DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-16, 20, and 31-33 are currently pending in the present application, with claims 1 and 16 being independent.
Response to Amendments / Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16, 20, and 31-33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the remaining arguments: Applicant argues with respect to the amended claim language, which is fully addressed in the prior art rejections set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 13, 15-16, and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (US 20220108534), hereinafter referred to as “You”, in view of Sharma (US 20230244799 A1).
Regarding claim 1, You discloses a method comprising:
establishing a watch party between a host extended reality (XR) device and a plurality of remote XR devices (Par. 0040-0053; The XR use case is one of projecting Netflix (a subscription-based streaming service that allows members to watch TV shows and movies without commercials on an internet-connected device) on a wall…Alice decides to watch the episode in AR mode…she invites her friends/relative to watch the video simultaneously together…when in the same physical space (AR mode). Par. 0096; The UEs 110 performing media streaming 280 with a streaming service gateway or hub 250, which can be self-hosted, for the home network 270, or operator-provided, for the 5G network domain 210, for media content synchronization…290: Netflix 290-1; Youtube 290-2 (a video-sharing website); and a camera 290-3),
spatially mapping a room in which the host XR device is located during the watch party, (Par. 0040-0053; …scanned and registered her living room via her AR device/mobile device…Her initial position and orientation tracking are handled by a 5G spatial computing service. Par. 0098-0099; The User Equipment (UE) can be the XR clients that communicate with the SCS to register or query their spatial position within the XR environment…The spatial computing server (SCS) 190 includes a function 350 that provides spatial scanning (e.g., matching) and mapping (e.g., creation, and anchor registration). FIG. 7A-7B; SLAM),
wherein spatial mapping includes generating a spatial map of the room that identifies a spatial location of one or more displays (Par. 0060; XR objects (e.g., media representation) in the room and spatially anchors (Par. 0060; XR anchors (e.g., XR object placeholder) them to a selected spatial anchor (Par. 0040-0053; …associated the wall in the living room as the spatial configuration with Netflix Media Player to the XR 5G Spatial Computing Service. Every spatial configuration that she makes related to her AR experience is stored in this service and can be re-called/updated…Par. 0091-0092; XR Anchor: A spatial location object…XR Object: Any media object…an XR Object is always associated with an XR Anchor. Par. 0099-0101; spatial data 305, scene and (&) anchors 385, feature registration 390 (and other non-visual features, e.g., RF signals can be considered); media/XR object streaming 395; and synchronization (sync.) signals 398…SCS 190 includes a world reconstruction (mapping) and anchor registration module 350),
generating a replica of the spatially mapped room (Par. 0040-0053; …The invitation can be performed via sharing the spatial configuration with the information about the physical space or a computer-generated virtual space…each person would locate themselves individually and correctly with the shared spatial configuration (i.e., the virtual display on the wall)…SCS service to transform the spatial configuration of the living room to the virtual room (space) and shared with all participants with the same converted information about the display located in virtual space. Par. 0157-0159 and Fig. 11; Real-time sharing of XR content…The UE A 110-1 is in communication with the SCS 190 and the communication involves (see reference 1120-1) XR media objects and position data, e.g., including spatial anchors, spatial maps, sensor updates, and the like…The UE B 110-2 is in communication with the SCS 190 and the communication involves (see reference 1120-2) XR media objects and position data, e.g., including spatial anchors, spatial maps, sensor updates, and the like),
determining sharing restrictions (Par. 0060; XR spatial description) associated with sharing of the replica of the spatially mapped room (Par. 0040-0053; …The invitation can be performed via sharing the spatial configuration with the information about the physical space or a computer-generated virtual space…Par. 0098-0099; The XR Description is the information managed by the Spatial Computing Service/Server 190…World database 360 (e.g., comprising XR Descriptions)),
and rendering the replica of the spatially mapped room on a remote XR device, from the plurality of remote XR devices, based on the determined sharing restrictions (Par. 0053; When in a computer-generated virtual space, a spatial conversion is conducted by the SCS service to transform the spatial configuration of the living room to the virtual room (space) and shared with all participants with the same converted information about the display located in the virtual space. The same timed data for synchronized playback experience is shared as well among all participants. Par. 0157-0159 and Fig. 11; XR rendering 1165 and XR capture 1170. The XR rendering 1165 includes the following: 3D object placement (static/dynamic) and effects; real-time 3D object placement; binaural audio; and overlays).
You does not disclose wherein the sharing restrictions indicate one or more portions of the replica that are shareable to each of the plurality of remote XR devices.
In the same art of controlling content in shared multi-user XR environments, Sharma discloses wherein the sharing restrictions indicate one or more portions of the replica that are shareable to each of the plurality of remote XR devices (Fig. 6 and Par. 0018; based on the user's object sharing rules when the user's video stream is displayed to other users on the video conference. In some implementations, the user preferences can include different object sharing rules for different users (or user groups). Par. 0061; user preferences and profiles 436 can store different object sharing rules for different users and/or streaming session types. For example, a streaming data session can be shared among a first, second, and third user, where first rules define object sharing between the first user and the second user, and second rules define object sharing between the first user and the third user…)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the specific sharing rules of Sharma into the multi-user XR session of You. Doing so allows the host more control over which portions of their environment are shared to individual remote participants, yielding predictable results of maintaining privacy boundaries between participants, and further enhance user capabilities and experience (Par. 0026; Such control allows the user to share certain personal aspects in a data stream (e.g., video conference or shared artificial reality session) while maintaining and ensuring privacy. This personalization can encourage connection among users in a shared data stream session, as the users can each gain visibility into portions of the other users' personal space without violating any privacy boundaries).
Regarding claim 2, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, and You further discloses wherein establishing a watch party comprises:
transmitting a request to join a watch party to the plurality of remote XR devices (Par. 0051; 7) Now she invites her friends/relatives to watch the video simultaneously together at the same physical space or different places remotely. The invitation can be performed via sharing the spatial configuration with the information about the physical space or a computer-generated virtual space. Par. 0067; Provide XR description in a representational format (e.g., glTF) upon request of any client, e.g., a user equipment (UE), device, etc.),
and establishing a watch party with those plurality of remote XR devices from whom an acceptance to the transmitted request to join has been received (Par. 0052-0053; When in the same physical space (AR mode), it is sufficient to share the spatial configuration together with any necessary timed data for synchronized playback experience. Each person would locate themselves individually and correctly with the shared spatial configuration (i.e., the virtual display on the wall) … a spatial conversion is conducted by the SCS service to transform the spatial configuration of the living room to the virtual room (space) and shared with all participants with the same converted information about the display located in the virtual space. The same timed data for synchronized playback experience is shared as well among all participants).
You and Sharma are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, and You further discloses sharing the replica of the spatially mapped room with a first remote XR device, from the plurality of remote XR devices (Par. 0040-0053; …The invitation can be performed via sharing the spatial configuration with the information about the physical space or a computer-generated virtual space…each person would locate themselves individually and correctly with the shared spatial configuration (i.e., the virtual display on the wall)…SCS service to transform the spatial configuration of the living room to the virtual room (space) and shared with all participants with the same converted information about the display located in virtual space),
determining that the shared replica includes either a physical or virtual display that is playing a content item (Par. 0038-0039 and Fig. 1; In order to position the virtual objects in the world (either virtual 20 or physical 10), the exemplary embodiments herein define an XR spatial description, through which virtual objects, especially virtual media objects, can be positioned, rendered and played back. Par. 0087; XR Environment: Physical or virtual computer-generated scene with visual computer-generated interactive media object),
and in response to determining that the shared replica includes either a physical or virtual display that is playing the content item, sharing metadata of the content item with the first remote XR device (Par. 0060- ;…Receive a plurality of generated real/physical environment features (e.g., XR features)…Generate a standard and portable harmonized XR description…Localize itself to the physical environment with the help of XR description, e.g., using any spatial tracking techniques such as SLAM or RF-based approaches (e.g., indoor positioning)…Send XR anchors and XR objects to the server, associated with correspondent XR Description).
You and Sharma are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, and You further discloses determining whether the first remote XR device is enrolled in a subscription plan with a service provider that is associated with providing the content item that will allow the first remote XR device to access a video stream associated with the content item from the service provider. (Par. 0096; The UEs 110 performing media streaming 280 with a streaming service gateway or hub 250, which can be self-hosted, for the home network 270, or operator-provided, for the 5G network domain 210, for media content synchronization. In this example, the media streaming 280 can be from the following exemplary steaming sources 290: Netflix 290-1; YouTube 290-2 (a video-sharing website); and a camera 290-3).
You and Sharma are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, and You further discloses sharing the replica of the spatially mapped room with a first remote XR device, from the plurality of remote XR devices (Par. 0040-0053; …The invitation can be performed via sharing the spatial configuration with the information about the physical space or a computer-generated virtual space…SCS service to transform the spatial configuration of the living room to the virtual room (space) and shared with all participants with the same converted information about the display located in virtual space),
determining that a physical display (Par. 0042; mobile device) is included in the shared replica of the spatially mapped room and that the physical display is displaying a live broadcast (Par. 0042; she launches a Netflix app via her AR interface. She selects to play the new episode),
and in response to determining that physical display is displaying a live broadcast:
causing automatic acquisition of a stream associated with the live broadcast for the first remote XR device (Par.0044-0049; the video is now visible on her living room wall as a 100-inch screen…scanned and registered her living room via her AR device/mobile device and associated the wall in the living room as the spatial configuration with Netflix Media Player to the XR 5G Spatial Computing Service…She streams her video from her AR device to a 5G service which then returns her localization information (e.g., place and orientation)).
You and Sharma are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 6, and You further discloses wherein the automatic acquisition of the stream associated with the live broadcast is performed if the first XR device has a subscription agreement with a service provider that is offering the live broadcast (Par. 0040-0046; projecting Netflix (a subscription-based streaming service that allows members to watch TV shows and movies without commercials on an internet-connected device) on a wall… AR device/mobile device and associated the wall in the living room as the spatial configuration with Netflix Media Player to the XR 5G Spatial Computing Service).
You and Sharma are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, and You further discloses rendering a first content item on a first remote XR device in response the first remote XR device selecting metadata for the first content item displayed on a physical or virtual display shared as part of a shared replica of the spatially mapped room (Par. 0155; In block 1010, the client receives XR Description and XR Anchors as well as XR Objects from the SCS 220 at the current location/place. In block 1020, the client displays with the XR Objects associated with the XR Anchors. The client, in block 1030, plays one XR Object and renders the content on the surface of the XR Anchor (XR node-binding mode). In block 1040, the client notifies the SCS 220 about XR Object's current play-back state, e.g., time. At any time, the client, in block 1050, can receive updated XR Object's state pushed from the SCS Server and changes its state accordingly using XR Description).
You and Sharma are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, and You further discloses wherein the spatial map of the room identifies a spatial location of all objects and persons in the room and spatially anchors them to the selected spatial anchor (Fig. 9A-9B and Par. 0080-0085; XR anchor creation and XR object binding…Bind XR anchors and XR objects…Send XR anchors and XR objects to the server, associated with correspondent XR Description).
You and Sharma are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is the system claim (Fig. 2 and Fig. 11) of method claim 1, and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 31, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, but You does not disclose wherein the determining the sharing restrictions comprises identifying at least one physical object within the spatially mapped room in which the host XR device is located during the watch party; and wherein the rendering the replica of the spatially mapped room on a remote XR device comprises rendering a modified version of the replica of the spatially mapped room in which the at least one physical object identified by the sharing restrictions is obscured or replaced.
In the same art of shared streaming sessions, Sharma discloses wherein the determining the sharing restrictions comprises identifying at least one physical object within the spatially mapped room in which the host XR device is located during the watch party (Par. 0031; identify and map the physical environment of the user while tracking the user's location within that environment. This simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) system can generate maps (e.g., topologies, girds, etc.) for an area (which may be a room, building, outdoor space, etc.) and/or obtain maps previously generated by computing system 100 or another computing system that had mapped the area. The SLAM system can track the user within the area based on factors such as GPS data, matching identified objects and structures to mapped objects and structures, monitoring acceleration and other position changes, etc.); and
wherein the rendering the replica of the spatially mapped room on a remote XR device comprises rendering a modified version of the replica of the spatially mapped room in which the at least one physical object identified by the sharing restrictions is obscured or replaced (Par. 0018; Obscuring an object in some implementations can include blocking, blurring, or filtering the objects visual display when the video stream is displayed. Given the video conferencing example, the field of view of a camera on a user's device may capture food and beverage objects, however these objects can be obscured (e.g., blacked out, blurred, or otherwise filtered) based on the user's object sharing rules when the user's video stream is displayed to other users on the video conference. In some implementations, the user preferences can include different object sharing rules for different users (or user groups). For example, food and beverage objects may be obscured when the user's video stream is displayed to a first group of users (e.g., those classified as co-workers) and may not be obscured when the user's video stream is displayed to a second group of users (e.g., those classified as friends)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate object-level modification techniques of obscuring or replacing objects, as taught by Sharma, into the shared XR environment watch party of You. Doing so allows controlled visibility of real-world elements during multi-user sharing, improving privacy, visual clutter, or preventing unwanted content when enabling selective presentation of environment content across remote devices (Par. 0026; Such control allows the user to share certain personal aspects in a data stream (e.g., video conference or shared artificial reality session) while maintaining and ensuring privacy. This personalization can encourage connection among users in a shared data stream session, as the users can each gain visibility into portions of the other users' personal space without violating any privacy boundaries).
Regarding claim 32, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, and You further discloses wherein the one or more displays in the room comprises a physical display device (Par. 0042; mobile device); and wherein the rendering the replica of the spatially mapped room comprises:
rendering a visual representation of the physical display device on the remote XR device in the replica of the spatially mapped room (Par. 0042; she launches a Netflix app via her AR interface. She selects to play the new episode. Par.0044-0049; the video is now visible on her living room wall as a 100-inch screen…scanned and registered her living room via her AR device/mobile device and associated the wall in the living room as the spatial configuration with Netflix Media Player to the XR 5G Spatial Computing Service…She streams her video from her AR device to a 5G service which then returns her localization information (e.g., place and orientation)).
You and Sharma are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 33, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, and You further discloses determining that the physical display device displays a first stream of a content item from a service provider (Par. 0043-0044; She launches a Netflix app via her AR interface. She selects to play the new episode…The video is now visible on her living room wall as a 100-inch screen); and
based at least in part on the determining that the physical display device displays the first stream from the service provider (Par. 0041; mobile device from Netflix):
causing the remote XR device to communicate with the service provider to access a second stream of the content item (Par. 0042; Alice decides to watch the episode in AR mode. Alice decides to watch the episode in AR mode. She puts on her AR glasses, which automatically pair with her mobile device); and
causing the remote XR device to render the second stream of the content item from the service provider onto a visual representation of the physical display device within the rendered replica of the spatially mapped room on the remote XR device (Par. 0045-0046; She may have previously scanned and registered her living room via her AR device/mobile device and associated the wall in the living room as the spatial configuration with Netflix Media Player to the XR 5G Spatial Computing Service (a new service type). Par. 0053; When in a computer-generated virtual space, a spatial conversion is conducted by the SCS service to transform the spatial configuration of the living room to the virtual room (space) and shared with all participants with the same converted information about the display located in the virtual space. The same timed data for synchronized playback experience is shared as well among all participants).
You and Sharma are combined for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim(s) 5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You, in view of Sharma, in further view of The Construct “Best Quest 3 Cinema Experience? | Skybox VR vs Virtual Desktop vs Bigscreen Beta.” YouTube, Apr 3, 2024, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rJyAvHr7lm4, and in further view of BigScreen “TRAILER: Bigscreen NOW available on Oculus Quest 2. “YouTube, Oct 30, 2020, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SQUNr9CoEQ.
Regarding claim 5, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 4, but does not appear to explicitly disclose determining that the first remote XR device is not enrolled in the subscription plan with the service provider that will allow the first remote XR device to access the video stream associated with the content item
In the same art of XR Multiuser watch parties, The Construct discloses determining that the first remote XR device is not enrolled in the subscription plan with the service provider that will allow the first remote XR device to access the video stream associated with the content item (16:35-16:55; streaming apps…"YouTube is here and sign in is actually available so if you have YouTube TV which has like max included, and you have some movies that you may have purchased on Youtube, you can watch those here too". Examiner's note: current user only has access to public/unpaid Youtube videos because they are not signed into an account. 16:37; User's built in streaming app, TV channels, and shop option)
You in view of The Construct does not disclose and in response to determining that the first remote XR device is not enrolled in the subscription plan with the service provider, causing a transmission of a subscription offer related to the subscription plan to the first remote XR device for purchase.
In the same art of XR Multiuser watch parties, BigScreen discloses and in response to determining that the first remote XR device is not enrolled in the subscription plan with the service provider, causing a transmission of a subscription offer related to the subscription plan to the first remote XR device for purchase (00:17-0025; Rent 3D movies…more than 200 movies available…Browse TV channels. Examiner's note: When user intends to watch content, but does not have access to the movie or streaming platform, user has the option to Rent 3D movies or Browse through channels/streaming apps).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate determining if an XR user is enrolled in a subscription plan and offer subscription plan purchase, as taught by The Construct and BigScreen, into the combined spatial computing XR system of You and Sharma. Doing so merely applies a well-understood business and UI practice in virtual applications. Prompting a subscription or rental offer that ensures participants can view the selected content together, while also leveraging known in application purchase/subscription flows yields predictable results in increasing user engagement and content revenue.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 has similar limitations as of claim 5, except it is a system claim (You Fig. 2 and Fig. 11), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You, in view of Sharma, and in further view of BigScreen “TRAILER: Bigscreen NOW available on Oculus Quest 2. “YouTube, Oct 30, 2020, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SQUNr9CoEQ.
Regarding claim 8, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, and You further discloses sharing the replica of the spatially mapped room with the plurality of remote XR devices, wherein the shared replica includes metadata associated with content items playing on one or more physical displays and virtual displays that are located in the spatially mapped room (Par. 0102; The streaming service gateway 250 provides all media streaming functionalities and API for XR objects registered in the XR storage (database 380), such as play-back synchronization module 370, media management (Mgmt) module 375, which can be local or remote, and the XR object database 380. When multiple UEs are connected for the same media service/source, the playback synchronization module 370 ensures the synchronized playback experience among Ues. Par. 0114-0120; Table 4 XR Anchor Object Definition…XR object can be any 3D object that is linked to media representation),
determining which content items are being consumed by which remote XR devices, from the plurality of remote XR devices, wherein the content items are accessed by the remote XR device via the metadata (Par. 0124; The XR Object can have other properties like “state”, which can be used for state synchronization among multiple-devices. The “state” could be a compound parameter that contains some timed-parameters, e.g., for live streaming objects, its statistics parameters may contain the play-back state and timestamp information),
You does not appear to explicitly disclose displaying, on a screen of the host XR device, avatars of remote users associated with the plurality of remote XR devices, wherein the avatars are overlayed on the one or more physical displays and virtual displays that are being consumed by the remote XR devices.
In the same art of XR Multiuser watch parties, BigScreen discloses displaying, on a screen of the host XR device, avatars of remote users associated with the plurality of remote XR devices, wherein the avatars are overlayed on the one or more physical displays and virtual displays that are being consumed by the remote XR devices.
(0:14; two avatars watching their preferred content on their virtual display connected to their remote desktop)
(0:33; multiple avatars playing games together, with each avatar having their designated remote display, and a bigger virtual display screen)
(0:54; multiple avatars in a movie theater environment, watching streamed content from one big display screen)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate displaying avatars overlayed on physical and virtual displays as taught by BigScreen into the combined spatial computing XR system of You and Sharma. Doing so would yield predictable results in enhancing user experience and interactivity by allowing users to view other avatars engagement in the virtual environment and streaming content.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You, in view of Sharma, and in further view of Phillips et al. (US 20180070113), hereinafter referred to as “Phillips”.
Regarding claim 9, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose determining a number of displays included in a shared replica of the spatially mapped room with a first remote XR device, from the plurality of remote XR devices, determining bandwidth allocations for the first remote XR device with whom the replica of the spatially mapped room is shared, and based on the determined bandwidth allocations, determining whether content items displayed on the number of displays included in the shared replica of the spatially mapped room can be streamed to the first remote XR device.
In the same art of XR content streaming, Phillips discloses determining a number of displays included in a shared replica of the spatially mapped room with a first remote XR device, from the plurality of remote XR devices (Fig. 10A-10B, 11A-11B, 12A-12B, 13A-13B; five VD screens),
determining bandwidth allocations for the first remote XR device with whom the replica of the spatially mapped room is shared (FIG. 10-13 and Par. 0009-0012; In a multiscreen virtual television environment, embodiments herein therefore advantageously provide a bitrate selection and bandwidth distribution scheme based on how directly a user is viewing a television),
and based on the determined bandwidth allocations, determining whether content items displayed on the number of displays included in the shared replica of the spatially mapped room can be streamed to the first remote XR device (Par. 0013-0015; bandwidth of a managed bandwidth pipe may be (re)allocated based on the relative weights of the media content channels for delivering the media content channels to the subscriber's VR environment responsive to selecting single bitrates for the media channels… bandwidth may be further conserved for VD screens that are not currently being watched, thereby allowing greater bandwidth to be allocated for the screens being watched)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate a multi-screen bandwidth allocation, as taught by Phillips, into the combined spatial computing XR system of You and Sharma. Doing so would conserve bandwidth for unwatched screens and maintain user experience, yielding predictable use of known bandwidth-management and optimizing performance in XR streaming contexts.
Regarding claim 10, You in view of Sharma and in further view of Phillips discloses the method of claim 9, and You further discloses determining that the bandwidth allocated for the first remote XR device does not allow streaming of content items displayed on the number of displays included in the shared replica of the spatially mapped room digital copy (Phillips Par. 0009-0012; bitrate selection and bandwidth distribution scheme based on how directly a user is viewing a television),
and in response to determining the bandwidth allocated for the remote XR device does not allow streaming of content items displayed on the number of displays included in the shared replica of the spatially mapped room, sharing a still image of one or more content items (Phillips Par. 0009; virtual reality environment system that detects where a viewer is facing, and only plays video that is seen. Un-played video may be time-shifted, allowing unwatched segments to be viewed at a later time. Improved QoE may therefore be maintained, since the only data that is used is wanted data. At the same time, content is not missed. Upon shifting focus, televisions that were previously paused resume playback exactly where they were last viewed. Non time-shifted televisions can have their bandwidth managed).
You, Sharma and Phillips are combined for the reason set forth above with respect to claim 9.
Claim(s) 11-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You in view of Sharma, and in further view of The Construct “Best Quest 3 Cinema Experience? | Skybox VR vs Virtual Desktop vs Bigscreen Beta.” YouTube, Apr 3, 2024, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rJyAvHr7lm4.
Regarding claim 11, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the generated spatial map includes a plurality of zones.
In the same art of XR Multiuser watch parties, The Construct discloses wherein the generated spatial map includes a plurality of zones (20:28-21:00).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate a plurality of zones, as taught by The Construct, into the combined spatial computing XR system of You and Sharma. Doing so would allow facilitating detailed visualization, analysis, and management of geographic data, yielding predictable results in enhancing spatially oriented systems.
Regarding claim 12, You in view of Sharma and in further view of The Construct discloses the method of claim 11, and The Construct further discloses determining that a first zone, from the plurality of zones, is private and not to be shared with the plurality of remote XR devices (20:45-21:00;"You can go out on the deck and not watch TV at all, maybe have a private conversation out here with someone if you wanted to")
and masking the first zone to prevent it from being rendered on the plurality of remote XR devices (The Construct 20:45; deck zone is not rendered as user is not in that zone).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate a private zone and masking the zone to prevent it from being rendered, as taught by The Construct, into the combined spatial computing XR system of You and Sharma. Doing so would yield predictable results in enhancing management of visual information and privacy in shared virtual environments, ensuring user’s local activities in a private zone are not visible to other remote collaborators and reducing the amount of data that needs to be transmitted and rendered by the remote devices, thereby improving performance and reducing network bandwidth usage.
Regarding claim 14, You in view of Sharma discloses the method of claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly disclose determining rendering preferences of a first remote XR device, from the plurality of remote XR devices, and rendering the spatially mapped room based on the rendering preferences.
In the same art of XR Multiuser watch parties, The Construct discloses determining rendering preferences of a first remote XR device, from the plurality of remote XR devices
(13:25; Tools & Props, Environment options to adjust virtual room)
(14:00-14:20; Options to adjust display screen)
and rendering the spatially mapped room based on the rendering preferences (15:40-16:30 and 20:16-21:20; user preferred environments for content sharing. 14:00-14:20; user preferred display adjustments).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate rendering preferences, as taught by The Construct, into the combined spatial computing XR system of You and Sharma. Doing so would yield predictable results in enhancing user experience by providing better data visualization that is tailored to user preference, creating a more immersive experience.
Conclusion
/JENNY N TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615