DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 and 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation " the top arm and the bottom arm”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is believed the limitations should be corrected to “ the first arm and the second arm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 recites the limitation " claim " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim (s) 1-4,6,13-15, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chojnowski (US 5053584) hereinafter Choj.
Regarding claim 1, Choj discloses (Fig.7) an insulative block (see Fig.7) including a first edge (see first edge in Rep.Fig.7 above), a second edge (see second edge in Rep.Fig7), a pair of sides (see first side and the side opposite to the first side in Rep.7 above), a first end (see first end in Rep.Fig.7), and a second end (see second end in Rep.Fig.7); and b. at least one void (see 56) defined in the insulative block extending from the second edge ( see second edge in Rep.Fig.7) into the insulative block.
Regarding claim 2, Choj discloses wherein the void is a groove (see 56 in Fig.7).
Regarding claim 3, Choj discloses wherein the void is the groove extending into the insulative block from the middle of the second end to a part of the second edge near the second end and is coplanar with the pair of sides (see groove 56 extending from the middle of second end to the second edge in Rep.Fig.7 above).
Regarding claim 4, Choj discloses wherein the void is the first set of jaws (see first 54) including a first jaw extending in an anteroposterior direction spaced apart in mediolateral direction from a second jaw (see second 54 with space 46 between) in a corresponding orientation.
Regarding claim 6 Choj discloses a tab (54) extending from an arris between the second end and second edge, and a hole (see 58) defined in the tab (54).
Regarding claim 13, Choj discloses, in Reproduced Fig.7 above, a first arm (see second end); a second arm (see first end) a trunk (see length that couples the first end to second end) coupling the top arm and the bottom arm; a first edge (see second edge), a second edge (see first edge), a pair of sides (see first side and opposite of first side), an end ( see end with 54), and an inner face (58), wherein the first edge (see second edge) defines a part of the first arm (see second end ), and the second edge defines a part of the second arm (see first edge part of first end), e. the inner face (see 58) defines part of the first arm, the second arm, and the trunk; and f. a void (56) that extends from the first edge into the trunk (56 part of second edge extends into the trunk).
Regarding claim 14, Choj discloses wherein the void is a groove ( see 56).
Regarding claim 15, Choj discloses wherein the inner face traces a curvilinear path (see 58).
Regarding claim 22, Choj discloses a pair of side cavities (see two 52) reducing the mass of the first arm ( second end) , the second arm (first end), and the trunk ( length between first and second end), wherein in profile in either the transverse plane at least one of the first arm, the second arm, and the trunk has an I-beam profile ( see side view of Fig.7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim (s) 7-8 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuj as applied to claim 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Wang (WO 2023213249 A1).
Regarding claim 7 and 16, Chuj is silent with respect to wherein the insulative block comprises a plastic selected from the group consisting of electrical plastic, thermoset plastic, and thermoplastic.
Chuj discloses a thermoplastic (see“ the material of the insulating layer may include, for example, polyvinyl chloride, polyethylene, polyamide, polytetrafluoroethylene, tetrafluoroethylene/hexafluoropropylene copolymer, ethylene/tetrafluoroethylene copolymer, polypropylene, Polyvinylidene fluoride, polyurethane, polyterephthalic acid, polyurethane elastomer, styrene block copolymer, perfluoroalkoxyalkane, chlorinated polyethylene, polyphenylene sulfide, polystyrene, cross-linked polyethylene Olefin, ethylene-propylene rubber, ethylene/vinyl acetate copolymer, natural rubber, styrene-butadiene rubber, nitrile rubber, silicone rubber, butadiene rubber, isoprene rubber, ethylene-propylene rubber, chloroprene rubber, butyl rubber, fluorine rubber, polyurethane Rubber, polyacrylate rubber, chlorosulfonated polyethylene rubber, chloroether rubber, chlorinated polyethylene rubber, chlorosulfur rubber, styrene butadiene rubber, butadiene rubber, hydrogenated nitrile rubber, polysulfide rubber, One of polyethylene, polycarbonate, polysulfone, polyphenylene ether, polyester, phenolic resin, urea formaldehyde, styrene-acrylonitrile copolymer, polymethacrylate, and polyoxymethylene resin”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the material of Wang with the insulator block of Chuj in order to avoid short circuiting.
Regarding claim 8 and 17, Chuj is silent with respect towherein the plastic is at least one of acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), polyethylene terephthalate glycol (PETG), polycarbonate (PC), or ABS/PC hybrids.
Wang discloses polycarbonate ( (see“ the material of the insulating layer may include, for example, polyvinyl chloride, polyethylene, polyamide, polytetrafluoroethylene, tetrafluoroethylene/hexafluoropropylene copolymer, ethylene/tetrafluoroethylene copolymer, polypropylene, Polyvinylidene fluoride, polyurethane, polyterephthalic acid, polyurethane elastomer, styrene block copolymer, perfluoroalkoxyalkane, chlorinated polyethylene, polyphenylene sulfide, polystyrene, cross-linked polyethylene Olefin, ethylene-propylene rubber, ethylene/vinyl acetate copolymer, natural rubber, styrene-butadiene rubber, nitrile rubber, silicone rubber, butadiene rubber, isoprene rubber, ethylene-propylene rubber, chloroprene rubber, butyl rubber, fluorine rubber, polyurethane Rubber, polyacrylate rubber, chlorosulfonated polyethylene rubber, chloroether rubber, chlorinated polyethylene rubber, chlorosulfur rubber, styrene butadiene rubber, butadiene rubber, hydrogenated nitrile rubber, polysulfide rubber, One of polyethylene, polycarbonate, polysulfone, polyphenylene ether, polyester, phenolic resin, urea formaldehyde, styrene-acrylonitrile copolymer, polymethacrylate, and polyoxymethylene resin”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the material of Wang with the insulator block of Chuj in order to avoid short circuiting.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9-11 and 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" a second set of jaws (see on the second edge nearer the first end than the second end, wherein the second set of jaws (see jaw surrounding bottom 52) includes a. a first jaw extending in the mediolateral direction, and b. a second jaw in corresponding orientation, spaced apart from the first jaw in the anteroposterior direction" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 1 .
Regarding claim 9, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein the plastic is translucent " in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 1 and 7.
Regarding claim 10-11, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" a first set of steps at a first corner between the first end and the first edge including at least one tread and at least one riser, wherein: a. the at least one tread is coplanar with the first edge, and b. the at least one riser is coplanar with the first end" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" a first set of steps at the distal end of the first arm including at least one tread and at least one riser, wherein: a. the at least one tread is coplanar with the first edge and in operation engages the inside of a panel cover for the electrical panel, and b. the at least one riser is coplanar with the end and in operation engages the periphery of a hole in the panel for the electrical panel. " in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 13.
Regarding claim 21, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" a second set of steps at the proximal end of the first arm including at least one tread and at least one riser, wherein: a. the at least one tread is coplanar with the first edge and in operation engages the inside of a panel cover for the electrical panel, and b. the at least one riser is coplanar with the end and in operation engages the periphery of a hole in the panel for the electrical panel." in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 13.
1.
Therefore, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the instantapplication claimed invention as a whole either taken alone or in combination.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETE LEE whose telephone number is (571) 270-5921. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (2nd & 4th Friday Off). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Timothy Dole can be reached at (571) 272-2229 The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/PETE T LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848