Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeno et al (JP 2008-044327) in view of Uchino et al. (JP 2018-164932) with references made to applicant provided machine translations.
Ikeno discloses, Regarding claim 1, a laser processing method executed by an electronic device that draws an image (multi-gradation image, See Paragraph [0017]) by irradiating the surface (30) with a laser beam, wherein the laser processing method includes a division step in which the electronic device divides the image into a plurality of gradations (See Paragraph [0026], the images are divided based on gradation [greyscale]), a creation step of creating a plurality of layers according to the plurality of gradations (performing image processing on a picture of a painting to convert it into a gray scale and making five images having different color densities into layers 1,2,3,4,5),
Ikeno fails to disclose, scanning the laser beam and irradiating the laser beam linearly to each of the plurality of layers in a single direction.
However, Uchino discloses, regarding claims 1 and 3, that the laser beam is irradiated linearly while being scanned along a single direction in the processing step (paragraph 0031 and Fig. 9). It would have been obvious to adapt Ikeno in view of Uchino to provide the linear irradiation for drawing the image based on the different color densities.
Ikeno discloses regarding claim 2, the gradiations are the plurality of layers as shown in Fig 5.
Regarding claim 8, A laser machining apparatus comprising: a laser device configured to irradiate a surface of a machining object with a laser beam;
an image processing part configured to divide an image into a plurality of gradations and create a plurality of layers according to the plurality of gradations (See Paragraph [0026], the images are divided based on gradation [greyscale], performing image processing on a picture of a painting to convert it into a gray scale and making five images having different color densities into layers 1,2,3,4,5),; and
Ikeno fails to disclose, scanning the laser beam and irradiating the laser beam linearly to each of the plurality of layers in a single direction.
However, Uchino discloses that the laser beam is irradiated linearly while being scanned along a single direction in the processing step (paragraph 0031 and Fig. 9). It would have been obvious to adapt Ikeno in view of Uchino to provide the linear irradiation for drawing the image based on the different color densities.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761