DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed 8/18/2025:
Claims 21-40 are pending
Claims 1-20 are cancelled
Double patenting rejection is withdrawn in view of accepted TD filed 1/8/2026
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/8/2026 have been fully considered and are partially persuasive.
Applicants remarks and amendments made towards claims 21-30 and 35-40 are persuasive and therefore the rejections are withdrawn. However, it would appear that similar amendments were left off for claims 31-34 and therefore claims 31-34 remain rejected.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa et al (US20220312143, hereinafter “Nakagawa”) in view of Karkkainen et al (US20190357000, hereinafter “Karkkainen”).
Regarding claim 31, Nakagawa teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (¶61, processing in conjunction with memory storing instructions to execute the method of acoustic processing (¶1)) storing instructions, for modifying an audio content, that, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to:
obtain the audio content (Fig. 1, user receives audio content to be played);
determining, by one or more processors, acoustic properties of a local area of a receiving client device (¶77-78, acoustic properties of the local area of the user is determined);
transform, by the one or more processors the audio content, based at least in part on the acoustic properties of the local area of the receiving client device (¶82, audio content is modified in accordance with the determined acoustic properties of the local area), wherein the transforming comprises:
modifying the audio content by applying one or more transfer functions to the audio content based on the acoustic properties of the local area (¶46, using transfer functions to modified the acoustic parameters); and
playing the modified audio content with a playback system of the receiving client device (¶82, modified audio content played back to the user).
Nakagawa fails to explicitly teach determining a predicted position of the receiving client device in the local area of the receiving client device; and
modifying the audio content by applying one or more transfer functions to the audio content based on the predicted position.
Karkkainen teaches determining a predicted position of the receiving client device in the local area of the receiving client device (¶42, tracking the user wearing the head-mounted device in the local environment to determine modifications for the audio to be played); and
modifying the audio content by applying one or more transfer functions to the audio content based on the predicted position (¶43, audio is modified according to the predicted position of the user wearing the head-mounted device using well-known HRTFs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of user head-tracking (as taught by Karkkainen) to the audio processing device (as taught by Nakagawa). The rationale to do so is to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of improving the listening experience of the user by not only modifying the audio content based on the listening environment but also a user’s position within said environment (Karkkainen, ¶32).
Regarding claim 32, Nakagawa in view of Karkkainen teaches wherein modifying the audio content further comprises determining a degree of arrival of portions of the obtained audio to the predicted position of the receiving client device (Karkkainen, ¶32, 43, captured audio is modified with a target direction of the output audio by using HRTFs such that the modified content, heard by the user, includes a directional component to let the user know from which direction is the sound coming from in the user’s environment).
Regarding claim 33, Nakagawa in view of Karkkainen teaches wherein the audio content is transmitted by a sending client device (Nakagawa, Fig. 1, content received by the user can be sent from a server or user’s mobile device).
Regarding claim 34, Nakagawa in view of Karkkainen teaches wherein the sending client device comprises a headset for displaying artificial reality content, and the audio content is captured by speakers disposed on the headset (Nakagawa, Fig. 1, user hears audio content output by a head-mounted device capable of displaying artificial reality content).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-30 and 35-40 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
/QIN ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691