Pursuant to communications filed on 05/01/2024, this is a First Action Non-Final Rejection on the Merits wherein claims 1-36 are currently pending in the instant application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns / lines numbers or figures in the reference(s) as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Examiner has also cited references in PTO-892 but not relied on, which are relevant and pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, and may also be reading (anticipatory/obvious) on the claims and claimed limitations. Applicant is advised to consider the references in preparing the response/amendments in-order to expedite the prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In the instant case:
1)-. Claim 24 is lacking proper support on the specification as filed for the claimed "wherein a time for the imaging viewpoint is obtained by dividing a time for the predetermined part to be moved along the path by a response time of the imaging apparatus.". The mentioned “viewpoint”, which is expected to be represented by a set of coordinates, could be calculated by diving two-time measures, i.e. dimensionally, the division of two quantities representing time would result in a pure number and not in a set of coordinates. Hence, the specification is completely devoid as to HOW such “viewpoint” is calculated and one having ordinary skill in the art cannot ascertain the meaning of the claimed limitation.
Accordingly, appropriate correction is earnestly requested.
2)-. Claim 29, is directed to a manufacturing method of an article, however, the disclosure is completely devoid as to HOW or WHAT are the associated method steps to perform such manufacturing.
Accordingly, appropriate correction is earnestly requested.
Claims 24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In the instant case:
1)-. Claim 24, based on the currently provided claim language, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claimed "wherein a time for the imaging viewpoint is obtained by dividing a time for the predetermined part to be moved along the path by a response time of the imaging apparatus" encompass, and therefore claim 24 is rendered indefinite. This expression in claim 24 is not clear because it leaves the reader in doubt about how the mentioned “viewpoint”, which is expected to be represented by a set of coordinates, could be calculated by diving two-time measures, i.e. dimensionally, the division of two quantities representing time would result in a pure number and not in a set of coordinates.
It does not appear possible to overcome the issue even when taking into consideration the specification or the drawings, e.g. at [0093 or 0114] "imaging viewpoints are calculated by dividing the operation time of the end effector 11 in the path 81 by the response time".
Thus, the features required in order to calculate said imaging viewpoint are not unambiguously disclosed in the specification or the drawings and cannot be deducted in a manner sufficiently clear and complete to be implemented by person having ordinary skill in the art.
Accordingly, appropriate correction is earnestly requested.
2)-. Claim 29, the claim is incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The claim attempts to define the subject-matter in terms of the result to be achieved, i.e. manufacturing an article. The omitted steps should be directed to define the subject matter in more concrete terms, such as in terms of how the effect is to be achieved. Moreover, the current formulation of the claim is so broad so as to include any type of manufacturing, i.e. welding, assembling, cutting, etc. and that the features required in order to implement said manufacturing methods are not unambiguously disclosed in the specification or the drawings and cannot be deducted in a manner sufficiently clear and complete to be implemented by person having ordinary skill in the art.
Accordingly, appropriate correction is earnestly requested.
Claims 29 and 36 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In the instant case:
1)-. Claim 29 is a manufacturing method of an article using the robot system according to claim 1.
2)-. Claim 36 is a computer-readable storage medium storing a control program for executing the control method according to claim 30.
However, based on the provided claim language, these claims do not meet the USPTO guidelines for a proper dependency because the claims do not specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Accordingly, appropriate correction is earnestly requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. A patentable subject matter is required to be directed to one of the following four statutory categories of 35 U.S.C 101: process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. Claim 36 is directed to computer readable storage medium. The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is obliged to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceedings before the USPTO. During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. Transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter.
The USPTO recognizes that applicants may have claims directed to computer readable media that cover signals per se, which the USPTO must reject under 35 U.S.C. 101 as covering both non-statutory subject matter and statutory subject matter. In an effort to assist the patent community in overcoming a rejection or potential rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 in this situation, the USPTO suggests the following approach. A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 by adding the limitation “non-transitory” to the claim. Therefore, Applicant should amend the claim 36 to recite for example, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having program code embodied therewith, the program code comprising the programming instructions for….”.
Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent, because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. The limited situations in which such an amendment could raise issues of new matter occur, for example, when the specification does not support a non-transitory embodiment because a signal per se is the only viable embodiment such that the amended claim is impermissibly broadened beyond the supporting disclosure.
Accordingly, appropriate correction is earnestly requested.
Examiner notes wherein the claims have been addressed below, in view of the prior art of record, as best understood by the Examiner in light of the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejections provided herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda et al (US 2012/0229620) – “Ikeda”.
Regarding claims 1, and 29-36, Ikeda discloses a robot system / the associated manufacturing method / the associated control method / the associated control apparatus / the associated operation apparatus / the associated control method for an operation apparatus / the associated imaging apparatus / the associated control method of an imaging apparatus/ and the associated CRM, the robot system (e.g., performed via an image processing apparatus and an image processing system that are directed to conveyor tracking or the like, and a guidance apparatus therefor as shown at least in figure 1) comprising:
a control apparatus (fig. 1: robot control apparatus 200) configured to control the robot (fig. 1: robot 300) and the imaging apparatus (fig. 1: vision sensor 100) (see at least figure 1 depicting the claimed elements interaction) (see [0053] disclosing the robot 300 operates in accordance with instructions from a robot control apparatus 200. In other words, the robot control apparatus 200 is a control apparatus for controlling the robot 300 serving as a moving machine. The robot control apparatus 200 is connected to the vision sensor 100 via a network NW, and provides an instruction necessary for the operation of grasping each workpiece W by the robot 300 based on the position of the workpiece W detected by the vision sensor 100.), and
wherein the imaging apparatus (vision sensor 100) is arranged at a position where the imaging apparatus is not moved together with a predetermined part of the robot (e.g., see for example figure 1 wherein vision sensor 100 is located at a position separated from the robot 300 – not moving together) (see also [0050] disclosing in the conveyance direction of the line 1, a robot 300 for grasping and moving a workpiece W to the line 2 is disposed on the downstream side of the vision sensor 100. The robot 300 has a hand tip for grasping a workpiece W, and grasps a workpiece on the line 1 by moving the hand tip to the target position. In other words, the robot 300 corresponds to a moving machine that handles workpieces W and that is disposed downstream from the image capturing range of the image capturing unit of the vision sensor 100 in the conveyance path of the conveyor 10 (line 1) serving as a conveying apparatus. More specifically, the robot 300 positions its hand tip to a target workpiece W, and picks up and neatly places the workpiece “W” on the line 2.), and
wherein the control apparatus (control apparatus 200) obtains, based on a path along which the predetermined part is moved, control data for controlling the imaging apparatus (vision sensor 100) to image the predetermined part of the robot from a position where the imaging apparatus is arranged even if the robot is moved (see [0050] as above – see [0053] disclosing robot 300 operates in accordance with instructions from a robot control apparatus 200. In other words, the robot control apparatus 200 is a control apparatus for controlling the robot 300 serving as a moving machine. The robot control apparatus 200 is connected to the vision sensor 100 via a network NW, and provides an instruction necessary for the operation of grasping each workpiece W by the robot 300 based on the position of the workpiece W detected by the vision sensor 100. – see also figure 2 and [0059] disclosing positioning and tracking processing performed in the conveyor tracking system that uses the vision sensor 100 according to an embodiment of the invention. As shown in FIG. 2, the vision sensor 100 captures the line 1 by using the built-in image capturing unit. The image capturing operation of the vision sensor 100 starts in response to an image capture instruction from the robot control apparatus 200. The image capture instruction is conveyed via the network NW connecting the vision sensor 100 and the robot control apparatus 200.).
Regarding claim 2, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) obtains, based on a path along which the predetermined part of the robot is going to be moved, the control data for controlling the imaging apparatus to image the predetermined part of the robot from the position where the imaging apparatus is arranged even if the robot is moved (e.g., similarly as in claim 1, see [0050] as above – see [0053] disclosing robot 300 operates in accordance with instructions from a robot control apparatus 200. In other words, the robot control apparatus 200 is a control apparatus for controlling the robot 300 serving as a moving machine. The robot control apparatus 200 is connected to the vision sensor 100 via a network NW, and provides an instruction necessary for the operation of grasping each workpiece W by the robot 300 based on the position of the workpiece W detected by the vision sensor 100. – see also figure 2 and [0059] disclosing positioning and tracking processing performed in the conveyor tracking system that uses the vision sensor 100 according to an embodiment of the invention. As shown in FIG. 2, the vision sensor 100 captures the line 1 by using the built-in image capturing unit. The image capturing operation of the vision sensor 100 starts in response to an image capture instruction from the robot control apparatus 200. The image capture instruction is conveyed via the network NW connecting the vision sensor 100 and the robot control apparatus 200.).
Regarding claim 3, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) transmits the control data to the imaging apparatus (100) in a communication cycle in communication between the imaging apparatus (100) and the control apparatus (200) (see at least figure 3 showing the communication I/F 128 between control apparatus 200 and vision sensor / image capturing unit 110).
Regarding claim 4, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) obtains the control databased on a simulator (e.g., see fig 1: via display apparatus 500 and a support apparatus 600) in which the robot apparatus is modeled (see [0055] disclosing operation display apparatus 500 and a support apparatus 600 may be connected to the network NW, in addition to the vision sensor 100 and the robot control apparatus 200. The operation display apparatus 500 displays results of processing from the vision sensor 100 and the operating state of the robot 300 from the robot control apparatus 200, as well as provides various types of instructions to the vision sensor 100 and/or the robot control apparatus 200 in response to user operations.).
Regarding claim 5, Ikeda discloses wherein the imaging apparatus (100) includes an imaging unit (fig. 3: image capturing unit 110) and a driving unit configured to drive the imaging unit (see [0079]), and wherein the control apparatus (200) obtains the control data based on a driving amount for driving the driving unit to cause the imaging unit (110) to image the predetermined part (see [0125] disclosing the image processing unit 120 of the vision sensor 100 causes the image capturing unit 110 to execute image capturing (step S8). The image obtained by image capturing with the image capturing unit 110 is transmitted to the image processing unit 120. The image processing unit 120 executes measurement processing on the image from the image capturing unit 110 (step S9). Furthermore, the image processing unit 120 transforms the measurement result (coordinates (xi, yi) of a workpiece in the image coordinate system) obtained by the measurement processing in step S9 to coordinates (X, Y) of the workpiece in the robot coordinate system (step S10).).
Regarding claim 6, Ikeda discloses wherein the imaging apparatus (100) includes a pan motor and a tilt motor as the driving unit, and wherein the driving amount is a rotation amount of the pan motor or a rotation amount of the tilt motor (e.g. although not shown – this feature inherently present in the functionality of vision sensor 100 – it moves and rotates according to the situation of the workpieces in the conveyor belt).
Regarding claim 7, Ikeda discloses wherein the imaging apparatus (100) includes a zoom function, and wherein the control unit (200) obtains the control data to control the imaging apparatus (100) to image the predetermined part by the zoom function (see [0177] disclosing the scale feature associated to the image capturing unit 110).
Regarding claim 8, Ikeda discloses wherein the zoom function is zoom or digital zoom by a lens (see [0079] disclosing The image capturing unit 110 is an apparatus for capturing an object that is present in the image capturing range, and includes, as primary constituent elements, an optical system composed of a lens and an aperture, and a light receiving element such as a CCD (Charge Coupled Device) image sensor or CMOS (Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor) image sensor. The image capturing unit 110 performs image capturing in accordance with an instruction from the image processing unit 120 and outputs image data obtained by the image capturing to the image processing unit 120.).
Regarding claim 9, Ikeda discloses wherein the imaging apparatus (100) is an omnidirectional camera (e.g., vision sensor as shown in fig 1-2 is capable of capturing multiple images from multiple directions as it rotates), and wherein the control apparatus (200) obtains the control data to control the imaging apparatus (100) to image the predetermined part by the omnidirectional camera (see [0050]; figures 1-2: vision sensor 110 is controlled by control apparatus 200 during the conveyor movement).
Regarding claim 10, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) controls the imaging apparatus (100) to image the predetermined part before the predetermined part is moved based on the control data (see [0071] disclosing count values of the encoder counters are initialized to 0 before the production line is operated. In other words, the encoder counter of the vision sensor 100 is reset together with the encoder counter of the robot control apparatus 200 before counting of the number of pulses of the pulse signal is started.).
Regarding claim 11, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) obtains an imaging viewpoint at which the imaging apparatus (100) images based on the path (see [0050 and 0052]).
Regarding claim 12, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) displays an image imaged by the imaging apparatus (100) and the path or the imaging viewpoint on a display apparatus (display 500/600) (see [0055] disclosing the displaying results).
Regarding claim 13, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) displays a robot operation unit configured to operate the robot on the display apparatus (see figures 12-17 showing the display information during robot calibration).
Regarding claim 14, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) displays a first operation unit (e.g. guidance screen 555 with settings inputs) configured to manually operate the robot and a second operation unit (e.g., teaching pendant 2100) configured to automatically operate the robot on the display apparatus (500) (see fig. 1 and [0054]).
Regarding claim 15, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) displays a button to operate the predetermined part in a triaxial direction and a button to operate a rotation angle of a joint of the robot as the first operation unit on the display apparatus, and wherein the control apparatus (200) displays an execution button to execute automatic operation of the robot, a temporary stop button, and an emergency stop button as the second operation unit (teaching pendant 2100) on the display apparatus (see multiple display windows as shown in figures 12-17 having multiple buttons – see [0179, 0181).
Regarding claim 16, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) displays an imaging apparatus operation unit configured to operate the imaging apparatus on the display apparatus (see fig. 12, see [0175-0176] disclosing the guidance screen 550 includes field of view of the image capturing unit 110).
Regarding claim 17, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) displays a first operation unit (e.g. guidance screen 555 with settings inputs) configured to manually operate the imaging apparatus and a second operation unit (e.g., teaching pendant 2100) configured to automatically operate the imaging apparatus on the display apparatus (see fig. 1 and [0054]).
Regarding claim 18, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) displays a button to operate the imaging apparatus (100/110) in a pan direction, a button to operate the imaging apparatus in a tilt direction, and a button to set zoom of the imaging apparatus as the first operation unit on the display apparatus, and wherein the control apparatus (200) displays a button to turn on a mode for controlling an operation of the imaging apparatus to image the predetermined part even if the robot is moved based on the control data as the second operation unit (teaching pendant 2100) on the display apparatus (see multiple display windows as shown in figures 12-17 having multiple buttons and the associated control functionality – see [0179, 0181).
Regarding claim 19, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) displays a setting screen to set the predetermined part by a user on the display apparatus (500) (see figures 12-17 shown input settings on the display screen).
Regarding claim 20, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) obtains the path using a simulator (via display 500 / support apparatus 600), and wherein the control apparatus (200) switches an image imaged by the imaging apparatus (100/110) and an image by the simulator (see figures 12-17).
Regarding claim 21, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) displays a plurality of points as the imaging viewpoints on the image imaged by the imaging apparatus (100/110) on the display apparatus (see figs 4A-4B).
Regarding claim 22, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) displays the imaging viewpoint on the display apparatus by controlling a zoom magnification ratio of the image imaged by the imaging apparatus (100/110) (see figures 4A-4B and 12-17 and showing the scale feature - Zoom).
Regarding claim 23, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) displays one marker as the imaging viewpoint on the image imaged by the imaging apparatus on the display apparatus (500) (see figures 12-17).
Regarding claim 24, Ikeda discloses wherein a time for the imaging viewpoint is obtained by dividing a time for the predetermined part to be moved along the path by a response time of the imaging apparatus (100/110) (see [0067 and 0074] disclosing the timing feature).
Regarding claim 25, Ikeda discloses wherein the imaging apparatus (100/110) is connected to a network and operable via the network (see fig. 1; see [0053] disclosing the vision sensor 100 via a network NW).
Regarding claim 26, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) obtains the path based on a first position where the predetermined part is located and a second position where the predetermined part is located after the first position (see [0050 and 0015]).
Regarding claim 27, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) receives input of the first position and the second position by a user (see [0086] disclosing the input/output interface 130 outputs various types of signals from the image processing unit 120 to the outside or receives input of various types of signals from the outside. Particularly, the input/output interface 130 receives the pulse signal generated by the encoder 14, converts the received signal to a digital signal and outputs the digital signal to the encoder counter 132.).
Regarding claim 28, Ikeda discloses wherein the control apparatus (200) obtains, based on the path along which the predetermined part is moved, the control data for controlling the imaging apparatus (100/110) to image the predetermined part and a part of a surrounding environment where the robot (300) is arranged from the position where the imaging apparatus (100/110) is arranged even if the robot (300) is moved (see [0050] as above – see [0053] disclosing robot 300 operates in accordance with instructions from a robot control apparatus 200. In other words, the robot control apparatus 200 is a control apparatus for controlling the robot 300 serving as a moving machine. The robot control apparatus 200 is connected to the vision sensor 100 via a network NW, and provides an instruction necessary for the operation of grasping each workpiece W by the robot 300 based on the position of the workpiece W detected by the vision sensor 100. – see also figure 2 and [0059] disclosing positioning and tracking processing performed in the conveyor tracking system that uses the vision sensor 100 according to an embodiment of the invention. As shown in FIG. 2, the vision sensor 100 captures the line 1 by using the built-in image capturing unit. The image capturing operation of the vision sensor 100 starts in response to an image capture instruction from the robot control apparatus 200. The image capture instruction is conveyed via the network NW connecting the vision sensor 100 and the robot control apparatus 200.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached form PTO-892.
/JAIME FIGUEROA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656