DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed May 2, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
“Cloudify” (“Cloudify Documentation Center: Cloudify Platform 5.1.” Cloudify Platform Ltd., 2021. Docs.cloudify.co/5.1/ Accessed 24 June 2026. Retrieved from web.archive.org as retrieved in 2022. Available at <https://docs.cloudify.co/5.1/>)
Regarding Claim 1, Cloudify teaches:
1. A computer-implemented method for generating software architecture in an edge computing network based on a design studio application, (See Cloudify 5.1 e.g. “Cloudify Manager Setup” describing accessing Cloudify manager as a Hosted service where the Cloud provides processor and memory to carry out the Manager functionality) the computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by one or more hardware processors, one or more inputs from one or more electronic devices associated with one or more users to select one or more components for generating the software architecture in the edge computing network, (Cloudify 5.1– See “About Cloudify” page describes Cloudify as a multi-cloud and edge orchestration platform allowing deployment to cloud and edge architectures)
wherein the one or more components comprise at least one of: one or more physical devices, one or more groups of one or more edge computing nodes performing identical roles in the software architecture, one or more features, one or more categories of the one or more features, one or more configurations of the one or more features, one or more routes indicating one or more connections between the one or more features for communicating with each feature, and one or more clouds configured across the one or more groups of the one or more edge computing nodes; (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Creating Blueprints” – Cloudify teaches a Composer tool which includes a canvas for dragging and dropping components including e.g. host devices, networks, subnets, routes, firewalls, and other cloud components to create a topology of a software architecture for a cloud computing platform)
generating, by the one or more hardware processors, the software architecture in the edge computing network based on the selected one or more components,
wherein generating the software architecture in the edge computing network based on the selected one or more components comprises at least one of:
categorizing, by the one or more hardware processors, the one or more components to break down the one or more components into one or more categories for search options, wherein the one or more components comprise one or more icons corresponding to the one or more components for dragging and dropping the one or more components within the edge computing network; (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Creating Blueprints” – Cloudify teaches a Composer tool which includes a canvas for dragging and dropping components including a categorized menu of icons for components to drop onto the canvas)
positioning, by the one or more hardware processors, the selected one or more components on one or more canvas using a drag and drop capability of the design studio application; (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Creating Blueprints” – Cloudify teaches a Composer tool which includes a canvas for dropping elements for the could computing blueprint to be created)
analyzing, by the one or more hardware processors, one or more properties associated with the one or more components to configure the edge computing network based on one or more properties panels in a graphical user interface for each of the one or more components; (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Creating Blueprints” – Cloudify teaches a Composer tool which includes a node property panel which allows viewing and editing node properties in order to configure the nodes of the designed network)
creating, by the one or more hardware processors, the one or more routes by creating a line between two or more icons corresponding to the one or more components, on the one or more canvas, to establish one or more connections between two or more components, wherein the one or more routes indicate one or more communication paths between the two or more components; (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Creating Blueprints” – Cloudify teaches a Composer tool which includes “Creating Networks” by dragging lines between the network elements to create routes in the network)
and generating, by the one or more hardware processors, the software architecture in the edge computing network upon creation of the one or more routes between the two or more components; (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Cloudify Composer” generated output from Composer includes archive including blueprint, configuration and install scripts and other resources for runnin the applicaiton)
processing, by the one or more hardware processors, the generated software architecture in the edge computing network to generate one or more installation plans and automatically create corresponding scripts, for installing the software architecture; (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Cloudify Composer” generated output from Composer includes archive including blueprint, configuration and install scripts and other resources for runnin the applicaiton)
executing, by the one or more hardware processors, the generated software architecture in the edge computing network based on at least one of: a simulation-based execution and a physical-based execution; (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Creating a Deployment” which has multiple options for deployment of a blueprint-based orchestration, e.g. virtual deployment on Cloudify Manager or install in a chosen environment, See Also “Executing Workflows” to execute a process to deploy the deployment in the selected environment)
providing, by the one or more hardware processors, an output of at least one of: installation progress and installation status, one or more properties, one or more configuration details, and functioning status, of the generated software architecture, on the graphical user interface associated with the one or more electronic devices associated with the one or more users. (Cloudify 5.1 – See e.g. “Blueprint deployments” Widget which displays the deployments created from blueprints, including the execution statuses of the nodes in the deployments)
Regarding Claim 2, Cloudify teaches:
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising displaying, by the one or more hardware processors, the one or more properties associated with the selected one or more components for configuring the one or more components to obtain an optimized edge computing network. (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Creating Blueprints” – Cloudify teaches a Composer tool which includes a node property panel which allows viewing and editing node properties in order to configure the nodes of the designed network)
Regarding Claim 3, Cloudify teaches:
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising updating, by the one or more hardware processors, one or more configurations of the edge computing network based on the analysis of the one or more properties associated with the one or more components, upon selecting the one or more components. (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Creating Blueprints” – Cloudify teaches a Composer tool which includes a node property panel which allows viewing and editing node properties in order to configure the nodes of the designed network, updated properties are incorporated in the blueprint used in deploying the cloud software in the chosen environment)
Regarding Claim 4, Cloudify teaches:
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of: configuring, by the one or more hardware processors, each endpoint of the one or more routes to indicate a way in which each component receives one or more information from the one or more components; (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Creating Blueprints” – Cloudify teaches a Composer tool – which allows dragging of connection lines between network components as well as the “Setting Interfaces” and “Defining Relationships” which allow for configuring of relationship parameters between the connected elements)
and configuring, by the one or more hardware processors, each endpoint of the one or more routes to indicate the way in which each component transmits the one or more information to the one or more components. (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Creating Blueprints” – Cloudify teaches a Composer tool – which allows dragging of connection lines between network components as well as the “Setting Interfaces” and “Defining Relationships” which allow for configuring of relationship parameters between the connected elements, which is then implemented when the blueprint is deployed as described previously)
Regarding Claim 5, Cloudify teaches:
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising storing, by the one or more hardware processors, the generated software architecture upon completion of the generation process of the software architecture, wherein the generated software architecture is configured as a reference software architecture for creating one or more identical variants of the software architecture to support one or more identical configurations. (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Creating a Deployment” which has multiple options for deployment of a blueprint-based orchestration, e.g. virtual deployment on Cloudify Manager or install in a chosen environment, See Also “Executing Workflows” to execute a process to deploy the deployment in the selected environment including creating multiple deployments from a single blueprint)
Regarding Claim 6, Cloudify teaches:
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein executing, by the one or more hardware processors, the generated software architecture in the edge computing network based on the simulation-based execution, comprises: receiving, by the one or more hardware processors, one or more information associated with at least one of: number of one or more virtual machines and type of the one or more virtual machines, to create each group of the one or more edge computing nodes; (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Creating a Deployment” – teaches identifying the virtual environment for deployment in cloudify)
executing, by the one or more hardware processors, the generated software architecture onto the one or more virtual machines; (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Creating a Deployment” – teaches identifying the virtual environment for deployment in cloudify) utilizing, by the one or more hardware processors, the one or more installation plans to install the generated software architecture, onto the one or more virtual machines; (Cloudify 5.1 See e.g. “Executing Workflows” teaches executing a install workflow to install the application deployment in the selected environment)
and generating, by the one or more hardware processors, one or more statuses for one or more phases of the virtual execution of the generated software architecture. (Cloudify 5.1 – See e.g. “Blueprint deployments” Widget which displays the deployments created from blueprints, including the execution statuses of the nodes in the deployments)
Regarding Claim 7, Cloudify teaches:
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein executing, by the one or more hardware processors, the generated software architecture in the edge computing network based on the physical-based execution, comprises: receiving, by the one or more hardware processors, one or more information associated with at least one of: number of one or more physical devices and type of the one or more physical devices, to create each group of the one or more edge computing nodes; (Cloudify 5.1 – See “Creating a Deployment” – teaches identifying the nodes for deployment in cloudify)
receiving, by the one or more hardware processors, one or more information associated with at least one of: the one or more physical devices, a set of protocols to be followed for configuration, one or more device addresses, and one or more configuration parameters, to connect to the one or more physical devices;
executing, by the one or more hardware processors, the generated software architecture onto the one or more physical devices; (Cloudify 5.1 See e.g. “Executing Workflows” teaches executing a install workflow to install the application deployment in the selected environment) utilizing, by the one or more hardware processors, the one or more installation plans to install the generated software architecture, onto the one or more physical devices; (Cloudify 5.1 See e.g. “Executing Workflows” teaches executing a install workflow to install the application deployment in the selected environment) and generating, by the one or more hardware processors, one or more statuses for one or more phases of the physical execution of the generated software architecture. (Cloudify 5.1 – See e.g. “Blueprint deployments” Widget which displays the deployments created from blueprints, including the execution statuses of the nodes in the deployments)
Claims 8-14 are rejected on the same basis as claims 1-7 respectively above.
Claims 15, 17-20 are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, and 4-7 respectively above.
Claim 16 is rejected on the same basis as claims 2 and 3 combined above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Prior Art cited in the Attached PTO-892 form includes prior art relevant to applicant’s disclosures related to visual programming studios for edge computing architectures.
MJB
6/25/2026
/MATTHEW J BROPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2191