Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 of para. 0052 reads difficult, however it should read "difficulty".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caspall (US 2021/0132204 A1) and Brumley (US 2008/0080313 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Caspall teaches a sonar system and a method comprising:
a transducer configured to generate a fan beam [[0004] linear (e.g., rectangular) transducer elements often generate a somewhat planar, fan-shaped beam pattern. regardless, any reflected sound then returns to the transducer to form a return signal that may be interpreted as a surface of an object];
a display configured to render one or more images [[0020] sonar image data based on the received signals, wherein the sonar image data, when presented on a display, forms a sonar image representing an underwater environment];
a processor and at least one non-transitory memory comprising computer program code, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the sonar system to [[0020] comprises generating, at the sonar signal processor, sonar image data based on the received signals]:
generate a plurality of fan beams with the transducer [[0049] one or more sonar, or acoustic, beams may be generated by the one or more transducer assemblies 102 a, 102 b, and 102 c when deployed in the body of water 101];
receive, with the transducer, a plurality of reflections based on the fan beams [[0054] beamforming may involve generating a plurality of receive-beams at predetermined angles by spatially defining the beams based on the relative phasing of the sonar returns and detecting the distance of the sonar returns in each respective beam];
generate a plurality of first images based on [reflections] [[0088] acoustic beam 310 may be reflected off of beam spreading surface 312. More particularly, in the case of reflection, those of skill in the art will appreciate that, in general, the wavefront shape and phase of the wavefront may change at the boundary];
generate a plurality of first images based on the [reflections] [[0060] processor 410 may be further configured to implement signal processing or enhancement features to improve the display characteristics or data or images]; and
render the plurality of first images on the display [[0050] results of many soundings are used to build a picture on the display of the underwater environment, e.g. a sonar image].
Caspall does not explicitly teach and yet Brumley teaches determine a velocity of the sonar system based on the velocity and the reflections [[0005] bottom tracking Doppler velocity logs receive backscattered echoes from the bottom surface. The received sound has a Doppler frequency shift proportionate to the relative velocity between the scatters and the transducer; [abstract] plurality of beams, receiving echoes from each ping, obtaining a velocity estimate for each of the N pings based on echoes of the ping].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the fan beams as taught by Caspall, with the doppler velocity processing as taught by Brumley so that the velocity may be estimated which is substantially free from error causes by cross coupling between the beams (Brumley) [[abstract]].
(claim 8 appears to be a method version of the claimed system and is therefore rejected for similar reasons).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Caspall does not explicitly teach and yet Brumley teaches the sonar system of claim 1 and the method of claim 8, wherein to determine the velocity of the sonar system based on the reflections the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the sonar system to: generate a plurality of return signals based on the reflections, wherein the plurality of return signals have a frequency of a broadcast frequency [[0040] measures current velocity by measuring the Doppler shift in the frequency of the returning echo. Echoes from each pulse are used independently. The Doppler frequency is indirectly calculated from the difference in phase between two different samples of the received signal. The term “incoherent” refers to the fact that coherence need not be maintained between pulses]; generate a plurality of down converted signals by down converting the plurality of return signals from the broadcast frequency to a baseband frequency [[0096] receiver amplifiers 180 are fed to a set of in-phase mixers 182 a,b,c,d and a set of quadrature mixers 183 a,b,c,d. The mixers 182, 183 form the product of the received signal and the carrier signal]; determine a Doppler shift in the plurality of down converted signals based on the baseband frequency [[0005] bottom tracking Doppler velocity logs receive backscattered echoes from the bottom surface. The received sound has a Doppler frequency shift proportionate to the relative velocity between the scatters and the transducer; [abstract] plurality of beams, receiving echoes from each ping, obtaining a velocity estimate for each of the N pings based on echoes of the ping]; determine the velocity of the sonar system based on a plurality of phase measurements of the plurality of down converted signals and the Doppler shift [[0006] shows equation for calculating velocity from doppler frequency shift; [0040] Doppler frequency is indirectly calculated from the difference in phase between two different samples of the received signal; [0070] phase differences may be adjustable in some embodiments. The array 469 in response to the signals generates an acoustic beam whose direction can be varied within a certain range].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the fan beams as taught by Caspall, with the doppler velocity processing as taught by Brumley so that the velocity may be estimated which is substantially free from error causes by cross coupling between the beams (Brumley) [[abstract]].
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Caspall teaches the sonar system of claim 1 and the method of claim 8, wherein the display is located remotely from the transducer [[0020] sonar image data based on the received signals, wherein the sonar image data, when presented on a display; [0050] sonar signal processor 465 as discussed in reference to FIG. 2) and sent to a display (e.g., an LCD) mounted in the cabin or other convenient location in the watercraft].
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Caspall teaches the sonar system of claim 4 and the method of claim 11, wherein the transducer is mounted on an underwater vehicle [[0011] transducer array is mountable to the water craft].
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Caspall teaches the sonar system of claim 1 and the method of claim 8 further comprising a conical transducer; wherein the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the sonar system to determine a depth of a standoff range with the conical transducer; and wherein to determine the velocity of the sonar system is further based on the depth [[0003] sonar devices may be used to determine depth and bottom topography; [0004] circular transducer (e.g., a cylindrical shaped crystal with a circular face) typically creates a conical shaped beam with the apex of the cone being located at the source; [0066] Additionally or alternatively, depth information, weather information, radar information, sonar information, or any other navigation system inputs may be applied to one another].
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Caspall teaches the sonar system of claim 1 and the method of claim 8, wherein to render the plurality of first images on the display is to render the plurality of first images in real-time [[prior art claim 12] sonar image data, when presented on a display, forms a sonar image representing an underwater environment; [0050] results of many soundings are used to build a picture on the display of the underwater environment, e.g. a sonar image; [0060] features to improve the display characteristics or data or images, collect or process additional data, such as time].
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caspall (US 2021/0132204 A1) and Brumley (US 2008/0080313 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Leisterer (US 3,474,401).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Caspall does not explicitly teach and yet Leisterer teaches the sonar system of claim 1, wherein to generate the plurality of first images based on the velocity and the reflections the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the sonar system to: generate a plurality of initial images based on the reflections [[col. 2:5-10] images of four echo soundings in the presence of three targets are indicated on the screen]; and generate the plurality of first images based on the plurality of initial images updated to compensate for the velocity of the sonar system [[col. 5:30-40] additional slow sweep f upon the target distance sweep. The slow sweep voltage is increased in proportion to the component of velocity of the observer in the direction of observation; that is, in proportion to the Doppler shift produced by the motion of the observing vessel itself. This technique thus eliminates the component of velocity due to the notion of the observer from stationary as well as from moving targets.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the fan beams as taught by Caspall, with correction of images based on estimate of velocity obtained from proportional doppler shift as taught by Leisterer so that the component of the velocity due to the motion of the observing vessel itself may be eliminated (Leisterer) [[col. 5:30-40]].
Claims 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caspall (US 2021/0132204 A1), Brumley (US 2008/0080313 A1), and Hayes (US 2,912,671).
Regarding claim 15, Caspall teaches a system comprising: a sonar system mounted to a vehicle, wherein the sonar system includes a transducer configured to generate a fan beam [[0004] linear (e.g., rectangular) transducer elements often generate a somewhat planar, fan-shaped beam pattern. regardless, any reflected sound then returns to the transducer to form a return signal that may be interpreted as a surface of an object; a display configured to render one or more images [[0020] sonar image data when presented on a display]; wherein the vehicle comprises a propulsion system configured to move the vehicle in a first environment [[0055] vessel 100 may include a main propulsion motor 105, such as an outboard or inboard motor. Additionally, the vessel 100 may include a trolling motor 108 configured to propel the vessel 100 or maintain a position]; a processor and at least one non-transitory memory comprising computer program code, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code configured to [[0056] computing device; [0058] processor, memory], with the at least one processor, cause the system to: generate a plurality of fan beams with the transducer; receive, with the transducer, a plurality of reflections based on the fan beams [[0049]]; determine a [velocity] of the sonar system based on the reflections; generate a plurality of first images based on [the reflections] [[0054]; [0081] represents a phase shift between the signals applied to adjacent transducer elements 204, c represents the velocity of the acoustic beam 202, f represents the frequency of the signals applied to transducer elements 204,]; render the plurality of first images on the display [[0088]].
Caspall does not explicitly teach and yet Brumley teaches determine a velocity of the sonar system based on the velocity and the reflections [[0005] bottom tracking Doppler velocity logs receive backscattered echoes from the bottom surface. The received sound has a Doppler frequency shift proportionate to the relative velocity between the scatters and the transducer; [abstract] plurality of beams, receiving echoes from each ping, obtaining a velocity estimate for each of the N pings based on echoes of the ping].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the fan beams as taught by Caspall, with the doppler velocity processing as taught by Brumley so that the velocity may be estimated which is substantially free from error causes by cross coupling between the beams (Brumley) [[abstract]].
Caspall does not explicitly teach and yet generate one or more position signals based on the velocity to cause the vehicle to move in one or more directions to hold the vehicle in a position and counteract one or more forces of the environment moving the vehicle [[G01S15/60 Velocity or trajectory determination systems] sense-of-movement determination systems wherein the transmitter and receiver are mounted on the moving object, e.g. for determining ground speed, drift angle, ground track; [col. 1:35-40] each of the systems of which I am aware, however, derives a quantity having a magnitude which is commensurate with a vehicle velocity by making a direct measurement of the doppler or frequency shift between the frequencies of the transmitted and received energy; [[col. 9:5-15] however, it should be pointed out that the other object could have been another vessel, submarine or navigational aid, etc. Also, it is emphasized that the transducer could well be movably mounted on a stationary support and the radiated energy propagated toward a moving object rendering the teaching of this invention useful in determining the speed of the moving object. Further, the disclosed inventive concept is broader than sonic doppler, and extends to doppler systems using radiated energy of electromagnetic frequencies.]; [[col. 8:30-45]] will now be apparent to those skilled in the art, that the sonic head assembly connected according to the manner shown in Fig. 3 will form a true synthesis of the linearly moving head depicted in Figs. 1 and 2, and will be driven by the velocity servo system amplifier at a speed of rotation determined when, after the principles of this invention, the linear circumferential speed of the sonic heads in a direction parallel to the ship's keel is equal and opposite to the ship's forward ground speed and causes the system to stabilize at zero doppler condition. One need merely to measure this linear circumferential speed of these sonic heads in a direction parallel to the ship's keel at zero doppler to determine the velocity of the ship with respect to the reflecting object].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the fan beams as taught by Caspall, with the stabilization of the sonar system at a zero doppler condition as taught by Hayes so that corrections to the measured transducer velocities at zero doppler shift may be provided (Hayes) [[col. 7:45-60]].
Regarding claim 17, Caspall does not explicitly teach and yet Brumley the system of claim 15, wherein to determine the velocity of the sonar system based on the reflections the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the sonar system to: generate a plurality of return signals based on the reflections, wherein the plurality of return signals have a frequency of a broadcast frequency; generate a plurality of down converted signals by down converting the plurality of return signals from the broadcast frequency to a baseband frequency; determine a Doppler shift in the plurality of down converted signals based on the baseband frequency; determine the velocity of the sonar system based on a plurality of phase measurements of the plurality of down converted signals and the Doppler shift [[0005][0040][0070][0096]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the fan beams as taught by Caspall, with the doppler velocity processing as taught by Brumley so that the velocity may be estimated which is substantially free from error causes by cross coupling between the beams (Brumley) [[abstract]].
Regarding claim 18, Caspall teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the display is located remotely from the transducer [[0020] sonar image data based on the received signals, wherein the sonar image data, when presented on a display; [0050] sonar signal processor 465 as discussed in reference to FIG. 2) and sent to a display (e.g., an LCD) mounted in the cabin or other convenient location in the watercraft].
Regarding claim 19, Caspall teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the sonar system further comprises a conical transducer; wherein the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the sonar system to determine a depth of a standoff range with the conical transducer; and wherein to determine the velocity of the sonar system is further based on the depth [[0003] sonar devices may be used to determine depth and bottom topography; [0004] circular transducer (e.g., a cylindrical shaped crystal with a circular face) typically creates a conical shaped beam with the apex of the cone being located at the source; [0066] Additionally or alternatively, depth information, weather information, radar information, sonar information, or any other navigation system inputs may be applied to one another].
Regarding claim 20, Caspall teaches the system of claim 15, wherein to render the plurality of first images on the display is to render the plurality of first images in real-time [[prior art claim 12] sonar image data, when presented on a display, forms a sonar image representing an underwater environment; [0050] results of many soundings are used to build a picture on the display of the underwater environment, e.g. a sonar image; [0060] features to improve the display characteristics or data or images, collect or process additional data, such as time].
Claim 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caspall (US 2021/0132204 A1), Brumley (US 2008/0080313 A1, and Hayes (US 2,912,671) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Leisterer (US 3,474,401).
Regarding claim 16, Caspall does not explicitly teach and yet Leisterer teaches the system of claim 15, wherein to generate the plurality of first images based on the velocity and the reflections the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the sonar system to: generate a plurality of initial images based on the reflections; and generate the plurality of first images based on the plurality of initial images updated to compensate for the velocity of the sonar system[[col. 2:5-10] images of four echo soundings in the presence of three targets are indicated on the screen; [col. 5:30-40] additional slow sweep f upon the target distance sweep. The slow sweep voltage is increased in proportion to the component of velocity of the observer in the direction of observation; that is, in proportion to the Doppler shift produced by the motion of the observing vessel itself. This technique thus eliminates the component of velocity due to the notion of the observer from stationary as well as from moving targets.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the fan beams as taught by Caspall, with correction of images based on estimate of velocity obtained from proportional doppler shift as taught by Leisterer so that the component of the velocity due to the motion of the observing vessel itself may be eliminated (Leisterer) [[col. 5:30-40]].
Conclusion
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645