DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed on 05/29/2026, have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments against the rejections in view of the prior art of record have been fully considered, but are not persuasive as they do not address the new grounds of rejection and/or interpretation below necessitated by Applicant’s amendments and clarifications.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 4-21 of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/452,874, hereafter, co-pending application.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
It is clear that all the elements of claim 1 in the immediate application are found in claim 1 of the co-pending application, as analyzed below. The claims are not identical; however, the method for converting osseous graft to vital bone, comprising: identifying a patient having oral bone graft material at a graft site; providing to the patient a vibrational dental device having a mouthpiece for contacting the dentition; placing the mouthpiece over the dentition such that the mouthpiece contacts the dentition; and operating the vibrational dental device to apply a vibratory force to the dentition during a predetermined number of sessions throughout a predetermined treatment period to convert the graft material to mature, vital bone faster than without vibratory treatment; wherein the graft material comprises a scaffold comprising a blood clot and a membrane, and wherein the converted mature, vital bone includes osteocytes present in lacunae at the graft site; would have been obvious over the method cited in the co-pending application.
The difference between the claims of the immediate application and the claims of the co-application lies in the fact that the co-application’s claims include many more elements and steps, thus is much more specific. Thus, the invention of the co-application is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the immediate application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the claims in the immediate application are anticipated by the claims of the co-pending application, therefore, the immediate application is not patentably distinct from the claims of the co-pending application. Claims 1-10 in the immediate application have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-21 in the co-pending application. Please see the double patenting analysis below.
Claim 1 is rejected with respect to claim 1 of the co-pending application.
Claim 2 is rejected with respect to claim 2 of the co-pending application.
Claim 3 is rejected with respect to claim 13 of the co-pending application.
Claim 4 is rejected with respect to claim 4 of the co-pending application.
Claim 5 is rejected with respect to claim 5 of the co-pending application.
Claim 6 is rejected with respect to claim 13 of the co-pending application.
Claim 7 is rejected with respect to claim 14 of the co-pending application.
Claim 8 is rejected with respect to claim 15 of the co-pending application.
Claim 9 is rejected with respect to claim 20 of the co-pending application.
Claim 10 is rejected with respect to claim 1 of the co-pending application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
set forth in this Office action:
103 are summarized as follows:
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teixeira (US 20190239992 A1) in view of Elian (US 20200086000 A1), as evidenced by ScienceDirect (see the NPL attached amd The PTO 892 form).
Regarding claim 1, Teixeira teaches a method for converting osseous graft to vital bone (Abstract), comprising: identifying a patient having oral bone graft material at a graft site (since the subject had dental surgery and the physiologic stimulation of the invention will improve the healing process of bone after grafting [0036]); providing to the patient a vibrational dental device having a mouthpiece for contacting the dentition ([0040]); placing the mouthpiece over the dentition such that the mouthpiece contacts the dentition; and operating the vibrational dental device to apply a vibratory force to the dentition during a predetermined number of sessions throughout a predetermined treatment period ([0060]) to convert the graft material to mature, vital bone faster than without vibratory treatment (since the applied High Frequency, Low Magnitude Forces increase bone osteogenic activity [0071]). And wherein the converted mature, vital bone includes osteocytes present in lacunae at the graft site (since necessarily mature vital bone contains osteocytes present in lacunae, as evidenced by ScienceDirect: “osteocytes are bone cells embedded in lacunae within the mineralized bone matrix”).
However, Teixeira fails to disclose “wherein the graft material comprises a scaffold comprising a blood clot and a membrane”.
Elian teaches a method for converting osseous graft to vital bone (Abstract), comprising: bone graft material at a graft site ([0146]); wherein the graft material comprises a scaffold (the three-dimensional carrier matrix, 3D printed [0145]) comprising a blood clot (since the graft contains growth factor composition comprises a platelet-rich fibrin (PRF) prepared from whole blood without adding any additives [0361] and because blood is collected without any anticoagulant and immediately centrifuged, a natural coagulation process then occurs and allows for the easy collection of a leucocyte- and platelet-rich fibrin (L-PRF) clot, without the need for any biochemical modification of the blood, that is, no anticoagulants [0363]) and a membrane (see amnion membrane [0145]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Teixeira’s method to add to the graft material a scaffold comprising a blood clot and a membrane, since such modification would add a structure to the graft and platelet-rich fibrin (L-PRF) clot, without the need for any biochemical modification of the blood ([0363]).
Regarding claim 2, Teixeira and Elian, as combined above, teach the invention substantially as claimed. Teixeira teaches wherein the frequency is ranging from 45 Hz to 150 Hz ([0009]).
Regarding claim 3, Teixeira and Elian, as combined above, teach the invention substantially as claimed. Teixeira teaches wherein the session time is ranging from 30 seconds to 20 minutes (e.g., 5 minutes [0061]).
Regarding claim 4, Teixeira and Elian, as combined above, teach the invention substantially as claimed. Teixeira teaches wherein the acceleration of the mouthpiece ranged from 0.010 G to 0.15 G ([0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Teixeira and Elian, as combined above, teach the invention substantially as claimed. Teixeira teaches wherein the frequency is about 113 Hz ([0028]).
Regarding claim 6, Teixeira and Elian, as combined above, teach the invention substantially as claimed. Teixeira teaches wherein the session time is from 30 seconds to 20 minutes ([0061]), and wherein the vibratory force is applied through the dentition to stimulate bone remodeling at the graft site to promote osteogenesis (since Teixeira treatment increased osteogenesis [0080]).
Regarding claim 7, Teixeira and Elian, as combined above, teach the invention substantially as claimed. Teixeira teaches where sessions are repeated daily, every other day, semi-weekly, or weekly ([0061]).
Regarding claim 8, Teixeira and Elian, as combined above, teach the invention substantially as claimed. Teixeira teaches wherein the treatment period is from 1 day to 1 year ([0061]).
Regarding claim 9, Teixeira and Elian, as combined above, fail to disclose “wherein the bone graft is autograft”.
Elian further teaches wherein the bone graft is autograft (e.g. autologous fibroblasts and autologous cells [0145]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Teixeira’s method to add to the graft material comprises autograft, since such modification would aid in the success of the graft.
Regarding claim 10, Teixeira teaches a method for accelerating graft conversion to alveolar bone (Abstract), comprising: identifying a patient having bone graft material placed at a graft site around an exposed portion of a dental implant, and one or more teeth comprising the patient's dentition (since the subject had dental surgery and the physiologic stimulation of the invention will improve the healing process of bone after grafting, the site being e.g., tooth extractions [0036]; wherein the subject has an oral implant [0035] and claim 8); providing to the patient a vibrational dental device having a mouthpiece for contacting the dentition ([0040]) and/or the dental implant; placing the mouthpiece over the dentition such that the mouthpiece contacts the dentition; and operating the vibrational dental device to apply a vibratory force to the dentition and/or the dental implant during a predetermined number of sessions throughout a predetermined treatment period ([0060]) to convert the graft material to mature bone faster than without vibratory treatment (since the applied High Frequency, Low Magnitude Forces increase bone osteogenic activity [0071]); and wherein the converted mature, vital bone includes osteocytes present in lacunae at the graft site (since necessarily mature vital bone contains osteocytes present in lacunae, as evidenced by ScienceDirect: “osteocytes are bone cells embedded in lacunae within the mineralized bone matrix”).
However, Teixeira fails to disclose “wherein the graft material comprises a scaffold surrounding the dental implant, the scaffold comprising a blood clot and a membrane”.
Elian teaches a method for converting osseous graft to vital bone (Abstract), comprising: bone graft material at a graft site ([0146]) wherein the graft site is the location of a dental implant ([0146]); wherein the graft material comprises a scaffold (the three-dimensional carrier matrix, 3D printed [0145]) surrounding the dental implant ([0149]) the scaffold comprising a blood clot (since the graft contains growth factor composition comprises a platelet-rich fibrin (PRF) prepared from whole blood without adding any additives [0361] and because blood is collected without any anticoagulant and immediately centrifuged, a natural coagulation process then occurs and allows for the easy collection of a leucocyte- and platelet-rich fibrin (L-PRF) clot, without the need for any biochemical modification of the blood, that is, no anticoagulants [0363]) and a membrane (see amnion membrane [0145]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Teixeira’s method to add to the graft material a scaffold surrounding the dental implant, comprising a blood clot and a membrane, since such modification would add a structure to the graft and platelet-rich fibrin (L-PRF) clot, without the need for any biochemical modification of the blood ([0363]).
Regarding claims 11 and 13, Teixeira and Elian, as combined above, teach the invention substantially as claimed. Elian teaches wherein the membrane is a resorbable membrane (since it is an amnion membrane [0145]).
Regarding claims 12 and 14, Teixeira and Elian, as combined above, teach the invention substantially as claimed. Elian teaches wherein the resorbable membrane is an amnion- chorion membrane ([0145]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUIS RUIZ whose telephone number is (571)270-0839. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 Am - 5 PM (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eric Rosen can be reached on (571) 270-7855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Luis Ruiz Martin/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3772
/ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772