DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114 After Final Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9, 10, 11, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0021285) in view of Wilhelm (US 2019/0021282).
For claims 1 and 16, Chen teaches a pet toy comprising:
a base (121) having a rounded bottom surface;
a stem (21) extending from the base;
a limb (221) diverging from the stem; and
a hanging toy (22) coupled to the limb.
Chen discloses most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein the rounded bottom surface includes a plurality of convex protrusions such that the rounded bottom surface is a continuous, textured surface configured to contact a surface supporting the base.
Wilhelm teaches that it is old and well known in the art to provide a pet toy having a rounded bottom surface (12,30,32; which is equivalent to Applicant’s rounded bottom surface (211)) wherein the rounded bottom surface includes a plurality of convex protrusions (32) such that the rounded bottom surface is a continuous, textured surface (equivalent to the continuous and textured surface of (30)) configured to contact a surface supporting the base.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bottom surface of Chen so as to include a rounded bottom surface includes a plurality of convex protrusions such that the rounded bottom surface is a continuous, textured surface configured to contact a surface supporting the base, in a similar manner as taught in Wilhelm, so as to allow the toy to wobble and provide entertainment for the pet.
For claim 6, Chen as modified by Wilhelm (emphasis on Chen) further teach wherein the base (121) is a bowl including an inner surface defining a cavity.
For claim 9, Chen as modified by Wilhelm (emphasis on Chen) further teach the bowl (121) includes a panel (11,12) disposed above the cavity; the stem (21) is coupled to and extends from the panel; and the panel includes an aperture (122) configured to receive the loose toy.
For claim 10, Chen as modified by Wilhelm (emphasis on Chen) further teach wherein the bowl includes a weight (30) disposed at a bottom/center of the cavity.
For claim 11, Chen as modified by Wilhelm (emphasis on Wilhelm) further teach wherein the plurality of convex protrusions (32) are configured to cause the pet toy to wobble back and forth along a non-linear pathway (It is noted that claiming of an element to perform certain action is intended or desired use and is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform, therefore, it does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. Further, note that it is well settled case law that such limitations, which are essentially method limitations or statements or intended or desired use, do not serve to patentably distinguish the claimed structure over that of the reference).
For claim 18, Chen as modified by Wilhelm (emphasis on Chen) further teach wherein the bowl includes a panel (11,12) disposed above the cavity including at least one aperture (122) configured to receive the loose toy, the stem (21) coupled to and extending from the panel.
Claims 2-5, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Renforth et al. (US 2006/0054105).
For claims 2 and 19, as described above, the references as applied to claim 1 above disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein the hanging toy includes: a body; and a cord extending from the body and coupled the limb.
Renforth et al. teach that it is old and well known in the art to provide the hanging toy includes: a body (106); and a cord (108) extending from the body and coupled the limb (104).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet toy assembly of the references as applied to claim 1 above so as to include the hanging toy includes: a body; and a cord extending from the body and coupled the limb, in a similar manner as taught in Renforth et al., so as to keep pets entertained and/or distracted when left alone.
For claims 3 and 19, the references as applied to claim 1 above as modified by Renforth et al. (emphasis on Renforth et al) further teach wherein the body (106) includes: a cover;
a compartment within the cover; and a filler material disposed within the compartment (see [0027]-[0029]).
For claims 4 and 20, the references as applied to claim 1 above as modified by Renforth et al. (emphasis on Renforth et al) further teach wherein the filler material includes catnip (see [0027]-[0029]).
For claim 5, the references as applied to claim 1 above as modified by Renforth et al. (emphasis on Renforth et al) further teach wherein the cord is comprised of an elastic material (see [0027]-[0029]).
Claims 7, 8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bentz (US 2019/0239481).
For claims 7, 8 and 17, as described above, the references as applied to claim 1 above disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning a loose toy disposed within the cavity of the bowl, and wherein the loose toy includes a noisemaker.
Bentz teaches that it is old and well known in the art to provide a loose toy (40,140,160,170,180) disposed within the cavity of the bowl (10,30), and wherein the loose toy includes a noisemaker (see [0020],[0021]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet toy assembly of the references as applied to claim 1 above so as to include a loose toy disposed within the cavity of the bowl and wherein the loose toy includes a noisemaker, in a similar manner as taught in Bentz, so as to keep pets entertained and/or distracted when left alone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wilhelm (US 2019/0021282).
For claim 12, Wilhelm teaches a pet toy comprising:
a base having a continuous rounded bottom surface (12,32,30);
a stem (14) extending from the base;
a plurality of branches (16, 18, 20) diverging from the stem; and
a plurality of hanging toys (60), one of the plurality of hanging toys being coupled to a respective one of the plurality of branches, wherein the rounded bottom surface (12,30,32; which is equivalent to Applicant’s rounded bottom surface (211)) includes a plurality of convex protrusions (32) such that the rounded bottom surface is a continuous, textured surface (equivalent to the continuous and textured surface of (30)) configured to contact a surface supporting the base.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelm (US 2019/0021282) in view of Renforth et al. (US 2006/0054105).
For claims 13 and 14, as described above, Wilhelm discloses most of the claimed invention except for mentioning wherein each hanging toy of the plurality of hanging toys includes: a body including a compartment; a filler material such as cat nip disposed within the compartment; and a cord extending between the body and one of the plurality of branches.
Renforth et al. teach that it is old and well known in the art to provide
a plurality of hanging toys includes: a body (106) including a compartment; a filler material such as cat nip (see [0027]) disposed within the compartment; and a cord (108) extending between the body and one of the plurality of branches (104).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet toy assembly of Wilhelm so as to include a plurality of hanging toys includes a body, a filler material, and a cord, in a similar manner as taught in Renforth et al., so as to keep pets entertained and/or distracted when left alone.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelm (US 2019/0021282) in view of Bentz (US 2019/0239481).
For claim 15, as described above, Wilhelm discloses most of the claimed invention except for mentioning a loose toy disposed within the cavity of the bowl, and wherein the loose toy includes a noisemaker.
Bentz teaches that it is old and well known in the art to provide a loose toy (40,140,160,170,180) disposed within the cavity of the bowl (10,30), and wherein the loose toy includes a noisemaker (see [0020],[0021]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet toy assembly of Wilhelm so as to include a loose toy disposed within the cavity of the bowl and wherein the loose toy includes a noisemaker, in a similar manner as taught in Bentz, so as to keep pets entertained and/or distracted when left alone.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 1/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that none of the prior arts (Chen and Wilhelm) teach the rounded bottom surface includes a plurality of convex protrusions such that the rounded bottom surface is a continuous, textured surface configured to contact a surface supporting the base. However, it is noted that Wilhelm does teach that it is old and well known in the art to provide a pet toy having a rounded bottom surface (12,30,32; which is equivalent to Applicant’s rounded bottom surface (211)) wherein the rounded bottom surface includes a plurality of convex protrusions (32) such that the rounded bottom surface is a continuous, textured surface (equivalent to the continuous and textured surface of (30)) configured to contact a surface supporting the base.
Conclusion
Note, although the examiner recites certain excerpts for the prior art, MPEP 2141.02 VI states “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS”.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Collins can be reached on 571-272-6886. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TRINH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644