DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (2006/0022740).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 3 of Kim discloses circuitry comprising:
first and second input transistors [MN33-34]
a distortion compensation circuit that comprises includes a third transistor having a gate terminal coupled to a gate terminal of the first input transistor [MN31]
a fourth transistor having a gate terminal coupled to a gate terminal of the second input transistor [MN32]
a tail current source coupled to a first source-drain terminal of the third transistor and to a first source-drain terminal of the fourth transistor [Ibias]
a signal attenuation circuit coupled between the gate terminal of the first input transistor and the gate terminal of the third transistor [resistor connected to Vbias]
Regarding claim 2, Figure 3 of Kim discloses
wherein the gate terminal of the first input transistor is coupled to a first input terminal of the circuitry [Vin+]
the first input transistor further comprises a first source-drain terminal coupled to a power supply line and a second source-drain terminal coupled to a first output terminal of the circuitry [MN31]
Regarding claim 3, Figure 3 of Kim discloses
wherein the gate terminal of the second input transistor is coupled to a second input terminal of the circuitry [Vin-]
the second input transistor further comprises a first source-drain terminal coupled to the power supply line and a second source-drain terminal coupled to a second output terminal of the circuitry [MN32]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (2006/0022740).
Regarding claim 7, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the signal attenuation circuit is configured to provide an adjustable attenuation factor for tuning a gain compression voltage range of the distortion compensation circuit.
However, it would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Kim by using an adjustable resistor as a matter of simple design-choice, since it was well-known in the art to use an adjustable resistor to adjust gain attenuation.
Regarding claim 8, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the tail current source is configured to pass a tail current that is less than a fifth of an output current flowing through the first and second input transistors.
However, it would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Kim by using a tail current less than a fifth of the output current as a matter of simple design-choice, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, and 9-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16, 17, 19, and 20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOMI SKIBINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836