Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 07/30/2024 has been partially considered (please see annotation attached in this Office Action) and The Non-Patent Literature Document 1 has not been considered as it fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “iv” and “vi” at line 13 and line 16, respectively which should have been --vi-- and --vii --.
Claims 6 and 15, “feet” should have been --fleet--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “memory storage means” in claim 1 at limitation iv and in claim 10 at limitation ii.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “reprocessing the collected data” at “v) reprocessing, by the cloud-based system the collected data to replicate the connection profiles and curves relating to the tubular connection make up operation” is unclear because it is hard to ascertain if this “reprocessing the collected data” refers to the “collected data” that is “compressed” after limitation 4. In other words, should “reprocessing the collected data” be “reprocessing the compressed collected data”?
In light of the Specification, for instance, the cloud-based system then replicates or re-processes the compressed sensor data to produce the same connection profile and torque-turns curves for communication to the remote users. The present system does not transmit the connections profiles and torque-turns curves generated in the onsite make-up monitoring system. Those files are immensely large, representing a huge data transfer that takes significant time. Instead, by transmitting only compressed raw data to the cloud-based system, the present system avoids traditional lags and latency.
Claim 10 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reason.
Claims 2-8 and 11-17 depend from rejected claims 1 and 10 respectively and therefore are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 recites a method for remote monitoring…wherein the on-site make up monitoring system provides on-site access to the received instructions” which is a process.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Claim 1 recites a judicial exception? Yes.
Claim 1 recites an abstract idea as follows: Claim 1 recites “collecting data…transmitting…processing…compressing…reprocessing…accessing…” may be carried out as a mental process if the algorithm is simple enough. Therefore, the claimed invention recites an abstract idea.
Claim 12 recites mental processes that may be carried out in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper in simple situations, or by a monitoring system, in the instant case, by hardware processors, for more complicated situations.
At Step 2A, Prong 2, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. There is no particular machine recited.
The limitation “transmitting…to at least the on-site make-up monitoring system for modifying the operation of the make-up equipment within predefined limits…instructions” can be considered as an additional element; however, it does not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, any particular machine, nor does it affect a real-world transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing.
Instead, the claim appears to monopolize the abstract idea itself for any purpose or in any practical application where it might conceivably be used. It can cover anything that could be done in the field of remote monitoring of on-site tubular connection make-up operations.
The claim does not recite applying the abstract idea with, or by use of, any particular machine nor does the claim affect a real-world transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. The monitoring system in the last step is not particular machine. It is recited at such a high level of generality that they cannot be considered to indicate a particular machine, or even to identify a particular field-of-use or technological environment. Instead, they are recited as tools to perform the abstract which is not sufficient to integrate the claim into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f), for instance).
The “modifying the operation of the make-up equipment within predefined limits” is an intended use limitation and it is insignificant. The “modified operation” is an extra solution and its use is unlimited.
The “transmitted instructions” in the last limitation is data gathering.
The equipment, monitoring system, tubular connection, cloud-based system, and memory storage means, sensor module, and casing connections are field of use devices and are not particular device.
Further, the preamble here does not positively add limitations to the claimed method, or further modify limitations recited in the body of the claim, and thus does not limit the claim. Instead, it indicates an intended use for the claimed method, i.e., the method is intended for use in remote monitoring and decision making with respect to one or more parameters of on-site tubular connection make up operations.
At Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, for reasons that are analogous to the discussion of additional elements at Prong 2.
Therefore, claim 1 is ineligible.
Claim 10 recites a system which does not offer a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the system to a particular technological environment, that is, implementation via a monitoring system. In other words, the system claim, the processor claim, and the product claim are no different from the method claim 1 in substance; the method claim recites the abstract idea while the system, recite generic components configured to implement the same abstract idea. The claim does not amount to significantly more than the underlying abstract idea.
Further, the preamble here does not positively add limitations to the claimed method, or further modify limitations recited in the body of the claim, and thus does not limit the claim. Instead, it indicates an intended use for the claimed method, i.e., the method is intended for use in remote monitoring and decision making with respect to one or more parameters of on-site tubular connection make up operations.
The remote portals, equipment, sensor, equipment, on-site make-up monitoring system, cloud-based system, memory storage means, on-site well operation equipment are all considered field of use device. They are not particular devices.
Claim 9
Step 1: Claim 9 recites “a method for automated monitoring…collecting data…modifying via instructions….limits” which is a process.
Step 2A, Prong 1: the claim recites an abstract idea as follows:
At Step 2A, Prong 2, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. There is no particular machine recited.
The limitation “collecting data…processing…assessing…” can be considered as an additional element; however, it does not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, any particular machine, nor does it affect a real-world transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing.
Instead, the claim appears to monopolize the abstract idea itself for any purpose or in any practical application where it might conceivably be used. It can cover anything that could be done in the field of remote monitoring of on-site tubular connection make-up operations.
The claim does not recite applying the abstract idea with, or by use of, any particular machine nor does the claim affect a real-world transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. The monitoring system in the last step is not particular machine. It is recited at such a high level of generality that they cannot be considered to indicate a particular machine, or even to identify a particular field-of-use or technological environment. Instead, they are recited as tools to perform the abstract which is not sufficient to integrate the claim into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f), for instance).
The “modifying the operation of the make-up equipment within predefined limits” is an intended use limitation and it is insignificant. The “modified operation” is an extra solution and its use is unlimited.
The equipment, monitoring system, tubular connection, cloud-based system, and memory storage means are field of use devices and are not particular device.
Further, the preamble here does not positively add limitations to the claimed method, or further modify limitations recited in the body of the claim, and thus does not limit the claim. Instead, it indicates an intended use for the claimed method, i.e., the method is intended for use in automated monitoring and decision making and operation of one or more parameters of on-site well operation equipment.
At Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, for reasons that are analogous to the discussion of additional elements at Prong 2.
Dependent claim 2 adds a limitation which is data merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Dependent claim 3 adds a limitation which is data (sharing access) merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Dependent claim 4, adds a limitation which is data (accessing…one or more central repositories of libraries…) merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Dependent claim 5 adds a limitation, storing… which is data merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Dependent claims 6 and 7 add a limitation which is data merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Dependent claim 8 adds a limitation, “via the cloud-based system,collating….make-up report” can considered an additional limitation. However, the claim when viewed as a whole with other limitations does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as “collating…connection data…” is insignificant as it is merely a data gathering. The use of “collated data” is unlimited. For instance, it has an intended use as recited in the claim, that is “to generate a complete wellbore construction make-up report”. Further the “(generated) report” is insignificant as it represents extra solution activity because it is a mere nomial or tangential addition to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05(I) for more information on this point, including explanations from judicial decisions including Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 224-26 (2014). This limitation represents extra-solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05(g), discussing limitations that the Federal Circuit has considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity, for instance the step of printing a menu that was generated through an abstract process in Apple, Inc. v. Ameranth, Inc., 842 F.3d 1229, 1241-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016) and the mere generic presentation of collected and analyzed data in Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Dependent claim 11 adds a limitation which is data merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements. The “edge-based transmission” is merely data and the monitoring system and sensor module are not particular devices.
Dependent claim 12 adds a limitation which is not particular device and merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Dependent claim 13, adds a limitation which is data (accessing…one or more central repositories of libraries…) merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements. The “present cloud-based system” is merely a field of use device and not a particular device.
Dependent claim 14 adds a limitation, which is not a particular device and the act of storing… which is data merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Dependent claims 15 and 16 add a limitation which is data merely extending the abstract idea without adding any additional elements.
Dependent claim 17 adds a limitation, “the cloud-based system is configured to collate….report” can considered an additional limitation. However, the claim when viewed as a whole with other limitations does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as “collating…connection data…” is insignificant as it is merely a data gathering. The use of “collated data” is unlimited. For instance, it has an intended use as recited in the claim, that is “to generate a complete wellbore construction make-up report”. Further the “(generated) report” is insignificant as it represents extra solution activity because it is a mere nomial or tangential addition to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05(I) for more information on this point, including explanations from judicial decisions including Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S.208, 224-26 (2014). This limitation represents extra-solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05(g), discussing limitations that the Federal Circuit has considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity, for instance the step of printing a menu that was generated through an abstract process in Apple, Inc. v. Ameranth, Inc., 842 F.3d 1229, 1241-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016) and the mere generic presentation of collected and analyzed data in Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
The recited cloud-based system is not a particular device which is used a tool.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abbassian et al. (USPAP. 20160053605)(hereinafter “Abbassian”).
Regarding claim 9, Abbassian discloses a method for automated monitoring, decision making and operation of one or more parameters of on-site well operation equipment, comprising:
collecting data from one or more on-site sensor modules assigned to the on-site make up equipment, during joint make-up of tubing and casing connections (Pars. 71, 72: various sensors 120 and 130 in Fig. 1 collect real time data which includes running casing or tubular goods, completion operations. See also Pars. 91-97 for make-up data. See Par. 80 for more sensor details);
ii) transmitting the collected data to an on-site make-up monitoring system (data collected by the sensors 120 and 130 in Fig. 1 is transmitted to system 100);
iii) processing in real time within the on-site make-up monitoring system, connection profiles and curves relating to the tubular connection make-up operation ((see Pars. 27 and 92: for the make up torque signatures monitored by make up torque widget as each joint of a completions string is made up prior to running into the wellbore. The torque response measured during the winding of a completion joint provides real time or near real time information about the make-up to help determine if the joint was made up within acceptable tolerances. See Par. 86 for log and curve information; see Figs. 14 and 15 for display of Make-up Torque);
iv) assessing by the on-site make up monitoring system, the connection profiles and curves against connection specifications, tolerances, and thresholds (Pars. 91-93);
and v) modifying via instructions from the on-site make-up monitoring system the operation of the make-up equipment within predefined limits (Pars. 93, 94: warning indicators is displayed if analysis of the data raises concerns about the torque signature for that join, e.g. the make-up torque exceeds a running average value by a preset percentage. Pars. 74 and 75: users can modify plan following comparing the real time data to a plan).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-15, and 17, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbassian et a. and Bures et al. (USPAP. 2020/0322703) (hereinafter “Bures”).
Regarding claim 1, discloses a method for remote monitoring and decision making with respect to one or more parameters of on-site tubular connection make up operations, said method comprising the steps of:
i) collecting data from one or more on-site sensor modules assigned to the on-site make up equipment, during joint make-up of tubing and casing connections (Pars. 71 and 72: various sensors 120 and 130 in Fig 1 collect real-time data which includes running casing or tubular goods, completion, operations. See also Pars. 91-97 for make-up data. See Par. 80 for more sensor details);
ii) transmitting the collected data to an on-site make-up monitoring system (data collected by sensors in Fig. 1 is transmitted to system 100. Pars. 91-97);
processing in real time within the on-site make-up monitoring system, connection profiles and curves relating to the tubular connection make-up operation (see Pars. 27 and 92: for the makeup torque signatures monitored by makeup torque widget as each joint of a completions string is made up prior to running into the wellbore. The torque response measured during the winding of a completion joint provides real time or near real time information about the make-up to help determine if the joint was made up within acceptable tolerances. See Par. 86 for log and curve information; see Figs. 14 and 15 for display of Make-up Torque);
reprocessing, by the cloud-based system the collected data (processed sensor data) to replicate the connection profiles and curves relating to the tubular connection make up operation (Pars. 23 and 82: A template can be populated with a variety of information, including, but not limited to, raw sensor data, processed sensor data, calculated data values, and other information, graphs, and text. Some information may be static, while other information is dynamically updated in real time during the well site operation. In one embodiment, a template may be built by combining one or more display “widgets” which present data or other information. Smart agents perform calculations based on data generated through or by one or more sensors, and said calculated data can then be displayed by a corresponding display widgets. For claimed “profiles”, please see Pars. 27 and 92: for the make up torque signatures monitored by make up torque widget as each joint of a completions string is made up prior to running into the wellbore. The torque response measured during the winding of a completion joint provides real time or near real time information about the make-up to help determine if the joint was made up within acceptable tolerances. See Par. 86 for log and curve information; see Figs. 14 and 15 for display of Make-up Torque);
iv) transmitting said collected data from the on-site make-up monitoring system to a cloud-based system comprising a memory storage means (Abbassian meets the claimed cloud-base system as claimed because Abbassian’s system 100 in Fig. 1 can include multiple computers, computer server, a handheld computing device, a smart phone, or any other time of computing (see Par. 71). Further the system is installed at a remote site, in addition to the well site. This permits user at the remote site to monitor the well-site operation in a similar manner to a user at the well-site (Par. 75). The architecture of the system workstation shown in Fig. 1 is only one example of multiple possible architectures. In one embodiment, the work station comprises one or more processors or microprocessors 102 coupled to one or more input devices 104 (e.g. mouse, keyboard, touchscreen or the like), one or more output devices 106 (e.g. display, printer, or the like), a network interface 108, and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage devices 110. In some embodiments, the input and output devices maybe part of the workstation itself, while in other embodiment such devices may be accessible to the work station through a network or other connection (Par. 76). In one embodiment, the network interface may comprises wire based interface (e.g. Ethernet), or a wireless interface (e.g. Bluetooth, wireless broadband IEEE 802.11x Wifi, or the like), which provides network connectivity to the workstation and system to enable communications across local and/or wide area networks. For example, the workstation can receive portions of or entire well or cementing plans or geological models 117 from a variety of locations. Further, Par. 99 discloses that the system is a web-enabled application, and the system software maybe accessed over a network connection such as the Internet. A user can access the software via the user’s web browser. In some embodiments, the system performs all of the computations and processing described herein and only display data is transmitted to the remote browser or client for rendering screen displays on the remote computer. In other embodiments, the remote browser or software on the remote system performs some of the functionality described herein. Hence, in the Examiner’s position, this meets “the cloud- or edge-based system” as recited in the claim in light of Applicant’s Specification, Par. 66 (Applicants’ PGPUB);
iv) accessing the connection profiles and curves relating to the tubular connection make up operation by one or more remote users via one or more dedicated remote portals for review or analysis (Pars. 91-93); and
vi) transmitting instructions from any one or more of the one or more remote users via the remote portal and the cloud-based system back to at least the on-site make-up monitoring system for modifying the operation of the make-up equipment within predefined limits ((Pars. 93, 94: warning indicators is displayed if analysis of the data raises concerns about the torque signature for that join, e.g. the make-up torque exceeds a running average value by a preset percentage. Pars. 74 and 75: users can modify plan following comparing the real time data to a plan),
wherein the on-site make-up monitoring system provides on-site access to the received instructions (Pars. 71, 74, 76, 80, and 81: a workstation showing a well advisor system 100 in accordance with various exemplary embodiments of the present invention. The workstation comprises one or more computers or computing devices, and may be located at a well site or remotely. The system thus allows personnel at the well site to monitor the well site operation in real time, and respond to changes or uncertainties encountered during the operation. The response may include comparing the real time data to the current well plan, and modifying the well plan).
Further, for the last two limitations “iv) accessing and vi) transmitting’, the system is installed at a remote site, in addition to the well site. This permits users at the remote site to monitor the well-site operation in a similar manner to a user at the well-site (Par. 75). The architecture of the system workstation shown in FIG. 1 is only one example of multiple possible architectures. In one embodiment, the workstation comprises one or more processors or microprocessors 102 coupled to one or more input devices 104 (e.g., mouse, keyboard, touchscreen, or the like), one or more output devices 106 (e.g., display, printer, or the like), a network interface 108, and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage devices 110. In some embodiments, the input and output devices may be part of the workstation itself, while in other embodiment such devices maybe accessible to the workstation through a network or other connection (Par. 76). In one exemplary embodiment, the network interface may comprise a wire-based interface (e.g., Ethernet), or a wireless interface (e.g., BlueTooth, wireless broadband, TEEE 802.11x WiFi, or the like), which provides network connectivity to the workstation and system to enable communications across local and/or wide area networks. For example, the workstation can receive portions of or entire well or cementing plans or geological models 117 from a variety of locations.
Par. 99 discloses that the system is a web-enabled application, and the system software may be accessed over a network connection such as the Internet. A user can access the software via the user's web browser. In some embodiments, the system performs all of the computations and processing described herein and only display data is transmitted to the remote browser or client for rendering screen displays on the remote computer. In other embodiments, the remote browser or software on the remote system performs some of the functionality described herein. Hence, in the Examiner’s position, this meets “the cloud or edge-based system, remotely accessible by one or more users via a dedicated remote access portal”.
Further, the term “dedicated remote access portal’ is not specifically defined in the Specification. In the absence of a specific definition of “dedicated remote access portal,” the Examiner must interpret the word in accordance with their usual definition. In the Examiner’s position, the recited limitation “dedicated remote access portal’ is met by Abbassian.
Abbassian discloses “processed/processing sensor data” at Pars. 23 and 82; however, does not explicitly disclose that the processed data is compressed data, e.g. iv) “compressing the collected data”.
Bures teaches “compressing the collected data” (Par. 60: compressed measurement data is generatd to produce processed measurement data of the particular sensor device for each of these timewindows by utilizing one or more signal processing functions detection functions, counting functions and/or characterization functions indicated in the current mode of operation. This processed measurement data can be transmitted to the gateway device 130 instead of the raw measurement data collected in the time window. In some embodiments, the processed measurement data can be transmitted to the gateway device 130 in addition to some or all of the raw measurement data collected in the time window. Par. 67 discloses more heavily compressed data for a particular type of data can be generated most of the time, for example, for a high, pre-determined proportion of time windows. Occasionally, in the remaining low proportion of time windows, the raw measurements, richer data, higher resolution data, and/or less heavily compressed data can be transmitted. In this fashion, the multi-sensor unit 120 can transmit less precise and/or lossily compressed measurements for one or more sensors most of the time, which can convey loose characteristics of the measurements at a higher rate, where more precise, richer, and/or higher resolution data for these sensors is occasionally transmitted, which, while transmitted at a lower rate than the less precise measurements, can be utilized to convey more information for analysis at this lower rate. Also see Par. 316).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filling the Application to modify Abbassian's invention using Bures' invention to arrive at the claimed invention specified in claim 1 to transmit less precise and/or lossily compressed measurements for one or more sensors most of the time, which can convey loose characteristics of the measurements at a higher rate, where more precise, richer, and/or higher resolution data for these sensors is occasionally transmitted, which, while transmitted at a lower rate than the less precise measurements, can be utilized to convey more information for analysis at this lower rate (see Bures: Par. 67).
Regarding claim 10, Abbassian discloses a system for remote monitoring, decision making and operating of one or more parameters of on-site well operation equipment, said system comprising:
i) an on-site make-up monitoring system for receiving data from one or more on-site sensor modules assigned to the on-site make up equipment (Fig. 1, Pars. 71 and 72: various sensors 120 and 130), said on-site make-up monitoring system configured to process in real time from the received data, connection profiles and curves relating to the tubular connection make-up operation (see Pars. 27 and 92: for the make up torque signatures monitored by make up torque widget as each joint of a completions string is made up prior to running into the wellbore. The torque response measured during the winding of a completion joint provides real time or near real time information about the make-up to help determine if the joint was made up within acceptable tolerances. See Par. 86 for log and curve information; see Figs. 14 and 15 for display of Make-up Torque);
ii) a cloud-based system comprising a memory storage mean configured to receive data from the on-site make-up monitoring system and to reprocess the received data and replicate the connection profiles and curves relating to the tubular connection make up operation (for “reprocessed raw data”, see Pars. 23 and 82: “A template can be populated with a variety of information, including, but not limited to, raw sensor data, processed sensor data, calculated data values, and other information, graphs, and text. Some information may be static, while other information is dynamically updated in real time during the well site operation. In one embodiment, a template may be built by combining one or more display “widgets” which present data or other information. Smart agents perform calculations based on data generated through or by one or more sensors, and said calculated data can then be displayed by a corresponding display widgets”;
for limitation “profiles and curves”, please see Pars. 27 and 92: for the make up torque signatures monitored by make up torque widget as each joint of a completions string is made up prior to running into the wellbore. The torque response measured during the winding of a completion joint provides real time or near real time information about the make-up to help determine if the joint was made up within acceptable tolerances. See Par. 86 for log and curve information; see Figs. 14 and 15 for display of Make-up Torque.
Further, Abbassian meets the claimed cloud-base system as claimed because Abbassian’s system 100 in Fig. 1 can include multiple computers, computer server, a handheld computing device, a smart phone, or any other time of computing (see Par. 71). Further the system is installed at a remote site, in addition to the well site. This permits user at the remote site to monitor the well-site operation in a similar manner to a user at the well-site (Par. 75). The architecture of the system workstation shown in Fig. 1 is only one example of multiple possible architectures. In one embodiment, the work station comprises one or more processors or microprocessors 102 coupled to one or more input devices 104 (e.g. mouse, keyboard, touchscreen or the like), one or more output devices 106 (e.g. display, printer, or the like), a network interface 108, and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage devices 110. In some embodiments, the input and output devices maybe part of the workstation itself, while in other embodiment such devices may be accessible to the work station through a network or other connection (Par. 76). In one embodiment, the network interface may comprises wire based interface (e.g. Ethernet), or a wireless interface (e.g. Bluetooth, wireless broadband IEEE 802.11x Wifi, or the like), which provides network connectivity to the workstation and system to enable communications across local and/or wide area networks. For example, the workstation can receive portions of or entire well or cementing plans or geological models 117 from a variety of locations. Further, Par. 99 discloses that the system is a web-enabled application, and the system software maybe accessed over a network connection such as the Internet. A user can access the software via the user’s web browser. In some embodiments, the system performs all of the computations and processing described herein and only display data is transmitted to the remote browser or client for rendering screen displays on the remote computer. In other embodiments, the remote browser or software on the remote system performs some of the functionality described herein. Hence, in the Examiner’s position, this meets “the cloud- or edge-based system” as recited in the claim in light of Applicant’s Specification, Par. 66 (Applicants’ PGPUB);
and iii) one or more dedicated remote portals accessible by one or more remote users for review or analysis of the connection profiles and curves generated by the cloud-based system, said one or more dedicated remote portals configured to transmit instructions via the cloud -based system back to the on-site make-up monitoring system for modifying the operation of the make-up equipment within predefined limits (Pars. 93, 94: warning indicators is displayed if analysis of the data raises concerns about the torque signature for that join, e.g. the make-up torque exceeds a running average value by a preset percentage. Pars. 74 and 75: users can modify plan following comparing the real time data to a plan), wherein the on-site make-up monitoring system is configured to provide on-site access to the received instructions (Pars. 71, 74, 76, 80, and 81: a workstation showing a well advisor system 100 in accordance with various exemplary embodiments of the present invention. The workstation comprises one or more computers or computing devices, and may be located at a well site or remotely. The system thus allows personnel at the well site to monitor the well site operation in real time, and respond to changes or uncertainties encountered during the operation. The response may include comparing the real time data to the current well plan, and modifying the well plan).
Abbassian discloses “processed/processing sensor data” at Pars. 23 and 82; However, does not explicitly disclose at iv) “compressing the collected data”.
Bures teaches “compressing the collected data” (Par. 60: compressed measurement data is generatd to produce processed measurement data of the particular sensor device for each of these timewindows by utilizing one or more signal processing functions detection functions, counting functions and/or characterization functions indicated in the current mode of operation. This processed measurement data can be transmitted to the gateway device 130 instead of the raw measurement data collected in the time window. In some embodiments, the processed measurement data can be transmitted to the gateway device 130 in addition to some or all of the raw measurement data collected in the time window. Par. 67 discloses more heavily compressed data for a particular type of data can be generated most of the time, for example, for a high, pre-determined proportion of time windows. Occasionally, in the remaining low proportion of time windows, the raw measurements, richer data, higher resolution data, and/or less heavily compressed data can be transmitted. In this fashion, the multi-sensor unit 120 can transmit less precise and/or lossily compressed measurements for one or more sensors most of the time, which can convey loose characteristics of the measurements at a higher rate, where more precise, richer, and/or higher resolution data for these sensors is occasionally transmitted, which, while transmitted at a lower rate than the less precise measurements, can be utilized to convey more information for analysis at this lower rate. Also see Par. 316).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filling the Application to modify Abbassian's invention using Bures' invention to arrive at the claimed invention specified in claim 1 to transmit less precise and/or lossily compressed measurements for one or more sensors most of the time, which can convey loose characteristics of the measurements at a higher rate, where more precise, richer, and/or higher resolution data for these sensors is occasionally transmitted, which, while transmitted at a lower rate than the less precise measurements, can be utilized to convey more information for analysis at this lower rate (see Bures: Par. 67).
Regarding claim 2 and similar claim 11, Abbassian and Bures disclose everything as applied above. In addition, Abbassian discloses wherein the data from the sensor module is transmitted to the on-site make-up monitoring system via edge-based transmission (Abbassian discloses at Par. 99 that the system is a web-enabled application, the system software mab by accessed over a network connection such as the Internet. A user can access the software via the user’s web browser. In some embodiments, the system performs all of the computations and processing described herein and only display data is transmitted to the remote browser or client for rendering screen displays on the remote computer. In other embodiments, the remote browser or software on the remote system performs some of the functionality described herein. Hence, in the Examiner’s position, this meets the limitation “the cloud or edge-based system”).
Regarding claim 3, Abbassian and Bure disclose everything as applied above. In addition, Abbassian discloses wherein the data from the sensor module is transmitted to the on-site make-up monitoring system via edge-based transmission (Abbassian discloses at Par. 99 that the system is a web-enabled application, the system software mab by accessed over a network connection such as the Internet. A user can access the software via the user’s web browser. In some embodiments, the system performs all of the computations and processing described herein and only display data is transmitted to the remote browser or client for rendering screen displays on the remote computer. In other embodiments, the remote browser or software on the remote system performs some of the functionality described herein. Hence, in the Examiner’s position, this meets the limitation “the cloud or edge-based system” remotely accessible by one or more users via a dedicated remote access portal”. Please also see claims 1 and 2’s explanation herein incorporated by reference).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Abbassian and Bure disclose everything as applied above. In addition, Abbassian discloses accessing, by the present cloud-based system, one or more central repositories of libraries of connection profile specifications provided by a tubular manufacture (Abbassian: Par. 93: manufacture data 324 and success indicator is the assessment made by a service company or vendor, and smart agent at Pars. 84-88. Pars. 26-28 for A warning indicator and success indicator can be provided. In one embodiment, the success indicator is the assessment made by a service company or vendor. Par. 94: a display 320 from the Make-Up Torque Widget, which provides a number of thumbnail views 320a, b, c of adjacent joints. The number of thumbnails may be configured by the user. In addition to warning indicators, the border of each thumbnail may be colored to reflect an alert status (e.g., green/amber/red). The user may browse the thumbnails to review successive joints and thus, historical make-ups).
Regarding claim 5, Abbassian and Bures discloses everything as applied above. In addition, Abbassian discloses storing within the cloud-based system particular make-up requirements, including tolerances and resolutions of acceptable connections, of end users (Pars. 92-94: a display 320 from the Make-Up Torque Widget, which provides a number of thumbnail views 320a, b, c of adjacent joints. The number of thumbnails may be configured by the user. In addition to warning indicators, the border of each thumbnail may be colored to reflect an alert status (e.g., green/amber/red). The user may browse the thumbnails to review successive joints and thus, historical make-ups).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Abbassian and Bures disclose everything as applied above. In addition, Abbassian discloses transmitting from the cloud-based system a baseline of make-up requirements to one or more onsite make-up monitoring systems of an end user to synchronize setting and connection information (configuration file and agent configuration) across a feet of onsite make-up monitoring systems (Par .74: The system thus allows personnel at the well site to monitor the well site operation in real time, and respond to changes or uncertainties encountered during the operation. The response may include comparing the real time data to the current well plan, and modifying the well plan. Pars. 86-88 discloses parameters 232 represent the overall configuration of the agent, and include basic settings including, but not limited to, start and stop parameters, tracing, whether data is read to a log, and other basic agent information. Tables 234 comprise information appearing in database tables associated with the agent. Inputs 236 and outputs 238 are the input or output mnemonics that are being tracked or reported on by the agent. For several embodiments, in order for data to be tracked or reported on, each output must have an associated output. This includes, but is not limited to, log and curve information. Agent configuration 244, as seen in FIG. 9, allows the user to copy an agent configuration file and rename it. This saves the user from having to perform an initial setup of the agent properties or create a new configuration file multiple times, if the user has agent configurations that are similar. In one embodiment, the user right clicks on the desired agent, selects the copy option, and identifies the wellbore for which the configuration is to be used. The user can name or rename the new agent configuration).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Abbassian and Bures disclose everything as applied above. In addition, Abbassian discloses collating well-site make up connection data on specific tubular joints with connection data for tubular to collar connection operations connected at a tubular manufacturer’s location to generate a complete wellbore construction make-up report (Par. 61: expert system connection and Par. 79 discloses that the system is a web-enabled application, and the system software may be accessed over a network connection such as the Internet. A user can access the software via the user's web browser. In some embodiments, the system performs all of the computations and processing described herein and only display data is transmitted to the remote browser or client for rendering screen displays on the remote computer. In other embodiments, the remote browser or software on the remote system performs some of the functionality. Further, Pars. 86 and 87 discloses that gents can be configured, and configuration files created or modified, using the agent properties display, as seen in FIG. 6. The same properties are used for each agent, whether the agent configuration is created or imported. The specific configuration information (including, but not limited to, parameters, tables, inputs, and outputs) varies depending on the smart agent. Parameters 232 represent the overall configuration of the agent, and include basic settings including, but not limited to, start and stop parameters, tracing, whether data is read to a log, and other basic agent information. Tables 234 comprise information appearing in database tables associated with the agent. Inputs 236 and outputs 238 are the input or output mnemonics that are being tracked or reported on by the agent. For several embodiments, in order for data to be tracked or reported on, each output must have an associated output. This includes, but is not limited to, log and curve information. Users can export an agent configuration file for other users to import and use. Therefore, in the Examiner’s position this meets the claimed invention as recited in claim 8 as this would allow connection in real time and user can access, track, and report information to each other).
Regarding claim 12, Abbassian and Bures disclose everything as applied above. In addition, Abbassian discloses wherein the remote access portal is shareable by one or more remote users with one or more other remote users (Pars. 86 and 87 discloses that gents can be configured, and configuration files created or modified, using the agent properties display, as seen in FIG. 6. The same properties are used for each agent, whether the agent configuration is created or imported. The specific configuration information (including, but not limited to, parameters, tables, inputs, and outputs) varies depending on the smart agent. Parameters 232 represent the overall configuration of the agent, and include basic settings including, but not limited to, start and stop parameters, tracing, whether data is read to a log, and other basic agent information. Tables 234 comprise information appearing in database tables associated with the agent. Inputs 236 and outputs 238 are the input or output mnemonics that are being tracked or reported on by the agent. For several embodiments, in order for data to be tracked or reported on, each output must have an associated output. This includes, but is not limited to, log and curve information. Users can export an agent configuration file for other users to import and use. Further, Abbassian discloses at Par. 99 that the system is a web-enabled application, the system software mab by accessed over a network connection such as the Internet. A user can access the software via the user’s web browser. In some embodiments, the system performs all of the computations and processing described herein and only display data is transmitted to the remote browser or client for rendering screen displays on the remote computer. In other embodiments, the remote browser or software on the remote system performs some of the functionality described herein. Hence, in the Examiner’s position, this meets the limitation “the cloud or edge-based system” remotely accessible by one or more users via a dedicated remote access portal”. Therefore, Abbassian meets the claimed invention as recited in claim 12).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected as being unpatentable over Abbassian and Bures and further in view of Park et al. (USPAP. 2019/00955518) (hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Abbassian and Chong disclose everything as applied above. Abbassian discloses at Pars. 17-20 and 58 that the users of the system thus are able to view and understand a substantial amount of information about the status of the particular well site operation in a single view, with the ability to obtain more detailed information in a series of additional views. The system is installed at a remote site, in addition to the well site. This permits users at the remote site to monitor the well-site operation in a similar manner to a user at the well-site installation. The user can examine a detailed display of a selected section of the tubular schematic. Users may communicate with each other, and with other systems, networks, and devices, over the network through the respective client devices.
However, Abbassian and Bures do not explicitly disclose “storing in the cloud-based system data regarding an operator or operators of the on-site make up equipment, including operator performance, overall ratings, certifications, and number of operations completed”.
Park teaches “storing in the cloud-based system data regarding an operator or operators of the on-site make up equipment, including operator performance, overall ratings, certifications, and number of operations completed” (Par. 133: user profile, particular user profile associated with the IoT device in a cloud-based computing system shown at Par. 89).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filling the Application to modify Abbassian and Bures' invention using Park's invention to arrive at the claimed invention specified in claims 7 and 16 so that a device can be associated with a particular user (Par. 133).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPAP. 20050096846 discloses a method for remotely controlling and/or monitoring at least one parameter of well bore equipment. In one aspect, a method for remotely controlling and/or monitoring at least one parameter of well bore equipment is provided, including: collecting data corresponding to the at least one parameter by a sensor module monitoring the at least one parameter of the well bore equipment; transmitting the collected data to a remote control/monitoring unit via a communication link; analyzing the collected data to determine if the parameter is within predefined limits; if the parameter is not within predefined limits, then transmitting control data from the control/monitoring unit to the well bore equipment for modifying the operation of the well operation equipment so that the parameter will conform to the predefined limits or stopping operation of the wellbore equipment (Abstract; Pars. 44-51).
/PHUONG HUYNH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857 December 16, 2025