projected position of the side mirrors); and
rapidly retracting the side mirror on a side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area when the entry of the mobile object into the side warning area is detected when a vehicle speed of the vehicle is lower than a side mirror retraction threshold ([0008]-[0010] and [0014]: the side mirrors automatically retract when an object is detected to collide with the side mirrors if the speed of the vehicle allows enough time to retract the side mirrors).
However, Im does not disclose wherein when a minimum width of a passage space on the side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area is less than a first threshold when entry of the mobile object into the side warning area is detected.
Im and Pohl are related as both pertaining to the field of side mirror control devices. Pohl discloses a side mirror control unit (Fig. 1a—element 120, assembly [0058]) minimum width of a passage space (Fig. 1a—element 143, lateral distance; [0058]) on the side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area (Fig. 1a—element 141, lateral safety space; [0058]) is less than a first threshold when entry of the mobile object into the side warning area (Fig. 1a—element 141, lateral safety space; [0058]) is detected ([0057]: a collision threat may be predicted in the case that a lateral distance 143a, 143b of the one or more obstacles 131 from the external structure 102 and, therefore, from the assembly 120 is less than or equal to the lateral safety distance 143). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the side mirror control unit of Im with the side mirror retraction method of Pohl in order to prevent the loss of expensive high-tech side mirror (Pohl, [0035]).
With respect to Claim 8, Im discloses the side mirror control device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the side mirror control unit (Fig. 2-- element 24, drive unit; [0020]) is configured to calculate the minimum width of the passage space ([0022]: element 21 measures the distance between the mirror and the object in order to determine if contact will occur) on the basis of a detection result of a radar sensor (Fig. 2-- element 21, object detection unit; [0017]; may contain an ultrasonic sensor).
With respect to Claim 9, Im discloses side mirror control device according to claim 1. However, Im does not disclose wherein the side mirror control unit is configured to calculate the minimum width of the passage space on the basis of imaging information of a camera. Im and Pohl are related as both pertaining to the field of side mirror control devices. Pohl discloses a side mirror control unit (Fig. 1a—element 120, assembly [0058]) is configured to calculate the minimum width of the passage space on the basis of imaging information of a camera ([0059]: the one or more sensors 130 may include, for example, one or more cameras). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the camera sensor of Pohl with the side mirror control unit of Im in order to create a device which is capable of providing a range image of the vicinity of the vehicle including range information about one or more objects depicted in the image (Pohl, [0030]).
With respect to Claim 10, Im discloses the side mirror control device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the minimum width of the passage space is a shortest lateral distance from the vehicle to a structure or obstacle on a road edge ([0022]: element 21 measures the distance between the mirror and the object in order to determine if contact will occur).
With respect to Claim 11, Im discloses the side mirror control device according to claim 7, and further discloses further comprising calculating the minimum width of the passage space ([0022]: element 21 measures the distance between the mirror and the object in order to determine if contact will occur) on the basis of a detection result of a radar sensor (Fig. 2-- element 21, object detection unit; [0017]; may contain an ultrasonic sensor).
With respect to Claim 12, Im discloses side mirror control device according to claim 7. However, Im does not disclose wherein the side mirror control unit is configured to calculate the minimum width of the passage space on the basis of imaging information of a camera. However, Im does not disclose wherein the side mirror control unit is configured to calculate the minimum width of the passage space on the basis of imaging information of a camera. Im and Pohl are related as both pertaining to the field of side mirror control devices. Pohl discloses a side mirror control unit (Fig. 1a—element 120, assembly [0058]) is configured to calculate the minimum width of the passage space on the basis of imaging information of a camera ([0059]: the one or more sensors 130 may include, for example, one or more cameras). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the camera sensor of Pohl with the side mirror control unit of Im in order to create a device which is capable of providing a range image of the vicinity of the vehicle including range information about one or more objects depicted in the image (Pohl, [0030]).
With respect to Claim 13, Im discloses the side mirror control device according to claim 7, and further discloses wherein the minimum width of the passage space is a shortest lateral distance from the vehicle to a structure or obstacle on a road edge ([0022]: element 21 measures the distance between the mirror and the object in order to determine if contact will occur).
With respect to Claim 14, Im discloses a side mirror control device (Fig. 2-- side mirror protection system; [0016]) for controlling side mirrors of a vehicle (Fig. 2, abstract, and [0016]: side mirror protection system is for protecting side mirrors on a vehicle), the side mirror control device (Fig. 2-- side mirror protection system; [0016]) comprising:
a mobile object detection unit (Fig. 2-- element 21, object detection unit; [0017]) configured to detect entry of a mobile object into a side warning area set on left and right sides of the vehicle ([0014]: the invention detects objects in an obstacle area around the maximum projected position of the side mirrors); and
a side mirror control unit (Fig. 2-- element 24, drive unit; [0020]) configured to rapidly retract the side mirror on a side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area when the entry of the mobile object into the side warning area is detected when a vehicle speed of the vehicle is lower than a side mirror retraction threshold ([0008]-[0010] and [0014]: the side mirrors automatically retract when an object is detected to collide with the side mirrors if the speed of the vehicle allows enough time to retract the side mirrors);
wherein the side mirror control unit (Fig. 2-- element 24, drive unit; [0020]) does not perform the retraction of the side mirror (Fig. 2, abstract, and [0016]: side mirror protection system is for protecting side mirrors on a vehicle) when a width of the mobile object on the side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area ([0014]: the side mirrors automatically retract when an object is detected to collide with the side mirrors) is equal to or greater than a first threshold even when entry of the mobile object into the side warning area ([0022]: element 21 measures the distance between the mirror and the object in order to determine if contact will occur) is detected ([0008] and [0014]: the side mirrors are only retracted when element 21 determines that an object is within the width of the maximums projection position of the side mirrors).
However, Im does not explicitly disclose wherein the side mirror control unit does not perform the retraction of the side mirror when a value obtained by subtracting a width of the mobile object from a minimum width of a passage space on the side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area is equal to or greater than a first threshold even when entry of the mobile object into the side warning area is detected.
Im and Pohl are related as both pertaining to the field of side mirror control devices. Pohl discloses a side mirror control unit (Fig. 1a—element 120, assembly [0058]) wherein the side mirror control unit (Fig. 2—element 120 is moved via controlling element 202) does not perform the retraction of the side mirror (Fig. 1—element 120, assembly [0058]) when a value obtained by subtracting a width of the mobile object (Fig. 1a—element 143a, lateral distance; [0057]) from a minimum width of a passage space (Fig. 1a—element 143, lateral distance; [0058]) on the side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area (Fig. 1a—element 141, lateral safety space; [0058]) is equal to or greater than a first threshold even when entry of the mobile object into the side warning area (Fig. 1a—element 141, lateral safety space; [0058]) is detected ([0057]: a collision threat may be predicted in the case that a lateral distance 143a, 143b of the one or more obstacles 131 from the external structure 102 and, therefore, from the assembly 120 is less than or equal to the lateral safety distance 143). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the side mirror control unit of Im with the side mirror retraction method of Pohl in order to prevent the loss of expensive high-tech side mirror (Pohl, [0035]).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im (KR 20110047518 A) in view of Cho (KR 101737705 B1).
With respect to Claim 4, Im discloses the side mirror control device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the side mirror control unit (Fig. 2-- element 24, drive unit; [0020]) move the side mirror of the vehicle (Fig. 2, abstract, and [0016]: side mirror protection system is for protecting side mirrors on a vehicle) to a retracted state when the side mirror (Fig. 2, abstract, and [0016]: side mirror protection system is for protecting side mirrors on a vehicle) is retracted due to detection of the entry of the mobile object into the side warning area ([0014]: the side mirrors automatically retract when an object is detected to collide with the side mirrors).
Im does not explicitly disclose wherein the side mirror control unit returns the side mirror of the vehicle from a retracted state, and then, the entry of the mobile object into the side warning area is not detected for a certain period of time.
Im and Cho are related as both pertaining to the field of side mirror control devices. Cho discloses side mirror control device (Abstract: the present invention provides an apparatus for preventing a collision of a side mirror) wherein the side mirror control unit ([0065]: control unit rotates element 10) returns the side mirror of the vehicle (Fig. 1—element 10, side mirrors; [0064]) from a retracted state ([0064]-[0065]: element 10 is in a retracted state and then returned to the un-retracted position), and then, the entry of the mobile object into the side warning area is not detected for a certain period of time ([0065]: element 10 is returned to the normal position after a collision is not detected for a predetermined amount of time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Im with the automatic returning mirror of Cho in order to create a device which may automatically control the side mirrors to automatically improve the convenience of the driver without the operation of the button of the driver (Ch0, [0080]).
With respect to Claim 5, Im discloses the side mirror control device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the side mirror control unit (Fig. 2-- element 24, drive unit; [0020]) move the side mirror of the vehicle (Fig. 2, abstract, and [0016]: side mirror protection system is for protecting side mirrors on a vehicle) to a retracted state when the side mirror (Fig. 2, abstract, and [0016]: side mirror protection system is for protecting side mirrors on a vehicle) is retracted due to detection of the entry of the mobile object into the side warning area ([0014]: the side mirrors automatically retract when an object is detected to collide with the side mirrors).
Im does not explicitly disclose wherein the side mirror control unit returns the side mirror of the vehicle from a retracted state, and then, the entry of the mobile object into the side warning area is not detected for a certain period of time.
Im and Cho are related as both pertaining to the field of side mirror control devices. Cho discloses side mirror control device (Abstract: the present invention provides an apparatus for preventing a collision of a side mirror) wherein the side mirror control unit ([0065]: control unit rotates element 10) returns the side mirror of the vehicle (Fig. 1—element 10, side mirrors; [0064]) from a retracted state ([0064]-[0065]: element 10 is in a retracted state and then returned to the un-retracted position), and then, the entry of the mobile object into the side warning area is not detected for a certain period of time ([0065]: element 10 is returned to the normal position after a collision is not detected for a predetermined amount of time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Im with the automatic returning mirror of Cho in order to create a device which may automatically control the side mirrors to automatically improve the convenience of the driver without the operation of the button of the driver (Ch0, [0080]).
With respect to Claim 6, Im discloses the side mirror control device according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the side mirror control unit (Fig. 2-- element 24, drive unit; [0020]) move the side mirror of the vehicle (Fig. 2, abstract, and [0016]: side mirror protection system is for protecting side mirrors on a vehicle) to a retracted state when the side mirror (Fig. 2, abstract, and [0016]: side mirror protection system is for protecting side mirrors on a vehicle) is retracted due to detection of the entry of the mobile object into the side warning area ([0014]: the side mirrors automatically retract when an object is detected to collide with the side mirrors).
Im does not explicitly disclose wherein the side mirror control unit returns the side mirror of the vehicle from a retracted state, and then, the minimum width of the passage space on the side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area is equal to or greater than the first threshold due to a change in an environment on the side of the vehicle.
Im and Cho are related as both pertaining to the field of side mirror control devices. Cho discloses side mirror control device (Abstract: the present invention provides an apparatus for preventing a collision of a side mirror) wherein the side mirror control unit ([0065]: control unit rotates element 10) returns the side mirror of the vehicle (Fig. 1—element 10, side mirrors; [0064]) from a retracted state ([0064]-[0065]: element 10 is in a retracted state and then returned to the un-retracted position), and then, the minimum width of the passage space on the side of the vehicle corresponding to the side warning area is equal to or greater than the first threshold due to a change in an environment on the side of the vehicle ([0071]: the control unit performs derivations to determine if a collision is possible, if the object or passerby around the vehicle is not detected by the distance sensor, the control unit does not continue the collision prediction function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Im with the automatic returning mirror of Cho in order to create a device which may automatically control the side mirrors to automatically improve the convenience of the driver without the operation of the button of the driver (Ch0, [0080]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872