DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, recitation "a linear compressive stress is applied to the stator core" is new matter, unsupported by the specification. The paragraphs [0038], [0043], [0070], and [0071] pointed out by the Applicant of where the new (or amended) claim is supported only provides support for a point-like compressive stress applied to the stator core. Paragraph 0071 mentions linear welding as a method of applying compressive stress to the stator core along the axial direction. However, linear compressive stress and linear welding are not the same. Linear welding is a mechanical manufacturing process used to join materials. Linear compressive stress is a mechanical state (a force pushing inward along a specific straight line). There is no support for a “linear compressive stress” in the specification as filed.
Dependent claims 2-19 are rejected, as they inherit the deficiency of the independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (US 2020/0373796), in view of Ishizaki (JP 2013162676-A) and Yokoyama (US 2008/0303374).
Regarding claim 1, Kimura discloses a rotating electric machine (80 of Figure 1) comprising:
a casing (30 of Figure 1-2);
a stator core (400 of Figure 4, 15) having a plurality of electrical steel sheets (401-406 of Figure 4) stacked on each other and including
a cylindrical yoke (45 of Figure 2, 5),
a plurality of teeth (47 of Figure 2, 5) arranged in a circumferential direction and extending radially inward of the yoke, and
crimping portions (46 of Figure 5) arranged in the yoke and fixing adjacent ones of the electrical steel sheets in a stacking direction (Para. 0057); and
radial fixing portions (44 of Figure 1-5) each arranged within an area of a first angle between two lines connecting an axial center (O of Figure 1, 2, 5) of the stator core and adjacent two of the crimping portions in the circumferential direction and
fixing the casing and the stator core using a method of applying compressive stress to the stator core radially inward from an outside (Para. 0055).
Kimura does not explicitly disclose such that a point-like compressive stress or a linear compressive stress is applied to the stator core, and
the crimping portions being each formed in a rectangular shape having long sides extending along the radial direction of the stator core and short sides extending along the circumferential direction of the stator core when the stator core is viewed in an axial direction.
Ishizaki discloses the crimping portions (114a of Figure 3A, 3B, 5, 7) being each formed in a rectangular shape having long sides extending along the radial direction of the stator core and short sides extending along the circumferential direction of the stator core when the stator core is viewed in an axial direction (see Figures 3A, 3B, 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the crimping portions of Kimura formed in a rectangular shape, as taught by Ishizaki, so the steel plates of the stator core are less likely to become misaligned [Ishizaki: Para. 0050].
Yokoyama discloses such that a point-like compressive stress or a linear compressive stress is applied to the stator core (S of Figure 1-3; Para. 0067, 0106, point-like compressive stress is a result of spot welding).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to apply a point-like compressive stress or a linear compressive stress to the stator core of Kimura, as taught by Yokoyama, to eliminate the need for filler materials, reduce thermal distortion, and to ensure structural integrity and peak performance in the electric machine.
Regarding claim 2, Kimura discloses wherein the radial fixing portions (44 of Figure 1-5) are each arranged at a position at which compressive stress acting in the circumferential direction of the yoke (45 of Figure 2, 5) by the crimping portions (46 of Figure 5) is reduced (see Figures 2, 5).
Regarding claims 3, 4, Kimura discloses wherein each of the crimping portions (46 of Figure 5) is each arranged between two adjacent ones of the radial fixing portions so as to be disposed at a position between 1/4 to 3/4 of a second angle between two lines connecting the axial center (O of Figure 1, 2, 5) of the stator core (400 of Figure 4, 15) and the two adjacent ones of the radial fixing portions (44 of Figure 1-5) in the circumferential direction.
Regarding claims 5, 6, 7, Kimura discloses wherein the crimping portions (46 of Figure 5) are each arranged such that a length from an outer peripheral edge of the yoke (45 of Figure 2, 5) to the crimping portions is equal to or less than 1/3 of a length from the outer peripheral edge to an inner peripheral edge of the yoke in the radial direction of the stator core (Para. 0042; 400 of Figure 4, 15).
Regarding claims 8, 9, 10, 11, Kimura discloses wherein the radial fixing portions (44 of Figure 1-5) are arranged between adjacent ones of the crimping portions (46 of Figure 5) in the circumferential direction of the stator core (see Figure 5; 400 of Figure 4, 15).
Regarding claims 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, Kimura discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the crimping portions (46 of Figure 5) each have inclined surfaces inclined from both short sides toward a center of a long side in a cross-sectional view of the stator core (400 of Figure 4, 15) orthogonal to the circumferential direction.
Ishizaki discloses wherein the crimping portions (114a of Figure 3A, 3B, 5, 7) each have inclined surfaces (119a of Figure 3B, 5, 7) inclined from both short sides toward a center of a long side in a cross-sectional view of the stator core (111 of Figure 3A, 7) orthogonal to the circumferential direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the crimping portions of Kimura have inclined surfaces, as taught by Ishizaki, so the steel plates of the stator core are less likely to become misaligned [Ishizaki: Para. 0050].
Regarding claim 17, Kimura discloses wherein the crimping portions (46 of Figure 5) are arranged radially outward of the teeth (47 of Figure 2, 5).
Regarding claims 18, 19, Kimura discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose a compressor including the rotating electric machine (80 of Figure 1) of claim 1 (claim 18);
a refrigeration apparatus including the compressor of claim 18 (claim 19).
Ishizaki discloses a compressor (40 of Figure 1) including the rotating electric machine (100 of Figure 1) of claim 1 (claim 18);
a refrigeration apparatus (Para. 0032) including the compressor of claim 18 (40 of Figure 1) (claim 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use the rotating electric machine of Kimura with a refrigerant apparatus including a compressor, as taught by Ishizaki, because it is well known in the art that a motor acts as the driver and primary power source to operate compressor system.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakahara (US 6,121,711) and Mayumi (US 2001/0035693) disclose a rotating electrical machine using a method of applying a compressive stress to the stator core such that a point-like compressive stress is applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charles Reid Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834