DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 1, 12, and 20 recite the broad recitation “a turbine” and the claims also recite “a flash turbine” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claims, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In the present instance, claims 1, 12, and 20 recite the broad recitation “a coupling” and the claims also recite “the coupling is one of: a magnetic coupling; a mechanical coupling; a geared axial flux motor; an electro-magnetic geared coupling; or a radial-axial flux permanent magnet (RADAX) motor” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claims, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected to because of the following: claims 1, 12, and 20 contain content in a parenthesis. It is unclear if the content in the parenthesis is intended to be included or excluded from the claim, thus rendering metes and bounds sought by the claim indefinite. Applicant is encouraged to replace any acronyms in the claims with the corresponding terms written out in full throughout the claims and to delete all content in parenthesis from the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 12-13, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andres (US 2007/0193301 A1) in view of Behrens et al. (EP 3543131 A1), hereafter referred to as “Behrens,” Adolph et al. (5,628,203), hereafter referred to as “Adolph,” and Poteet et al. (US 2003/0052485 A1), hereafter referred to as “Poteet.”
Regarding Claim 1: Andres teaches an environmental control system (title) of an aircraft (paragraph [0002]), comprising: a cooling circuit (40 or 62) including: a turbo-compressor (14, 34), wherein the turbo-compressor (14, 34) includes: a compressor (14) fluidly coupled to the circuit (see Figures 2, 3); a turbine (34) fluidly coupled to the circuit downstream of the compressor (see Figures 2, 3), a shaft (36) operably coupling the compressor and the turbine (paragraph [0018]); a motor generator (16, paragraph [0012]) operably coupled to the turbo-compressor (see Figures 2, 3); and an exterior shaft (38, see Figures 2, 3), located exterior to the components (see Figures 2, 3) and operably coupled to the motor generator (16), wherein: the motor generator is directly coupled to the turbo-compressor (see Figures 2, 3).
Andres fails to teach a sealed housing; wherein the turbine is a flash turbine; wherein: the motor generator is coupled to the exterior shaft via a coupling, wherein the coupling is one of: a magnetic coupling; a mechanical coupling; a geared axial flux motor; an electro- magnetic geared coupling; or a radial-axial flux permanent magnet (RADAX) motor.
Behrens teaches a sealed housing (142, paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a sealed housing to the structure of Andres as taught by Behrens in order to advantageously provide rigid material to protect components of the system (see Behrens, paragraph [0036]).
Adolph teaches a flash turbine (Column 1, lines 55-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the turbine is a flash turbine to the structure of Andres modified supra as taught by Adolph in order to advantageously provide know turbine to provide driving power (see Adolph, Column 1, lines 55-57).
Poteet teaches a motor generator (102) is coupled to a shaft (paragraph [0018]) via a coupling (106), wherein the coupling (106) is one of: a magnetic coupling (paragraph [0018]); a mechanical coupling; a geared axial flux motor; an electro- magnetic geared coupling; or a radial-axial flux permanent magnet (RADAX) motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein: the motor generator is coupled to the exterior shaft via a coupling, wherein the coupling is one of: a magnetic coupling; a mechanical coupling; a geared axial flux motor; an electro- magnetic geared coupling; or a radial-axial flux permanent magnet (RADAX) motor to the structure of Andres modified supra as taught by Poteet in order to advantageously provide suitable types of couplings to engage/disengage the shaft (see Poteet, paragraph [0018]).
Regarding Claim 2: Andres modified supra teaches wherein the housing (142 of Behrens) includes ports to fluidly couple (functional limitations) the compressor (14 or 64 of Andres) and the turbine (34 of Andres) with the cooling circuit (40 or 62 of Andres).
Regarding Claim 4: Andres modified supra teaches wherein the housing (142 of Behrens) is formed of one or more of aluminum or plastic(paragraph [0036] of Behrens).
Regarding Claim 7: Andres teaches wherein the cooling circuit (40 or 62) further includes an evaporator (10, paragraph [0011]) and a condenser (22, paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claim 12: Andres teaches an environmental control system (title) of an aircraft (paragraph [0002]), comprising: a cooling circuit (40 or 62) including: a turbo-compressor (14, 34), wherein the turbo- compressor (14, 34) includes: a compressor (14) fluidly coupled to the circuit (see Figures 2, 3); a turbine (34) fluidly coupled to the circuit downstream of the compressor (see Figures 2, 3), a shaft (36) operably coupling the compressor (14) and the turbine (34, see Figures 2, 3); and a motor generator (16, paragraph [0012]) operably coupled to the turbo-compressor (see Figures 2, 3).
Andres fails to teach a sealed housing; wherein the turbine is a flash turbine; wherein: the compressor and turbine are coupled to each other via a coupling, and the coupling is one of: a magnetic coupling; a mechanical coupling; a geared axial flux motor; an electro-magnetic geared coupling; or a radial-axial flux permanent magnet (RADAX) motor.
Behrens teaches a sealed housing (142, paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a sealed housing to the structure of Andres as taught by Behrens in order to advantageously provide rigid material to protect components of the system (see Behrens, paragraph [0036]).
Adolph teaches a flash turbine (Column 1, lines 55-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the turbine is a flash turbine to the structure of Andres modified supra as taught by Adolph in order to advantageously provide know turbine to provide driving power (see Adolph, Column 1, lines 55-57).
Poteet teaches a compressor (104) and a turbine (108) are coupled to each other via a coupling (110), and the coupling (110) is one of: a magnetic coupling (paragraph [0018]); a mechanical coupling; a geared axial flux motor; an electro-magnetic geared coupling; or a radial-axial flux permanent magnet (RADAX) motor
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein: wherein: the compressor and turbine are coupled to each other via a coupling, and the coupling is one of: a magnetic coupling; a mechanical coupling; a geared axial flux motor; an electro-magnetic geared coupling; or a radial-axial flux permanent magnet (RADAX) motor to the structure of Andres modified supra as taught by Poteet in order to advantageously provide suitable types of couplings to engage/disengage the shaft (see Poteet, paragraph [0018]).
Regarding Claim 13: Andres modified supra teaches wherein the housing (142 of Behrens) includes ports (124 of Behrens) to fluidly couple (functional limitations) the compressor (14 or 64 of Andres) and the turbine (34 of Andres) with the cooling circuit (40 or 62 of Andres).
Regarding Claim 15: Andres modified supra teaches wherein the housing (142 of Behrens) is formed of one or more of aluminum or plastic (paragraph [0036] of Behrens).
Regarding Claim 16: Andres further teaches wherein the cooling circuit (40 or 62) further includes an evaporator (10, paragraph [0011]) and a condenser (22, paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claim 20: Andres teaches an environmental control system (title) of an aircraft (paragraph [0002]), comprising: a cooling circuit (40 or 62) including: a turbo-compressor (14, 34), wherein the turbo- compressor (14, 34) includes: a compressor fluidly coupled to the circuit (40 or 62); a turbine (34) fluidly coupled to the circuit downstream of the compressor (14), a shaft (36) operably coupling the compressor (14) and the turbine (34); and a motor generator (16, paragraph [0012]) operably coupled to the turbo-compressor (see Figures 2, 3).
Andres fails to teach a sealed housing; wherein the turbine is a flash turbine; wherein: the compressor and turbine are coupled to each other via a coupling, and the coupling is one of: a magnetic coupling; a mechanical coupling; a geared axial flux motor; an electro-magnetic geared coupling; or a radial-axial flux permanent magnet (RADAX) motor.
Behrens teaches a sealed housing (142, paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a sealed housing to the structure of Andres as taught by Behrens in order to advantageously provide rigid material to protect components of the system (see Behrens, paragraph [0036]).
Adolph teaches a flash turbine (Column 1, lines 55-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the turbine is a flash turbine to the structure of Andres modified supra as taught by Adolph in order to advantageously provide know turbine to provide driving power (see Adolph, Column 1, lines 55-57).
Poteet teaches a compressor (104) and a turbine (108) are coupled to each other via a coupling (110), and the coupling (110) is one of: a magnetic coupling (paragraph [0018]); a mechanical coupling; a geared axial flux motor; an electro-magnetic geared coupling; or a radial-axial flux permanent magnet (RADAX) motor
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein: the compressor and turbine are coupled to each other via a coupling, and the coupling is one of: a magnetic coupling; a mechanical coupling; a geared axial flux motor; an electro-magnetic geared coupling; or a radial-axial flux permanent magnet (RADAX) motor to the structure of Andres modified supra as taught by Poteet in order to advantageously provide suitable types of couplings to engage/disengage the shaft (see Poteet, paragraph [0018]).
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andres (US 2007/0193301 A1) in view of Behrens et al. (EP 3543131 A1), hereafter referred to as “Behrens,” Adolph et al. (5,628,203), hereafter referred to as “Adolph,” and Poteet et al. (US 2003/0052485 A1), hereafter referred to as “Poteet” as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Houshmand et al. (US 2020/0373873 A1), hereafter referred to as “Houshmand.”
Regarding Claim 3: Andres modified supra fails to teach wherein the motor generator is an axial flux motor generator or a geared axial flux motor generator.
Houshmand teaches wherein a motor generator is an axial flux motor generator (paragraph [0055]) or a geared axial flux motor generator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the motor generator is an axial flux motor generator or a geared axial flux motor generator to the structure of Andres modified supra as taught by Houshmand in order to advantageously provide to utilize an electric machine to provide power to the portions of the aircraft (see Houshmand, paragraph [0034]).
Regarding Claim 14: Andres modified supra fails to teach wherein the motor generator is an axial flux motor generator or a geared axial flux motor generator.
Houshmand teaches wherein a motor generator is an axial flux motor generator (paragraph [0055]) or a geared axial flux motor generator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the motor generator is an axial flux motor generator or a geared axial flux motor generator to the structure of Andres modified supra as taught by Houshmand in order to advantageously provide to utilize an electric machine to provide power to the portions of the aircraft (see Houshmand, paragraph [0034]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andres (US 2007/0193301 A1) in view of Behrens et al. (EP 3543131 A1), hereafter referred to as “Behrens,” Adolph et al. (5,628,203), hereafter referred to as “Adolph,” and Poteet et al. (US 2003/0052485 A1), hereafter referred to as “Poteet,” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wright et al. (US 9,388,817 B1), hereafter referred to as “Wright.”
Regarding Claim 5: Andres modified supra fails to teach further comprising a compressor-side outboard shaft coupled to the compressor, and the motor generator is directly coupled to the compressor-side outboard shaft.
Wright teaches a compressor-side outboard shaft (see shaft on 108) coupled to a compressor (108), and a motor generator (102) is directly coupled to the compressor-side outboard shaft (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a compressor-side outboard shaft coupled to the compressor, and the motor generator is directly coupled to the compressor-side outboard shaft to the structure of Andres modified supra as taught by Wright in order to advantageously provide power generated by the motor generator to the compressor (see Wright, Column 4, lines 14-26).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andres (US 2007/0193301 A1) in view of Behrens et al. (EP 3543131 A1), hereafter referred to as “Behrens,” Adolph et al. (5,628,203), hereafter referred to as “Adolph,” and Poteet et al. (US 2003/0052485 A1), hereafter referred to as “Poteet,” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Finney et al. (US 2012/0312037 A1), hereafter referred to as “Finney.”
Regarding Claim 6: Andres modified supra fails to teach further comprising a turbine-side outboard shaft coupled to the turbine, and the motor generator is directly coupled to the turbine-side outboard shaft.
Finney teaches a turbine-side outboard shaft (see 22, see Figure 1) coupled to a turbine (66), and a motor generator (68, paragraph [0031]) is directly coupled to the turbine-side outboard shaft (paragraph [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a turbine-side outboard shaft coupled to the turbine, and the motor generator is directly coupled to the turbine-side outboard shaft to the structure of Andres modified supra as taught by Finney in order to advantageously provide energy to the elements on the shaft (see Finney, paragraph [0031]).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andres (US 2007/0193301 A1) in view of Behrens et al. (EP 3543131 A1), hereafter referred to as “Behrens,” Adolph et al. (5,628,203), hereafter referred to as “Adolph,” and Poteet et al. (US 2003/0052485 A1), hereafter referred to as “Poteet,” as applied to claims 7 and 16 above, and further in view of Hass et al. (US 2003/0177781 A1), hereafter referred to as “Hass.”
Regarding Claim 8: Andres modified supra fails to teach wherein the condenser is a RAM air condenser.
Hass teaches a condenser (paragraph [0052]) is a RAM air condenser (paragraph [0052], see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the condenser is a RAM air condenser to the structure of Andres modified supra as taught by Hass in order to advantageously provide ambient air to cool the condenser (see Hass, paragraph [0012]).
Regarding Claim 17: Andres modified supra fails to teach wherein the condenser is a RAM air condenser.
Hass teaches a condenser (paragraph [0052]) is a RAM air condenser (paragraph [0052], see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the condenser is a RAM air condenser to the structure of Andres modified supra as taught by Hass in order to advantageously provide ambient air to cool the condenser (see Hass, paragraph [0012]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form and amended without any patentably significant broadening of the claims and including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as overcoming the indefiniteness rejections made herein.
REASONS FOR ALLOWABILITY
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowability:
In Claim 9: the references fail to teach or make obvious the specific limitations regarding the configuration of a splitter, a mixing chamber, and branching. Claims 10-11 depend from claim 9.
In Claim 18: the references fail to teach or make obvious the specific limitations regarding the configuration of a splitter, a mixing chamber, and branching. Claim 19 depends from claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zywiak (5,461,882).
/KIRSTIN U OSWALD/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763