DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 9-16 in the reply filed on 09/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
(line 1) “The system of claim 13” should be changed to “The system of claim 14” to provide proper antecedent basis for the limitation “the pulsating valve”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an application device…configured to apply the particulate to crops” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tong et al. (CN 110521557).
As concerns claim 9, Tong shows a crop input application system, comprising: an irrigation vehicle (1, 2) having a reel (Fig. 1: unlabeled reel supporting pipe 13) supporting a flexible conduit (13) such that the conduit can be extended from or retracted onto said reel (Fig. 1); a particulate source (27) fluidly coupled with the flexible conduit (Fig. 1); a pressurized air source (5) coupled with the conduit and configured to supply particulate from the particulate source to the flexible conduit (Fig. 1); an application device (34) fluidly coupled with the flexible conduit and configured to apply the particulate to crops (Fig. 4).
As concerns claim 10, Tong shows wherein the particulate source (27) is mounted to the vehicle (Fig. 1).
As concerns claim 12, Tong shows a switch valve (22) configured to selectively provide the particulate to the conduit (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. (US 2017/0265379) and further in view of Geng et al. (CN 111011175).
As concerns claim 9, Moore shows a crop input application system, comprising: an irrigation vehicle (paragraph 0011: self-propelled sprayer vehicle) having a flexible conduit (20); a particulate source (paragraph 0013: bulk hopper or other supply source) fluidly coupled with the flexible conduit; a pressurized air source (paragraph 0013: blower) coupled with the conduit and configured to supply particulate from the particulate source to the flexible conduit; an application device (200) fluidly coupled with the flexible conduit and configured to apply the particulate to crops (Fig. 5). Moore discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the irrigation vehicle includes a reel supporting the flexible conduit such that the conduit can be extended from or retracted onto said reel. Geng teaches an irrigation vehicle (18) having a reel (7) supporting a flexible conduit (8) such that the conduit can be extended from or retracted onto said reel (Fig. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Moore, as taught by Geng, to include a reel supporting the flexible conduit such that the conduit can be extended from or retracted onto said reel for the expected benefit of allowing the irrigation vehicle to traverse across a field to apply the particulate to crops in the field while being connected to a fluid source located on or adjacent the field and not disposed on the vehicle. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using a reel supporting the flexible conduit such that the conduit can be extended from or retracted onto said reel would have provided predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the expected result of this configuration improves versatility/adaptability/efficiency of the crop input application system design.
As concerns claim 10, Moore shows wherein the particulate source is mounted to the vehicle (paragraph 0013).
As concerns claim 11, Moore shows wherein the irrigation vehicle further includes a deflector (220) applying the particulate to crops.
As concerns claim 12, the combination teaches a switch valve (Geng: 6) configured to selectively provide the particulate to the conduit.
As concerns claim 13, the combination teaches wherein the vehicle further includes a boom (Moore: 210; Geng: 10) and wherein a plurality of atomizing nozzles (Moore: 300; Geng: 17) are mounted to the boom.
As concerns claim 14, the combination teaches at least one pulsating valve (Geng: 6) fluidly coupled to at least one of the plurality of atomizing nozzles (Geng: 17).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al. and Geng et al. as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Gerdes et al. (US 2019/0297796).
As concerns claim 15, the combination of Moore and Geng discloses the claimed invention except for a sensor configured to sense presence of a weed, wherein the pulsating valve operates to deliver a concentrate mix to the weed. Gerdes teaches a sensor (145) configured to sense presence of a weed, wherein a valve operates to deliver a concentrate mix to the weed (paragraph 0034; claim 1). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Moore and Geng, as taught by Gerdes, to include a sensor configured to sense presence of a weed for the expected benefit of allowing the irrigation vehicle to traverse across a field to apply the particulate to crops in the field while also identifying and remedying the presence of weeds or other pests in order to maintain or improve the health of the crops. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that using a sensor configured to sense the presence of a weed during operation of the irrigation vehicle would have provided predictable results and a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the expected result of this configuration improves versatility/adaptability/efficiency of the crop input application system design.
As concerns claim 16, the combination teaches one or more sensors (Gerdes: 314) coupled with the vehicle to detect one or more conditions of the ground (Gerdes: paragraph 0048) and wherein a controller (Gerdes: 304) operates the application device to deliver particulate to crops based on the one or more detected conditions (Gerdes: paragraph 0050).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fortkamp (US 2023/0263089), Parod et al. (US 2018/0049381) and Peng et al. (CN 106718675) each show an irrigation vehicle having a reel supporting a flexible conduit such that the conduit can be extended from or retracted onto said reel.
/MATTHEW R BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672