DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed May 01, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and are presenting for examination.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 8-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 8, line 5, recites to include the following limitation “the vehicle” appears to insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As to claim 15, line 4, recites to include the following limitation “the vehicle” appears to insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 9-14 and 16-20 are also objected to for being depended upon the objection of base claims 8 and 15 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jefferies (US 20180091930 A1).
As per claims 1, 8, and 15, Jefferies discloses a method for provisioning an application to an In-Vehicle Infotainment (IVI) system in a vehicle – (E.g., “The software applications may include specially designed, custom In-Vehicle Applications (IVA) configured to be run on the infotainment unit of the vehicle access and management system… From user interface 1204, a user can access and edit account settings, users and app settings depending on the level of access provided to the user profile…The breathalyzer application would be downloaded from the application store and installed onto the infotainment unit…Each of the processes, methods, and algorithms described in the preceding sections may be embodied in, and fully or partially automated by, code modules executed by one or more computer systems or computer processors comprising computer hardware.” --see at least paragraphs 0078, 0173, 0201, 0355), comprising:
detecting a device in the vehicle – (E.g., the user may pair the application to any peripherals. For example, the application could be paired to a breathalyzer over Bluetooth using standard discovery—detecting-- and pairing methods – see at least paragraph 0168, Fig. 11 and associated text);
in response to detecting the device in the vehicle, provisioning an application to an IVI system to collect information from the detected device and provide a service to a user based on the collected information – (e.g., the driver may have to download the application from a connected hardware device or an online application store… The breathalyzer application would be downloaded from the application store and installed onto the infotainment unit…Once paired to the breathalyzer, the application may carry out its intended function, such as by prompting the driver to provide a sample through the breathalyzer” – see at least 0012, 0162, 0190, 0200, 0201, 0205);
receiving the information collected from the detected device by the application provisioned to the IVI system – (E.g., Once paired to the breathalyzer, the application may carry out its intended function, such as by prompting the driver to provide a sample through the breathalyzer – see at least 0205); and
in response to receiving the information, automatically triggering by the IVI system an action for the service based on the information collected by the application from the detected device --(e.g., … One context in which the vehicle access and management system can be used is with ignition interlocks or breathalyzers. These ignition interlock devices are used to disable the vehicle unless the driver can prove that the alcohol level in their blood does not exceed a certain level. Another feature and advantage of some embodiments is that they can be used to provide connected-vehicle services, some examples of which include car rental, car sharing, taxi fleet management, ignition interlock, and equipment rental. These are services that are made possible with the vehicle having access to a wireless connection – see at least 0190, 0012).
Further regarding to claim 8, Jefferies discloses a vehicle information system— (E.g., Vehicle 124, -- see at least 0084, FIG. 1, and associated text), comprising: a memory storing computer-readable instructions; and a processor connected to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer-readable instructions to perform method steps as of claim 1 above.
Further regarding to claim 15, Jefferies discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media e.g., computer readable medium, such as a compact disc – see at least 0353) having computer-readable instructions stored thereon, which when executed by a processor causes the processor to perform method steps as of claim 1 above.
As per claims 2, 9, and 16, Jefferies discloses wherein the detecting the device in the vehicle includes: accessing an applications store – (e.g., the driver may have to download the application from a connected hardware device or an online application store – see at least 0200); listing third-party developers of the application in the applications store for selection – (e.g., Button 1006 on user interface 1002 of the infotainment unit may open up an app store interface that allows third-party applications to be downloaded to the infotainment unit through an available Internet connection, such as through an OE embedded cellular modem or the Internet connection of a paired mobile device – see at least 0153); and downloading the application from the applications store to the IVI system – (e.g., The breathalyzer application would be downloaded from the application store and installed onto the infotainment unit – see at least 0201).
As per claims 3 and 17, Jefferies discloses wherein the provisioning the application to the IVI system includes: installing the application on the IVI system – (e.g., The breathalyzer application would be downloaded from the application store and installed onto the infotainment unit – see at least 0201); and pairing the detected device with the IVI system – (E.g., the application could be paired to a breathalyzer over Bluetooth using standard discovery and pairing methods – see at least 0168).
As to claim 10, Jefferies discloses wherein the processor is configured to provisioning the device application to the device detected in the vehicle by: installing the application for communicating with the detected device– (e.g., The breathalyzer application would be downloaded from the application store and installed onto the infotainment unit – see at least 0201); and pairing the detected device with the application --(E.g., the application could be paired to a breathalyzer over Bluetooth using standard discovery and pairing methods – see at least 0168).
As per claims 7, 14, and 20, Jefferies discloses wherein the receiving the information collected by the application --(E.g., Once paired to the breathalyzer, the application may carry out its intended function, such as by prompting the driver to provide a sample through the breathalyzer – see at least 0205) includes executing the service based on the collected information, and wherein the automatically triggering the action includes communicating with the service associated with the application to provide information for triggering the action--(e.g., One context in which the vehicle access and management system can be used is with ignition interlocks or breathalyzers. These ignition interlock devices are used to disable the vehicle unless the driver can prove that the alcohol level in their blood does not exceed a certain level. Another feature and advantage of some embodiments is that they can be used to provide connected-vehicle services, some examples of which include car rental, car sharing, taxi fleet management, ignition interlock, and equipment rental. These are services that are made possible with the vehicle having access to a wireless connection – see at least 0190, 0012).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jefferies in view of O Donnabhain (US 20160381726 A1).
As to claim 4, it is to note that Jefferies does not explicitly disclose, but O Donnabhain, in an analogous art, discloses wherein the pairing the detected device with the IVI system includes presenting a status of the pairing of the detected device with the IVI system– (E.g., The display 74 may visually output the status of the pairing process between the computing system 60 and another computing device, in which may be part of an electronic device/platform having computing functionality (e.g., personal digital assistant/PDA, notebook computer, tablet computer), communications functionality (e.g., wireless smart phone), imaging functionality, media playing functionality (e.g., smart television/TV), wearable
functionality (e.g., watch, eyewear, headwear, footwear, jewelry), vehicular functionality (e.g., bicycle, car, truck, motorcycle), sensing functionality (e.g., Internet of Things/IoT device), etc., or any combination thereof -- see O Donnabhain, at least 0026, 0027, FIG. 6, and associated text).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated O Donnabhain’s teaching into Jefferies’s teaching for further notifying user of pairing status among devices as seen in O Donnabhain (e.g., 0027).
As to claim 11, it is to note that Jefferies does not explicitly disclose, but O Donnabhain, in an analogous art, discloses wherein the processor is configured to pair the detected device by presenting a status of the pairing the detected device with the application. (E.g.,
The display 74 may visually output the status of the pairing process between the computing system 60 and another computing device, in which may be part of an electronic device
/platform having computing functionality (e.g., personal digital assistant/PDA, notebook computer, tablet computer), communications functionality (e.g., wireless smart phone), imaging functionality, media playing functionality (e.g., smart television/TV), wearable
functionality (e.g., watch, eyewear, headwear, footwear, jewelry), vehicular functionality (e.g., bicycle, car, truck, motorcycle), sensing functionality (e.g., Internet of Things/IoT device), etc., or any combination thereof -- see O Donnabhain, at least 0026, 0027, FIG. 6, and associated text).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated O Donnabhain’s teaching into Jefferies’s teaching for further notifying user of pairing status among devices as seen in O Donnabhain (e.g., 0027).
10. Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jefferies in view of Moinzadeh (US 20110093153 A1).
As to claim 5, it is to note that Jefferies does not explicitly disclose, but Moinzadeh, in an analogous art, discloses wherein the installing the application on the IVI system includes registering the application and the service associated with the detected device in a services registry – (E.g., A vehicle user can create a plurality of profiles corresponding to the vehicle using the profile creation portion 930 of the user web portal 905. A profile can be created for each person that may use the vehicle. A field 927 requests a unique phone number or other unique identifier of a mobile phone respectively corresponding to each person. A name of each person or other information for each person may be gathered with the phone number(s). After or during profile creation, server 322 creates a download directory for each profile and updates the mapping 350 for each number/directory combination. During or after profile creation the web portal 905 can be operated to select applications to be included in the download directories 339A-B using a computing terminal 926, for example using any interne accessible computing device such as the mobile device or a desktop computer—See Moinzadeh, at least 0084-0085, Fig. 9, and associated text).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Moinzadeh’s teaching into Jefferies’s teaching for further optimize and enable efficient in downloading application on the vehicle as seen in Moinzadeh (e.g., 0084).
As to claim 6, it is to note that Jefferies does not explicitly disclose, but Moinzadeh, in an analogous art, discloses wherein the provisioning the application to the IVI system includes: providing a description of the service associated with the detected device – (e.g., Regarding the list of all available applications 609, it should be understood that this list can be assembled by applications developed by the provider and/or third parties. In the case of third parties providing applications, the third party uses the application submission 618 portion of the web portal 604 (which is hosted by a web server operated by the provider in one example) to submit an application 649 to be included in the list 609 – see at least 0060, FIG. 6, and associated text); and checking a compatibility of the application with the detected device and with the IVI system -- (e.g., the software 32 authenticates the application 40 by comparing the application identifier to a list 12 of applications (also referred to as a whitelist). This list 12 can be compared by version number such that one particular version of an application 40 can be identified on the list while a different version is excluded. – see at least 0025).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Moinzadeh’s teaching into Jefferies’s teaching for further optimize and enable efficient in downloading application on the vehicle as seen in Moinzadeh (e.g., 0084).
As to claim 12, it is to note that Jefferies does not explicitly disclose, but Moinzadeh, in an analogous art, discloses wherein the processor is configured to install the application by registering the application and the service associated with the detected device in a services registry – (E.g., A vehicle user can create a plurality of profiles corresponding to the vehicle using the profile creation portion 930 of the user web portal 905. A profile can be created for each person that may use the vehicle. A field 927 requests a unique phone number or other unique identifier of a mobile phone respectively corresponding to each person. A name of each person or other information for each person may be gathered with the phone number(s). After or during profile creation, server 322 creates a download directory for each profile and updates the mapping 350 for each number/directory combination. During or after profile creation the web portal 905 can be operated to select applications to be included in the download directories 339A-B using a computing terminal 926, for example using any interne accessible computing device such as the mobile device or a desktop computer—See Moinzadeh, at least 0084-0085, Fig. 9, and associated text).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Moinzadeh’s teaching into Jefferies’s teaching for further optimize and enable efficient in downloading application on the vehicle as seen in Moinzadeh (e.g., 0084).
As per claims 13 and 19, it is to note that Jefferies does not explicitly disclose, but Moinzadeh, in an analogous art, discloses wherein the processor is configured to provision the application by: providing a description of the service associated with the detected device – (e.g., Regarding the list of all available applications 609, it should be understood that this list can be assembled by applications developed by the provider and/or third parties. In the case of third parties providing applications, the third party uses the application submission 618 portion of the web portal 604 (which is hosted by a web server operated by the provider in one example) to submit an application 649 to be included in the list 609 – see at least 0060, FIG. 6, and associated text); and checking a compatibility of the application with the detected device and with the vehicle -- (e.g., the software 32 authenticates the application 40 by comparing the application identifier to a list 12 of applications (also referred to as a whitelist). This list 12 can be compared by version number such that one particular version of an application 40 can be identified on the list while a different version is excluded. – see at least 0025).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Moinzadeh’s teaching into Jefferies’s teaching for further optimize and enable efficient in downloading application on the vehicle as seen in Moinzadeh (e.g., 0084).
11. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jefferies in view of O Donnabhain, and further view of Moinzadeh.
As to claim 18, it is to note that Jefferies does not explicitly disclose, but O Donnabhain, in an analogous art, discloses wherein the pairing the detected device with the IVI system includes presenting a status of the pairing of the detected device with the IVI system– (E.g., The display 74 may visually output the status of the pairing process between the computing system 60 and another computing device, in which may be part of an electronic device/platform having computing functionality (e.g., personal digital assistant/PDA, notebook computer, tablet computer), communications functionality (e.g., wireless smart phone), imaging functionality, media playing functionality (e.g., smart television/TV), wearable
functionality (e.g., watch, eyewear, headwear, footwear, jewelry), vehicular functionality (e.g., bicycle, car, truck, motorcycle), sensing functionality (e.g., Internet of Things/IoT device), etc., or any combination thereof -- see O Donnabhain, at least 0026, 0027, FIG. 6, and associated text).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated O Donnabhain’s teaching into Jefferies’s teaching for further notifying user of pairing status among devices as seen in O Donnabhain (e.g., 0027).
It is further to note that modified Jefferies with O Donnabhain does not explicitly disclose, but Moinzadeh, in an analogous art, discloses wherein the installing the application on the IVI system includes registering the application and the service associated with the detected device in a services registry – (E.g., A vehicle user can create a plurality of profiles corresponding to the vehicle using the profile creation portion 930 of the user web portal 905. A profile can be created for each person that may use the vehicle. A field 927 requests a unique phone number or other unique identifier of a mobile phone respectively corresponding to each person. A name of each person or other information for each person may be gathered with the phone number(s). After or during profile creation, server 322 creates a download directory for each profile and updates the mapping 350 for each number/directory combination. During or after profile creation the web portal 905 can be operated to select applications to be included in the download directories 339A-B using a computing terminal 926, for example using any interne accessible computing device such as the mobile device or a desktop computer—See Moinzadeh, at least 0084-0085, Fig. 9, and associated text).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Moinzadeh’s teaching into modified teaching of Jefferies with O Donnabhain for further optimize and enable efficient in downloading application on the vehicle as seen in Moinzadeh (e.g., 0084).
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon (cited on 892 form) is considered pertinent to application disclosure.
Moeller et al. (US-10899317-B1) disclose secured downloading vehicle application.
BALOGH et al. (US-20200272448-A1) discloses remote online software update to a motor vehicle.
/MARINA LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192