DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1 May 2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim, Yong-Ho, et al. "Microstructure and mechanical properties of Mg–xLi–3Al–1Sn–0.4 Mn alloys (x= 5, 8 and 11 wt%)." Journal of alloys and compounds 583 (2014): 15-20 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a Microstructure and properties of a Mg-Li alloy with varying amounts of Li (see title, abstract, 2. Experimental procedures). Kim teaches examples of alloys with Mg–xLi–3 wt%Al–1 wt%Sn–0.4 wt%Mn (x = 5, 8 and 11 wt%) are prepared (see title, abstract, 2. Experimental procedures). Kim teaches that when x = 8%, the prepared magnesium alloy includes 55% α-phase and 43% β-phase (see 3. Results and discussion). Thus the value of the inequality is met inherently. MPEP 2112. The same composition with the same microstructure cannot have different properties.
The composition of Kim falls entirely in the ranges claimed, anticipating all of those ranges. MPEP 2131.03. The chemical composition, microstructural phase composition, and all limitations of the claim are met by the example of Kim.
Regarding claims 9-13 the composition of Mg–8Li–3 wt%Al–1 wt%Sn–0.4 wt%Mn (x = 5, 8 and 11 wt%) falls entirely within the ranges as claimed anticipating the ranges.
Claim(s) 8-12 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2019189941 A (document cited by applicant). It is noted that US 20210025037 A1 (hereinafter “Ishizuka”) is the United States equivalent application claiming priority to JP 2019189941 A, and is taken as a faithful English language translation thereof.
Regarding claim 8, Ishizuka teaches Mg-Li alloys (See title). Ishizuka teaches that the alloy includes a Ge element as alloying addition (See SUMMARY OF INVENTION). Ishizuka teaches Example 6 including 11% Li and 0.4%Ge, with 95.0% of Mg + Li (EXAMPLES and Table 1). Ishizuka also teaches Example 4 including 8.8% of Li and 95.1% of Mg + Li (Table 1). The composition of the alloys of the Examples of Ishizuka falls entirely in the claimed range, anticipating the range. MPEP 2131.03.
Ishizuka does not describe any amount of alpha phase in the alloy. Ishizuka teaches that these alloys include a Li-rich precipitated phase ([0024]). This is believed to be the same structure required of a small amount of beta phase. Alternatively, the structure as claimed would have been inherently present in the prior art alloy. The same composition used for the same purpose would have had the same properties inherently. MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 9, Alloy Example 4 meets the claimed composition.
Regarding claims 10-12 the alloy Example 6 and Example 4 meets the claim compositional limitations.
Regarding claim 17, Ishizuka teaches to apply a coating film (see [0021]-[0024], [0039]).
Regarding claim 18, Ishizuka teaches magnesium phosphate ([0021]).
Regarding claim 19, Ishizuka teaches a housing for an imaging device (fig 1, [0018]-[0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a Microstructure and properties of a Mg-Li alloy with varying amounts of Li (see title, abstract, 2. Experimental procedures). Kim teaches examples of alloys with Mg–xLi–3 wt%Al–1 wt%Sn–0.4 wt%Mn (x = 5, 8 and 11 wt%) are prepared (see title, abstract, 2. Experimental procedures). Kim teaches that when x = 11%, the prepared magnesium alloy includes 82% α-phase and 15% β-phase (see 3. Results and discussion). The microstructure is within the ranges of claim 1.
The 11 wt% amount of Li in the composition of Kim is outside the claim range of higher than 11% to 13.5% or less of Li. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this case Kim teaches a Mg-Li sheet that is made for electronic housings (see I. Introduction), which includes the same phases as claimed. The only difference is the value of 11 compared with more than 11 to 13.5. The skilled artisan would have expected the materials to behave approximately the same based on the microstructures being the same and the closeness of the compositions. It is not clear that there would be any patentable difference.
Regarding claims 2-4, the composition of Kim meets the limitations.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches 82% (see 3. Results and discussion).
Regarding claims 6-7, the composition of Kim meets the limitations.
Claim(s) 1-7 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over JP 2019189941 A (document cited by applicant). It is noted that US 20210025037 A1 (hereinafter “Ishizuka”) is the United States equivalent application claiming priority to JP 2019189941 A, and is taken as a faithful English language translation thereof.
Regarding claim 1, Ishizuka teaches Mg-Li alloys (See title). Ishizuka teaches that the alloy includes a Ge element as alloying addition (See SUMMARY OF INVENTION). Ishizuka teaches Example 6 including 11% Li and 0.4%Ge, with 95.0% of Mg + Li (EXAMPLES and Table 1).
The 11 wt% amount of Li in the composition of Ishizuka is outside the claim range of higher than 11% to 13.5% or less of Li. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this case Ishizuka teaches a Mg-Li sheet that is made for electronic housings (see [0042]), which includes the same composition. The only difference is the value of 11 compared with more than 11 to 13.5. Alternatively, Ishizuka teaches that a functional range of Li would be 0.5-15% by mass in a broad alloy composition (see [0031]). The modification of the alloy Example 6 so as to include more Li would have been an obvious matter to the skilled artisan, where Ishizuka teaches to add up to 15% of Li ([0031]), overlapping the claimed amount of Li.
The skilled artisan would have expected the materials to behave approximately the same. Ishizuka teaches that these alloys include a Li-rich precipitated phase ([0024]). This is believed to be the same structure required of a small amount of beta phase. Alternatively, the structure as claimed would have flowed naturally from the properties of the prior art, where the prior art Example 6 differs from the claim only in a nominal amount of lithium of 11% vs more than 11%. It would have been an obvious matter to have altered the example by adding more Li, resulting in the same composition claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Ishizuka teaches a broad range of Ge may be 0.1-0.8% (see [0027]). The modification of the alloy Example 6 so as to include less Ge would have been an obvious matter to the skilled artisan, where Ishizuka teaches to add 0.1-0.8% of Ge ([0027]) overlapping the claimed amount of Ge.
Regarding claim 3-4, and 6 the alloy Example 6 meets the claim compositional limitations.
Regarding claim 5, Ishizuka does not teach the claimed microstructure. The skilled artisan would have expected the materials to behave approximately the same. Ishizuka teaches that these alloys include a Li-rich precipitated phase ([0024]). This is believed to be the same structure required of a small amount of beta phase. Alternatively, the structure as claimed would have flowed naturally from the properties of the prior art, where the prior art Example 6 differs from the claim only in a nominal amount of lithium of 11% vs more than 11%.
Regarding claim 7, the composition of Example 6 meets the ese elemental ranges except for Ca. Ishizuka teaches a broad range of Ca may be 0.1-2 % (see [0033]). The modification of the alloy Example 6 so as to include less Ca would have been an obvious matter to the skilled artisan, where Ishizuka teaches to add 0.1-2% of Ca ([0033]) overlapping the claimed amount.
Regarding claim 13, Ishizuka is applied to the claim as stated in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Ishizuka teaches a broad range of Ca may be 0.1-2 % (see [0033]). The modification of the alloy Example 6 so as to include less Ca would have been an obvious matter to the skilled artisan, where Ishizuka teaches to add 0.1-2% of Ca ([0033]) overlapping the claimed amount.
Regarding claim 14, Ishizuka teaches to apply a coating film (see [0021]-[0024], [0039]).
Regarding claim 15, Ishizuka teaches magnesium phosphate ([0021]).
Regarding claim 16, Ishizuka teaches a housing for an imaging device (fig 1, [0018]-[0021]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. US 11840749 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because applicant’s patented claims describe an overlapping composition including Li, Ge, and other elements. Based on the overlapping composition the selection of an alloy with the same composition as claimed would have required no more than a routine investigation of the prior patented alloy. The prior patent claims describe a housing for electronics or imaging devices (claims 9-12). Although the prior patent does not disclose the microstructural phases, it is believed that the se would have flowed naturally from the teachings of the prior art. The same alloy composition, used for the same purposes, would have exhibited the same properties.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2022/0307108 A1 teaches a Mg-Li alloy with overlapping composition. US 20200063242 A1 teaches manufacture of light alloys including Mg alloys that may include Li. US 20170369972 A1 teaches Mg-Li alloys with overlapping compositions.
CHRISTOPHER S. KESSLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/CHRISTOPHER S KESSLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1759