DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai TW_202138194_A (see machine English translation) in view of Ahn USPA_20100124047_A1, Takizawa JP2010160438_A (see machine English translation), and Arakawa USPA_20160215165_A1.
1. Regarding Claim 1, Tsai discloses a light diffusing plate (corresponds to claimed sheet) (Abstract) made of polycarbonate and having a surface that has unevenness by way of recesses (element 52a in Figures), having an inverted pyramid shape (paragraph 0038). The area parting the plurality of said recesses has a recessed shape between its intersections (Figure 4) will correspond to the claimed “ridge”.
2. However, Tsai does not expressly disclose with respect to a straight line connecting the intersections a ratio Wr/P is 0.3 or less, where P is an arrangement pitch of the plurality of recesses and Wr is a dimension occupied by a curved portion at a top portion of the ridge in an arrangement direction of the plurality of recesses. Also, Tsai does not disclose a maximum height difference between the straight line and the ridge is 1 μm or more and 10 μm or less. Finally, Tsai does not disclose its light diffusion sheet including the claimed polycarbonate.
3. Ahn discloses a light diffusion sheet (see figures 1-5, for instance), with respect to a straight line (along which width d1 occupies the ridge) connecting the intersections a ratio Wr/P is 0.3 or less (if d1 = 10µm and p1 > 50µm, then Wr/P < 0.2; paragraph 0055), where P is an arrangement pitch (p1) of the plurality of recesses and Wr is a dimension (d1) occupied by a curved portion at a top portion of the ridge in an arrangement direction of the plurality of recesses.
4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the straight-line ridge dimensions of Ahn in the diffusion sheet of Tsai. The motivation for doing so would have been to prevent the generation of stain phenomenon in the diffusion sheet optics, as taught by Ahn (paragraph 0050).
5. Takizawa discloses a light diffusion sheet (paragraph 0035, 0047, 0048; Figures 6-7), a maximum height difference between the straight line (represented by height “h1”) and the ridge (represented by “h2”) is 1 μm or more and 10 μm or less (since h1 = 18µm and h2 = 12µm in the second example, paragraph 0092).
6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the height difference dimensions of Takizawa in the diffusion sheet of Tsai. The motivation for doing so would have been to suppress a deterioration of a light collecting function even when it is rubbed with another member to obtain high luminance, as taught by Takizawa (Abstract).
7. Arakawa discloses forming a light diffusion sheet (paragraph 0145) that uses a polycarbonate as a principal component that leads to superior impact resistance (paragraph 0007). Arakawa further discloses that said polycarbonate composed of a first constitutional unit (corresponds to claimed first structural unit) from a dihydroxy compound (paragraph 0012), such as isosorbide, isomannide, and isoidet, which may be used either alone, or in combination of two or more thereof (paragraph 0034); thereby corresponding to claimed formula (1).
8. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the polycarbonate, of Tsai, by trying the afore-described polycarbonate, of Arakawa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to obtain superior impact resistance.
9. Regarding claim 2, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests the light diffusion sheet of claim 1, wherein the maximum height difference is 1.5 μm or more and 7 μm or less (Takizawa, paragraph 8, page 8).
10. Regarding claim 3, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests the light diffusion sheet of claim 2, wherein the maximum height difference is 2.5 μm or more and 5 μm or less (see paragraph 9 of page 8 of Takizawa).
11. Regarding claim 4, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests the light diffusion sheet of claim 1, wherein the ratio Wr/P is 0.2 or less (Ahn [0055]).
12. Regarding claim 5, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests the light diffusion sheet according to claim 4, wherein the ratio Wr/P is 0.1 or less (Ahn [0055]; since p1 ranges from 50 to 100 µm).
13. Regarding claim 6, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests the light diffusion sheet of claim 1, wherein: the arrangement pitch P is 50 μm or more and 500 μm or less (Ahn [0055]); and an angle formed between a wall surface of each of the plurality of recesses and a sheet surface of the light diffusion sheet is 40 degrees or more and 65 degrees or less (see Ahn claim 2).
14. Regarding claim 7, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests the light diffusion sheet of claim 1, wherein the ridge between the intersections is recessed in a substantially parabolic shape, a substantially arc shape, a substantially triangular shape, or a substantially trapezoidal shape (see Tsai fig. 2B).
15. Regarding claim 8, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests the light diffusion sheet of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of recesses (220) are each formed in a substantially inverted quadrangular pyramid or a substantially inverted truncated quadrangular pyramid shape ([0044]); the ridge extends in a first direction and a second direction; the maximum height difference is an average of a maximum height difference (dx) between the straight line and the ridge in the first direction and a maximum height difference (dy) between the straight line and the ridge in the second direction; the arrangement pitch P is an average of an arrangement pitch (Px) of the plurality of recesses in the first direction and an arrangement pitch (Py) of the plurality of recesses in the second direction; and the dimension Wr is an average of a dimension (Wrx) occupied by the curved portion at the top portion of the ridge in the first direction and a dimension (Wry) occupied by the curved portion at the top portion of the ridge in the second direction (see figures 2A-2B).
16. Regarding claim 9, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests the light diffusion sheet of claim 1, wherein; the plurality of recesses are provided only in the first surface (S1); and the second surface (S2) is a matte surface.
17. Regarding claim 10, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests a backlight unit (see Abstract) built in a liquid crystal display device and leading light emitted from light sources toward a display screen, wherein the backlight unit comprises: the light diffusion sheet of claim 1 provided between the display screen and the light sources ([0070]).
18. Regarding claim 11, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests the backlight unit of claim 10, wherein the light sources are arranged on a reflective sheet provided on an opposite side of the display screen as seen from the light diffusion sheet ([0070]).
19. Regarding claim 12, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests the backlight unit of claim 10, wherein the light diffusion sheet includes a plurality of light diffusion sheets layered and arranged between the display screen and the light sources ([0070]).
20. Regarding claim 13, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests the backlight unit of claims 12, wherein the light diffusion sheet includes three or more light diffusion sheets layered and arranged between the display screen and the light sources ([0070]).
21. Regarding claim 14, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests the backlight unit of claim 13, wherein: of the three or more light diffusion sheets, the light diffusion sheet closest to the display screen contains a diffusion agent, and the other light diffusion sheets contain substantially no diffusion agent ([0070]).
22. Regarding claim 15, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests a liquid crystal display device, comprising: the backlight unit of claim 10; and a liquid crystal display panel ([0070]).
23. Regarding claim 16, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests an information apparatus, comprising the liquid crystal display device of claim 15 ([0070]).
24. Regarding claim 17, Tsai in view of Ahn, Takizawa, and Arakawa suggests a method of manufacturing the light diffusion sheet of claim 1, the method comprising the step of: extrusion-molding of the light diffusion sheet at a line speed of 10 m/min or more and 30 m/min or less, with a compression line pressure of 100 kgf/cm or more and 500 kgf/cm or less ([0070]; see figures 2A-2B, for instance).
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 January 25, 2026