DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
In FIG. 15 there are two instances of the character 433, the leftmost of which appears to be incorrect.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description:
2 referring to a cleaner in page 19.
3 referring to a cleaner in page 35.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description:
180 as seen in FIG. 4.
414a, 414b, 414c as seen in FIG. 14.
416a, 416b, 432a, 432b, 432c, 440a, 440b, 440c, 4113a, 4113b, 4113c as seen in FIG. 16.
424 as seen in FIG. 18.
612, 614, 641, 642, 643, 682, 810, 811, 812, 813, 820, 821, 822, 823, 824 as seen in FIG. 21.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In page 25 the phrase “cover portion 423” appears to have been meant to be “interior 423.”
In page 44 the phrase “coupling member 430 provided to coupled the support member 440” should instead be “coupling member 430 provided to couple the support member 440.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0109349 to Jung et al. (hereinafter Jung; cited by Applicant on 11/18/2024) in view of Korean Patent No. 10-2397096 to Baek et al. (hereinafter Baek).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches a motor (Paragraph [0061]) comprising:
a stator (FIG. 1, 110) having a rotor receiving portion;
a rotor (FIG. 1, 130);
an impeller (FIG. 1, 136); and
a housing (FIG. 1, 100) including:
a base portion (FIG. 1; 120, 100, 1210) having a receiving space, a first bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1203) in an upper portion (FIG. 1, 120) of the base portion,
a cover portion (FIG. 1, 102; Paragraph [0152]) in which the impeller is accommodatable so as to be covered by the cover portion, the cover portion having a through-hole (FIG. 1, 102, bottom part),
wherein the stator, the rotor, the impeller, and the housing are configured so that
with the stator seated in the receiving space, an end of the rotor is passable through the first bearing hole, then through the rotor receiving portion, and then through the through-hole, to accommodate the rotor in the rotor receiving portion and couple the rotor to the impeller accommodated in the cover portion (FIG. 4; 136, 131; Paragraph [0160]).
Jung does not teach a stator insertion hole that opens on a lateral side of the base portion, and the stator is insertable through the stator insertion hole to be seated in the receiving space.
However, Baek teaches a housing (FIG. 2, 21) with a stator insertion hole (FIG. 2, 21, right side), and a stator (FIG. 2, 50) insertable through the stator insertion hole to be seated in the receiving space (Paragraph [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Jung with the stator insertion hole of Baek to provide an easier installation method of the stator into the housing.
Regarding claim 2, Jung in view of Baek teaches the motor of claim 1, wherein Jung further teaches:
a first bearing (FIG. 1, 134) installable in the first bearing hole to support a first side of the rotor accommodated in the rotor receiving portion,
wherein
the cover portion and the impeller are arranged so that the impeller accommodated in the cover portion is between the first side of the rotor and a second side of the rotor accommodated in the rotor receiving portion (FIG. 4, 136; Paragraph [0295]), and
the motor further comprises:
a housing cover (FIG. 1, 1210) including a second bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1214), and
a second bearing (FIG. 1, 135) installable in the second bearing hole to support the second side of the rotor accommodated in the rotor receiving portion.
Regarding claim 3, Jung in view of Baek teaches the motor of claim 1, wherein a center of the first bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1203) and a center of the through-hole (FIG. 1, 102) are on a rotation center of the motor accommodated in the rotor receiving portion.
Regarding claim 11, Jung in view of Baek teaches the motor of claim 1, wherein Jung further teaches the base portion having a second bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1214), and
the motor further comprising:
a first bearing (FIG. 1, 134) installable in the first bearing hole to support a first side of the rotor accommodated in the rotor receiving portion, and
a second bearing (FIG. 1, 135) installable in the second bearing hole to support a second side of the rotor accommodated in the rotor receiving portion.
Regarding claim 12, Jung in view of Baek teaches the motor of claim 11, wherein Jung further teaches a center of the first bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1203), a center of the second bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1214), and a center of the through-hole (FIG. 1, 102) are on a rotation center axis of the rotor accommodated in the rotor receiving portion.
Regarding claim 15, Jung in view of Baek teaches the motor of claim 11, wherein Baek further teaches a cover member (FIG. 2, 22) removably couplable to the base portion so as to cover the stator insertion hole.
Claims 4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Baek and in further view of Korean Patent No. 10-2014-0119289 to Leem et al. (hereinafter Leem; provided by Applicant on 11/18/2024).
Regarding claim 4, Jung in view of Baek teaches the motor of claim 2.
Jung in view of Baek does not teach a plurality of connecting ribs spaced apart from each other along an outer circumference of the base portion and connecting the base portion and the cover portion, wherein the stator insertion hole is a space formed by the plurality of connecting ribs.
However, Leem teaches a body portion having a plurality of connecting ribs (FIG. 2, 32) spaced apart from each other along an outer circumference of the base portion and connecting the base portion and the cover portion, wherein the stator insertion hole is a space formed by the plurality of connecting ribs (FIG. 2, between ribs 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Jung in view of Baek with the connecting ribs of Leem to reduce the mass of the base portion and result in a lighter motor which could be useful depending on its use case.
Regarding claim 13, Jung in view of Baek teaches the motor of claim 11, wherein Jung further teaches the base portion including a first base portion (FIG. 1, 120) including the first bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1203) and a second base portion (FIG. 1, 1210) including the second bearing hole (FIG. 1, 1214) and formed on an opposite side of the first base portion with respect to the receiving space.
Jung in view of Baek does not teach a plurality of base connectors connecting the first base portion and the second base portion and being spaced apart from each other along an outer circumference of the first base portion.
However, Leem teaches a body portion having a plurality of base connectors (FIG. 2, 32) connecting a first base portion (FIG. 2, 31a) and a second base portion (FIG. 2, 31b) and spaced apart from each other along an outer circumference of the first base portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Jung in view of Baek with the base connectors of Leem to reduce the mass of the base portion and result in a lighter motor which could be useful depending on its use case.
Regarding claim 14, Jung in view of Baek and Leem teaches the motor of claim 13, wherein Leem further teaches the stator insertion hole being a space formed by the plurality of base connectors (FIG. 2, between ribs 32).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Baek and Leem and in further view of European Patent No. 3 005 921 to Ni (provided by Applicant on 11/18/2024).
Regarding claim 5, Jung in view of Baek and Leem teaches the motor of claim 4.
Jung in view of Baek and Leem does not teach the housing further including a support member configured to support the stator seated in the receiving space, and being removably couplable to the base portion.
However, Ni teaches a motor housing including a support member (FIG. 1; 4, 5) configured to support the stator (FIG. 1, 3) seated in the receiving space, and being removably couplable to the base portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Jung in view of Baek and Leem with the support member of Ni as it provides further axial positioning of the stator and can be more easily assembled due to its removable coupling.
Regarding claim 6, Jung in view of Baek, Leem, and Ni teaches the motor of claim 5, wherein the base portion includes:
a first base portion (Baek FIG. 2, 31a) forming the first bearing hole and
a second base portion (Baek FIG. 2, upper portion of 32) connecting the first base portion to the plurality of connecting ribs, and having an insertion hole (Baek FIG. 2, between spokes of 32) into which a coupling member is insertable (Ni FIG. 2, 5, portion with screw) to couple the support member to the base portion.
Regarding claim 7, Jung in view of Baek, Leem, and Ni teaches the motor of claim 6, wherein Ni further teaches the support member including a coupling hole (FIG. 2, 5, portion with screw) configured to be coupled to the coupling member inserted into the insertion hole.
Regarding claim 8, Jung in view of Baek, Leem, and Ni teaches the motor of claim 7, wherein Ni further teaches the support member including a support block (FIG. 2, 5) in which the coupling hole is formed, and a support protrusion (FIG. 2, 4) protruding from the support block toward the receiving space to support the stator seated in the receiving space from a lower side.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Baek and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0214304 to Kim.
Regarding claim 9, Jung in view of Baek teaches the motor of claim 2, wherein Jung further teaches the stator including a stator core (FIG. 1, 111) that forms the rotor receiving portion.
Jung in view of Baek does not teach the base portion including a support groove configured to support an upper surface of the stator core seated in the receiving space.
However, Kim teaches a base portion with a support groove (FIG. 6, 120) configured to support an upper surface of a stator core seated in its receiving space (Paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Jung in view of Baek with the groove of Kim to further axially support the stator.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Baek and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0330146 to Park et al. (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 10, Jung in view of Baek teaches the motor of claim 1.
Jung in view of Baek does not teach the cover portion further including a protruding rib protruding from an inner surface of the cover portion toward an inner side of the cover portion and extending along an inner circumferential surface of the cover portion, and when the impeller is coupled to the rotor and accommodated in, and covered by, the cover portion, the impeller is in contact with the protruding rib.
However, Park teaches a cover portion (FIG. 11, 220) including a protruding rib (FIG. 12, 222) protruding from an inner surface of the cover portion toward an inner side of the cover portion and extending along an inner circumferential surface of the cover portion, and when the impeller is coupled to the rotor and accommodated in, and covered by, the cover portion, the impeller is in contact with the protruding rib (Paragraph [0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Jung in view of Baek with the protruding rib of Park to maintain a constant distance between the impeller and the cover and have a more stable and efficient operation (Paragraph [0091]).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834