Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2019/0379231 by Gonzalez.
Regarding claim 1, Gonzalez discloses an input device (abstract) comprising: a first operation unit having one or a plurality of operation members (fig. 2 – see the unit 13 and the operation members) and a first lower face that functions as an installation face (fig. 2, 4B; para. 34 – see housing cavity 20b); a second operation unit having one or a plurality of operation members (fig. 2 – see the unit 12 and the operation member) and a second lower face that functions as an installation face (fig. 3B; para. 37 – see internal cavity 40a), the second operation unit being connected to the first operation unit such that a relative position thereof to the first operation unit is changeable in a direction along the first lower face and the second lower face (fig. 2, 9 – see the two different positions of the input device); and a lock mechanism that switches between a lock state in which the relative position of the first operation unit and the second operation unit is fixed and an unlock state in which a change of the relative position is allowed, wherein the lock mechanism includes a lock operation member and is configured to switch between the lock state and the unlock state in response to an operation of the lock operation member (fig. 4C; para. 43-45 – see the locking mechanism and movement of the operation members), to maintain the unlock state in a state in which the lock operation member is not operated, and to maintain the lock state in the state in which the lock operation member is not operated (fig. 4C; para. 43-45 – see the locking mechanism and movement of the operation members).
Regarding claim 2, Gonzalez discloses the input device according to claim 1, wherein the second operation unit is capable of changing a distance thereof from the first operation unit by being moved in a first direction, and the lock operation member is arranged on the second operation unit and is arranged on one side with respect to a straight line extending along the first direction (fig. 2, 9, 4C; para. 43-45 – see the locking mechanism and movement of operation members).
Regarding claim 3, Gonzalez discloses the input device according to claim 2, wherein the second operation unit includes a first face and a second face directed to the opposite sides to each other across the straight line extending along the first direction, and the lock operation member is arranged only on the first face (fig. 2, 9 – see the motion of the operation members).
Regarding claim 4, Gonzalez discloses the input device according to claim 3, wherein the lock operation member is arranged along a lower edge of the second operation unit on an outer face of the second operation unit (fig. 4C; para. 43-45 – see the locking mechanism and location).
Regarding claim 5, Gonzalez discloses the input device according to claim 1, wherein the second operation unit has a size smaller than that of the first operation unit, and the lock operation member is arranged on the second operation unit (fig. 2 – see the different size of the members via the different input elements, 29b as compared to 26a).
Regarding claim 6, Gonzalez discloses the input device according to claim 1, wherein the second operation unit moves in a first direction to be able to change a distance thereof from the first operation unit, the second operation unit has a connection portion fixed thereto, the connection portion extending in the first direction from the second operation unit and being capable of relatively moving in the first direction with respect to the first operation unit (fig. 2 – see connecting portion 14), the first operation unit has a recess portion formed thereon in which the connection portion is fitted, and the first operation unit has a width in the first direction greater than that of the second operation unit in the first direction (fig. 2, 9 – see the relative position and size of elements).
Regarding claim 7, this claim is rejected as noted above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Gonzalez discloses the input device according to claim 1, wherein the second operation unit is capable of changing a distance thereof from the first operation unit by moving in a first direction, the second operation unit has a connection portion fixed thereto, the connection portion extending in the first direction from the second operation unit and being fitted in the first operation unit such that the connection portion is relatively movable in the first direction with respect to the first operation unit (fig. 2 – see connecting portion 14), and the lock mechanism includes an engaging member having a first engaging portion formed on the first operation unit and a second engaging portion provided on the connection portion and configured to engage with the first engaging portion and fix the relative position of the connection portion and the first operation unit (4C; para. 43-45 – see the locking mechanism and movement of operation members).
Regarding claim 9, Gonzalez discloses the input device according to claim 8, wherein the lock mechanism maintains, in the unlock state in which the lock operation member is not operated, the state in which the engagement of the first engaging portion and the second engaging portion is cancelled and besides maintains, in the lock state in which the lock operation member is not operated, the state in which the first engaging portion and the second engaging portion are engaged with each other (fig. 4C; para. 43-45 – see the locking mechanism and locking mechanism operation).
Regarding claim 10, Gonzalez discloses the input device according to claim 8, wherein the lock operation member is movable in a second direction crossing with the first direction between a lock position in which the first engaging portion and the second engaging portion are engaged with each other and an unlock position in which the engagement between the first engaging portion and the second engaging portion is cancelled, and the lock mechanism has a latching member, and the latching member latches, in the unlock state, the lock operation member at the unlock position and latches, in the lock state, the lock operation member at the lock position (fig. 4C; para. 43-45 – see the locking mechanism and locking mechanism operation).
Regarding claim 11, Gonzalez discloses the input device according to claim 1, wherein the second operation unit is capable of changing a distance thereof from the first operation unit by moving in a first direction, the second operation unit has a connection portion fixed thereto, the connection portion extending in the first direction from the second operation unit and being fitted in the first operation unit such that the connection portion is relatively movable in the first direction with respect to the first operation unit (fig. 2, 9 – see the connection portion 14 and the operation of the operation members), and the lock mechanism includes the lock operation member provided on the second operation unit, a first engaging portion formed on the first operation unit, an engaging member having a second engaging portion provided on the connection portion and configured to engage with the first engaging portion to fix the relative position of the connection portion and the first operation portion (fig. 4C; para. 43-45 – see the locking mechanism and locking mechanism operation), and a slide member provided on the connection portion and configured to move the engaging member to engage the first engaging portion and the second engaging portion with each other or cancel the engagement between the first engaging portion and the second engaging portion (fig. 2,9, 4C; para. 43-45 – see the locking mechanism and sliding movement between the elements).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/PETER J IANNUZZI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715