Claim Objections
2. Claim 21 is objected to because line 2 should read “least” instead of “lease”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 3-5, 13-17, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahle et al. (US 9,782,000 B2) in view of Lane-Lohse (US 11,400,865 B2) and Edwards (US 6,145,718 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kahle discloses a vehicle front mounting system (1000) adapted to mount to a vehicle brush guard or similar apparatus (none of the vehicle, vehicle front, vehicle brush guard or similar apparatus are being claimed in combination due to the functional language “adapted to mount to”), the vehicle front mounting system comprising: a pair of elongated tubular rails (100), each tubular rail having an elongated slot (defined by 111/112, see Figure 3C) and a pair of elongated cavities (105), each elongated slot opening to an elongated cavity; one or more threaded nuts (200) received and contained within each elongated cavity (see Figure 5B), the threaded nuts are permitted to slide within the elongated cavity while being restrained from rotating within the elongated cavity (see Figures 5A and 5B); and one or more brackets (300) adjustable secured (via 200) to the pair of elongated rails; and a device (see weapon in Figure 2) secured to the one or more brackets.
Kahle fails to disclose each tubular rail including a second elongated slot and where the rails are adapted to be adjustably attached to a vehicle brush guard. Kahle discloses mounting the rails on a wall using four screw apertures (112,114,116,118) but discloses no criticality to such mounting design (see col. 4 lines 19-49).
Lane-Lohse teaches that it was already known for rails (60) to include a slot (61) on the rear or mounting side thereof that receives a nut (52) to which clamps (10) are attached in order to mount the bottom of the rails to a tube (70) on a vehicle. Edwards teaches that it was already known to secure rails (5) to an ATV rack tube (6) using clamps (48).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the rails of Kahle with slots on a rear side thereof like those of Lane-Lohse, the motivation being to allow a user to use threaded nuts as originally taught by Kahle within the newly added rear slots to secure clamps thereto for mounting the rails to a vehicle tube / rail / guard (still not being claimed in combination), where such vehicle mounting was already known in the art, as collectively taught by Lane-Lohse and Edwards. This modified Kahle system would have a pair of elongated slots facing in opposite directions with one elongated slot facing towards the front, as originally taught by Kahle, and one elongated slot facing towards the rear, as taught by Lane-Lohse, threaded nuts as originally taught by Kahle within each slot, and clamps attached thereto, as taught by Lane-Lohse.
Regarding claim 3, Kahle as modified above would include the vehicle front mounting system of claim 2, further comprising: at least one clamp (as taught by Lane-Lohse) connected to each tubular rail, each clamp having an opening for placement around a tubular member of the brush guard or similar apparatus and providing a friction fit with the tubular member (as taught by Lane-Lohse - see Figures).
Regarding claim 4, Kahle as modified above would include the vehicle front mounting system of claim 3, further comprising: a threaded fastener for each clamp (received within threaded hole 220 of Kahle), the threaded fastener extending through a hole (20 in Lane-Lohse) in a flange of the clamp and through the elongated slot and engaging a threaded nut (200 of Kahle) contained within the rear-facing elongated slot.
Regarding claim 5, Kahle as modified above would include the vehicle front mounting system of claim 3, wherein the one or more brackets comprises a first bracket attached to one tubular rail via at least one threaded fastener threadedly engaging the threaded nut in the forward-facing elongated cavity of the one tubular rail and a second bracket attached to the other tubular rail via at least one threaded fastener threadedly engaging the threaded nut in the forward-facing elongated cavity of the other tubular rail, as originally taught by Kahle (see fasteners 400).
Regarding claim 13, Kahle as modified above would include a universal vehicle front mount assembly for mounting to various styles and types of vehicle brush guards or similar apparatus (none of the vehicle, vehicle front, vehicle brush guard or similar apparatus are being claimed in combination due to the functional language “adapted to mount to”), the assembly comprising: first and second elongated tubular rails (100, as originally taught by Kahle), each tubular rail having a first elongated slot opening to a first elongated cavity (as originally taught by Kahle) and a second elongated slot opening to a second elongated cavity (rear slot as taught by Lane-Lohse); an internally threaded nut (200 as originally taught by Kahle) contained within each elongated cavity, each threaded nut restrained from rotating within the elongated cavity and allowed to slide within the cavity (as originally taught by Kahle); first means (clamps as taught by Lane-Lohse) for attaching each elongated tubular rail to the vehicle brush guard and affixing each tubular rail at any position along the length of the first elongated cavity via the internally threaded nut within the first elongated cavity of each of the tubular rails; and second means (brackets 300 as originally taught by Kahle) for attaching a system (system not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for attaching”) to the first and second elongated tubular rails and affixing the system at various positions along the length of the second elongated cavity via the internally threaded nut within the second elongated cavity of each of the tubular rails.
Regarding claim 14, Kahle as modified above would include the universal vehicle front mount assembly of claim 13, wherein the first and second elongated slots of each elongated tubular rail face in opposite directions (Kahle teaching front facing and Lane-Lohse teaching rear facing), the first elongated slot facing towards the rear and the second elongated slot facing towards the front.
Regarding claim 15, Kahle as modified above would include the universal vehicle front mount assembly of claim 14, wherein the first means for attaching comprises a pair of clamps (as taught by Lane-Lohse) with one clamp adjustably connected to each elongated tubular rail, each clamp having an opening for placement around a tubular member of the brush guard or similar apparatus and providing a friction fit with the tubular member (as taught by Lane-Lohse).
Regarding claim 16, Kahle as modified above would include the universal vehicle front mount assembly of claim 14, wherein the second means for attaching comprises first and second brackets (300 as originally taught by Kahle) attached to the system, the first bracket adjustably attached to the first elongated tubular rail and the second bracket adjustably attached to the second elongated tubular rail.
Regarding claim 17, Kahle as modified above would include the universal vehicle front mount assembly of claim 15, wherein the second means for attaching comprises first and second brackets (300 as originally taught by Kahle) attached to the system, the first bracket adjustably attached to the first elongated tubular rail and the second bracket adjustably attached to the second elongated tubular rail.
Regarding claim 19, Kahle as modified above would include the universal vehicle front mount assembly of claim 13, wherein the system comprises a gas leak detection system. The system is still not being claimed in combination and there is no structure in Kahle as modified above that would prevent a user from being able to attach a gas leak detection system to modified Kahle as only functionally claimed.
Regarding claim 20, Kahle as modified above would include the universal vehicle front mount assembly of claim 19, wherein the gas leak detection system comprises: a tube having first and second ends and at least one open window in a side of the tube, the tube being connected to the second means for attaching; an electro-optic package mounted within the tube adjacent the tube first end; and a laser backscatter target package mounted within the tube adjacent the tube second end. The system is still not being claimed in combination and there is no structure in Kahle as modified above that would prevent a user from being able to attach a gas leak detection system as claimed to modified Kahle as only functionally claimed.
Regarding claim 21, Kahle as modified above would include the universal vehicle front mount assembly of claim 20, wherein the at least one open window comprises a front opening and a rear opening diametrically opposed to the front opening to allow free flow of air into and out of the tube. The system is still not being claimed in combination and there is no structure in Kahle as modified above that would prevent a user from being able to attach a gas leak detection system with an open window as claimed to modified Kahle as only functionally claimed.
Regarding claim 22, Kahle as modified above would include the universal vehicle front mount assembly of claim 21, wherein the front and rear openings are located between the mounted electro-optic package and the laser backscatter target package. The system is still not being claimed in combination and there is no structure in Kahle as modified above that would prevent a user from being able to attach a gas leak detection system with front and rear openings as claimed to modified Kahle as only functionally claimed.
6. Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahle et al. (US 9,782,000 B2) in view of Lane-Lohse (US 11,400,865 B2) and Edwards (US 6,145,718 A) as applied above, further in view of Kiefer, IV et al. (US 11,891,124 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Kahle as modified above would include the vehicle front mounting system of claim 1, but so far fails to include an adapter plate having a plurality of holes; and a plurality of fasteners for attaching the adapter plate to the pair of tubular rails, wherein the one or more brackets are fastened to the adapter plate.
Regarding claim 18, Kahle as modified above would include the universal vehicle front mount assembly of claim 14, but so far fails to include wherein the second means for attaching comprises: an adapter plate having a plurality of holes; and a plurality of fasteners for securing the adapter plate to the elongated tubular rails.
Kahle teaches the brackets (300) attached directly to the rails (100). Kiefer teaches that it was already known in the art to have an adapter plate (400) with a plurality of holes (see Figures) span and be connected between two rails (200) where a wide variety of items can be attached to the adapter plate (see col. 14 lines 14-50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided an adapter plate like that of Kiefer attached to and extending between the rails of the modified Kahle system, the motivation being to allow a user to still attach the brackets of Kahle as well as a wide variety of other items as taught by Kiefer.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
8. Examiner notes that claims 20-22 would also be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the claim 13 functional language “for attaching a system” were changed to positively recite “a system attached to the first and second elongated tubular rails.” Examiner is not including claim 19 here because the gas leak detection system is so broadly claimed that Frish et al. (US 12,228,501 B2) could likely be added to the combination above to reject the claim.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments filed 6/22/26 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
10. Applicant has argued with respect to claim 1 that no single applied references teaches both front and rear rail slots. While no single applied reference teaches both front and rear rail slots, the combination of references results in a modified Kahle system that would have a pair of elongated slots facing in opposite directions with one elongated slot facing towards the front, as originally taught by Kahle, and one elongated slot facing towards the rear, as taught by Lane-Lohse, threaded nuts as originally taught by Kahle within each slot, and clamps attached thereto, as taught by Lane-Lohse.
11. Applicant has argued with respect to claim 4 that Lane-Lohse fails to disclose a threaded nut within the slot. Again, the combination of references results in a modified Kahle system that would have a pair of elongated slots facing in opposite directions with one elongated slot facing towards the front, as originally taught by Kahle, and one elongated slot facing towards the rear, as taught by Lane-Lohse, threaded nuts as originally taught by Kahle within each slot, and clamps attached thereto, as taught by Lane-Lohse.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 9/4/26