DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 212, 300. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because the reference character 110 with the reference arrow shown in figure 3 appears to be a duplication error and should possibly be changed to reference character 109 based on figures 1A and 1B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recitation of, “wherein the PTO bearing radially constrains the RPS rotor to the PTO stator” is indefinite because it is unclear how the PTO bearing is radially constraining the RPS rotor to the PTO stator when in claim 1 the RPS rotor is affixed to the PTO shaft and the RPS stator is affixed to the PTO stator.
For examining purposes the Examiner is interpreting the claim as intending to recite “wherein the PTO bearing radially constrains the RPS rotor to the PTO shaft” because all the dependent claims that follow are focused on the PTO rotor, PTO shaft, and RPS rotor.
Dependent claims 7-11 are rejected, as they inherit the deficiency of claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ternehäll (US 4,405,038), in view of Worofka (US 2024/0011805).
Regarding claim 1, Ternehäll discloses a power takeoff (PTO) (7 of Figure 1-2) comprising:
a PTO stator (8 of Figure 1-2);
a PTO rotor (10 of Figure 1-2), wherein the PTO rotor is configured to rotate relative to the PTO stator about a central axis;
a PTO bearing (16 of Figure 1-2);
a PTO shaft (15 of Figure 1-2), wherein the PTO shaft is affixed to the PTO rotor (via 23 of Figure 1-2, rotor hub), wherein the PTO bearing couples between the PTO shaft and the PTO stator.
Ternehäll does not explicitly disclose a rotor position sensor (RPS) comprising:
an RPS stator, wherein the RPS stator is affixed to the PTO stator; and
a RPS rotor, wherein the RPS rotor is affixed to the PTO shaft, wherein the RPS rotor is configured to rotate relative to the RPS stator about the central axis, wherein the RPS stator is configured to sense a rotary position of the RPS rotor.
Worofka discloses a rotor position sensor (RPS) (20 of Figure 1) comprising:
an RPS stator (26 of Figure 1), wherein the RPS stator is affixed (via 14 of Figure 1) to the PTO stator (18 of Figure 1); and
a RPS rotor (22 of Figure 1), wherein the RPS rotor is affixed to the PTO shaft (10 of Figure 1), wherein the RPS rotor is configured to rotate relative to the RPS stator about the central axis (8 of Figure 1), wherein the RPS stator is configured to sense a rotary position of the RPS rotor (Para. 0050-0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use a rotor position sensor (RPS) in the system of Ternehäll, as taught by Worofka, to provide real-time angular data for electric motors that result in precise control for better efficiency, smoother operation, and increased safety by allowing controllers to optimize power delivery, reduce mechanical stress, and adapt to harsh conditions.
Regarding claims 2, 3, Ternehäll discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the RPS rotor and the PTO rotor (10 of Figure 1-2) are each affixed to an end of the PTO shaft (15 of Figure 1-2) (claim 2);
wherein the RPS rotor is affixed to the PTO shaft (15 of Figure 1-2) within an inner diameter of the PTO shaft (claim 3).
Worofka discloses wherein the RPS rotor (22 of Figure 1) and the PTO rotor (16 of Figure 1) are each affixed to an end of the PTO shaft (see Figures 1, 3; 10 of Figure 1) (claim 2);
wherein the RPS rotor (22 of Figure 1) is affixed to the PTO shaft (10 of Figure 1) within an inner diameter of the PTO shaft (see Figure 4-5) (claim 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to attach a rotor position sensor (RPS) to the rotor and shaft of Ternehäll, as taught by Worofka, to provide real-time angular data for electric motors that result in precise control for better efficiency, smoother operation, and increased safety by allowing controllers to optimize power delivery, reduce mechanical stress, and adapt to harsh conditions.
Regarding claims 4, 5, Ternehäll discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the PTO shaft is configured to axially translate relative to the PTO bearing (claim 4);
wherein the RPS rotor is configured to axially translate relative to the RPS stator (claim 5).
Worofka discloses wherein the PTO shaft (10 of Figure 1) is configured to axially translate (48 of Figure 5) relative to the PTO bearing (Para. 0048) (claim 4);
wherein the RPS rotor (22 of Figure 1) is configured to axially translate (48 of Figure 5) relative to the RPS stator (26 of Figure 1) (claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to attach a rotor position sensor (RPS) to the rotor and shaft of Ternehäll and configure them to move axially, as taught by Worofka, in order to install the rotor position sensors into place on the shaft and stator [Worofka: Para. 0055].
Regarding claims 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, Ternehäll discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the PTO bearing radially constrains the RPS rotor to the PTO stator (claim 6);
wherein the PTO rotor, the PTO shaft, and the RPS rotor are coaxially aligned (claim 7);
wherein the PTO rotor, the PTO shaft, and the RPS rotor form a rigid body (claim 8);
wherein the PTO rotor, the PTO shaft, and the RPS rotor are configured to rotate relative to the PTO stator and the RPS stator (claim 9);
wherein the PTO rotor, the PTO shaft, and the RPS rotor are configured to axially translate relative to the PTO stator and the RPS stator (claim 10);
wherein the rotor position sensor is configured to sense a rotary position of the PTO rotor, the PTO shaft, and the RPS rotor (claim 11).
Worofka discloses wherein the PTO bearing (Para. 0048) radially constrains the RPS rotor (22 of Figure 1) to the PTO [shaft] (10 of Figure 1) (see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above) (claim 6);
wherein the PTO rotor (16 of Figure 1), the PTO shaft (10 of Figure 1), and the RPS rotor (22 of Figure 1) are coaxially aligned (claim 7);
wherein the PTO rotor (16 of Figure 1), the PTO shaft (10 of Figure 1), and the RPS rotor (22 of Figure 1) form a rigid body (claim 8);
wherein the PTO rotor (16 of Figure 1), the PTO shaft (10 of Figure 1), and the RPS rotor (22 of Figure 1) are configured to rotate relative to the PTO stator (18 of Figure 1) and the RPS stator (26 of Figure 1) (claim 9);
wherein the PTO rotor (16 of Figure 1), the PTO shaft (10 of Figure 1), and the RPS rotor (22 of Figure 1) are configured to axially translate (48 of Figure 5) relative to the PTO stator (18 of Figure 1) and the RPS stator (26 of Figure 1) (claim 10);
wherein the rotor position sensor (20 of Figure 1) is configured to sense a rotary position (Para. 0050) of the PTO rotor (16 of Figure 1), the PTO shaft (10 of Figure 1), and the RPS rotor (22 of Figure 1) (claim 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the have a rotary position sensor installed in the system of Ternehäll constrained by bearings, form a rigid body, be coaxially aligned and configured rotate and axially translate relative to the stator and stator sensor, as taught by Worofka, to provide real-time angular data for electric motors that result in precise control for better efficiency, smoother operation, and increased safety by allowing controllers to optimize power delivery, reduce mechanical stress, and adapt to harsh conditions.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ternehäll (US 4,405,038), in view of Worofka (US 2024/0011805) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bartell (US 4,529,901).
Regarding claim 12, Ternehäll discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the power takeoff is an oil-pump PTO, wherein the PTO stator (8 of Figure 1-2) defines an oil-pump outlet, wherein rotation of the PTO rotor (10 of Figure 1-2) causes oil to be pumped from the oil-pump outlet.
Bartell discloses wherein the power takeoff is an oil-pump PTO (abstract; Col. 1:41-45), wherein the PTO stator (26 of Figure 2) defines an oil-pump outlet, wherein rotation of the PTO rotor (34 of Figure 1) causes oil to be pumped from the oil-pump outlet (Col. 2:27-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have an oil-pump in the power takeoff of Ternehäll, as taught by Bartell, to incorporate lubricating means for effectively lubricating the bearings without leakage or loss of oil [Bartel: Col. 1:25-31].
Claims 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchiyama (US 4,259,603), in view of Ternehäll (US 4,405,038) and Worofka (US 2024/0011805).
Regarding claim 13, Uchiyama discloses an electric motor (EM) (see Figure 1) comprising:
an EM rotor (200, 201 of Figure 1);
an EM stator (100 of Figure 1), wherein the EM stator is configured to induce a magnetic field, wherein the magnetic field is configured to cause the EM rotor to rotate relative to the EM stator;
a rotor shaft (203 of Figure 1), wherein the EM rotor is affixed to the rotor shaft;
an EM flange (122 of Figure 5), wherein the EM flange is affixed to the rotor shaft, wherein the EM rotor, the rotor shaft, and the EM flange are configured to rotate together about the central axis (see Figure 1); and
an EM housing (400 of Figure 1), wherein the EM stator is affixed to the EM housing;
a rotor position sensor (RPS) (150 of Figure 2, 9, 10) comprising:
an RPS stator (151 of Figure 9, 10), and
a RPS rotor (204 of Figure 1, 13);
wherein the RPS rotor is configured to rotate (via 203 of Figure 1) relative to the RPS stator about the central axis (see Figure 1), wherein the RPS stator is configured to sense a rotary position of the RPS rotor (Col. 6:37-51).
Uchiyama does not explicitly disclose a power takeoff (PTO) comprising:
a PTO stator;
a PTO rotor, wherein the PTO rotor is configured to rotate relative to the PTO stator about a central axis;
a PTO bearing;
a PTO shaft, wherein the PTO shaft is affixed to the PTO rotor, wherein the PTO bearing couples between the PTO shaft and the PTO stator; and
wherein the RPS stator is affixed to the PTO stator; and
wherein the RPS rotor is affixed to the PTO shaft; and
wherein the PTO shaft is mechanically coupled to the rotor shaft;
wherein the PTO rotor, the RPS rotor, the PTO shaft are configured to rotate together about the central axis; and
wherein the PTO stator is affixed to the EM housing.
Ternehäll discloses a power takeoff (PTO) (7 of Figure 1-2) comprising:
a PTO stator (8 of Figure 1-2);
a PTO rotor (10 of Figure 1-2), wherein the PTO rotor is configured to rotate relative to the PTO stator about a central axis;
a PTO bearing (16 of Figure 1-2);
a PTO shaft (15 of Figure 1-2), wherein the PTO shaft is affixed to the PTO rotor (via 23 of Figure 1-2, rotor hub), wherein the PTO bearing couples between the PTO shaft and the PTO stator; and
wherein the PTO shaft is mechanically coupled to the rotor shaft (1 of Figure 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use a power takeoff with the motor of Uchiyama, as taught by Ternehäll, for added benefits such as reduced emissions and noise as well as reduced cost as a result of lower maintenance and increased efficiency.
Worofka discloses a rotor position sensor (RPS) (20 of Figure 1) comprising:
an RPS stator (26 of Figure 1), wherein the RPS stator is affixed (via 14 of Figure 1) to the PTO stator (18 of Figure 1); and
a RPS rotor (22 of Figure 1), wherein the RPS rotor is affixed to the PTO shaft (10 of Figure 1), wherein the RPS rotor is configured to rotate relative to the RPS stator about the central axis (8 of Figure 1), wherein the RPS stator is configured to sense a rotary position of the RPS rotor (Para. 0050-0051);
wherein the PTO rotor (16 of Figure 1), the RPS rotor, the PTO shaft are configured to rotate together about the central axis; and
wherein the PTO stator is affixed to the EM housing (14 of Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use a rotor position sensor (RPS) in the electric motor of Uchiyama, as taught by Worofka, to provide real-time angular data for electric motors that result in precise control for better efficiency, smoother operation, and increased safety by allowing controllers to optimize power delivery, reduce mechanical stress, and adapt to harsh conditions.
Regarding claim 14, Uchiyama discloses wherein an outer radius of the rotor shaft (203 of Figure 1) is affixed to an inner radius of the EM rotor (200, 201 of Figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Uchiyama discloses wherein the PTO rotor, the PTO shaft, and the RPS rotor form a rigid body (claim 15);
wherein the PTO rotor, the PTO shaft, and the RPS rotor are configured to axially translate relative to the rotor shaft (claim 16).
Regarding claim 17, Uchiyama discloses wherein the EM flange (122 of Figure 5) are disposed at opposing ends of the rotor shaft (203 of Figure 1).
Uchiyama not explicitly disclose the PTO shaft.
Ternehäll discloses the PTO shaft (15 of Figure 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use a power takeoff with the motor of Uchiyama, as taught by Ternehäll, for added benefits such as reduced emissions and noise as well as reduced cost as a result of lower maintenance and increased efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, Uchiyama discloses wherein the electric motor (see Figure 1) is a three-phase electric motor (inherent because the coils are arranged around the stator yoke to be energized in a specific sequence, creating a rotating magnetic field that interacts with the rotor's permanent magnets).
Regarding claim 19, Uchiyama discloses wherein the electric motor (see Figure 1) does not comprise a bearing coupling the EM rotor (200, 201 of Figure 1) to the EM stator (100 of Figure 1).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ternehäll (US 4,405,038), in view of Worofka (US 2024/0011805), Uchiyama (US 4,259,603), and Chilton (US 1,502,018).
Regarding claim 20, Ternehäll discloses a drive-train system (Abstract, vehicle) comprising:
an electric motor (Abstract, motor vehicle) comprising:
a power takeoff (PTO) (7 of Figure 1-2) comprising:
a PTO stator (8 of Figure 1-2);
a PTO rotor (10 of Figure 1-2), wherein the PTO rotor is configured to rotate relative to the PTO stator about a central axis;
a PTO bearing (16 of Figure 1-2);
a PTO shaft (15 of Figure 1-2), wherein the PTO shaft is affixed to the PTO rotor (via 23 of Figure 1-2, rotor hub), wherein the PTO bearing couples between the PTO shaft and the PTO stator; and
a rotor shaft (1 of Figure 1-2), wherein the PTO shaft is mechanically coupled to the rotor shaft, wherein the EM rotor is affixed to the rotor shaft.
Ternehäll does not explicitly disclose a rotor position sensor (RPS) comprising:
an RPS stator, wherein the RPS stator is affixed to the PTO stator; and
a RPS rotor, wherein the RPS rotor is affixed to the PTO shaft, wherein the RPS rotor is configured to rotate relative to the RPS stator about the central axis, wherein the RPS stator is configured to sense a rotary position of the RPS rotor;
an EM rotor;
an EM stator, wherein the EM stator is configured to induce a magnetic field, wherein the magnetic field is configured to cause the EM rotor to rotate relative to the EM stator;
an EM flange, wherein the EM flange is affixed to the rotor shaft, wherein the PTO rotor, the RPS rotor, the PTO shaft, the EM rotor, the rotor shaft, and the EM flange are configured to rotate together about the central axis; and
an EM housing, wherein the PTO stator and the EM stator are affixed to the EM housing; and
an external device (ED) comprising:
an ED flange, wherein the EM flange is affixed to the ED flange;
an ED shaft, wherein the ED shaft is affixed to the ED flange, wherein the rotor shaft, the EM flange, the ED flange, and the ED shaft form a rigid body;
a plurality of ED bearings; and
an ED housing, wherein the EM housing is affixed to the ED housing, wherein the plurality of ED bearings couple between the ED shaft and the ED housing.
Worofka discloses a rotor position sensor (RPS) (20 of Figure 1) comprising:
an RPS stator (26 of Figure 1), wherein the RPS stator is affixed (via 14 of Figure 1) to the PTO stator (18 of Figure 1); and
a RPS rotor (22 of Figure 1), wherein the RPS rotor is affixed to the PTO shaft (10 of Figure 1), wherein the RPS rotor is configured to rotate relative to the RPS stator about the central axis (8 of Figure 1), wherein the RPS stator is configured to sense a rotary position of the RPS rotor (Para. 0050-0051);
wherein the PTO rotor (16 of Figure 1), the RPS rotor, the PTO shaft are configured to rotate together about the central axis; and
wherein the PTO stator is affixed to the EM housing (14 of Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use a rotor position sensor (RPS) in the electric motor of Uchiyama, as taught by Worofka, to provide real-time angular data for electric motors that result in precise control for better efficiency, smoother operation, and increased safety by allowing controllers to optimize power delivery, reduce mechanical stress, and adapt to harsh conditions.
Uchiyama discloses an electric motor (EM) (see Figure 1) comprising:
an EM rotor (200, 201 of Figure 1);
an EM stator (100 of Figure 1), wherein the EM stator is configured to induce a magnetic field, wherein the magnetic field is configured to cause the EM rotor to rotate relative to the EM stator;
a rotor shaft (203 of Figure 1), wherein the EM rotor is affixed to the rotor shaft;
an EM flange (122 of Figure 5), wherein the EM flange is affixed to the rotor shaft, wherein the EM rotor, the rotor shaft, and the EM flange are configured to rotate together about the central axis (see Figure 1); and
an EM housing (400 of Figure 1), wherein the EM stator is affixed to the EM housing;
a rotor position sensor (RPS) (150 of Figure 2, 9, 10) comprising:
an RPS stator (151 of Figure 9, 10), and
a RPS rotor (204 of Figure 1, 13);
wherein the RPS rotor is configured to rotate (via 203 of Figure 1) relative to the RPS stator about the central axis (see Figure 1), wherein the RPS stator is configured to sense a rotary position of the RPS rotor (Col. 6:37-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a motor and rotor position sensor in the drive-train system of Ternehäll, as taught by Uchiyama, to provide an electric motor in which position detector elements for detecting the rotational position of the rotor are positioned with a high degree of accuracy with respect to the rotor windings [Uchiyama: Col. 2:1-4].
Chilton discloses an external device (ED) (10 of Figure 1) comprising:
an ED flange (16 of Figure 1), wherein the EM flange (16 of Figure 1) is affixed to the ED flange;
an ED shaft (11 of Figure 1), wherein the ED shaft is affixed to the ED flange, wherein the rotor shaft (19 of Figure 1), the EM flange, the ED flange, and the ED shaft form a rigid body (see Figure 1);
a plurality of ED bearings (12 of Figure 1); and
an ED housing (see Figure 1), wherein the EM housing (see Figure 1) is affixed to the ED housing (see Figure 1), wherein the plurality of ED bearings couple between the ED shaft and the ED housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have an external device connected to the drive-train system of Ternehäll, as taught by Chilton, since it is well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art that connecting an internal combustion engine and a motor improves fuel efficiency, enhances performance, and enables a cleaner operation of the system.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Newbold (US 4,836,149), Peterson (US 3,660,671), Sansam (US 3,577,789), Brown (US 2010/0237623), Morgan (US 1,965,985) disclose a power takeoff.
Horng (US 6,819,068), Suk (US 2013/0154527) disclose a rotor position sensor.
Marracino (US 5,982,066) disclose an electric motor comprising a housing, rotor, stator, and flange.
Hunsdorf (US 3,555,315), Gunther (US 2013/0325207) disclose an electric motor affixed to a power takeoff.
Lehmann (US 2021/0016766), Jockel (US 2002/0101081), Procunier (US 1,847,784) disclose an external device in the form of an internal combustion engine.
Conclusion
/Charles Reid Jr./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834