DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 7/25/2025 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 3-5, 10-13 and 21-94 have been cancelled, claims 1-2 and 6-7 have been amended, and claim 101 has been newly added. Currently claims 1-2, 6-9, 14-20 and 95-101 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
a) the one or more support members extend from the interface surface of the second dome portion around the outside of the barrier, of claim 8; and
b) the one or more support members extend around the outside of the barrier, of claim 9.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 8, the phrase “wherein the one or more support members extend from the interface surface of the second dome portion around the outside of the barrier” is unclear, as claim 8 depends from claim 2, where it is required the support members should extend into the recess formed by the barrier.
In claim 9, the phrase “wherein one or more support members extend around the outside of the barrier” is unclear, as claim 9 depends from the independent claim 2, where it is required the support members should extend into the recess formed by the barrier.
Claim 9 is also rejected as it depends from claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harrah Shane (US 20080180960 A1, hereinafter, “Harrah”).
Regarding claim 2, Harrah teaches a light-generation module (Lighting Device Package, see figure 1 and figures 2-4 to show common elements and features to all embodiments) comprising:
a substrate (substrate 10); and
an emitter assembly (wire bonds and light-emitting elements 30) mounted to the substrate (11), the emitter assembly (25, 30) comprising:
one or more emitters (30) mounted to the substrate (10);
a barrier (retaining wall 40) located on a surface (upper surface of 10) of the substrate (10) and surrounding the one or more emitters (30),
the barrier (40) and the surface (upper surface of 10) of the substrate (10) defining a recess (cavity defined by 10 and 40);
a first dome portion (encapsulation material 35) formed on the surface of the substrate (10) (upper surface of 10) and located within the recess (cavity defined by 10 and 40) defined by the barrier (40) and the surface (upper surface of 10) of the substrate (10),
the first dome portion (35) encapsulating the one or more emitters (30),
the first dome portion (35) made of a first material (material of 35) that is optically transmissive (see ¶ 33-37); and
a second dome portion (lens 45) located above the first dome portion (35), such that the first dome portion (35) is located between the second dome portion (45) and the substrate (10),
the second dome portion (45) having a shape (see shape of 45) configured to direct light from the one or more emitters (30) in a particular direction (upwards),
the second dome portion (45) made of a second material (material of 45) that is optically transmissive (see ¶ 19-32);
wherein the second dome portion (45) defines an interface surface (lower surface of 45) proximate the first dome portion (35) and wherein the second dome portion (45) comprises one or more support members (50) that extend from the interface surface (lower surface of 45) of the second dome portion (45) into the recess (cavity defined by 10 and 40) formed by the barrier (40) and the surface (upper surface of 10) of the substrate (10), such that the support members (50) contact (see ¶ 26) the substrate (10) in the recess (cavity defined by 10 and 40) formed by the barrier (40) and the surface (upper surface of 10) of the substrate (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrah.
Regarding claim 6, Harrah teaches wherein the one or more support members comprise flange portions configured to hold the second dome portion in place relative to the first dome portion.
However, in the alternative embodiment of figure 2, Harrah teaches wherein the one or more support members (support tabs 140) comprise flange portions (see flange portion of 140) configured to hold the second dome portion (130) in place relative to the first dome portion (135).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to incorporate the flange portions as taught by the alternative embodiment of Harrah into the teachings of the current embodiment in order provide flanges that aid in leveling the second dome portion with the barrier. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to enhance positioning to the second dome portion.
Regarding claim 7, Harrah does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more support members comprise outer edges that contact the barrier.
However, in the alternative embodiment of figure 2, Harrah teaches wherein the one or more support members (140) comprise outer edges (see peripheral edges of 140) that contact the barrier (40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to incorporate the outer edges as taught by the alternative embodiment of Harrah into the teachings of the current embodiment in order provide flanges that aid in leveling the second dome portion with the barrier. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to enhance positioning to the second dome portion.
Claims 1, 14, 16, 96, 98-100 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrah in view of Lee et al. (US 20070212802 A1, hereinafter, “Lee1”).
Regarding claim 1, Harrah teaches a light-generation module (Lighting Device Package, see figure 1 and figures 2-4 to show common elements and features to all embodiments) comprising:
a substrate (10); and
an emitter assembly (25, 30) mounted to the substrate (10), the emitter assembly (25, 30) comprising:
one or more emitters (30) mounted to the substrate (10);
a barrier (40) located on a surface (upper surface of 10) of the substrate (10) and surrounding the one or more emitters (30), the barrier (40) and the surface (upper surface of 10) of the substrate (10) defining a recess (cavity formed by 10 and 40), the barrier (40) characterized by a height (see height of 40, not labeled but evident from figure 1) measured from the substrate (10) to a farthest point (upper end of 40) of the barrier (40) from the substrate (10);
a first dome portion (35) formed on the surface (upper surface of 10) of the substrate (10) and located within the recess (cavity defined by 10 and 40) defined by the barrier (40) and the surface (upper surface of 10) of the substrate (10), the first dome portion (35) encapsulating the one or more emitters (30) and characterized by a height (see height of 35, not labeled but evident from figure 1) measured from the substrate (10) to a farthest point (upper end of 35) of the first dome portion (35) from the substrate (10), the first dome portion (35) made of a first material (material of 35) that is optically transmissive (see ¶ 33-37); and
a second dome portion (45) located above the first dome portion (35), such that the first dome portion (35) is located between the second dome portion (45) and the substrate (10), the second dome portion (45) having a shape (see shape of 45) configured to direct light from the one or more emitters (30) in a particular direction (upwards), the second dome portion (45) made of a second material (material of 45) that is optically transmissive (see ¶ 19-32) and defining an interface surface (lower surface of 45);
wherein the height (see height of 35) of the first dome portion (35) is approximately equal (as seen in fig 1) to the height (see height of 14) of the barrier (40), such that the first dome portion (35) is located within the recess (cavity defined by 10 and 40) defined by the barrier (40) and the surface (upper surface of 10) of the substrate (10).
Harrah does not explicitly teach wherein the second dome portion has an outer surface that has a textured finish.
Lee1 teaches a light-generation module (LED package 200, see figure 3) having a light source (LED chip 105) emitting light though a first dome portion (resin encapsulant 107) and second dome portion (resin lens 110);
wherein the second dome portion (110) has an outer surface (surface 111) that has a textured finish (roughened surface, as seen in fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to incorporate the textured finish as taught by Lee1 into the teachings of Harrah in order significantly improved extraction efficiency of light. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the overall light efficiency of the package.
Regarding claim 14, Harrah teaches that the substrate (10) is a printed circuit board (as 10 contains wire bonds 25 to circuit traces 15 on an upper surface of 10, see ¶ 18),
Regarding claim 16, Harrah teaches wherein the printed circuit board (formed by 10) comprises a metal core printed circuit board (metal base PCB, see ¶ 52).
Regarding claim 18, Harrah teaches further comprising:
a printed circuit board (formed by 10);
wherein the substate (10) comprises an intermediate substrate (one layer of one or more layers of AlN ceramic with metallization on the top and bottom, see ¶ 52) mounted to the printed circuit board (formed by 10).
Regarding claim 19, Harrah teaches wherein the intermediate substrate (one or more layers of AlN ceramic) comprises a ceramic substrate (see ¶ 52).
Regarding claim 96, Harrah teaches that the height (see height of 40) of the barrier (40) is greater than a height of devices (30) and wires (25) mounted to the substrate (10).
Regarding claim 98, Harrah teaches that a diameter (although not labeled, the diameter of 35 is evident from figure 3) of the first dome portion (35) is approximately equal to a diameter (although not labeled, the diameter of 40 is evident from figure 3) of the barrier (40).
Regarding claim 99, Harrah teaches that the second dome portion (45) comprises one or more support members (50) that contact the substrate (10) and that are configured to support (see ¶ 22-23) the second dome portion (45) relative to the first dome portion (35).
Regarding claim 100, Harrah teaches that the support members (50) have a height (see height of 50) that is approximately the same as the height (see height of 40) of the barrier (40).
Claims 15 and 101 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrah in view of Lee1, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Bocock et al. (US 20200318823 A1, hereinafter, “Bocock”).
Regarding claim 15, Harrah does not explicitly teach wherein drive circuitry for the one or more emitters of the emitter assembly (25, 30) are mounted to the printed circuit board.
Bocock teaches a light-generation module (Wireless controllable lighting device, see figure 18 and figures 1-17 to show common elements to all embodiments) having a light source (emitters 611, 612, 613, 614) on a printed circuit board (carrier PCB, better seen in fig 8);
wherein drive circuitry (detectors 616, 618, see fig 18, as feedback from 616 and 618 modify light emission) for the one or more emitters (emitters 611, 612, 613, 614) of the emitter assembly (controllable lighting device 600) are mounted to the printed circuit board (carrier PCB).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to incorporate the drive circuit as taught by Bocock into the teachings of Harrah in order to provide calibration of light emitted. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the overall light efficiency of the package.
Regarding claim 101, Harrah does not explicitly teach wherein the textured finish of the outer surface of the second dome portion is textured to increase scattering of light emitted by the one or more emitters as compared to a smooth finish.
Lee1 teaches wherein the textured finish (roughened surface, as seen in fig 3) of the outer surface (111) of the second dome portion (110) is textured to increase scattering of light emitted by the one or more emitters as compared to a smooth finish (see ¶ 38-39).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to incorporate the textured finish as taught by Lee1 into the teachings of Harrah in order to significantly improve extraction efficiency of light. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to enhance the overall light efficiency of the package.
Harrah as modified by Lee does not teach wherein the textured finish of the outer surface is configured to reflect an amount of the light emitted by the one or more emitters toward one or more detectors mounted on the substrate.
Bocock teaches a light-generation module (Wireless controllable lighting device, see figures 1-9) having a light source (emitter module 122) on a printed circuit board (substrate 124);
wherein the textured finish (texture) of the outer surface (surface of 126) is configured to reflect an amount of the light emitted (see ¶ 30) by the one or more emitters (emitters) toward one or more detectors (detectors) mounted on the substrate (124).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to incorporate the detectors as taught by Bocock into the teachings of Harrah as modified by Lee1 in order to provide calibration of light emitted. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the overall light efficiency of the package.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrah in view of Lee1, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lee Gun Kyo (US 20110278617 A1, hereinafter, “Lee2”).
Regarding claim 17, Harrah does not explicitly teach wherein the printed circuit board is made from an FR4 material.
Lee2 teaches a light-generation module (light emitting device module 710, see figure 8) having a light source (light emitting device packages 714) on a printed circuit board (printed circuit board 712);
wherein the printed circuit board (712) is made from an FR4 material (se ¶ 107).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to incorporate the printed circuit board as taught by Lee2 into the teachings of Harrah in order incorporate a printed circuit board material that is readily available. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because of the flame-retardant properties of FR4 PCB and the cost benefits it would provide to Harrah.
Claims 20 and 95 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin Sheng-bai (CN 102347418 A, hereinafter, “Lin”, previously cited by the Examiner) in view of Kolodin et al. (US 20120025216 A1, hereinafter, “Kolodin”).
Regarding claims 20 and 95, Lin teaches a module (LED package, see figures 6 and figures 1-5 to show common elements and features to all embodiments) comprising:
a substrate (11); and
an emitter assembly (12 and wires) mounted to the substrate (11), the emitter assembly (12 and wires) comprising:
one or more emitters (12) mounted to the substrate (11);
a barrier (14) located on a surface (upper surface of 11) of the substrate (11) and surrounding the one or more emitters (12), the barrier (14) and the surface (upper surface of 11) of the substrate (11) defining a recess (141);
a first dome portion (13) formed on the surface (upper surface of 11) of the substrate (11) and located within the recess (141) defined by the barrier (14) and the surface (upper surface of 11) of the substrate (11), the first dome portion (13) encapsulating the one or more emitters (12), the first dome portion (13) made of a first material (material of 13) that is optically transmissive (necessarily occurring, as light travels from 12 towards the outside of the package, see ¶ 33);
a second dome portion (22) located above the first dome portion (13), such that the first dome portion (13) is located between the second dome portion (22) and the substrate (11), the second dome portion (22) having a shape (see shape of 22) configured to direct light from the one or more emitters (12) in a particular direction (upwards), the second dome portion (22) made of a second material (material of 22) that is optically transmissive (necessarily occurring, as light travels from 12 towards the outside of the package) and defining an interface surface (lower surface of 22) that is proximate an interface surface (upper surface of 13) of the first dome portion (13);
an intermediate layer (fluorescent powder layer 31, see fig 6) located between the interface surface (upper surface of 13) of the first dome portion (13) and the interface surface (lower surface of 22) of the second dome portion (22) for attaching the first dome portion (13) to the second dome portion (22).
Lin does not teach the intermediate layer comprises an adhesive; and wherein the adhesive comprises an optical bonding silicone.
Kolodin teaches a module (Light emitting package 30, see figure 3) having a substrate (printed circuit board 32), one or more emitters (LED 34) encapsulated by a first dome portion (silicone dome 38) and second dome portion (glass cap 40) joined to each other via an intermediate layer (intermediate silicone adhesive layer 42, see fig 3);
the intermediate layer (42) comprises an adhesive (silicon adhesive), wherein the adhesive comprises an optical bonding silicone (see ¶ 25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to incorporate an adhesive as taught by Kolodin into the teachings of Lin in order to securing second dome portion to the first dome portion. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification since optical joining processes is well known in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 6-9, 14-20 and 95-101 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any references or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875