CTNF 18/652,425 CTNF 99300 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This Office Action is in response to preliminary amendment filed on 06/13/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 2-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: In Claims 2-5 and 7-10, “The method according to claim” should read “The communication method according to claim”. In Claims 2 and 12, “the first request message further comprises application scope information of the associating operation” should read “the first request message further comprises application scope information of an associating operation”. In Claims 5, 10, 15, and 20, “wherein the fourth request is useable to request to disassociate” should read “wherein the fourth request message is useable to request to disassociate”. In Claims 6 and 16, “wherein the first request is useable to request the CCM” should read “wherein the first request message is useable to request the CCM”. In Claims 7 and 17, “the first request message further comprises application scope information of the association operation” should read “the first request message further comprises application scope information of an association operation”. In Claims 11, 14, and 15, “cause the communication apparatus to” should read “cause the CCM apparatus to”. In Claims 16, 19, and 20, “cause the communication apparatus to” should read “cause the network device to”. In Claim 16, “A container cluster management (CCM) apparatus” should read “A network device ”. In Claim 16, “send a first request message to the CCM” should read “send a first request message to a CCM”. In Claims 17-20, “The CCM apparatus” should read “The network device ”. Any claim not specifically mentioned above, is objected due to its dependency on an objected claim . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites a judicial exception, is directed to that judicial exception, an abstract idea, as it has not been integrated into practical application and the claims further do not recite significantly more than the judicial exception. Examiner has evaluated the claims under the framework provided in the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register 01/07/2019 and has provided such analysis below. Step 1: Claims 1-10 are directed to methods and falls within the statutory category of processes; and Claims 11-20 are directed to systems and falls within the statutory category of machines. Therefore, "Are the claims to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?" Yes. In order to evaluate the Step 2A inquiry "Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea?" we must determine, at Step 2A Prong 1, whether the claim recites a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea and further whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Step 2A Prong 1: Claim 1: The limitations of “associating, by the CCM, the target customized container cluster management characteristic with the target container cluster based on the first request message”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a person can observe a request message and can mentally map/associate a target customized container cluster management characteristic with a target container cluster. Claim 6: The limitations of “determining, by a network device, to associate a target customized container cluster management characteristic with a target container cluster”, as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a person can mentally determine to map/associate a target customized container cluster management characteristic with a target container cluster. Claim 11: It is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 1. Accordingly, it follows the same reasoning for Step 2A Prong 1. Claim 16: It is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 6. Accordingly, it follows the same reasoning for Step 2A Prong 1. Therefore, Yes , claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 recite judicial exceptions. The claims have been identified to recite judicial exceptions, Step 2A Prong 2 will evaluate whether the claims are directed to the judicial exception. Step 2A Prong 2: Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the following additional elements – “A communication method, comprising” and “A container cluster management (CCM) apparatus, comprising: a transceiver; at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor, and configured to store non-transitory instructions, the at least one processor being configured to execute the non-transitory instructions to thereby cause the communication apparatus to” which are merely recitations of generic computing components and functions being used as a tool to implement the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, the following additional elements – “receiving, by a container cluster management (CCM), a first request message from a network device, wherein the first request message is useable to request the CCM to associate a target customized container cluster management characteristic with a target container cluster, and the first request message comprises identification information of the target customized container cluster management characteristic and identification information of the target container cluster, wherein the network device is a consumer entity of the CCM” which are merely recitations of insignificant extra-solution data gathering activities (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, the following additional elements – “sending, by the network device, a first request message to a container cluster management (CCM), wherein the first request is useable to request the CCM to associate the target customized container cluster management characteristic with the target container cluster, and the first request message comprises identification information of the target customized container cluster management characteristic and identification information of the target container cluster, wherein the network device is a consumer entity of the CCM” which are merely recitations of insignificant extra-solution data transmission activities (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. The insignificant extra-solution activities are further addressed below under step 2B as also being Well-Understood, Routine, and Conventional (WURC). Therefore, Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No , these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea. After having evaluated the inquires set forth in Steps 2A Prong 1 and 2, it has been concluded that the claims not only recite a judicial exception but that the claims are directed to the judicial exception as the judicial exception has not been integrated into practical application. Step 2B: Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16: The claims do not include additional elements, alone or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than generic computing components and functions which do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Further, the insignificant extra-solution activities are also Well-Understood, Routine and Conventional (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) "The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network"). Therefore, "Do the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No , these additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Having concluded analysis within the provided framework, claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 2, it recites an additional element recitation of “wherein the first request message further comprises application scope information of the associating operation; and the application scope information of the associating operation is useable to indicate that the target customized container cluster management characteristic is applied to all namespaces in the target container cluster; or the application scope information of the associating operation is useable to indicate that the target customized container cluster management characteristic is applied to at least one namespace in the target container cluster” which is merely a recitation of a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, the claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, the claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 2 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 3, it recites an additional element recitation of “wherein the first request message further comprises identification information of the at least one namespace” which is merely a recitation of a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, the claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, the claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 3 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 4, it recites an additional element recitation of “wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the CCM, a first response message to the network device, wherein the first response message is useable to indicate that the target customized container cluster management characteristic is successfully associated with the target container cluster” which is merely a recitation of insignificant extra-solution data transmission activities (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Regarding Step 2B, this insignificant extra-solution activity is also Well-Understood, Routine, and Conventional and thus does not amount to significantly more. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) "i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network". Further, the claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, the claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 4 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 5, it recites an additional abstract idea recitation of “disassociating, by the CCM, the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster based on the fourth request message”, as drafted, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a person can observe a request message and can mentally unlink/disassociate a target customized container cluster management characteristic from a target container cluster. Further, the claim recites an additional element recitation of “wherein after the associating, by the CCM, the target customized container cluster management characteristic with the target container cluster, the method further comprises” which is merely a recitation of a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, the claim recites an additional element recitation of “receiving, by the CCM, a fourth request message from the network device, wherein the fourth request is useable to request to disassociate the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster, wherein the fourth request message comprises the identification information of the target customized container cluster management characteristic” which is merely a recitation of insignificant extra-solution data gathering activities (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, the claim recites an additional element recitation of “sending, by the CCM, a fourth response message to the network device, wherein the fourth response message is useable to indicate that the CCM successfully disassociates the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster” which is merely a recitation of insignificant extra-solution data transmission activities (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Regarding Step 2B, this insignificant extra-solution activity is also Well-Understood, Routine, and Conventional and thus does not amount to significantly more. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) "i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network". Further, the claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, the claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 5 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 7, it recites an additional element recitation of “wherein the first request message further comprises application scope information of the association operation; and the application scope information of an associating operation is useable to indicate that the target customized container cluster management characteristic is applied to all namespaces in the target container cluster; or the application scope information of the associating operation is useable to indicate that the target customized container cluster management characteristic is applied to at least one namespace in the target container cluster” which is merely a recitation of a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, the claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, the claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 7 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 8, it recites an additional element recitation of “wherein the first request message further comprises identification information of the at least one namespace” which is merely a recitation of a field of use/technological environment (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, the claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, the claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 8 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 9, it recites an additional element recitation of “wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the network device, a first response message from the CCM, wherein the first response message is useable to indicate that the target customized container cluster management characteristic is successfully associated with the target container cluster” which is merely a recitation of insignificant extra-solution data gathering activities (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Regarding Step 2B, this insignificant extra-solution activity is also Well-Understood, Routine, and Conventional and thus does not amount to significantly more. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) "i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network". Further, the claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, the claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 9 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 10, it recites an additional abstract idea recitation of “determining, by the network device, to disassociate the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster”, as drafted, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a person can determine to unlink/disassociate a target customized container cluster management characteristic from a target container cluster. Further, the claim recites an additional element recitation of “sending, by the network device, a fourth request message to the CCM, wherein the fourth request is useable to request to disassociate the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster, wherein the fourth request message comprises the identification information of the target customized container cluster management characteristic” which is merely a recitation of insignificant extra-solution data transmission activities (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Further, the claim recites an additional element recitation of “receiving, by the network device, a fourth response message from the CCM, wherein the fourth response message is useable to indicate that the CCM successfully disassociates the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster” which is merely a recitation of insignificant extra-solution data gathering activities (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) which does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application. Regarding Step 2B, this insignificant extra-solution activity is also Well-Understood, Routine, and Conventional and thus does not amount to significantly more. See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) "i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network". Further, the claim does not recite any further additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to integration into practical application and whether additional elements amount to significantly more, the claim also fails both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claim is directed to the judicial exception as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 10 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 12, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 2. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Therefore, claim 12 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 13, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 3. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Therefore, claim 13 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 14, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 4. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Therefore, claim 14 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 15, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 5. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Therefore, claim 15 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 17, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 7. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Therefore, claim 17 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 18, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 8. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Therefore, claim 18 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 19, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 9. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Therefore, claim 19 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Regarding claim 20, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 10. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Therefore, claim 20 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by XIE et al. Pub. No. US 2023/0261950 Al (hereafter XIE 1) . Regarding claim 1, XIE 1 anticipates the invention as claimed, including: A communication method, comprising: receiving, by a container cluster management (CCM), a first request message from a network device, wherein the first request message is useable to request the CCM to associate a target customized container cluster management characteristic with a target container cluster ([0130] “In step 603, the NFVO invokes the CCD management interface of the CCM to upload the CCD template to the CCM and the CCM checks and saves the CCD template.”, [0121] “In an embodiment, the CCD template is used to describe container cluster information descriptor (CISD)…”, [0122] “In an embodiment, the CISD may include at least one of cluster name…”, Note: The NFVO is interpreted as the network device, and the CCD template is interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) , and the first request message comprises identification information of the target customized container cluster management characteristic ([0133] “…CCD identification (ID) to the CCD template for storage…”, Note: The CCD identification (ID) is interpreted as the identification information of the target customized container cluster management characteristic) and identification information of the target container cluster ([0121] “In an embodiment, the CCD template is used to describe container cluster information descriptor (CISD)…”, [0122] “In an embodiment, the CISD may include at least one of cluster name…”, Note: The cluster name is interpreted as the identification information of the target container cluster) , wherein the network device is a consumer entity of the CCM ([0130] “In step 603, the NFVO invokes the CCD management interface of the CCM to upload the CCD template to the CCM and the CCM checks and saves the CCD template.”, Note: The NFVO is interpreted as the network device) ; and associating, by the CCM, the target customized container cluster management characteristic with the target container cluster based on the first request message ([0133] “In step 606, after the CCD on-boarding successes, the CCM allocates CCD identification (ID) to the CCD template for storage, and returns a success message comprising the allocated CCD ID…”, Note: The CCD template is interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) . Regarding claim 2, XIE 1 anticipates: The method according to claim 1, wherein the first request message further comprises application scope information of the associating operation ([0130] “In step 603, the NFVO invokes the CCD management interface of the CCM to upload the CCD template to the CCM and the CCM checks and saves the CCD template.”, [0121] “In an embodiment, the CCD template is used to describe container cluster information descriptor (CISD)…”, [0122] “In an embodiment, the CISD may include at least one of cluster name, version, version network information, cluster resource reservation and resource quota information, or cluster drive (e.g. including runtime drive for container running interface (CRI)), network drive for container network interface (CNI) and/or storage drive for container storage interface (CSI)).”) ; and the application scope information of the associating operation is useable to indicate that the target customized container cluster management characteristic is applied to all namespaces in the target container cluster; or the application scope information of the associating operation is useable to indicate that the target customized container cluster management characteristic is applied to at least one namespace in the target container cluster ([0121] “In an embodiment, the CCD template is used to describe container cluster information descriptor (CISD)…”, [0122] “In an embodiment, the CISD may include at least one of cluster name, version, version network information, cluster resource reservation and resource quota information, or cluster drive (e.g. including runtime drive for container running interface (CRI)), network drive for container network interface (CNI) and/or storage drive for container storage interface (CSI)).”, [0105] “In addition, the CIS cluster may be logically divided into one or more namespaces. According to an embodiment, one namespace provides a mechanism to isolate its grouped elements (e.g., MCIOs) from others from a viewpoint of multi-tenancy security and provides access control to the grouped elements. Note that, resources in the cluster nodes of one CIS cluster may be grouped into a namespace and may only belong to that namespace. Those resources are allocated to elements grouped in the namespace.”, Note: As the cluster is divided into one or more namespaces (wherein the one or more namespaces group cluster resources), the CCD template (interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) also contains cluster resource reservation and resource quota information of the namespaces in the associated cluster) . Regarding claim 3, XIE 1 anticipates: The method according to claim 2, wherein the first request message further comprises identification information of the at least one namespace ([0121] “In an embodiment, the CCD template is used to describe container cluster information descriptor (CISD)…”, [0122] “In an embodiment, the CISD may include at least one of cluster name, version, version network information, cluster resource reservation and resource quota information, or cluster drive (e.g. including runtime drive for container running interface (CRI)), network drive for container network interface (CNI) and/or storage drive for container storage interface (CSI)).”, [0105] “In addition, the CIS cluster may be logically divided into one or more namespaces. According to an embodiment, one namespace provides a mechanism to isolate its grouped elements (e.g., MCIOs) from others from a viewpoint of multi-tenancy security and provides access control to the grouped elements. Note that, resources in the cluster nodes of one CIS cluster may be grouped into a namespace and may only belong to that namespace. Those resources are allocated to elements grouped in the namespace.”, Note: As the cluster is divided into one or more namespaces (wherein the one or more namespaces group cluster resources), the CCD template (interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) also contains cluster resource reservation and resource quota information of the namespaces in the associated cluster) . Regarding claim 4, XIE 1 anticipates: The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the CCM, a first response message to the network device, wherein the first response message is useable to indicate that the target customized container cluster management characteristic is successfully associated with the target container cluster ([0133] “In step 606, after the CCD on-boarding successes, the CCM allocates CCD identification (ID) to the CCD template for storage, and returns a success message comprising the allocated CCD ID. Note that, the CCM may transmit the success message comprising the allocated CCD ID to the OSS via the NFV-MANO…”, Note: The NFV-MANO (NFVO) is interpreted as the network device, and the CCD template is interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) . Regarding claim 6, XIE 1 anticipates the invention as claimed, including: A communication method, comprising: determining, by a network device, to associate a target customized container cluster management characteristic with a target container cluster ([0130] “In step 603, the NFVO invokes the CCD management interface of the CCM to upload the CCD template to the CCM and the CCM checks and saves the CCD template.”, [0121] “In an embodiment, the CCD template is used to describe container cluster information descriptor (CISD)…”, [0122] “In an embodiment, the CISD may include at least one of cluster name…”, Note: The NFVO is interpreted as the network device, and the CCD template is interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) ; and sending, by the network device, a first request message to a container cluster management (CCM), wherein the first request is useable to request the CCM to associate the target customized container cluster management characteristic with the target container cluster ([0130] “In step 603, the NFVO invokes the CCD management interface of the CCM to upload the CCD template to the CCM and the CCM checks and saves the CCD template.”, [0121] “In an embodiment, the CCD template is used to describe container cluster information descriptor (CISD)…”, [0122] “In an embodiment, the CISD may include at least one of cluster name…”, Note: The NFVO is interpreted as the network device, and the CCD template is interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) , and the first request message comprises identification information of the target customized container cluster management characteristic ([0133] “…CCD identification (ID) to the CCD template for storage…”, Note: The CCD identification (ID) is interpreted as the identification information of the target customized container cluster management characteristic) and identification information of the target container cluster ([0121] “In an embodiment, the CCD template is used to describe container cluster information descriptor (CISD)…”, [0122] “In an embodiment, the CISD may include at least one of cluster name…”, Note: The cluster name is interpreted as the identification information of the target container cluster) , wherein the network device is a consumer entity of the CCM ([0130] “In step 603, the NFVO invokes the CCD management interface of the CCM to upload the CCD template to the CCM and the CCM checks and saves the CCD template.”, Note: The NFVO is interpreted as the network device) . Regarding claim 7, XIE 1 anticipates: The method according to claim 6, wherein the first request message further comprises application scope information of the association operation ([0130] “In step 603, the NFVO invokes the CCD management interface of the CCM to upload the CCD template to the CCM and the CCM checks and saves the CCD template.”, [0121] “In an embodiment, the CCD template is used to describe container cluster information descriptor (CISD)…”, [0122] “In an embodiment, the CISD may include at least one of cluster name, version, version network information, cluster resource reservation and resource quota information, or cluster drive (e.g. including runtime drive for container running interface (CRI)), network drive for container network interface (CNI) and/or storage drive for container storage interface (CSI)).”) ; and the application scope information of an associating operation is useable to indicate that the target customized container cluster management characteristic is applied to all namespaces in the target container cluster; or the application scope information of the associating operation is useable to indicate that the target customized container cluster management characteristic is applied to at least one namespace in the target container cluster ([0121] “In an embodiment, the CCD template is used to describe container cluster information descriptor (CISD)…”, [0122] “In an embodiment, the CISD may include at least one of cluster name, version, version network information, cluster resource reservation and resource quota information, or cluster drive (e.g. including runtime drive for container running interface (CRI)), network drive for container network interface (CNI) and/or storage drive for container storage interface (CSI)).”, [0105] “In addition, the CIS cluster may be logically divided into one or more namespaces. According to an embodiment, one namespace provides a mechanism to isolate its grouped elements (e.g., MCIOs) from others from a viewpoint of multi-tenancy security and provides access control to the grouped elements. Note that, resources in the cluster nodes of one CIS cluster may be grouped into a namespace and may only belong to that namespace. Those resources are allocated to elements grouped in the namespace.”, Note: As the cluster is divided into one or more namespaces (wherein the one or more namespaces group cluster resources), the CCD template (interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) also contains cluster resource reservation and resource quota information of the namespaces in the associated cluster) . Regarding claim 8, XIE 1 anticipates: The method according to claim 7, wherein the first request message further comprises identification information of the at least one namespace ([0121] “In an embodiment, the CCD template is used to describe container cluster information descriptor (CISD)…”, [0122] “In an embodiment, the CISD may include at least one of cluster name, version, version network information, cluster resource reservation and resource quota information, or cluster drive (e.g. including runtime drive for container running interface (CRI)), network drive for container network interface (CNI) and/or storage drive for container storage interface (CSI)).”, [0105] “In addition, the CIS cluster may be logically divided into one or more namespaces. According to an embodiment, one namespace provides a mechanism to isolate its grouped elements (e.g., MCIOs) from others from a viewpoint of multi-tenancy security and provides access control to the grouped elements. Note that, resources in the cluster nodes of one CIS cluster may be grouped into a namespace and may only belong to that namespace. Those resources are allocated to elements grouped in the namespace.”, Note: As the cluster is divided into one or more namespaces (wherein the one or more namespaces group cluster resources), the CCD template (interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) also contains cluster resource reservation and resource quota information of the namespaces in the associated cluster) . Regarding claim 9, XIE 1 anticipates: The method according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the network device, a first response message from the CCM, wherein the first response message is useable to indicate that the target customized container cluster management characteristic is successfully associated with the target container cluster ([0133] “In step 606, after the CCD on-boarding successes, the CCM allocates CCD identification (ID) to the CCD template for storage, and returns a success message comprising the allocated CCD ID. Note that, the CCM may transmit the success message comprising the allocated CCD ID to the OSS via the NFV-MANO…”, Note: The NFV-MANO (NFVO) is interpreted as the network device, and the CCD template is interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic). Regarding claim 11, XIE 1 further anticipates: a container cluster management (CCM) apparatus, comprising: a transceiver ([0232] “The communication unit 1420 may be a transceiver. The communication unit 1420 may as an alternative or in addition be combining a transmitting unit and a receiving unit configured to transmit and to receive, respectively, signals to and from another computing device (e.g. the CCM and/or the OSS and/or the NFV-MANO).”) ; at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor, and configured to store non-transitory instructions, the at least one processor being configured to execute the non-transitory instructions to thereby cause the communication apparatus to ([0229] “…That is, the computing device 140 may operate as at least one of the CCM, the OSS, the NFV-MANO … The storage unit 1410 may be any data storage device that stores a program code 1412, which is accessed and executed by the processor 1400…”). The other limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Regarding claim 12, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 2. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Regarding claim 13, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 3. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Regarding claim 14, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 4. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Regarding claim 16, XIE 1 further anticipates: a container cluster management (CCM) apparatus, comprising: a transceiver ([0232] “The communication unit 1420 may be a transceiver. The communication unit 1420 may as an alternative or in addition be combining a transmitting unit and a receiving unit configured to transmit and to receive, respectively, signals to and from another computing device (e.g. the CCM and/or the OSS and/or the NFV-MANO).”) ; at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor, and configured to store non-transitory instructions, the at least one processor being configured to execute the non-transitory instructions to thereby cause the communication apparatus to ([0229] “…That is, the computing device 140 may operate as at least one of the CCM, the OSS, the NFV-MANO … The storage unit 1410 may be any data storage device that stores a program code 1412, which is accessed and executed by the processor 1400…”). The other limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Regarding claim 17, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 7. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Regarding claim 18, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 8. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Regarding claim 19, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 9. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5, 10, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIE et al. Pub. No. US 2023/0261950 Al (hereafter XIE 1) as applied to claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, and 16-19 above, in view of XIE et al. Pub. No. US 2024/0012674 Al (hereafter XIE 2) . Regarding claim 5, XIE 1 teaches the method according to claim 1 . XIE 1 fails to teach wherein after the associating, by the CCM, the target customized container cluster management characteristic with the target container cluster, the method further comprises: receiving, by the CCM, a fourth request message from the network device, wherein the fourth request is useable to request to disassociate the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster, wherein the fourth request message comprises the identification information of the target customized container cluster management characteristic; disassociating, by the CCM, the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster based on the fourth request message; and sending, by the CCM, a fourth response message to the network device, wherein the fourth response message is useable to indicate that the CCM successfully disassociates the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster. In analogous art XIE 2 teaches wherein after the associating, by the CCM, the target customized container cluster management characteristic with the target container cluster, the method further comprises: receiving, by the CCM, a fourth request message from the network device, wherein the fourth request is useable to request to disassociate the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster ([0078] “More specifically, in step 401, the OSS updates (e.g. adjusts, changes, alters) a CCD template used by container cluster instance(s). In an embodiment, the OSS may update resource information related to nodes (e.g. work nodes and/or master nodes) in the CCD template. For example, the OSS may update an increase and/or a decrease in at least one of the number of nodes and node resources (e.g. computing resources, storage resources and network resources) used by the nodes in the CCD template. As an alternative or in addition, the OSS may update configuration information and/or deployment information related to the nodes in the CCD template.”, [0079] “In step 402, the OSS initiates a CCD template update to the CCM through related MANO entities (e.g. NFVO or VNFM). Specifically, the OSS initiates (e.g. transmits, sends) a CCD template update request to the MANO entity (e.g. NFVO), to request updating the CCD template. In an embodiment, the CCD template update request carries (e.g. comprises, includes) information related to the updated CCD template (e.g. an identifier of the CCD template and/or updated information of updating the CCD template and/or the updated CCD template). The NFVO forwards the CCD template update request and/or the information related to the updated CCD template to the CCM and the CCM receives and saves the updated CCD template.”, Note: The NFVO is interpreted as the network device, and the CCD template is interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) , wherein the fourth request message comprises the identification information of the target customized container cluster management characteristic ([0079] “…In an embodiment, the CCD template update request carries (e.g. comprises, includes) information related to the updated CCD template (e.g. an identifier of the CCD template and/or updated information of updating the CCD template and/or the updated CCD template)…”, Note: The identifier of the CCD template being updated is interpreted as the identification information of the target customized container cluster management characteristic) ; disassociating, by the CCM, the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster based on the fourth request message ([0079] “…The NFVO forwards the CCD template update request and/or the information related to the updated CCD template to the CCM and the CCM receives and saves the updated CCD template.”, Note: The CCD template is interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) ; and sending, by the CCM, a fourth response message to the network device, wherein the fourth response message is useable to indicate that the CCM successfully disassociates the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster ([0093] “In step 405, after the container cluster updating operation is completed, the CCM returns the CCD template update completion information to the NFVO/VNFM of the MANO…”, Note: The NFVO is interpreted as the network device, and the CCD template is interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XIE 1 to incorporate the teachings of XIE 2 to meet service requirements (XIE 2 [0074] “In an embodiment, a container cluster descriptor (CCD) template is defined for describing all attributes of a container cluster. The OSS may deliver the CCD template orchestrated according to service requirements to the CCM.”). Regarding claim 10, XIE 1 teaches the method according to claim 6 . XIE 1 fails to teach wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the network device, to disassociate the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster; sending, by the network device, a fourth request message to the CCM, wherein the fourth request is useable to request to disassociate the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster, wherein the fourth request message comprises the identification information of the target customized container cluster management characteristic; and receiving, by the network device, a fourth response message from the CCM, wherein the fourth response message is useable to indicate that the CCM successfully disassociates the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster. In analogous art XIE 2 teaches wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the network device, to disassociate the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster ([0079] “…The NFVO forwards the CCD template update request and/or the information related to the updated CCD template to the CCM and the CCM receives and saves the updated CCD template.”, Note: The CCD template is interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) ; sending, by the network device, a fourth request message to the CCM, wherein the fourth request is useable to request to disassociate the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster ([0078] “More specifically, in step 401, the OSS updates (e.g. adjusts, changes, alters) a CCD template used by container cluster instance(s). In an embodiment, the OSS may update resource information related to nodes (e.g. work nodes and/or master nodes) in the CCD template. For example, the OSS may update an increase and/or a decrease in at least one of the number of nodes and node resources (e.g. computing resources, storage resources and network resources) used by the nodes in the CCD template. As an alternative or in addition, the OSS may update configuration information and/or deployment information related to the nodes in the CCD template.”, [0079] “In step 402, the OSS initiates a CCD template update to the CCM through related MANO entities (e.g. NFVO or VNFM). Specifically, the OSS initiates (e.g. transmits, sends) a CCD template update request to the MANO entity (e.g. NFVO), to request updating the CCD template. In an embodiment, the CCD template update request carries (e.g. comprises, includes) information related to the updated CCD template (e.g. an identifier of the CCD template and/or updated information of updating the CCD template and/or the updated CCD template). The NFVO forwards the CCD template update request and/or the information related to the updated CCD template to the CCM and the CCM receives and saves the updated CCD template.”, Note: The NFVO is interpreted as the network device, and the CCD template is interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) , wherein the fourth request message comprises the identification information of the target customized container cluster management characteristic ([0079] “…In an embodiment, the CCD template update request carries (e.g. comprises, includes) information related to the updated CCD template (e.g. an identifier of the CCD template and/or updated information of updating the CCD template and/or the updated CCD template)…”, Note: The identifier of the CCD template being updated is interpreted as the identification information of the target customized container cluster management characteristic) ; and receiving, by the network device, a fourth response message from the CCM, wherein the fourth response message is useable to indicate that the CCM successfully disassociates the target customized container cluster management characteristic from the target container cluster ([0093] “In step 405, after the container cluster updating operation is completed, the CCM returns the CCD template update completion information to the NFVO/VNFM of the MANO…”, Note: The NFVO is interpreted as the network device, and the CCD template is interpreted as the target customized container cluster management characteristic) . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified XIE 1 to incorporate the teachings of XIE 2 to meet service requirements (XIE 2 [0074] “In an embodiment, a container cluster descriptor (CCD) template is defined for describing all attributes of a container cluster. The OSS may deliver the CCD template orchestrated according to service requirements to the CCM.”). Regarding claim 15, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 5. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Regarding claim 20, it is a machine claim whose limitations are substantially the same as those of claim 10. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In particular, US 20220035651 A1 is cited because it discloses removing network policies within a cluster . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN CHE-CHUN TONG whose telephone number is (703)756-1737. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday: 7:30 AM to 6:00 PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, April Y Blair can be reached on (571)270-1014. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.C.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 2196 /APRIL Y BLAIR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 2 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 3 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 4 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 5 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 6 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 7 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 8 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 9 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 10 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 11 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 12 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 13 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 15 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 16 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 17 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 18 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 19 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 20 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 22 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 23 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 25 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 26 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 27 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 28 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 29 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 30 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/652,425 Page 31 Art Unit: 2196