DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments received on January 28, 2026 are entered into the file. Currently, claims 1 and 18 are amended; claims 13, 14, and 17 are cancelled; claims 21-24 are withdrawn; resulting in claims 1-12, 15, 16, 18-20, 25, and 26 pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-12, 15, 16, 18-20, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the newly added limitation reciting “wherein the first layer comprises a continuous layer and the photochromatic pigment is deposited on a first surface of the first layer” is considered new matter that is not adequately supported by the specification.
On page 6 of the remarks filed January 28, 2026, the Applicant cites paragraph [0049] and Figs. 1A-1D as support for this amendment. In looking to paragraph [0049], the first layer (102) is said to be formed from a polyvinyl fluoride film (PVF) or a fiberglass reinforced emboss resin. In each of the embodiments shown in Figs. 1A-1C, the first layer (102, 120) is shown as a continuous layer on which the photochromatic pigment (104) is disposed. There does not appear to be any disclosure of an embodiment in which the first layer comprises a continuous layer in addition to any other layers, or where the photochromatic pigment is deposited on a surface of the first layer other than on the continuous first layer. The instant specification and drawings therefore only appear to provide adequate support for an embodiment in which the first layer is a continuous layer, wherein the photochromatic pigment is deposited on a first surface of the first layer. Furthermore, in the embodiment where the first layer comprises a pigment texture, it is understood that the first layer which may be formed from an emboss resin may be a continuous layer while also being embossed to form a pigment texture, wherein such an embodiment is reasonably envisioned by the specification.
Regarding claims 2-12, 15, 16, 18-20, 25, and 26, the claims are rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 1-12, 15, 16, 18-20, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation reciting “a first layer having a photochromatic pigment” is indefinite in light of the newly added limitations reciting “wherein the first layer comprises a continuous layer and the photochromatic pigment is deposited on a first surface of the first layer” and “wherein the first layer further comprises a pigment texture, the pigment texture comprising an embossed pattern, the photochromatic pigment being disposed in the embossed pattern” because it is not clear based on the current language of the claims whether the photochromatic pigment is a component of the first layer or a separate component that is disposed on a surface of the first layer.
The first limitation in line 2 reciting “a first layer having a photochromatic pigment” appears to set forth that the first layer comprises a photochromatic pigment as a component thereof. However, the new limitations in lines 3-4 and lines 12-13 recite that the photochromatic pigment is deposited on a surface of the first layer and that the photochromatic pigment is disposed in the embossed pattern of the first layer. The photochromatic pigment is therefore understood to be a component separate from the first layer which is disposed thereon. In order to overcome this rejection, it is suggested to amend the claim to recite “A laminate comprising: a first layer… ; a photochromatic pigment comprising a first pigment and a second pigment… ; and a second layer…”, where each element of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. See MPEP 608.01(m).
Regarding claims 2-12, 15, 16, 18-20, 25, and 26, the claims are rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, 12, 15, 18-20, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dayton (US 2017/0157279, previously cited) in view of Kang et al. (US 2007/0054223, previously cited).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Dayton teaches a photochromic indicator (10; laminate) comprising a protective layer (14) having a photochromic material (12; photochromic pigment) applied to the inward-facing surface (20) of the protective layer, wherein the photochromic material is disposed between the inward-facing surface of the protective layer and a pressure-sensitive adhesive (18) ([0021], see Fig. 2A reproduced below). The protective layer (14) corresponds to the claimed first layer which is a continuous layer having a photochromic material (12) deposited on a first surface thereof.
Dayton further teaches an alternative embodiment in which the photochromic material (12) is formed between the protective layer (14) and an underlying backing layer (26) ([0024], see Fig. 2B reproduced below). In this embodiment, either the protective layer (14) or the backing layer (26) can be taken to correspond to the claimed first layer which is a continuous layer having a photochromic material (12) deposited on a first surface thereof.
Dayton teaches that the pressure-sensitive adhesive (18) is used to adhere the indicator to a surface (22), such that the indicator can be applied as a sticker, decal, label, or placard to the surface to be rendered pathogen-reduced during a decontamination process and can be disposable to be replaced after a predetermined period of time ([0021]-[0022], [0050], claim 8, Fig. 3). Therefore, the pressure-sensitive adhesive corresponds to the claimed second layer which is a coupling layer configured to removably couple the photochromic indicator to a component.
Dayton teaches that the photochromic material may be substantially transparent to visible light prior to exposure to UVC light (first state) such that the indicator is minimally detectable at a casual glance (invisible to the naked eye under ambient lighting), and may be selected to change color, exhibit a variable opacity, etc. (visible to the naked eye under ambient lighting) once exposed to UVC light (second state) ([0024], [0045]).
Dayton further teaches that each of the regions (12A, 12B, 12C) of photochromic material can exhibit different visible responses to being exposed to UV light, which can be achieved by forming each of the plurality of regions from a different photochromic material ([0046]-[0047]). Dayton therefore teaches that the photochromic material comprises a first pigment and a second pigment.
Although Dayton teaches that the photochromic material (12) may be formed as distinct regions (12A, 12B, 12C) for the purposes of redundancy so that if one region is damaged, the other regions can still be relied upon to provide a visible response ([0045]), Dayton differs from the claimed invention in that the reference does not expressly teach that the first layer includes a pigment texture comprising an embossed pattern, wherein the photochromic pigment is disposed in the embossed pattern.
However, in the analogous art of photochromic articles, Kang et al. teaches a photochromic film comprising an embossed portion (32) formed on a part or whole of a basic material (31) which is coated with a photochromic substance (33) that fills each of the unit embossed portions (Abstract, [0024], Fig. 3). Similar to Dayton, Kang et al. teaches that by filling embossed portions with the photochromic substance, each of the unit embossed portions are isolated from each other, thereby prolonging the life of the photochromic substance ([0002], [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photochromic indicator taught by Dayton by forming a pigment texture comprising an embossed pattern in the first layer with the photochromic pigment disposed therein, as taught by Kang et al., in order to isolate the embossed portions from each other so as to prolong the life of the photochromic material.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Dayton in view of Kang et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, and Dayton further teaches that the protective layer (14) is formed of a material that is substantially transparent to UVC light (e.g., allows transmission of at least 60% of the intensity of UVC light) [0019]. Dayton teaches that short-wave ultraviolet (UVC) includes wavelengths within a range from about 250 nm to about 260 nm [0006]. Therefore, the protective layer of the first layer is formed of a material that is at least 30% UV transparent to light within a wavelength range from about 250 nm to about 260 nm, which falls squarely within the range of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Dayton in view of Kang et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 above. As noted above, Dayton teaches that the protective layer (14) is formed of a material that is substantially transparent to UVC light, which includes wavelengths within a range from about 250 nm to about 260 nm ([0006], [0019]). Therefore, the protective layer of the first layer is formed of a material that is at least 30% UV transparent to light within a wavelength range from about 250 nm to about 260 nm, which overlaps the range of claim 5. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 6, Dayton in view of Kang et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, and Dayton further teaches that the protective layer (14) can be formed from UVC transmissive materials such as fluorinated ethylene propylene ([0019]), which is a non-flammable material.
Regarding claims 7, 8, and 12, Dayton in view of Kang et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. As shown in Fig. 1 of Dayton, the photochromic indicator (10) is illustrated as having a generally rectangular shape with a plurality of edges defining a surface area thereof. The photochromatic indicator includes a plurality of regions of photochromic material (12A, 12B, 12C; plurality of indicators) formed across less than an entirety of the surface area as an ordered array ([0019], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Dayton in view of Kang et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 above. Dayton teaches an embodiment in which at least one, and optionally a plurality of regions of photochromic material (12A,12B, 12C; plurality of indicators) are formed as distinct regions across less than the entirety of the surface area ([0019], Fig. 1C), and differs from the claimed invention in that the reference does not expressly teach an embodiment in which the plurality of indicators are formed across an entirety of the surface area.
It would, however, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photochromatic indicator taught by Dayton in view of Kang et al. by forming the regions of photochromic material across the entirety of the surface area in order to increase the area covered by the photochromatic material to thereby enable a user to more easily observe a color change.
Regarding claim 10, Dayton in view of Kang et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, and Dayton further teaches that the photochromatic layer (10) includes a plurality of regions of photochromatic material (12A, 12B, 12C; plurality of indicators) which each optionally exhibit different visible responses (e.g., turn different colors) [0046]. Therefore, the plurality of regions of photochromatic material include a first color and a second color which is different from the first color.
Regarding claim 18, Dayton in view of Kang et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, and Dayton further teaches that the photochromic material (12) can be formed as a plurality of regions (12A, 12B, 12C) of photochromic material which exhibit different visible responses by each region using a different photochromic material ([0046]-[0047]). Dayton teaches that the photochromic material can be selected to continually exhibit a visible response to UVC exposure for a predetermined length of time (e.g., at least 2 minutes, at least 15 minutes, etc.) after the material ceases to be exposed to UVC light, where the visible response exhibited by the photochromic material is reversible ([0007], [0044]). Dayton further teaches that the different visible responses may be used to estimate the progress of the decontamination process [0046].
The different photochromic materials used in the different regions therefore correspond to the claimed first and second pigments which are configured to change from the second to the first state after first and second different predetermined periods of time. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that different photochromic materials would have at least somewhat different reversion times, such that the first pigment can be taken to correspond to the material having a reversion time that is less than the reversion time of the second pigment.
Regarding claim 19, Dayton in view of Kang et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. In the case where the protective layer (14) corresponds to the claimed first layer, the first layer is an outermost layer of the indicator (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 20, Dayton in view of Kang et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. In the case where the backing layer (26) corresponds to the claimed first layer, the protective layer (14) which is formed on top of the backing layer having the photochromic material (12) is an outermost layer of the laminate (Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 25, Dayton in view of Kang et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, and Dayton further teaches that the protective layer is formed of UVC transmissive materials, wherein the listed polymeric materials are only UVC transmissive when formed at small cross sectional thicknesses, such as 0.001 to 0.005 in ([0019]), equivalent to 1 to 5 mils, which falls squarely within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dayton (US 2017/0157279, previously cited) in view of Kang et al. (US 2007/0054223, previously cited) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Young et al. (US 2020/0047868, previously cited).
Regarding claim 2, Dayton in view of Kang et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Although Dayton further teaches that the protective layer can be formed from any UVC transmissive materials applied over the photochromic material, wherein examples of polymeric materials are listed ([0019]), the reference does not expressly teach that the first layer is formed from a fiberglass material or a polyvinyl material.
However, in the analogous art of adhesive laminates, Young et al. teaches a decorative laminate (10) comprising a first layer (62a), a decorative layer (76), and a second layer (62b), wherein the decorative layer is selectively disposed between the first and second layers ([0026], Fig. 1). Similar to the photochromic indicator of Dayton, the decorative laminate taught by Young et al. may include light-activated materials in the decorative layer, for instance, an ultraviolet (UV) activated pigment that is non-visible until exposed to a source of UV light, wherein the decorative layer can be deposited in a decorative and/or functional pattern [0027]. Young et al. teaches that the first layer (62a) can be transparent to ultraviolet and/or infrared light in order to allow such light incident on the first layer to penetrate to the decorative layer and affect any light-activated materials, wherein polyvinyl fluoride materials are said to be advantageous for the laminate layers due to their physical toughness, chemical inertness, abrasion resistance, consistent performance regardless of temperature changes, and print receptivity ([0029], [0048]). The laminate layers can additionally or alternatively include non-polymer materials; for instance, a thermoplastic fluoropolymer material can be reinforced with glass fibers (fiberglass), wherein such reinforced materials can be advantageous for use in high-traffic areas [0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photochromic indicator of Dayton in view of Kang et al. by selecting a fiberglass-reinforced polyvinyl material as the material of the protective layer onto which the photochromic material is printed, as taught by Young et al., in order to ensure that the indicator has good physical toughness, chemical inertness, abrasion resistance, and print receptivity and to enable the indicator to be used in high-traffic areas.
Regarding claim 16, Dayton in view of Kang et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above but does not expressly teach that a backing layer is removably coupled to the adhesive layer.
However, in the analogous art of adhesive laminates, Young et al. teaches a decorative laminate comprising an adhesive layer, such as a pressure-sensitive adhesive, and a release liner (backing layer) which can be removed from the adhesive and discarded when the decorative laminate is applied to a substrate ([0058]-[0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photochromic indicator of Dayton in view of Kang et al. by including a release liner removably coupled to the second adhesive layer, as taught by Young et al., in order to protect the adhesive prior to application of the indicator to a substrate or surface.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dayton (US 2017/0157279, previously cited) in view of Kang et al. (US 2007/0054223, previously cited) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Amhof et al. (US 2001/0006818, previously cited).
Regarding claim 11, Dayton in view of Kang et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Although Dayton teaches that the photochromic indicator (10) may be applied to surfaces (22) of objects (24) such as a patient bed, tray table, and door, e.g., in a patient room or examination room within a healthcare facility ([0004], [0026], Fig. 3), the reference does not expressly teach that the photochromatic indicator is configured as a plurality of sections each separated by a series of perforations.
However, in the analogous art of sterilization indicators, Amhof et al. teaches a label which may be used in a sterilization tracking system, wherein the label has first and second portions which each change color upon exposure to a sterilization procedure (Abstract, [0018]). The label (10) comprises first and second portions (26, 28) constructed to be manually separable from each other, for example, by perforations (35) which allow manual tearing of the second portion from the first portion ([0034], Figs. 1-2). Amhof et al. teaches a sterilizing tracking system which involves adhering the label to an object to be sterilized, subjecting the object to a sterilization procedure, removing the second portion of the label from the first portion, leaving the first portion adhered to the object, and then adhering the second portion to a patient’s file such that the label provides a link between a patient and records kept on sterilization parameters, e.g., at a hospital ([0074]-[0079], [0082], Figs. 4a-4f).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photochromic indicator taught by Dayton in view of Kang et al. by forming the indicator to have a plurality of sections which are separated from each other by perforations, as taught by Amhof et al., in order to enable one section of the indicator to remain attached to the sterilized object while another section can be easily detached and retained for record-keeping purposes.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dayton (US 2017/0157279, previously cited) in view of Kang et al. (US 2007/0054223, previously cited) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Drexler et al. (US 20160089851, cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 26, Dayton in view of Kang et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 above. Although Dayton teaches that the indicator (10) can include a pressure-sensitive adhesive (18) used to adhere the indicator to a variety of surfaces, such as a bed, a tray table, or a door ([0021], [0026], claim 8, Fig. 3), the reference does not teach that the adhesive comprises a heat-activated adhesive.
However, in the analogous art of adhesive laminates, Drexler et al. teaches a decorative laminate used in a variety of applications, including for surfaces of walls, countertops, and aircraft interior structural components such as ceiling panels, floor panels, stowage bins, lavatory and galley panels, and the like [0004]. Drexler et al. teaches that an adhesive layer (63) is formed on a side of the decorative laminate (10) so that the laminate can be attached to a structural component (28) ([0050], [0051], Figs. 4A-4B). The adhesive layer may comprise a pressure-sensitive adhesive, a hot melt adhesive, a spray adhesive, or another suitable adhesive [0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indicator taught by Dayton in view of Kang et al. by substituting the pressure sensitive adhesive for a hot melt adhesive, as taught by Drexler et al., as both are known to be suitable for adhering laminates to surfaces of objects. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the type of adhesive (e.g., pressure sensitive or hot melt) may be appropriately selected based the type of surface to which the laminate is intended to be adhered.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Objections
The previous objection to claim 18 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendment to the claim in the response filed January 28, 2026 deleting the redundant limitation.
Response-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejection of claims 1-13, 15, 16, 18-20, 25, and 26 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 in the response filed January 28, 2026. However, in light of the amendments to claim 1, new issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) are presented in the office action above, along with suggestions to overcome the written description and indefiniteness rejections.
Response-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In light of the amendments to claim 1 incorporating the limitations of previous claim 13, the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 based on Foller et al., Sweeting et al., and Dayton are withdrawn. The Applicant’s arguments directed to Dayton in view of Kang et al. with respect to previous claim 13 will be addressed insofar as they apply to the current grounds of rejection.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 11-12 of the remarks filed January 28, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that there is no teaching or motivation to modify the printed photochromic systems of Dayton with embossed pigment texture as claimed. In particular, the Applicant argues that while Dayton describes different regions of photochromic material (12A, 12B, 12C), these regions are provided for the purpose of exhibiting different visible responses, citing paragraph [0046] of Dayton, which arguably teaches away from any region of photochromic material being provided for texture. The Applicant further argues that Kang teaches a protective layer which covers the embossed layer, such that Kang is silent to any resulting texture provided by adding a film or coating layer on the structure, as compared to the claimed pigment texture.
These arguments are not persuasive. With respect to the first argument that Dayton describes different regions of photochromatic material (12A, 12B, 12C) which are provided for the purpose of exhibiting different visible responses, it is noted that Dayton alternatively discloses that the regions of photochromatic material can be independently selected to exhibit either the same visible response or different visible responses when exposed to UVC light ([0045]-[0046]). Dayton teaches that in the embodiment where the different regions exhibit the same visible response, if one region of photochromatic material is damaged or otherwise ceases to exhibit the correct response to UVC light, a visible response by the other regions of photochromic material could be relied upon instead [0045]. Dayton therefore suggests that redundancy of similar regions of photochromatic material may be desired to ensure the authenticity of the indicator’s visible response to UVC light.
Nevertheless, it is not clear how Dayton’s teaching of the regions of photochromatic material being the same or different would constitute a teaching away from providing a pigment texture in the form of an embossed pattern, as Dayton does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the claimed configuration in which the photochromatic pigment is disposed in an embossed pattern. See MPEP 2145(X)(D)(1).
With respect to the second argument that Kang et al. teaches a protective layer which covers the embossed layer, where the protective layer itself does not purport to have any pigment texture, it is noted that the claim does not preclude such a configuration in which an additional (e.g., protective) layer is disposed over the first layer. Indeed, dependent claim 20 recites that the laminate further comprises a protective layer formed on top of the first layer having the photochromatic pigment, wherein such a configuration would result in the embossed pattern of the pigment texture being covered by the protective layer in the same way that the protective layer in Kang et al. covers the photochromatic substance filled in embossed portions of the basic material.
As to Applicant’s argument that Kang et al. is silent to any resulting texture provided by adding a film or coating layer on the structure, it is noted that the claim does not require an outer surface of the laminate to have an embossed pattern or a texture. Rather, the claim merely requires that the first layer includes an embossed pattern (i.e., pigment texture), which is satisfied by the configuration taught by Kang et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Rebecca L Grusby/Examiner, Art Unit 1785