DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Regarding objections to the drawings:
The drawings were objected to due to multiple informalities. The Applicant provided replacement drawings and amended the specification with relation to the drawings to correct the informalities, however, the drawings remain rejected due to an uncorrected informality.
Regarding objections to the specification:
The specification was objected to due to multiple informalities. The Applicant amended the specification to correct the informalities, therefore the objections were withdrawn.
Regarding rejections of the claims under §103:
Claims 1-3, 11-12, and 15 were rejected as being obvious over Jung in view of Baek. Claims 4 and 13-14 were rejected as being obvious over Jung in view of Baek and Leem. Claims 5-8 were rejected as being obvious over Jung in view of Baek, Leem, and Ni. Claim 9 was rejected as being obvious over Jung in view of Baek and Kim. Claim 10 was rejected as being obvious over Jung in view of Baek and Park. The Applicant amended claims 1-2, canceled claim 15, and added new claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-16, filed 4/10/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0251357 to Yokoi et al.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16 lines 1-2 the phrase “the base portion of the cover portion are integrally formed together” appears to have been meant to be “the base portion and the cover portion are integrally formed together.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description:
424 as seen in FIG. 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0109349 to Jung et al. (hereinafter Jung; cited by Applicant on 11/18/2024) in view of Korean Patent No. 10-2397096 to Baek et al. (hereinafter Baek) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0251357 to Yokoi et al. (hereinafter Yokoi).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches a motor (Paragraph [0061]) comprising:
a stator (FIG. 1, 110) having a rotor receiving portion;
a rotor (FIG. 1, 130);
an impeller (FIG. 1, 136); and
a housing (FIG. 1, 100) including:
a base portion (FIG. 1; 120, 100, 1210) having a receiving space, a first bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1203) in an upper portion (FIG. 1, 120) of the base portion,
a cover portion (FIG. 1, 102; Paragraph [0152]) in which the impeller is accommodatable so as to be covered by the cover portion, the cover portion having a through-hole (FIG. 1, 102, bottom part),
wherein the stator, the rotor, the impeller, and the housing are configured so that
with the stator seated in the receiving space, an end of the rotor is passable through the first bearing hole, then through the rotor receiving portion, and then through the through-hole, to accommodate the rotor in the rotor receiving portion and couple the rotor to the impeller accommodated in the cover portion (FIG. 4; 136, 131; Paragraph [0160]).
Jung does not teach a stator insertion hole that opens on a lateral side of the base portion; a cover member couplable to the base portion such that, when the cover member is coupled to the base portion, the cover member covers the stator insertion hole and, when the cover member is not coupled to the base portion, the stator insertion hole is uncovered, with the cover member not coupled to the base portion such that the stator insertion hole is uncovered, the stator is insertable through the stator insertion hole to be seated in the receiving space, and with the stator seated in the receiving space, the cover member is couplable to the base portion such that the stator insertion hole is covered.
However, Baek teaches a housing (FIG. 2, 21) with a stator insertion hole (FIG. 2, 21, right side), and a stator (FIG. 2, 50) insertable through the stator insertion hole to be seated in the receiving space (Paragraph [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Jung with the stator insertion hole of Baek to provide an easier installation method of the stator into the housing.
Jung in view of Baek does not teach a cover member couplable to the base portion such that, when the cover member is coupled to the base portion, the cover member covers the stator insertion hole and, when the cover member is not coupled to the base portion, the stator insertion hole is uncovered, with the cover member not coupled to the base portion such that the stator insertion hole is uncovered, and with the stator seated in the receiving space, the cover member is couplable to the base portion such that the stator insertion hole is covered.
However, Yokoi teaches a cover member (FIG. 5, 11) couplable to a base portion (FIG. 5, 12) such that, when the cover member is coupled to the base portion, the cover member covers the stator insertion hole (FIG. 5, open side of 12) and, when the cover member is not coupled to the base portion such that the stator insertion hole is uncovered, and with the stator seated in the receiving space, the cover member is couplable to the base portion such that the stator insertion hole is covered (Paragraph [0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Jung in view of Baek with the teachings of Yokoi to provide a couplable cover member to increase the replaceability and serviceability of the motor.
Regarding claim 2, Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi teaches the motor of claim 1, wherein Jung further teaches:
a first bearing (FIG. 1, 134) installable in the first bearing hole to support a first side of the rotor accommodated in the rotor receiving portion,
wherein
the cover portion and the impeller are arranged so that the impeller accommodated in the cover portion is between the first side of the rotor and a second side of the rotor accommodated in the rotor receiving portion (FIG. 4, 136; Paragraph [0295]), and
the motor further comprises:
a housing cover (FIG. 1, 1210) including a second bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1214), and
a second bearing (FIG. 1, 135) installable in the second bearing hole to support the second side of the rotor accommodated in the rotor receiving portion.
Regarding claim 3, Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi teaches the motor of claim 1, wherein Baek further teaches a center of the first bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1203) and a center of the through-hole (FIG. 1, 102) are on a rotation center of the motor accommodated in the rotor receiving portion.
Regarding claim 11, Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi teaches the motor of claim 1, wherein Jung further teaches the base portion having a second bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1214), and
the motor further comprising:
a first bearing (FIG. 1, 134) installable in the first bearing hole to support a first side of the rotor accommodated in the rotor receiving portion, and
a second bearing (FIG. 1, 135) installable in the second bearing hole to support a second side of the rotor accommodated in the rotor receiving portion.
Regarding claim 12, Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi teaches the motor of claim 11, wherein Jung further teaches a center of the first bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1203), a center of the second bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1214), and a center of the through-hole (FIG. 1, 102) are on a rotation center axis of the rotor accommodated in the rotor receiving portion.
Regarding claim 16, Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi teaches the motor of claim 1, wherein Yokoi further teaches the base portion and the cover portion being integrally formed together (Paragraph [0087]).
Claims 4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi and in further view of Korean Patent No. 10-2014-0119289 to Leem et al. (hereinafter Leem; provided by Applicant on 11/18/2024).
Regarding claim 4, Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi teaches the motor of claim 2.
Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi does not teach a plurality of connecting ribs spaced apart from each other along an outer circumference of the base portion and connecting the base portion and the cover portion, wherein the stator insertion hole is a space formed by the plurality of connecting ribs.
However, Leem teaches a body portion having a plurality of connecting ribs (FIG. 2, 32) spaced apart from each other along an outer circumference of the base portion and connecting the base portion and the cover portion, wherein the stator insertion hole is a space formed by the plurality of connecting ribs (FIG. 2, between ribs 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi with the connecting ribs of Leem to reduce the mass of the base portion and result in a lighter motor which could be useful depending on its use case.
Regarding claim 13, Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi teaches the motor of claim 11, wherein Jung further teaches the base portion including a first base portion (FIG. 1, 120) including the first bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1203) and a second base portion (FIG. 1, 1210) including the second bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1214) and formed on an opposite side of the first base portion with respect to the receiving space.
Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi does not teach a plurality of base connectors connecting the first base portion and the second base portion and being spaced apart from each other along an outer circumference of the first base portion.
However, Leem teaches a body portion having a plurality of base connectors (FIG. 2, 32) connecting a first base portion (FIG. 2, 31a) and a second base portion (FIG. 2, 31b) and spaced apart from each other along an outer circumference of the first base portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi with the base connectors of Leem to reduce the mass of the base portion and result in a lighter motor which could be useful depending on its use case.
Regarding claim 14, Jung in view of Baek, Yokoi, and Leem teaches the motor of claim 13, wherein Leem further teaches the stator insertion hole being a space formed by the plurality of base connectors (FIG. 2, between ribs 32).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Baek, Yokoi, and Leem and in further view of European Patent No. 3 005 921 to Ni (provided by Applicant on 11/18/2024).
Regarding claim 5, Jung in view of Baek, Yokoi, and Leem teaches the motor of claim 4.
Jung in view of Baek, Yokoi, and Leem does not teach the housing further including a support member configured to support the stator seated in the receiving space, and being removably couplable to the base portion.
However, Ni teaches a motor housing including a support member (FIG. 1; 4, 5) configured to support the stator (FIG. 1, 3) seated in the receiving space, and being removably couplable to the base portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Jung in view of Baek, Yokoi, and Leem with the support member of Ni as it provides further axial positioning of the stator and can be more easily assembled due to its removable coupling.
Regarding claim 6, Jung in view of Baek, Yokoi, Leem, and Ni teaches the motor of claim 5, wherein the base portion includes:
a first base portion (Baek FIG. 2, 31a) forming the first bearing hole and
a second base portion (Baek FIG. 2, upper portion of 32) connecting the first base portion to the plurality of connecting ribs, and having an insertion hole (Baek FIG. 2, between spokes of 32) into which a coupling member is insertable (Ni FIG. 2, 5, portion with screw) to couple the support member to the base portion.
Regarding claim 7, Jung in view of Baek, Yokoi, Leem, and Ni teaches the motor of claim 6, wherein Ni further teaches the support member including a coupling hole (FIG. 2, 5, portion with screw) configured to be coupled to the coupling member inserted into the insertion hole.
Regarding claim 8, Jung in view of Baek, Yokoi, Leem, and Ni teaches the motor of claim 7, wherein Ni further teaches the support member including a support block (FIG. 2, 5) in which the coupling hole is formed, and a support protrusion (FIG. 2, 4) protruding from the support block toward the receiving space to support the stator seated in the receiving space from a lower side.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0214304 to Kim.
Regarding claim 9, Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi teaches the motor of claim 2, wherein Jung further teaches the stator including a stator core (FIG. 1, 111) that forms the rotor receiving portion.
Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi does not teach the base portion including a support groove configured to support an upper surface of the stator core seated in the receiving space.
However, Kim teaches a base portion with a support groove (FIG. 6, 120) configured to support an upper surface of a stator core seated in its receiving space (Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi with the groove of Kim to further axially support the stator.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0330146 to Park et al. (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 10, Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi teaches the motor of claim 1.
Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi does not teach the cover portion further including a protruding rib protruding from an inner surface of the cover portion toward an inner side of the cover portion and extending along an inner circumferential surface of the cover portion, and when the impeller is coupled to the rotor and accommodated in, and covered by, the cover portion, the impeller is in contact with the protruding rib.
However, Park teaches a cover portion (FIG. 11, 220) including a protruding rib (FIG. 12, 222) protruding from an inner surface of the cover portion toward an inner side of the cover portion and extending along an inner circumferential surface of the cover portion, and when the impeller is coupled to the rotor and accommodated in, and covered by, the cover portion, the impeller is in contact with the protruding rib (Paragraph [0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Jung in view of Baek and Yokoi with the protruding rib of Park to maintain a constant distance between the impeller and the cover and have a more stable and efficient operation (Paragraph [0091]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834