DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 5/5/26 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 5/5/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search burden. This is not found persuasive because restriction between apparatus claims and method claims is typical as apparatus and method claims are generally handled by different art units. Moreover, the patentability of apparatuses and processes are based on different criteria: structural characteristics and active steps respectively. The inventions require a different field of search based on their different classification and different search queries and electronic resources would need to be utilized to search the different inventions. Further, the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-18, 23, 29-32, 35, 41 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/5/26.
Claims 1-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/29/25.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “secondary vertical motor” and “tool” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-5, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapman (US 2017/0266852).
As to claim 1, Chapman teaches a composite transfer cell comprising: a delivery system (210) on a first side of the composite transfer cell [0042, 0043, Fig 2]; a tool on a second side of the composite transfer cell (204); and a composite transfer system [Fig 6, 7, 0045, 0046] between the first side and the second side of the composite transfer cell, the composite transfer system comprising a plurality of flipper arms independently movable in a vertical direction and rotatingly movable to lift and place a composite charge from the delivery system to the tool (212) [Fig 2] as the delivery device first delivers the charge to the flipper arms of the end effecters that means the end effecters must be capable of being placed between the tool (204) and the delivery device (210) at least in the vertical direction [Claim 1].
As to claim 2, Chapman teaches the composite transfer system further comprises: a plurality of vertical towers (212); and wherein the plurality of flipper arms (602, 604, 606) is connected to the plurality of vertical towers by a plurality of vertical motors (610) and a plurality of rotary motors (608) [0093, 0095-0098, Fig 6, 7].
As to claim 3, Chapman teaches each flipper arm of the plurality of flipper arms comprises a secondary vertical motor configured to move a portion of a respective flipper arm [0093, 0095, 0096, 0101,0118, 0119].
As to claim 4, Chapman teaches a flipper arm of the plurality of flipper arms comprises a pneumatic and mechanical connector (606) configured to accommodate different vertical positions of the plurality of flipper arms to impart a curvature in the composite charge [0093, 0095, 0028].
As to claim 5, Chapman teaches pneumatic and mechanical connector comprises: a first joint configured to allow movement in a first axis (608);a second joint configured to allow movement in a second axis (618); and a centering component (626 or 628) [0098, Fig 6, 7].
As to claim 12, Chapman teaches the plurality of flipper arms is rotatingly movable about a longitudinal axis of the composite transfer system, wherein the longitudinal axis of the composite transfer system is parallel to a length of the tool [Fig 6, 7].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapman (US 2017/0266852) in view of Ly (US 2022/0176650).
As to claims 6, 10, 11, Chapman does not explicitly state the content of these claims.
Ly teaches a composite transfer system [Abstract] where composite charge transportation pallet having a layup pallet portion (306) and a nesting preform (124) transfer portion removable from the layup pallet portion [0065-0068]. The nesting preform transfer portion comprises a vacuum plate and a porous vacuum surface [0108-0110] and the vacuum plate is formed of a material sufficiently flexible to allow for a curvature to be imparted along a length of the vacuum plate and allows for its use with differently shaped composite which reduces equipment and material costs [0067]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Chapman and utilized a nesting preform that comprised a vacuum plate and vacuum surface that was deformable and removable, as suggest by Ly, as allows for a curvature to be imparted along a length of the vacuum plate and allows for its use with differently shaped composite which reduces equipment and material costs
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapman (US 2017/0266852) in view of Ly (US 2022/0176650), as applied to claims 6, 10, 11 above, and in further view of Ecob (US 2014/0102854).
As to clam 7, Chapman teaches the layup pallet portion comprises a conveyor interface plate to connect and retain the layup pallet portion on the delivery system.
Ecob teaches a conveyor pallet system [Abstract] wherein a conveyor interface plate to connect and retain the layup pallet portion on the delivery system as these plates provided corrosion and wear resistance for industrial applications [0026, 0034, Fig 4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Ecob and utilized an interface plate to connect and retain the layup pallet portion on the delivery system, as suggested by Ecob, in order to provide corrosion and wear resistance for industrial applications.
As to claims 8, Chapman teaches the layup pallet portion has a number of access cut-outs configured to allow access to connectors of the nesting preform transfer portion
Ecob teaches a conveyor pallet system [Abstract] wherein a conveyor interface plate to connect and retain the layup pallet portion on the delivery system as these plates provided corrosion and wear resistance for industrial applications [0026, 0034, Fig 4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Ecob and utilized an interface plate to connect and retain the layup pallet portion on the delivery system, as suggested by Ecob, in order to provide corrosion and wear resistance for industrial applications.
As to claim 9, Chapman teaches and each flipper arm of the plurality of flipper arms comprises a pneumatic and mechanical connector configured to connect to the nesting preform transfer portion [Fig 6, 7] but does not explicitly state a pneumatic connector.
Ly teaches a composite transfer system [Abstract] where composite charge transportation pallet having a layup pallet portion (306) and a nesting preform (124) transfer portion removable from the layup pallet portion [0065-0068]. The nesting preform transfer portion comprises a vacuum plate and a porous vacuum surface [0108-0110] and the vacuum plate is formed of a material sufficiently flexible to allow for a curvature to be imparted along a length of the vacuum plate and allows for its use with differently shaped composite which reduces equipment and material costs [0067]. Also notes that electro-mechanical actuators and pneumatic actuators are art recognized equivalents [0078, 0101, 0122, 0148]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the apparatus of Chapman and utilized pneumatic connector in addition to the mechanical ones as suggested by Ly, as both had demonstrated success in composite transfer system. Moreover, utilizing 2 art recognized equivalents in combination is generally recognized to be obvious, see MPEP 2144.06 II.
Note: the examiner would recommend further specifying claims 8 and 9 with the cutouts and flippers arms being configures such that the flipper arms couple to the connectors within a section of the composite transfer system accessible via the cutouts.
Conclusion
/ARMAND MELENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759